Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites a fourth switching module however does not recite a third switching module. Applicant should amend claim 6 to depend from claim 2 where the third module is recited or otherwise clarify the claim to clearly require a third switching module. Presently is unclear the number of switching modules required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20250167584)
With respect to claim 1 Liu teaches a power converter, comprising: a first switching module (formed with at least R1s), a second switching module (formed with at least R2t and R1t), a first power conversion module (formed with Q1-Q2), and a second power conversion module (formed with Q3-Q4), each of the first power conversion module and the second power conversion module comprising two bridge arms (see arms shown in Fig. 1 for example see paragraph 0025), wherein the first switching module is configured to cause an input terminal of the first power conversion module to be selectively electrically connected to a direct current power supply (BT1)or a first phase (phase S) of an alternating current power supply (AC supply shown in Fig. 2), the second switching module is configured to cause an input terminal of the second power conversion module to be selectively electrically connected to the direct current power supply (by opening and closing switch for example R1t and R2t) or a second phase of the alternating current power supply (R1t open R2t closed), and the first power conversion module and the second power conversion module are configured to cause the two bridge arms thereof to independently perform AC-DC conversion (paragraph 0025 33), to supply power to a direct current bus from the alternating current power supply.
With respect to claim 2 and 10 Liu teaches a third switching module (see R3s/R3t) and a third power conversion module (see third bridge arm Fig. 3 associated with Q3s/t for example), wherein the third power conversion module is a DC-DC conversion module (see paragraph 0028), the third switching module is configured to control (see opening and closing relay connection) connection and disconnection between the direct current power supply and an input terminal of the third power conversion module, and an output terminal of the third power conversion module is electrically connected to the direct current bus (see flow of power with arrows shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4 Liu teaches when the alternating current power supply is abnormal (see paragraph 0004), at least one of the first power conversion module and the second power conversion module is configured to perform DC-DC conversion (see paragraph 0028).
With respect to claim 5 Liu teaches wherein during a switching period when the first power conversion module and the second power conversion module are configured to switch (see charger to supplying during a failure) from DC-DC conversion to AC-DC conversion (paragraph 0028), the third power conversion module is configured to perform DC-DC conversion (see Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 6 Liu teaches a fourth switching module (see four switching modules in Fig. 2-3 R1-R4) and a fourth power conversion module (see four conversion modules shown in Fig. 2 and 3), the fourth power conversion module comprising two bridge arms (see high and low mosfets), wherein the fourth switching module is configured to cause an input terminal of the fourth power conversion module to be selectively electrically connected to a third phase (phase R, paragraph 0033) of the alternating current power supply (AC supply see Fig. 2-3), and the fourth power conversion module is configured to cause the two bridge arms thereof to independently perform AC-DC conversion (see paragraph 0025), to supply power to the direct current bus from the third phase of the alternating current power supply.
With respect to claims 7 and 8 Liu teaches the first power conversion module, comprises a first bridge arm (see Q1s and Q2s), a second bridge arm, a first inductor (L1s), and a second inductor (L2s), wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first transistor and a second transistor (see mosfet transistors) connected in series (see arrangement in Fig. 2), and a node between the first transistor and the second transistor is electrically connected to a first terminal of the first inductor; the second bridge arm is connected in parallel with the first bridge arm and comprises a third transistor (Q3) and a fourth transistor (Q4) connected in series, and a node (see node between transistors shown in Fig. 2) between the third transistor and the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a first terminal of the second inductor (see where inductor input to bridge arms of conversion shown in Fig. 2-3); a second terminal of the first inductor (see left side inductor) and a second terminal of the second inductor are input terminals of the first power conversion module; and a node between the first transistor and the third transistor is electrically connected to a positive electrode of the direct current bus (see + terminal of battery) , and a node (node between transistors) between the second transistor and the fourth transistor is electrically connected to a negative electrode (see – terminal of battery) of the direct current bus.
With respect to claim 9 Liu teaches the first transistor (Q1) and the fourth transistor (Q4) of the first power conversion module are configured to be turned on (see operation show for powerflow in Fig. 3), while the second transistor (Q2) and the third transistor (Q3) of the first power conversion module, thereby performing the DC-DC conversion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Carlson et al. (US 8,193,662).
With respect to claim 3 Liu teaches the first power conversion module and the second power conversion module are configured to perform AC-DC conversion (see paragraph 0025), while the third power conversion module is configured to perform DC-DC conversion (see paragraph 0028), and the alternating current power supply and the direct current power supply jointly supply power to the direct current bus, however, does not teach the use of a heavy use mode. Carlson teaches the known use of (col. 15 lines 1-40) a heavy- load operating mode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu to include the known use of supplementing power from the battery system during heavy load to reduce costs or prevent over current conditions.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836