DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims contain the abbreviation “API” without first providing a definition. It is not clear the meaning of abbreviation, therefore the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryoo et al. (US Patent Pub. 2010/0112050, disclosed by applicant).
Ryoo et al. disclose oral dosage forms as a biodegradable, water soluble film for delivering pharmaceutically active agents, particularly antimigraine agents to patients through insertion into the mouth of the patient (ABSTRACT). Ryoo et al. disclose a method of treating migraine headaches with triptans, which include sumatripan, zolmitriptan, and naratriptan ({0011]). Ryoo et al. disclose the film comprises sodium alginate at a concentration from about 5% to about 95% and water ([0022], Examples). Ryoo et al. disclose treating symptoms of migraines which include nausea and vomiting ([0018]). Ryoo et al. disclose treatment with chemotherapeutics, which would meet the limitation of treatment for cancer of instant claim 17 ([0049). Ryoo et al. disclose the film is formed by mixing the active agent with a solution of non-toxic acid such as phosphoric acid ([0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al. (US Patent Pub. 2010/0112050) in view of Huebinette et al. (WO 2007073346, disclosed by applicant).
Ryoo et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the alginate salts of instant claims 5 and 6.
Huebinette et al. disclose a film comprising alginate salt of monovalent cation comprising from 25 to 35% by weight of β–D mannuronate and 65 to 75% by weight of α–D guluronate with a molecular weight of from 30,000 g/mol to 90,000 g/mol (reference claims 3-5).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the claimed alginate salt, since they are known for film formulations.
Claims 8-11, 14, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al. (US Patent Pub. 2010/0112050, disclosed by applicant) in view of Myers et al. (US Patent Pub. 2014/0271788, disclosed by applicant).
Ryoo et al. disclose oral dosage forms as a biodegradable, water soluble film for delivering pharmaceutically active agents, particularly antimigraine agents to patients through insertion into the mouth of the patient (ABSTRACT). Ryoo et al. disclose a method of treating migraine headaches with triptans, which include sumatripan, zolmitriptan, and naratriptan ({0011]). Ryoo et al. disclose the film comprises sodium alginate at a concentration from about 5% to about 95% and water ([0022], Examples). Ryoo et al. disclose treating symptoms of migraines which include nausea and vomiting ([0018]). Ryoo et al. disclose treatment with chemotherapeutics, which would meet the limitation of treatment for cancer of instant claim 22 ([0049). Ryoo et al. disclose the film is formed by mixing the active agent with a solution of non-toxic acid such as phosphoric acid ([0019]). Ryoo et al. disclose forming an aqueous solution comprising mixing sodium alginate, active ingredient, plasticizers and pharmaceutically acceptable additives, flavoring agents, adjuvants. The mixture is then cast into films by coating and drying generally using a coating and casting machine. Generally drying can take place at from about 60° to 80° C. The oral usage dosage film has a thickness of from about 0.1 mm to about 5 mm ([0042])
Ryoo et al is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the buffering component and acidifying agent of instant claim 10.
Myers et al. disclose film dosage compositions for treating pain (Abstract and [0006]). Myers et al. disclose the polymer included in the films include sodium alginate ([0033]). Myers et al. disclose the compositions comprise plasticizers such as glycerol and sorbitol at a concentration of about 0.5 to about 30% ([0056]). Myers et al. disclose the composition includes at least one buffer so as to control the local pH of the film to a pH of about 2 to about 4, including disodium phosphate, phosphoric acid and combinations thereof ([0087]).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the buffering agent, sodium dihydrogen phosphate and phosphoric acid and plasticizers sorbitol of glycerol, since they are known for oral film formulations.
In regard to the amount of buffering component, i.e. sodium dihydrogen phosphate, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. Myers et al. disclose the amount of buffering component as a “result effective” variable, since they control the local pH of the film ([0087]). Therefore, it would be obvious to have varied the amount of buffering agent within the composition motivated by the desire to achieve the desired effect, i.e. control the local pH of the film.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,007,144. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in both instances the claims are directed to a film suitable for administration to an oral cavity comprising; (i) an alginate salt of a monovalent cation or a mixture of alginate salts containing at least one alginate salt of a monovalent cation; and (ii) a triptan or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,521. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in both instances the claims are directed to a film suitable for administration to an oral cavity comprising; (i) an alginate salt of a monovalent cation or a mixture of alginate salts containing at least one alginate salt of a monovalent cation; and (ii) a triptan or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612