DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “positioning structure” in claim 1; and “structure” in claim 9..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (US 20090237537) in view of Krill (WO 20220175520).
Claim 1: Maruyama discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
a heat radiating member to which heat generated by an electronic component is transferred (Inner housing 61 acts to radiate heat that is generated by the camera and transferred to housing 61. ¶¶ 17 and 33; Fig. 3.);
an exterior member covering the heat radiating member (Exterior housing 11. Fig. 3 and ¶ 17.); and
a positioning structure configured to position the heat radiating member relative to the exterior member (Inner housing 61 is fixed relative to outer housing 11 such that a space is formed between the two. ¶ 31. Fixing projections form a positioning structure to define the heat dissipating space. Id.).
Maruyama discloses that a space is defined between inner housing 61 and outer housing 11 (see e.g. Abstract), but does not disclose that the heat radiating member does not contact the exterior member.
It was well known in the relevant art to provide a fixing structure between a heat radiating member and a housing such that the radiating member does not directly contact the housing. For example, Krill discloses a positioning structure configured to position a heat radiating member relative to an exterior member so that the heat radiating member does not contact the exterior member (Krill pg. 4 ¶ 1 of the provided English translation, which corresponds to pg. 5 line 27 – pg. 6 line 5 of the original German document.).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama with teachings in Krill. The POSITA would have been motivated by Krill to use Krill’s intermediate piece 10, made of a lower thermal conductivity, to connect Maruyama’s inner housing 61 to the outer housing 11. The POSITA would have concluded that this modification would have provided “thermal decoupling” between the heat-radiating inner housing 61 and the outer housing 11.
Claim 2: Maruyama-Krill discloses that the positioning structure includes a member having a thermal conductivity lower than that of the heat radiating member (Intermediate piece 10 has lower thermal conductivity than the heat sink. See Krill pg. 4 ¶ 1.).
Claim 4: Maruyama-Krill discloses that the positioning structure includes a member that is fixed to the exterior member and positions the heat radiating member relative to the exterior member in a direction orthogonal to an assembly direction of the heat radiating member and the exterior member (Krill pg. 4 and Maruyama Fig. 5).
Maruyama-Krill does not disclose that the positioning structure includes a resin member. However, official notice is taken that this type of material was a well known thermal insulator. Therefore it would have been obvious to the POSITA to use a resin member in place of Krill’s rubber piece, the rationale being to simplify production and lower cost.
Claim 5: Maruyama-Krill disclose that the resin member is a member that supports an operation unit operable by a user (The rubber piece/resin member of Maruyama-Krill supports Maruyama’s housing 11 and back side housing 20, which contains the camera’s operation units operable by the user. See e.g. Maruyama Fig. 4.).
Claim 6: Maruyama-Krill discloses an intermediate member disposed between the heat radiating member and the exterior member so that the heat radiating member does not contact the exterior member (Krill pg. 4.).
Claim 7: Maruyama-Krill discloses that the intermediate member is a member having a thermal conductivity lower than that of the heat radiating member (Krill pg. 4).
Claim 8: Maruyama-Krill renders obvious that the intermediate member is a resin sheet or a flexible printed circuit (see rejection of claim 4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama-Krill in view of Nakada, WO 2021095547.
Claim 9: Maruyama-Krill discloses that a space is formed between the heat radiating member and the exterior member, wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a structure configured to radiate the heat from the heat radiating member to air in the space (The structure of the unit creates the heat dissipating space between inner housing 61 and outer housing 11 and enables heat to be dissipated into the air of this space. Maruyama ¶ 31.).
Maruyama-Krill does not disclose that the electronic apparatus further comprises a structure configured to discharge the air to outside of the electronic apparatus.
Nakada discloses an imaging device with a structure configured to discharge air to outside of the electronic apparatus (Fig. 6 and its description).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama-Krill with this structure in Nakada, the rationale being to more quickly and efficiently remove heated air from the camera.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama-Krill in view of Shiozaki, JP 2021150763.
Claim 10: Maruyama-Krill fails to disclose a control unit configured to restrict an operation of the electronic apparatus according to a temperature of the exterior member.
Shiozaki discloses a camera with a control unit configured to restrict an operation of the electronic apparatus according to a temperature of the exterior member (Based in part on readings from temperature sensor 220a, which detects the temperature of the exterior housing, operations of the camera are restricted. See Abstract, and Fig. 3 – Fig. 5 and their description. The camera is restricted by limiting the video recording time. See id.).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama-Krill with this structure in Nakada, the rationale being to ensure that high temperatures do not damage the camera. See Nakada Background.
Claim 11: Maruyama-Krill-Nakada discloses that the electronic apparatus is an image pickup apparatus configured to image an object and generate an image, and wherein the control unit reduces a continuous moving image capturing time or lowers a continuous still-image shooting speed according to the temperature (Nakada Abstract, and Fig. 3 – Fig. 5 and their description.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J HANCE/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992