DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190335758 (hereafter, COUTTE; cited in the IDS filed on 3/24/2026).
As to claims 1, 7 and 9, COUTTE teaches a biostimulant composition comprising lipopeptides (peptide-based biosurfactant) used in agriculture to promote plant growth wherein the lipopeptide is surfactin (abstract, [0021], [0022], and [0032]). COUTTE further teaches the composition may also contain adjuvants (agriculturally acceptable carrier) in order to facilitate the penetration of the preparation into the plant ([0033]). COUTTE discloses a composition comprising supernatant of Bacillus subtilis culture concentrated and purified containing 99% of surfactin ([0127]). COUTTE further discloses that the lipopeptide solutions were concentrated and then purified by tangential filtration and the solutions were then diluted in 0.1% DMSO in distilled water ([0124]). The DMSO solution is an agriculturally acceptable carrier. Also, the concentrated lipopeptide solution which is diluted with 0.1% DMSO in distilled water reads on a composition precursor recited in claim 9.
As to claim 2, COUTTE teaches that the lipopeptide preparation according to the invention may contain lipopeptides at a concentration of at least 10 mg/L (0.001%), 20 mg/L, 50 mg/L, or 100 mg/L (0.01%), 1 g/L (0.1%), 2 g/L, 5 g/L (0.5%), or 10 g/L (1%) ([0016]). COUTTE also discloses a composition comprising purified lipopeptides between 0.002% and 15% lipopeptides ([0017]) and specifically discloses a composition comprising 90 mg/L iturin A, 100 mg/L fengycin A and B and 60 mg/L surfactin A (0.006 %) (p15, lines 4-13 and Fig. 9). The percentage (0.006%) of surfactin (claimed biosurfactant) falls within the claimed range.
As to claim 8, COUTTE teaches that the biostimulant preparation may be applied by foliar treatment (applying on a plant leaf) in order to obtain a significant gain in foliar and/or root and/or fruit and/or vegetable and/or cereal matter and this treatment can be applied by spraying the biostimulant composition ([0039]).
As to the preamble of instant claims, (i.e., “for reducing reactive oxygen”), the preamble is intended use or results of the claimed composition. The prior art teaches the same composition comprising the same biosurfactant such as surfactin and an agriculturally acceptable carrier and spraying the composition on a plant leaf, thus the composition of the prior art necessarily performs the function as claimed (i.e., reducing reactive oxygen”) when the composition is sprayed on a plant leaf as taught by the prior. It is noted that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties and a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir.1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “[N]ewly discovered results of known processes directed to the same purpose are not patentable." Bristol-Myers Squibb, 246 F.3d at 1376. Also, see In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (a case indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C.102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103).
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by COUTTE.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20030064986 (hereafter, HAN, its English translation cited).
HAN teaches a nanoemulsion comprising lecithin (phospholipid) as a main surfactant and lipopeptide-based anionic surfactants such as surfactin as a co-surfactant (abstract). HAN further teaches the nanoemulsion has 0.1 to 20% by weight of phospholipid and 0.005 to 5% by weight of anionic surfactants such as surfactin, based on the total weight of the nanoemulsion ([0127]).
HAN specifically discloses an exemplary composition comprising 2g hydrogenated soy lecithin, 1 g PEG-5 Rapeseed Sterol 1g, 15g olive oil, 4 g 2- ethyl-1,3-hexane diol 4g, 10 g alcohol, 0.1 g surfactin, and 167g of distilled water (preparation example 1). The total amount of the composition is about 200 g, thus the percentage of surfactin is 0.05%. Alcohol and water are agriculturally acceptable carriers.
As to the preamble of instant claims, (i.e., “for reducing reactive oxygen”), such intended use of the claimed composition does not have a patentable weight. An intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, the prior art teaches the same composition comprising the same components: a biosurfactant such as surfactin, a phospholipid such as soy lecithin and an agriculturally acceptable carrier. Thus, it would be capable of performing the intended use as claimed. In accordance with the patent statutes, an article or composition of matter, in order to patentable, must not only be useful and involve invention, but must also be new. If there is no novelty in an article or composition itself, then a patent cannot be properly granted on the article or composition, regardless of the use for which it is.
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by HAN.
Claims 1-2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5756471 (hereafter, HILLION).
As to claims 1 and 7, HILLION teaches a composition comprising an effective amount of a sophorolipid (sugar-based biosurfactant) capable of inhibiting free radical formation (reducing reactive oxygen species) wherein the sophorolipid is dissolved in an oily phase, an aqueous solution, an alcoholic solution, an oleoalcoholic solution, or a hydroalcoholic solution (abstract, claims 1 and 7, and col 10, lines 47-49). The aqueous solution, an alcoholic solution, an oleoalcoholic solution, or a hydroalcoholic solution, is an agriculturally acceptable carrier. HILLION further teaches that the composition comprises a sophorolipid and a conventional emulsifying agent (claim 6).
