DETAILED ACTION
Opening Remarks
All the claims are directed to the species as shown in figure 20 (i.e. sole board (10,110,210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by either US 10182612 (Bunnell ‘612) or US 2017/0127755 (Bunnell ‘755). Bunnell ‘612 and Bunnell ‘755 are based upon the same patent application 15/341530 and therefore are equivalent.
With regard to claims 8-12 and 14-17, Bunnell discloses an article of footwear comprising:
a first sole board (insole board 12D; see figure 20) comprising a first channel (30C) disposed in a top surface of the first plate in the forefoot region, the first channel extending from a lateral edge of the first plate to a medial edge of the first plate
a second sole board (outsole 82E; see figure 20) comprising a second channel (30E) disposed in a top surface of the second plate in the forefoot region,
wherein the second channel is aligned with the first channel such that the second channel is underneath the first channel (see figure 20).
With regard to claims 9,10, at least see figures 2 and 11 of Bunnell, showing the channels extending from edge to edge of the inner perimeter.
With regard to claims 11-12, at least see figures 2 and 11 of Bunnell showing the channels in the metatarsal region of the forefoot region.
With regard to claim 14, as noted above, the first sole board is an insole board (12D).
Regarding claim 16, see col. 3, lines 57-62 of Bunnell ‘612 which teaches the sole boards (plates) comprising of a variety of materials including foam and thermoplastic polyurethane.
Regarding claim 17, as shown in the figures the first sole board is fixedly attached to the article of footwear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0079376 (Bunnell ‘376) in view of US 10182612 (Bunnell ‘612) or US 2017/0127755 (Bunnell ‘755). Bunnell ‘612 and Bunnell ‘755 are based upon the same patent application 15/341530 and therefore are equivalent.
Bunnell ‘376 teaches a first sole structure (12) comprising a first channel (30) on a top surface of the first sole structure. Bunnell teaches the sole structures can be a combination of an insole, a midsole and an outersole (three sole boards/plates); at least see last sentence of paragraph 0028, 0040,0064 and claims 18-19.
With regard to claims 8-17 and 21, Bunnell ‘376 discloses an article of footwear comprising:
a first sole board (insole or midsole of the three sole combination as described above; e.g. insole board 12B or middle sole 12C) comprising a first channel (30) disposed in a top surface of the first sole board; and
a second sole board (midsole or outsole of the three sole combination described above; e.g. middle sole 12C or outsole 12) comprising a second channel (30) disposed in a top surface of the second board.
Bunnell ‘376 lacks showing the second channel is aligned with the first channel such that the second channel is underneath the first channel.
Bunnell ‘612 and Bunnell ‘755 Bunnell discloses an article of footwear comprising:
a first sole board (10E; see figure 20) comprising a first plate (12D) having a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region;
a first channel (30C) disposed in a top surface of the first plate in the forefoot region, the first channel extending from a lateral edge of the first plate to a medial edge of the first plate
a second sole board (82E; see figure 20) comprising a second plate having a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region, the second sole board disposed underneath the first sole board;
a second channel (30E) disposed in a top surface of the second plate in the forefoot region, the second channel extending from a lateral edge of the second plate to a medial edge of the second plate; and
wherein the second channel is aligned with the first channel such that the second channel is underneath the first channel (see figure 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article of footwear as taught by Bunnell ‘376, with the second channel is aligned with the first channel such that the second channel is underneath the first channel, as taught by Bunnell ‘612 and/or Bunnell ‘755, to facilitate flexing of the entire sole structure.
With regard to claims 9,10, at least see figures 1,9 and 14 of Bunnell ‘376, showing the channels extending from edge to edge of the perimeter.
With regard to claim 11, at least see figure 1,9 and 14 of Bunnell ‘376 showing the channels in the metatarsal region of the forefoot region.
Regarding claim 13, “the midsole” as taught by Bunnell ‘376 is inherently “a third sole board comprising a third board disposed between the first sole board (insole) and the second sole board (outsole).
Regarding claim 14, the “insole” and the “midsole” as taught by Bunnell is inherently a sock liner and insole, respectively, inasmuch as it has all the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, see figure 3 of ‘376 which shows the wearer’s foot (52) disposed above the sole structure and therefore teaches the first sole board disposed between the second sole board and the wearer’s foot.
Regarding claim 16, see paragraph 0063 of Bunnell ‘376 which teaches the sole boards (plates) comprising of a variety of materials including foam and thermoplastic polyurethane.
