Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 6/9/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species of Figs. 1-12, 16-20 in the interview held 9/16/26 is acknowledged (interview summary attached).
Currently Claims 1-20 are pending, with Claims 1-12 under examination and Claims 13-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a biaser operably engaging with the piston to bias the piston to the locked position” in Claim 4 (interpreted as 26, ex. [0065])
“a retainer operably engaging with the biaser and the base and the outer tube for retaining the biaser and the piston inside of the base” in Claim 4 (interpreted as 28 [0066], or 128 [0087], or 328 [0096], or 428 [0099])
Examiner notes on Claim Interpretation:
In Claim 1, “at least one latch mechanism operably engaged with the base inside of at least one locking passageway defined in the base; wherein the at least one latch mechanism is configured to lock the inner tube with the base and the outer tube, collectively, at the retracted position” was considered for interpretation under 112(f) however the presence of “latch” was considered to connote sufficient structure to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein when the outer tube is in the retracted position, the at least one latch mechanism is free from being under load.” This is indefinite. For example, in applicant’s specification at [0078] the latched position is described as (begin excerpt/):
As the locking end 22b of each piston 22 reaches the end of the ramp 12e, the respective biaser 26 continues to apply an outward force on the piston 22 so that the piston 22 automatically locks the outer tube 14 and base 16 with inner tube 12 at the annular groove 12d (see FIG.8D). It should be noted that the piston 22 is also considered to be in the locked position once the locking end 22b of a respective piston 22 is positioned inside of the annular groove 12d of inner tube 12 and engages with at least one internal surface or wall that defines the annular groove 12d of inner tube 12.
(/end excerpt)
See also Fig. 8D for example. Piston 22 (part of the latch mechanism) would seem to be under load in the retracted position as both the biaser 26 is pushing the piston 22 towards the tube 12 and the surface 22b is contacting the tube 12. The claimed scenario (“free from being under load”) is not understood as this appears to be opposite to the disclosed scenario (that the latch mechanism is under load).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, and 12, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunter (US 2493875).
Regarding Claim 1,
A locking cylinder, comprising:
an inner tube (24, Figs. 1-4);
an outer tube (10 in Fig. 1 or 41 in Fig. 4) slideably engaged with the inner tube between a retracted position and an extended position;
a base (20 in Fig. 1 or 43, 36, 38 in Fig. 4) removably engaged with the outer tube and is in communication with the inner tube to partially receive the inner tube in the retracted position; and
at least one latch mechanism (with 51) operably engaged with the base inside of at least one locking passageway (Figs. 1, 3, 4) defined in the base;
wherein the at least one latch mechanism is configured to lock the inner tube with the base and the outer tube, collectively, at the retracted position (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 2,
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein when the outer tube is in the retracted position, the at least one latch mechanism is free from being under load (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3,
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein when the outer tube is in the extended position, the at least one latch mechanism is under load (from fluid in cylinder and from springs 53) and is free from engaging with the inner tube.
Regarding Claim 4,
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein the at least one latch mechanism further comprises:
a piston (51) moveably engageable inside the base between a locked position and an unlocked position relative to the inner tube;
a biaser (53) operably engaging with the piston to bias the piston to the locked position; and
a retainer (50) operably engaging with the biaser and the base and the outer tube for retaining the biaser and the piston inside of the base.
Regarding Claim 5,
The locking cylinder of claim 4, wherein the piston comprises:
a locking end (part engaging with 60) operably engageable with the inner tube;
a non-locking end (part engaging with 53) opposite to the locking end and operably engages with the biaser; and
a shoulder (part of 51 engaging with 56) positioned between the locking end and the non-locking end to engage with the base when the piston locks the inner tube with the outer tube and base, collectively.
Regarding Claim 7,
The locking cylinder of claim 5, wherein the piston further comprises:
a cavity (for 53) defined between the non-locking end and a base surface of the piston that is positioned between the locking end and the non-locking end and configured to engage with the biaser;
wherein the cavity is configured to house a portion of the biaser (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8,
The locking cylinder of claim 4, wherein the at least one latch mechanism further comprises:
an annular channel (for 52) defined in the piston at a position between the locking end and non-locking end; and
a seal (52) operably engaging with the piston inside of the annular channel and with an internal surface of the base inside of the at least one locking passageway.
