DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20are presented for examination.
IDS filed on 3/24/25 is considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Bruns et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,924,271 (hereinafter Bruns).
Brun discloses causing duplication of a file, received at a first file storage location associated with a first region, to a second file storage location associated with a second region to enable processing of the file from one of the first file storage location or the second file storage location, generating a record for the file in a record log, wherein the record identifies the file and the first file storage location, determining after generating the record, whether the record has been change, and refraining from processing the file based on determining that the record has been changed (Bruns, claim 1); determining whether the record has been changed after a threshold waiting period (Bruns, claim 2); wherein determining whether the record has been changed comprises: determining whether the record has been changed to identify a new time to live (TTL) value (Bruns, claim 1); enabling the device to detect whether another device associated with the second region is configured to process the file (Bruns, claim 4); determining whether an existing record for the file is present prior to generating the record (Bruns, claim 5); refraining from processing the file based on determining that the record has been changed to identify a new time to live value (Bruns, claim 1); wherein a polling interval enables the processing of the file at the first file storage location or the second file storage location (Bruns, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamper et al. US Publication Number 2006/0155705, hereinafter Kamper.
Referring to claim 1, Kamper discloses a method (abstract, page 1 [0002]) comprising:
causing, by a device (server 110), duplication of a file (parent and child copies of file), received at a first file storage location associated with a first region (first user and associated client 120), to a second file storage location associated with a second region (second user and associated client 120) to enable processing of the file from one of the first file storage location or the second file storage location (client A and B 120)(abstract, figure 1, page 1 [0013], page 2 [0022], parent and child copies of the file are distributed to users to enable collaborative file processing by the clients);
generating, by the device (server 110), a record for the file in a record log (camping blocks 326), wherein the record identifies the file (files A-E) and the first file storage location (numbers 1-3)(page 3 [0032], camping blocks are generated for access);
determining, by the device after generating the record, whether the record has been changed (page 4 [0042][0043], determine time-out and access change after a pre-established time); and
refraining from processing the file based on determining that the record has changed (page 4 [0044], time-out with no more editing rights to the file).
Referring to claim 2, Kamper discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the record has been changed comprises: determining whether the record has been changed after a threshold waiting period (page 4 [0041][0042][0044], time-out and access change after a pre-established time).
Referring to claim 3, Kamper discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the record has been changed comprises: determining whether the record has been changed to identify a new time to live (TTL) value (page 1 [0013], page 3 [0032], access rights is given to a new user after the time out from previous user; page 3[0035], user access may be time-limited; page 4 [0043], user is given a preset amount of time to complete his file access).
Referring to claim 4, Kamper discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the record has been changed comprises: enabling the device to detect whether another device associated with the second region is configured to process the file (page 4 [0042][0043], determination made at 514 to determine whether there are other user queue to access the file).
Referring to claim 5, Kamper discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether an existing record for the file is present prior to generating the record (figure 3, page 3 [0032], updated record on camping blocks is generated to update the previous generated record).
Referring to claim 6, Kamper discloses the method of claim 1, wherein refraining from processing the file comprises: refraining from processing the file based on determining that the record has been changed to identify a new time to live value (page 1 [0013], page 3 [0032], access rights is given to a new user after the time out from previous user; page 3[0035], user access may be time-limited; page 4 [0043], user is given a preset amount of time to complete his file access).
Referring to claim 7, Kamper discloses the e method of claim 1, wherein a polling interval enables the processing of the file at the first file storage location or the second file storage location (page 2 [0022][0023], previous user provides editing attribute to the open file at the first client/storage location, and when the previous user completes his access to the file (polling interval for the first file storage location), the next user open the file for editing on his/her computer (second storage location) when the previous user releases the file (polling interval for the second file storage location).
Referring to claims 8-11, 14-18, the claims encompass the same scope of the invention as that of the claims 1-6. Therefore, claims 8-11, 14-18 are rejected on the same ground as the claims 1-6.
Referring to claims 12 and 19, Kamper discloses the invention as described in claims 8 and 15, wherein the one or more processors, to refrain from processing the file, are configured to: refrain from processing the file based on determining that the record is associated with a different region. (page 1 [0013], page 4 [0044], when access right is given to the next client/region, access rights to the previous user/region will be removed).
Referring to claims 13 and 20, Kamper discloses the invention as described in claims 8 and 15, wherein the record log is shared by the first region and the second region (figure 1 and figure 3, page 2 [0024], page 3 [0030][0032], file space and camping blocks are shared by the clients for file access).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objection made. Applicant must show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Liang-che Alex Wang
July 27, 2026
/LIANG CHE A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447