Regarding claim 17, as shown in the figures the first sole board is fixedly attached to the article of footwear.
Regarding claim 21, at least see figure 5 showing the grooves (30) having a V-shaped cross-sections.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the reference(s) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2011/0258879 (Danaberg).
Danaberg teaches an insole or sockliner which can be integrally part of the footwear or removable inserted (see para. 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first sole board as taught by above with the insole board being removably inserted after market, as taught by Danaberg, to provide support for the user and replace the insole when desired.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the reference(s) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2003/0131501 (Erickson).
Erickson teaches a sole board (outsole 16; see figure 2) for an article of footwear comprising a linear, gradually tapering channel (50) disposed in a top surface of the plate, in the forefoot/metatarsal region, extending from the lateral edge to the medial edge wherein the width of the channel at the lateral side and the medial side are both greater than the width of the channel at the middle of the channel (see figures 2,4,5 and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first channel of the article of footwear taught above which tapers from a medial edge of the sole board to a middle of the channel, as taught by Erickson, to facilitate flexing of the sole board.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the reference(s) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 4925724 (Ogden).
Ogden teaches providing the insole (58) with a plurality of indents (apertures 26) disposed on the top surface of the insole to provide slip resistance to the foot of the wearer, e.g. see col. 10, lines 8-30 of Ogden. It would have been obvious to provide the insole/sole board as taught above with a plurality of indents disposed on the top surface, as taught by Ogden, to provide slip resistance to the foot of the wearer. Regarding the indents having a honeycomb pattern, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the plurality of indents of the insole/sole board as taught above to be any desired shape including a honeycomb pattern inasmuch as a variety of different shapes could be used as desired. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 22 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either [US 10182612 (Bunnell ‘612) or US 2017/0127755 (Bunnell ‘755)] in view of 2003/0131501 (Erickson). Bunnell ‘612 and Bunnell ‘755 are based upon the same patent application 15/341530 and therefore are equivalent.
With regard to claims 22 and 26-27, Bunnell discloses an article of footwear comprising:
a plurality of sole boards [a first sole board (insole board 12D; see figure 20) comprising a first channel (30C) disposed in a top surface of the first plate in the forefoot region, the first channel extending from a lateral edge of the first plate to a medial edge of the first plate and a second sole board (outsole 82E; see figure 20) comprising a second channel (30E) disposed in a top surface of the second plate in the forefoot region];
Bunnell ‘612 and ‘755 lacks teaching the first and second channels taper from a medial edge to a middle of each of the first and second sole boards.
Erickson teaches a sole board (outsole 16; see figure 2) for an article of footwear comprising a linear, gradually tapering channel (50) disposed in a top surface of the plate, in the forefoot/metatarsal region, extending from the lateral edge to the medial edge wherein the width of the channel at the lateral side and the medial side are both greater than the width of the channel at the middle of the channel (see figures 2,4,5 and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first channel of the article of footwear taught above which tapers from a medial edge of the sole board to a middle of the channel, as taught by Erickson, to facilitate flexing of the sole board.
With regard to claims 26-27, at least see figures 2 and 20 of ‘612 showing the grooves in the metatarsal region of the forefoot region and the channels (grooves 30) extending from the medial edge to a lateral edge as claimed.
Claim(s) 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0079376 (Bunnell ‘376) in view of 2003/0131501 (Erickson).
Bunnell ‘376 teaches a first sole structure (12) comprising a first channel (30) on a top surface of the first sole structure. Bunnell teaches the sole structures can be a combination of an insole, a midsole and an outersole (three sole boards/plates); at least see last sentence of paragraph 0028, 0040,0064 and claims 18-19.
With regard to claims 22-27, Bunnell ‘376 discloses an article of footwear comprising:
a plurality of sole boards (a first sole board (insole or midsole of the three sole combination as described above; e.g. insole board 12B or middle sole 12C) comprising a first channel (30) disposed in a top surface of the first sole board; and a second sole board (midsole or outsole of the three sole combination described above; e.g. middle sole 12C or outsole 12) comprising a second channel (30) disposed in a top surface of the second board.
Bunnell ‘376 lacks teaching the first and second channels taper from a medial edge to a middle of each of the first and second sole boards.