Regarding Claim 11,
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein the inner tube comprises:
a first end (right side in Figs. 1 and 4);
a second end (left side in Figs. 1 and 4) opposite to the first end and housed inside of the base when the outer tube and the base, collectively, are at the retracted position;
an annular groove (58’) defined between the first end and the second end; and
a ramp (part of 59) extending from the second end to the annular groove;
wherein a piston of the at least one latch mechanism is configured to ride along the ramp and engage with the inner tube inside of the annular groove when the outer tube translates from the extended position to the retracted position (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 12,
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein when the outer tube is in the retracted position, the at least one latch mechanism is free from being under a hydraulic load (Figs. 1 and 4, ex. Col. 4, lines 61-73); and
wherein when the outer tube is in the extended position, the at least one latch mechanism is under the hydraulic load and is free from engaging with the inner tube (ex. Col. 4, line 73-Col. 5, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Liu et al. (US 4635563).
Regarding Claim 6, Hunter teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the non-locking end engages with and is housed inside of the biaser.
Liu teaches
For a locking cylinder (ex. Fig. 1),
wherein the non-locking end (end at left, example annotation below) engages with and is housed inside of the biaser (70).
Since both references are directed to locking cylinders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-locking end and biaser of Hunter to be arranged as taught by Liu in order to provide an alternative construction of a non-locking end and biaser that would perform with predictable results that provides the added benefit of guiding the biaser from the inside of the biaser when assembling.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Fabyan et al. (US 4784037)
Regarding Claim 9, Hunter teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the at least one latch mechanism further comprises:
a first end of a latch plate operably engaging with the retainer;
a second end of the latch plate operably engaging with the biaser; and
a passage defined between the first end and the second end and is in fluid communication with the at least one locking passageway of the base.
Fabyan teaches
For a locking cylinder (Figs. 1-2),
wherein the at least one latch mechanism further comprises:
a first end of a latch plate (example annotation below) operably engaging with a retainer;
a second end of the latch plate (example annotation below) operably engaging with a biaser (50); and
a passage (example annotation below) defined between the first end and the second end and is in fluid communication with the at least one locking passageway of the base.
Since both references are directed to locking cylinders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retainer of Hunter to use a retainer and latch plate as taught by Fabyan in order to provide alternative manner of securing the biaser and piston in place with predictable results with the added benefit of providing venting of the biaser space, thereby reducing the possibility of a malfunction of the piston due to pressure buildup because of trapped fluid.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Caldwell (US 2685275).
Regarding Claim 10, Hunter teaches
The locking cylinder of claim 1, wherein the latch mechanism comprises:
a piston (51) moveably engageable inside the base between a locked position and an unlocked position relative to the inner tube;
a first biaser (53) operably engaging with the piston to bias the piston to the locked position; and
a retainer (50) operably engaging with the first biaser, and the base for retaining the first biaser, the and the piston inside of the base.
Hunter does not teach
a second biaser operably engaging with the piston to bias the piston to the locked position and housed inside of the first biaser
a retainer operably engaging with the first biaser, the second biaser, and the base for retaining the first biaser, the second biaser, and the piston inside of the base.
Hunter teaches one biaser and associated elements but not a second biaser.
Caldwell teaches
For a locking cylinder,
a first biaser (outer one of 17, Fig. 1) operably engaging with a piston (15) to bias the piston to the locked position,
a second biaser (inner one of 17) operably engaging with the piston to bias the piston to the locked position and housed inside of the first biaser,
a retainer (4) operably engaging with the first biaser, the second biaser, and the base for retaining the first biaser, the second biaser, and the piston inside of the base.
Since both references are directed to locking cylinders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biaser of Hunter to also include a second biaser as taught by Caldwell in order to provide a redundant biaser thereby improving the resilience of the system against malfunction and also providing the opportunity to further adjust the biaser (spring) response characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those items on the 892 each teach elements of the instant invention related to locking cylinders.
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745