Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou(US2021/0402263 A1) in view of KO (US2015/0140157 A1) and Rapaport (US 2012/0234467 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ou discloses a manufacturing method of a sports ball (abstract), comprising the steps of: forming a plurality of panels [0050], comprising: forming an outer layer [0052] for the plurality of panels (13), comprising forming the outer layer by attaching foam [0068] to a Polyurethane (PU) layer [0068];forming cutouts [0068] corresponding to a respective shape for each of the plurality of panels from the outer layer [0052];forming pre-mold cutouts (502/622)
by creating one or more foam indentations (2132 [0058, 0071]) on each of the respective cutouts by removing a part of the foam of each respective cutout of the respective cutouts
forming each respective panel of the plurality of panels by: placing each of the pre-mold cutouts [0080] in a corresponding mold [0083], wherein a shape of the corresponding mold corresponds to a shape of a finalized panel, the corresponding mold comprising of an upper mold portion [0083] and a lower mold portion [0083] (M5 and M6), the lower mold portion comprising a cavity (see figure 13), in a desired shape of a respective panel, the upper mold portion (602).
Ou discloses forming each respective panel in each respective corresponding mold by applying pressure to each of the pre-mold cutouts utilizing the upper mold portion and applying heat [0057]; forming a pre-finalized ball by attaching the plurality of the panels to a bladder (11); and placing the pre-finalized sports ball in a ball mold and applying heat to the pre- finalized sports ball [0057-0058].
Ou does not explicitly disclose comprising a pressing part corresponding to shape of the cavity, wherein each of the pre-mold cutouts with an end-to-end length more than an end-to-end length of the pressing part or by applying a laser to the foam of each respective cutout;
Analogous art, Ko, depicts a pressing part (524) corresponding to shape of the cavity (see figure 5A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pressing part in order to attach the slug in the mold [0062].
As for the pre-mold cutouts with an end-to-end length more than an end-to-end length of the pressing part, MPEP 2144.05 states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Ou discloses high frequency panel cutting die but not disclose forming pre-mold cutouts by creating one or more foam indentations on each of the respective cutouts by applying a laser to the foam of each respective cutout. Analogous sport ball art, Rapaport, discloses “a polymer sheet 71 is die cut, laser cut, or otherwise incised to form a plurality of pentagonally-shaped bladder panels 41” [0046]. Rapaport discloses that laser beam is an alternative way to cut the respective shapes. MPEP 2143 states a prima facie evidence of obviousness is present when simple substitution of one know element for another to obtain predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the high frequency panel cutting device for a laser since it is conventionally known to substitute similar elements. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ou and Rapport teaches forming pre-mold cutouts by creating the one or more foam indentations on each of the respective cutouts comprising creating the one or more foam indentation by applying a laser to the foam of each respective cutout (Ou teaches indentations (2131, [0071]); and for the laser, Rapaport, discloses “a polymer sheet 71 is die cut, laser cut, or otherwise incised to form a plurality of pentagonally-shaped bladder panels 41” [0046]. Rapaport discloses that laser beam is an alternative way to cut the respective shapes/indentation.
Regarding claim 12, Ou doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein each respective panel with an end-to-end length of one millimeter more than an end-to-end length of the pressing part. However, MPEP 2144.04 states In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) Mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled. Further, MPEP 2144.05 states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 13, Ou teaches further comprising forming the bladder by wrapping a rubber bladder with a fabric or yarn [0052].
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou(US2021/0402263 A1) in view of KO (US2015/0140157 A1) and Rapaport (US 2012/0234467 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ono et al (US 2015/0165277 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10, Ou does not explicitly disclose wherein forming pre-mold cutouts by creating the one or more foam indentations on each of the respective cutouts by applying the laser to the foam of each respective cutout comprises: forming a first indentation line a distance of 1.5 to 2 mm from an edge of each respective cutout; and applying the laser of up to 0.75 mm diameter at the first indentation line.
As for the indentations, analogous sports art, Ono et al, discloses “dimples and/or textured surfaces may be laser cut into a coating of a golf ball cover layer” and “Laser cutting dimples into golf balls may expedite the process of making prototype golf balls by eliminating the need for a dimple mold to be made. As a result, laser cutting may provide the ability to make various shapes, sizes, and/or patterns of dimples without the limitations presented by molds [0019]. Ono further discloses “laser cutting machine 100A of FIG. 9 thus enables a user to customize the dimples to a particular set of user criteria, doing so via the user prompts 109, while still maintaining optimal coverage of the surface” [0051] and “while conventional off-the-shelf golf balls are produced in volume with an "optimal" dimple depth, this depth is largely determined using an average swing speed and average environmental conditions. It is recognized herein that the true optimal depth for a given golfer will vary based on the golfer's swing speed and the actual environmental conditions in which that golfer is expected to play. By way of example, wet ground will not provide much if any roll, while the opposite holds true for dry ground. Likewise, a golfer with a faster or slower relative swing speed may desire a steeper or flatter trajectory relative to that provided via a stock golf ball. The user interface 106A thus allows a user to enter information about the user and/or the user's environment, with this information thereafter used in control of the laser cutting process as described above” [0051]. Therefore, the distance of the first indentation line is result effective variable. MPEP 2144.05 further states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated forming pre-mold cutouts by creating one or more foam indentations on each of the respective cutouts by applying a laser to the foam of each respective cutout comprises: forming a first indentation line a distance of 1.5 to 2 mm from an edge of each respective cutout; and applying a laser of up to 0.75 mm diameter at the first indentation line based on design needs of the player and environment of the ball.
Regarding claim 11, Ono discloses wherein forming pre-mold cutouts by creating the one or more foam indentations on each of the respective cutouts comprises two or more foam indentations (Ou teaches indentations (2131, [0071])). Further, MPEP 2144.04 VI discloses In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 5-6 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12257482B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Both claims disclose A manufacturing method of a sports ball, comprising the steps of: forming a plurality of panels (502), comprising: forming an outer layer (200) for the plurality of panels, comprising forming the outer layer by attaching foam (206) to a Polyurethane (PU) layer (202);forming cutouts (312 and 314) corresponding to a respective shape for each of the plurality of panels from the outer layer (200/300),;forming pre-mold cutouts (502/622) by creating one or more foam indentations (510) on each of the respective cutouts by removing a part of the foam of each respective cutout of the respective cutouts by applying a laser to the foam of the each respective cutout; forming each respective panel of the plurality of panels by: placing each of the pre-mold cutouts (622) in a corresponding mold (600), wherein a shape of the corresponding mold corresponds to a shape of a finalized panel, the corresponding mold comprising of an upper mold portion (602) and a lower mold portion (604), the lower mold portion (604) comprising a cavity (610), in a desired shape of a respective panel, the upper mold portion (602) comprising a pressing part (608) corresponding to shape of the cavity (610), ), wherein each of the pre-mold cutouts (622) with an end-to-end length (620) more than an end-to-end length (614) of the pressing part (608); and forming each respective panel in each respective corresponding mold by applying pressure to each of the pre-mold cutouts utilizing the upper mold portion (602) and applying heat forming a pre-finalized ball by attaching the plurality of the panels (1302) to a bladder (1300); and placing the pre-finalized sports ball (1310) in a ball mold and applying heat to the pre- finalized sports ball. Claim 7 is a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12257482B2.
Claim 12 of the instant application wherein each respective panel with an end-to-end length of one millimeter more than an end-to-end length of the pressing part is the same as claim 5 U.S. Patent No. 12257482B2.
Claim 13 of the instant application further comprising forming the bladder by wrapping a rubber bladder with a fabric or yarn is the same as claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12257482B2.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754