DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 5 and 16, the acronym “LCG” in line 4 should be written as “logical channel group”.
Re claims 6 and 14, the acronyms “PDB” and “PSDB” in line 7 should be written as “packet delay budget” and “protocol data unit set delay budget” respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject mater which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for application subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first configuration" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There are two first configurations including the first configuration of a DRB in line 4 and the first configuration of a first LCH in line 5. Thus, it is unclear the first configuration in line 7 referring to which configuration in line 4 or line 5.
Claims 10 and 12 have same issue as seen above in claim 1. Thus, these independent claims 10 and 12 are similarly rejected as seen above in claim 1.
Claims 2-9, 11, and 13-20 are also rejected for being depending on the rejected base claims 1, 10, and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (U.S. 2025/0386240 A1).
Re claim 1, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a first indication from a network device, wherein the first indication (e.g. abstract, Figure 3 with component 301 and paragraphs [0028-0029]) comprises at least one of: a first configuration of a data radio bearer (DRB) of the terminal device (e.g. paragraphs [0018 and 0037] with configuration associated with DRB); a first configuration of a first logical channel (LCH); or a second LCH corresponding to the DRB (e.g. paragraphs [0018-0019 and 0037-0038] with configuration of LCH), wherein the first configuration indicates to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a first duration expires and to-be-transmitted data on the first LCH or the second LCH meets a first condition (e.g. paragraphs [0017 and 0020-0024]); and triggering, by the terminal device, the BSR (e.g. abstract and Figure 3 with component 302 and paragraph [0173]).
Re claim 2, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 performing, by the terminal device, timing or countdown based on the first duration (e.g. paragraphs [0250-0251]); and when the to-be-transmitted data meets a second condition within the first duration, stopping, by the terminal device, the timing or the countdown, wherein the second condition and the first condition are complementary; or when the first duration expires, determining, by the terminal device, that the to-be-transmitted data meets the first condition (e.g. paragraphs [0020-0024 and 0130-0135] and claim 28).
Re claim 3, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 the first duration is less than an upper delay limit; and the upper delay limit comprises at least one of a packet delay budget (PDB) or a protocol data unit set delay budget (PSDB) (e.g. paragraphs [0020-0024 and 0252-0262]).
Re claim 4, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the to-be-transmitted data is not sent; a data volume of remaining to-be-transmitted data in the to-be-transmitted data is greater than a first threshold; a proportion of the remaining to-be-transmitted data in the to-be-transmitted data is greater than a second threshold; or buffer status information of the to-be-transmitted data is not sent (e.g. paragraphs [0130-0140]).
Re claim 5, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 the first configuration further indicates to report, when the BSR is triggered, at least one of: buffer status information of the LCH (e.g. paragraphs [0082 and 0395]); or an LCG to which the to-be-transmitted data belongs and buffer status information of associated data associated with the LCH to which the to-be-transmitted data belongs; and the buffer status information comprises at least a data volume of the to-be-transmitted data that arrives latest (e.g. paragraphs 0040-0042]).
Re claim 6, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 the buffer status information further comprises at least one of the following: a data volume of remaining to-be-transmitted data; a data volume of remaining to-be-transmitted data other than the to-be-transmitted data that arrives latest; an identifier or an indication indicating that to-be-transmitted data exists; a remaining PDB or a remaining PSDB of to-be-transmitted data; or jitter information upon arrival of to-be-transmitted data (e.g. paragraphs [0060-0071]).
Re claim 7, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 when the to-be-transmitted data on the first LCH meets the first condition, the associated data comprises at least one of an LCH or an LCG associated with the first LCH; or when the to-be-transmitted data on the second LCH meets the first condition, the associated data comprises at least one of an LCH or an LCG associated with the second LCH (e.g. paragraphs [0252 and 0335]); and the communication method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, first information from the network device, wherein the first information indicates at least one of the LCH or the LCG associated with the first LCH or the second LCH; and determining, by the terminal device, the associated data based on the first information (e.g. paragraphs [0018-0019, 0027 and 0040])
Re claim 8, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 the first condition further indicates that the buffer status information of the associated data is not sent (e.g. paragraphs [0395 and 0419]).
Re claim 9, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 a data type of the to-be-transmitted data comprises at least one of the following: a data packet; a data frame; or a data burst (e.g. paragraph [0225]).
Re claim 10, Xu et al. disclose in Figures 1-9 a communication method (e.g. abstract, Figure 3 with component 301 and paragraphs [0028-0029]), comprising: sending, by a network device, a first indication to a terminal device (e.g. abstract, Figure 3 with component 301 and paragraphs [0028-0029]), wherein the first indication comprises at least one of: a first configuration of a data radio bearer (DRB) of the terminal device (e.g. paragraphs [0018 and 0037] with configuration associated with DRB); a first configuration of a first logical channel (LCH); or a second LCH corresponding to the DRB (e.g. paragraphs [0018-0019 and 0037-0038] with configuration of LCH), wherein the first configuration indicates to trigger a buffer status report (BSR) when a first duration expires and to-be-transmitted data on the first LCH or the second LCH meets a first condition (e.g. paragraphs [0017 and 0020-0024]); and receiving, by the network device, buffer status information of a first logical channel group (LCG) from the terminal device (e.g. abstract and Figure 3 with component 302 and paragraph [0173]), wherein the first LCG comprises an LCG corresponding to the first LCH and an LCG corresponding to the second LCH (e.g. paragraphs [0025-0027]).
Re claim 11, it is a method claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 12, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 13, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 14, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 15, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 16, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Re claim 17, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Re claim 18, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Re claim 19, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 8. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Re claim 20, it is an apparatus claim having similar limitation as cited in claim 9. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20250386240-A1
US-20250031092-A1
US-20230164773-A1
US-20240172306-A1
US-20190268799-A1
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451