DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/315446. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an effector with first and second jaws – a controller/processor configured to determine a type of tissue grasped between the first and second jaw members based on the tissue pressure/strain and the gap/stress distance measurement. Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-39 of copending Application No. 18/345066. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an effector with first and second jaws – a controller/processor configured to determine a type of tissue grasped between the first and second jaw members based on the tissue pressure/strain and the gap/stress distance measurement. Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. - US 11350843 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an effector with first and second jaws – a controller/processor configured to determine a type of tissue grasped between the first and second jaw members based on the tissue pressure/strain and the gap/stress distance measurement (current claims 1 & 11 patented claims 5-6). Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. - US 12279915 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an effector with first and second jaws – a controller/processor configured to determine a type of tissue grasped between the first and second jaw members based on the tissue pressure/strain and the gap/stress distance measurement. Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. - US 11690694 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an effector with first and second jaws – a controller/processor configured to determine a type of tissue grasped between the first and second jaw members based on the tissue pressure/strain and the gap/stress distance measurement. Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelton, IV et al. (US 20190201018 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shelton, IV et al. (US 20190201018 A1) in view of Viola et al. (US 20120223121 A1) and further in view of Shelton, IV et al. (US 20190200997 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20, Shelton, IV et al. discloses a surgical instrument 150010 comprising an end effector 150300 including a pair of jaw members 150302, 150306 and method of operating the surgical instrument wherein the surgical instrument is configured to clamp and staple tissue (Note: Fig. 25); a motor 482 configured to actuate the end effector; and a controller 461 in communication with the motor 482 and configured to determine a stress and strain of the clamped tissue via sensors 152008a, b (Note: paragraphs [0450]); identify a tissue type of the clamped tissue based on the determined stress and strain of the clamped tissue (Note: paragraph [0457]); and set an operational parameter of the surgical instrument based on the identified tissue type of the clamped tissue (Note: paragraphs [0458]-[0460]); wherein the controller is configured to direct the motor to move the pair of jaw members from a first open state toward a second closed state, in which the pair of jaw members compress the tissue, the strain of the tissue being determined over a predetermined time period as the pair of jaw members move from the first state toward the second state, direct and adjust the motor operation and monitor operation at a desired parameter based upon the controller determining/calculating tissue type (Note: paragraphs [0462]-[0470]), wherein stress relaxation of the tissue is measured (Note: paragraphs [0463]-[0464]), wherein other stapling instrument parameters can be sensed such as clamping rate, firing force, staple size, clamping force via impedance sensors and algorithms imputed into the controller 461; and further discloses the associated method of instrument operation as set forth in claims 10-15 (Note also: paragraphs [0586]-[0598] for additional operational functions) and maintain the pair of jaw members in a fixed position (waiting period – WAIT, creep wait time [0532-0533, 0590, 0797-0803]) to clamp the tissue for a second period of time ([0450-0473, 0532-0540, 0598, 0634-0635, 0694, 0719-0741, 0778] claim 1); determine a stress-strain relationship for the tissue based on the set of measurement data; an identify a tissue type for the tissue based on the determined stress-strain relationship (Note: paragraph [0457]).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Shelton, IV et al. discloses at least one of a perfusion amount through the compressed tissue and a thickness of the compressed tissue (tissue thickness sensing, proper compression, degree of compression, impedance, creep, detect squishy tissue [0490, 0590-0592, 0737-0739, 0797].
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Shelton, IV et al. discloses the controller is further configured to: determine a plurality of biomechanical parameters based on the determined stress-strain relationship (impact on tissue, staple line failure, avoid compressing tissue to excessive strain values [0383-0393].
Regarding claims 1-20 In the alternative, if it can be argued that Shelton, IV et al. fails to disclose maintaining the pair of jaw members in a fixed position to clamp the tissue for a second period of time wherein the controller is further configured to: during the second period of time, determine a stress relaxation of the tissue by performing multiple measurements of the instantaneous stress on the tissue-
Viola et al. teaches surgical stapler (10) maintaining a pair of jaw members to compress tissue for a fist time period (pre-clamp or compress) and then maintaining a pair of jaw members clamping tissue in a fixed position for a second period of time (second compression time) wherein the controller is further configured to: during the second period of time, determine a stress relaxation of the tissue by performing multiple measurements of the instantaneous stress on the tissue (teaches clamping once for a time period or a second clamping with second time period and having any number of compression intervals [0069-0070].
Shelton, IV et al. also teaches surgical stapler (201800, figs. 24-30) with jaws to compress tissue for a fist time period (compress via timer 781, figs. 22-23) and then maintaining a pair of jaw members clamping tissue in a fixed position for a second period of time (tissue creep time) wherein the controller is further configured to: during the second period of time, determine a stress relaxation of the tissue by performing multiple measurements of the instantaneous stress on the tissue (teaches clamping once for a time period or a second clamping with second time period and having any number of compression intervals (“anvil gap δ is maintained constant to allow for tissue creep” [0453-0457, 0462-0476], figs. 31-37).
Given the teachings of Shelton, IV et al. to determine thickness of the compressed tissue and waiting for a time period to determine tissue properties, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the controller with maintaining the pair of jaw members in a fixed position to clamp the tissue for a second period of time wherein the controller is further configured to: during the second period of time, determine a stress relaxation of the tissue by performing multiple measurements of the instantaneous stress on the tissue for more precise operation of the device, determine properties of the tissue such as tissue creep, obtain optimal tissue compression to fire staples, and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Viola et al. and Shelton, IV et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent:
Evans et al. (US 20180256163 A1) - perfusion sensor (64) on jaws
US 20160089175 A1 - variable compression force can be applied... a tissue response can be monitored so that tissue type and thickness can be identified [0090] and see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731