As to claim 2, HILLION teaches that the concentrations of the sophorolipid can be 0.01% to 30% by weight more, particularly 0.05% to 5% of sophorolipids by weight (abstract, claim 8, and col. 5 lines 18-21). HILLION specifically discloses an exemplary composition comprising acid sophorolipids in concentrations of 0.0092%, 0.028, and 0.083%, which showed 98% or 100% anti-radical protection toward hydroxy radical (Col 10, Table 8 and lines 23-31 and 47-61).
HILLION also discloses Crude 6% (dry matter) sophorolipid products and 4% (dry matter) acid sophorolipids, which is diluted in distilled water. The Crude 6% (dry matter) sophorolipid products and 4% (dry matter) acid sophorolipids read on a composition precursor as recited in claim 9 since it is diluted in distilled water to form a composition for reducing free radical (reactive oxygen) comprising a sophorolipid and water (agriculturally acceptable carrier).
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by HILLION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190335758 (hereafter, COUTTE; cited in the IDS filed on 3/24/2026) in view of Hasegawa et al. (Biotechnology Letters 24: 1483–1486, 2002).
COUTTE does not specifically teach soybean meal degradation product recited in claim 5-6.
Hasegawa et al. teach promotion of plant and root growth by soybean meal degradation products (title and abstract). Hasegawa et al. further teach that Bacillus circulans HA12 was used for production of the soybean meal degradation product (DSP) and DSP contained 30 mg peptides + amino acids/ml as measured by the ninhydrin method (p1483, col 2, Materials and methods). In addition, Hasegawa et al. disclose the use of DSP (300 μg/10 ml plant growth medium) for promotion of root growth. The concentration of DSP (300 μg/10 ml=3 mg/100 ml) is about 0.003 %.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the soybean meal degradation product in combination with COUTTE’s biostimulant composition comprising a peptide-based biosurfactant such as surfactin because both are taught to be effective for promoting plant growth. According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.06, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). In this case, one would have been motivated to combine COUTTE’s biostimulant composition comprising a peptide-based biosurfactant such as surfactin and the soybean meal degradation product based on their independent efficacy in promoting plant growth on the reasonable expectation that the resulting combination would provide combined beneficial effects on plant growth.
As to the concentration of the soybean meal degradation product, Hasegawa et al. teach and suggest a concentration close to those claimed. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A rejection under 35 USC §103 is proper in this example if one skilled in the art would have expected the claimed range and the prior art range to have the same or similar properties. Also, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the concentration of the soybean meal degradation product for maximizing its effects on promoting plant growth. In addition, it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 USPQ 33; In re Russell, 169 USPQ 426. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”)
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20030064986 (hereafter, HAN).
HAN as applied supra is herein applied for the same teachings in their entirety.
HAN does not specifically disclose a composition comprising a phospholipid in a concentration falling within the range recited in claim 4. However, HAN teaches the nanoemulsion has 0.1 to 20% by weight of phospholipid and 0.005 to 5% by weight of anionic surfactants such as surfactin, based on the total weight of the nanoemulsion ([0127]). The range overlaps those claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also, a rejection under 35 USC §103 is proper for that portion of the range that overlaps (e.g., 0.1 wt. %) as it would have been prima facie obvious to have selected the overlapping portion of the range. See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). See MPEP 2144.05 IIA.
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5756471 (hereafter, HILLION) in view of Pan et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 450 (1-2): 129-137, 2013).
HILLION does not specifically teach a phospholipid such as lecithin recited in claims 3-4.
However, HILLION already teach and suggest the composition comprises a sophorolipid and a conventional emulsifying agent (claim 6).
It was known in the art that a phospholipid such as lecithin is a conventional emulsifying agent and lecithin also has antioxidant properties against free radicals as evidenced by Pan et al. (title, abstract, and Fig. 3 and 6).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a sophorolipid in combination with lecithin as a conventional emulsifying agent because HILLION already teaches and suggests such combination. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use lecithin as an emulsifying agent for the composition comprising a sophorolipid taught by HILLION on the reasonable expectation that lecithin would work as an emulsifying agent while providing additional antioxidant effects in inhibition of free radical formation.
As to the concentration of the phospholipid in claim 4, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the concentration of the phospholipid such as lecithin for performing its emulsifying and antioxidant activities. In addition, it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 USPQ 33; In re Russell, 169 USPQ 426. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”)
Statutory Double Patenting Rejection
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 5, 7 and 9 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 of copending Application No. 19/092137. This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented. Although the instant claims recite “for reducing reactive oxygen” and the claims of ‘137 application recite “for promoting root nodule formation” as intended use of the composition, such intended use recitation does not have any patentable weight because it does not change structural feature of the composition. Since the claims of both applications are drawn to the same composition comprising the same components, they cover the same invention with no difference in the scope of the claims.
Non-statutory Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of copending application 19/092137.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘137 application are also drawn to a composition comprising: at least one biosurfactant selected from the group consisting of peptide-based biosurfactants and sugar-based biosurfactants, which are selected from the group consisting of surfactin, rhamnolipids, sophorolipids, and their salts; and an agriculturally acceptable carrier wherein the composition further comprises a soybean meal degradation product.
As such, the instant claims are anticipated by or would have been obvious over the claims of the co-pending application.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/BONG-SOOK BAEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611