Erickson teaches a sole board (outsole 16; see figure 2) for an article of footwear comprising a linear, gradually tapering channel (50) disposed in a top surface of the plate, in the forefoot/metatarsal region, extending from the lateral edge to the medial edge wherein the width of the channel at the lateral side and the medial side are both greater than the width of the channel at the middle of the channel (see figures 2,4,5 and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first channel of the article of footwear taught above which tapers from a medial edge of the sole board to a middle of the channel, as taught by Erickson, to facilitate flexing of the sole board.
With regard to claims 26-27, at least see figure 1 of ‘376 showing the grooves in the metatarsal region of the forefoot region and the channels (grooves 30) extending from the medial edge to a lateral edge as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-12 and 14-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,231,514. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claim. Especially, see claim 23 of ‘514 which teaches a second sole plate having a second channel on a top surface underneath the channel in the plate. With regard to the channels taper (i.e. last two lines of claim 22); at least see claims 2-5. In essence, once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific “anticipates” the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim “anticipates” the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 8-12,14-18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,800. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claim. Especially, see claim 23 of ‘514 which teaches a second sole plate having a second channel on a top surface underneath the channel in the plate. In essence, once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific “anticipates” the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim “anticipates” the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 8-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,399. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claim. In essence, once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific “anticipates” the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim “anticipates” the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 8-27 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,515 in view of Bunnell ‘376 and/or Bunnell ‘755. Patent ‘515 claims a sole board for an article of footwear as claimed except for a second sole board (claims 15-19) and a third sole board (claim 20). Bunnell ‘376 teaches a sole plate (12) comprising a channel (30) on a top surface having a forefoot region, a midfoot region and heel region (see sole plates (10,10A,10B,10C). Bunnell ‘376 teaches the sole plates can be a combination of an insole, a midsole and an outersole (three sole boards/plates), and the sole structure can further comprise traction elements (see cleats 69); see last sentence of paragraph 0028, 0040. Bunnell ‘755 Bunnell discloses an article of footwear comprising: a first sole board (10E; see figure 20) comprising a first plate (12D) having a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region; a first channel (30C) disposed in a top surface of the first plate in the forefoot region, the first channel extending from a lateral edge of the first plate to a medial edge of the first plate a second sole board (82E; see figure 20) comprising a second plate having a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region, the second sole board disposed underneath the first sole board; a second channel (30E) disposed in a top surface of the second plate in the forefoot region, the second channel extending from a lateral edge of the second plate to a medial edge of the second plate; and wherein the second channel is aligned with the first channel such that the second channel is underneath the first channel (see figure 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed sole board for an article of footwear as taught by patent ‘515 with a second sole board (plate) and a third sole board (plate) wherein the channels are aligned, as taught by Bunnell ‘376 and/or Bunnell ‘755, to provide increased flexibility for the entire sole of the article of footwear.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,231,514 in view of Bunnell ‘376. Patent ‘514 claims a sole board for an article of footwear as claimed except for a third sole board (claim 20). Bunnell teaches a sole plate (12) comprising a channel (30) on a top surface having a forefoot region, a midfoot region and heel region (see sole plates (10,10A,10B,10C). Bunnell teaches the sole plates a combination of an insole, a midsole and an outersole (three sole boards/plates), and the sole structure can further comprise traction elements (see cleats 69); see last sentence of paragraph 0028, 0040. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed sole board for an article of footwear as taught by patent ‘515 with a third sole board (plate), as taught by Bunnell, to provide increased flexibility for the entire sole of the article of footwear.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,800 in view of Bunnell ‘376. Patent ‘800 claims a sole board for an article of footwear as claimed except for a third sole board (claim 20). Bunnell teaches a sole plate (12) comprising a channel (30) on a top surface having a forefoot region, a midfoot region and heel region (see sole plates (10,10A,10B,10C). Bunnell teaches the sole plates a combination of an insole, a midsole and an outersole (three sole boards/plates), and the sole structure can further comprise traction elements (see cleats 69); see last sentence of paragraph 0028, 0040. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed sole board for an article of footwear as taught by patent ‘515 with a third sole board (plate), as taught by Bunnell, to provide increased flexibility for the entire sole of the article of footwear.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited and not relied upon by the Examiner for the above rejections are considered to be pertinent in that the references cited are considered to be the nearest prior art to the subject matter defined in the claims as required by MPEP707.05.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including:
-“The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references.”
--“A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section.”
-Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06” MPEP 714.02. The “disclosure” includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
/Ted Kavanaugh/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3732
Tel: (571) 272-4556