Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loniello (20070013158).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 9, 14, and 15, Loniello discloses, a walker umbrella device comprising: a walker (fig. 1); a body component (106); a plurality of fasteners (110); and an umbrella (102);wherein said body component having a cylindrical shape (114) and interior cavity (“hollow portion” [0022]); wherein said plurality of fasteners fasten said body component to said walker ([0022]); wherein said umbrella having a handle (116); and further wherein said cylindrical shape receiving said handle of said umbrella for mounting said umbrella to said walker (fig. 5).
Regarding claims, 2, 3, and 20, Loniello discloses wherein said umbrella openable while mounted in said body component and said walker and said umbrella usable simultaneously (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 10-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loniello (20070013158).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 16, and 17, Loniello teaches that the body component is plastic ([0022]), but fails to specifically teach the claimed plastic materials.
The examiner takes official notice that polypropylene and polyethylene are known materials used in plastics. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to use polypropylene or polyethylene in the plastic body component of Loiello as are both well known and easily produced plastic materials which would be cost effective. It is also noted that the specification does not offer criticality of using one plastic material over the others.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 12, 13, 18, and 19, Loiello teaches a waterproof body component (106).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee 2012/0097720 discloses an umbrella holding device in combination with a walker that is very similar to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637