DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 and 09/22/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1 line 4, cancel “hole)” and replace with “hole” to correct the typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshii et al. (US 2023/0191794).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshii et al teaches a negative pressure regulation valve (120 fig.29) connected to a liquid flow path that allows communication between a liquid reservoir portion (such as ink tank 2 fig.1), which contains a liquid, and a liquid ejection portion (300 fig.29), which ejects the liquid, the negative pressure regulation valve (120) comprising:
an inflow-side pressure chamber (121 fig.29) including a liquid inflow hole (hole connecting 121 to 110 fig.29) that communicates with a liquid inflow path that is the liquid flow path on a side of the liquid reservoir portion (ink tank 2 through filter 110);
an outflow-side pressure chamber (122 fig.29) including a liquid outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130,160 fig.29) that communicates with a liquid outflow path that is the liquid flow path on a side of the liquid ejection portion (300);
a communication hole (191A fig.29) that allows communication between the inflow-side pressure chamber (121) and the outflow-side pressure chamber (122); and
a valve member (190A fig.29) inserted in the communication hole (191A) and movable, in accordance with change of pressure inside the outflow-side pressure chamber (122), to a closing position for closing the communication hole and an opening position for opening the communication hole (fig.29),
wherein the outflow-side pressure chamber (122 fig.29) includes, as the liquid outflow hole,
a first outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130, and/or 160 fig.29) formed below the communication hole (191A) and
a second outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 600 upper side of 122 fig.29) formed above the communication hole (191A), and
in a case where a first fluid flows out from the outflow-side pressure chamber (122 fig.29) via the first outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130 fig.29) and the second outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 600 upper side of 122 fig.29), a first flow path resistance generated when the first fluid passes through the first outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130 fig.29) is lower than a second flow path resistance generated when the first fluid passes through the second outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 600 upper side of 122 fig.29) (fig.29, paragraphs 0172-0176. Given the increased length, curvatures, and/or orientations in relation to gravity of channel 600 contributes to a higher flow resistance /second flow path resistance/ compared to the straight configuration of first outflow hole/channel 130).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein the first outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130+160 fig.29) has a larger inner diameter than the second outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 600 upper side of 122 fig.29).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshii et al further teaches further comprising: a diaphragm portion (diaphragm of 122 fig.29 similar element to 230 in figs.7) that constitutes part of the outflow-side pressure chamber (122) and that is displaced by pressure change inside the outflow-side pressure chamber (122), thereby changing capacity of the outflow-side pressure chamber; and a biasing member (spring fig.29) that biases the valve member in a direction toward the closing position, wherein the valve member is caused by displacement of the diaphragm portion and a biasing force of the biasing member to move to the closing position and the opening position (fig.29).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein in a case where the first fluid is supplied from the liquid reservoir portion to the inflow-side pressure chamber (121 fig.29) and in at least part of the outflow-side pressure chamber (122), a second fluid exists that does not mix with the first fluid and has a lower density than the first fluid (bubble BL, air fig.29), the first flow path resistance is higher than a third flow path resistance generated when the second fluid passes through the second outflow hole (fig.29, paragraphs 0172-0176, the bubble/air has less resistance than the ink).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein the first fluid is a liquid, and the second fluid is a gas (bubble BL, air fig.29, paragraphs 0172-0176).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein in a case where the first fluid is supplied from the liquid reservoir portion to the inflow-side pressure chamber (121 fig.29) and in at least part of the outflow-side pressure chamber (122), a third fluid exists that has a higher density than the first fluid (for instance coagulated fluid for example due to foreign matters such as dust, change in temperature, chemical residue in the ink, etc), the second flow path resistance is equal to or higher than a fourth flow path resistance generated when the third fluid passes through the first outflow hole (fig.29, paragraphs 0067,0172-0176).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein the first fluid and the third fluid are liquids (fig.29, paragraphs 0067,0172-0176 for instance the ink and coagulated ink due to for example due to foreign matters such as dust, change in temperature, chemical residue in the ink, etc).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein in a case where the first fluid is supplied from the liquid reservoir portion to the inflow-side pressure chamber (121 fig.29) and in at least part of the outflow-side pressure chamber (122), a fourth fluid (for instance bubble) exists that does not mix with the first fluid and has a lower density than the first fluid, the first flow path resistance is equal to or higher than a fifth flow path resistance generated when the fourth fluid passes through the second outflow hole (fig.29, paragraphs 0172-0176).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein the first fluid and the fourth fluid are liquids (fig.29, paragraphs 0067,0172-0176).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshii et al further teaches an inkjet recording apparatus (fig.1), comprising: an ink container (2 fig.1) that contains ink that is a liquid; one or more recording heads (300 fig.2) having a plurality of nozzles that eject the ink; and the negative pressure regulation valve (fig.29) according to claim 1 connected to an ink flow path between the ink container (2) and the recording heads (300) (figs.1,2,29).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshii et al further teaches wherein the ink flow path includes a first outflow path that communicates with the first outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 130, and/or 160 fig.29), and a second outflow path that communicates with the second outflow hole (hole connecting 122 to 600 upper side of 122 fig.29), and the first outflow path and the second outflow path communicate with the recording heads (300).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853