DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18 recites, “the drive pinion (14, fig. 1) is part of an at least two-stage gear mechanism” which is already claimed in claim 9. Claim 18 depends from claim 10 which in turn depends from claim 9. As such, claim 18 does not add any limitations to further limit claim 10. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,185,717 to Ford, Jr. et al (Ford).
Regarding claim 9, Ford discloses a fluid pump (fig. 1) comprising a housing (10, fig. 1), an internal rotor (22, fig. 1) located in the housing, and an external rotor (20, fig. 1) which surrounds the internal rotor (fig. 1), which is rotatably mounted in the housing and, together with the internal rotor, forms an internal gear ring pump, wherein the external rotor is provided with a toothing (24, fig. 1) with which a drive pinion (teeth of gear 14, fig. 1) meshes, wherein the toothing of the external rotor is an external toothing (fig. 1) , and wherein the drive pinion (14, fig. 1) is part of an at least two-stage gear mechanism (12, 14, fig. 1; drive pinion 12 is clearly shown with another internal gear that connects to 14 which in turn rotates the external rotor 20 effectively making it a two stage gear system).
Regarding claim 10, Ford discloses a fluid pump (10) according to claim 9, wherein a drive shaft (12, fig. 1) extends through the housing and the internal rotor is floatingly mounted on the drive shaft (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ford discloses a fluid pump (10) according to claim 11, wherein the drive pinion has a first toothing (outer toothing meshed with 20, fig. 1)) and a second toothing (inner toothing meshed with 12, fig. 1) axially offset from the first toothing, wherein the first toothing and the second toothing have different numbers of teeth (fig. 1; outer toothing will have more teeth by virtue of its bigger circumference).
Regarding claim 13, Ford discloses a fluid pump (10) according to claim 12, wherein the second toothing of the drive pinion extends into the housing (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Ford discloses a fluid pump (10) according to claims 9 and 10, respectively, wherein moulded on the drive pinion is a bearing journal (bearing of shaft 12, fig. 1), which is radially mounted in the housing.
(Note: moulding journal bearing on drive pinion is a product by process limitation. As such, this is a product by process claim. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 18, Ford discloses a fluid pump (10) according to claim 10, wherein the drive pinion (14, fig. 1) is part of an at least two-stage gear mechanism (12, 14, fig. 1; drive pinion 12 is clearly shown with another internal gear that connects to 14 which in turn rotates the external rotor 20 effectively making it a two stage gear system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,3-8,15-17 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination including:
“the toothing of the external rotor is an internal toothing.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/15/2026, with respect to 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 with respect to 102 rejection of amended claim 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ford does not disclose that the drive pinion is part of an at least two-stage gear mechanism as required by amended claim 9. However, the office respectfully disagrees. In fig. 1 of Ford, drive pinion 12 is clearly shown with another internal gear that connects to 14 which in turn rotates the external rotor 20 effectively making it a two stage gear system. This reads on the limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746