DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the application No. 19/088226 filed on 3/24/2025. Claims 1-13 are pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a management device” and “one or more relay devices” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process without significantly more.
Independent claims 1 and 9 (although not verbatim, but contain the same concept) recite the following:
A remote support system for remote support of a moving body, the remote support system comprising:
a management device; and
one or more relay devices different from the management device, wherein the management device is configured to:
receive a support request transmitted from the moving body; and
select a support resource required for the remote support, and
the one or more relay devices are configured to relay data communication performed during the remote support, between the moving body and a remote support terminal.
The aforementioned bolded steps have been determined to be an abstract idea of a mental process that receives a support request and selects a relay device, of a plurality of relay devices, as the device to use to relay information from a management server to the remote vehicle for remote vehicle support. Effectively the idea of itself is for determining which relay device to use for sending and transmitting data between two points which is similar to the concepts deemed by the courts to be abstract such as collecting, analyzing, and displaying available data in Electric Power Group.
Each of the steps can be performed in the mental realm or by using pen and paper to collect and analyze data about the optimal relay device to select to use for the relay of data between a vehicle and management server.
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claims, as a whole, integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The claims do contain the additional elements of a management device and one or more relay devices. However, each of the additional elements are claimed at such a high generality that they merely function as tools to apply the abstract idea, or more particularly, as insignificant extra-solution activity.
The courts have determined that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For at least the reasons above, the additional elements, in combination with the abstract idea of itself, are not integrated into a practical application.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technological field. The additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
For at least the reasons above, the additional elements, in combination with the abstract idea of itself, are not integrated into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements, considered both individually or as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Furthermore, dependent 2-8 and 10-13 do not recite and further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The limitations of the dependent claims are directed towards additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine, and convention additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-13 are ineligible under §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfadler et al. US 2021/0337431 (“Pfadler”).
As to claims 1 and 9, Pfadler discloses a remote support system for remote support of a moving body, the remote support system comprising:
a management device (see at least Fig 3, element 210; related text; base station 210); and
one or more relay devices (see at least Fig 3, elements V1-V3) different from the management device, wherein the management device is configured to:
receive a support request transmitted from the moving body (see at least [0083]: In operation at S5 it is checked if from any of the transportation vehicles V1 to V3 registered at the base station 210 a request for support by a ToD session has been received); and
select a support resource required for the remote support (see at least Fig 5, related text; [0083]-[0084]: …be checked for the transportation vehicle demanding the ToD session, if the pQoS profile is above a threshold Th. In the scenario of FIG. 2, the transportation vehicle V1 will send the request for a ToD session as explained above), and
the one or more relay devices are configured to relay data communication performed during the remote support, between the moving body and a remote support terminal (see at least [0060]: communications between a base station 210 of a communication cell and three transportation vehicles V1 to V3 and two sidelink communication links PC5 between the transportation vehicles V1 to V3 for serving as relaying node towards a first transportation vehicle V1).
As to claim 2, Pfadler discloses wherein the one or more relay devices are configured to at least temporarily record at least a part of data received via the data communication during the remote support (see at least [0040]: recording a position or time information from which on the relayed communication should be started).
As to claim 4, Pfadler discloses wherein the management device is further configured to select the one or more relay devices from among a plurality of relay device candidates (see at least Fig 5, related text; [0082]-[0084]: Optionally, the operation at S7 includes an operation of calculating a combined pQoS profile out of the profiles for the Uu3 and PC5 (V3, V1) link. FIG. 6D shows a resulting pQoS profile for the combination of Uu3 and PC5 (V3, V1) link).
As to claims 5 and 10, Pfadler discloses wherein the management device is further configured to: set a priority for each relay device candidate; and select the one or more relay devices from among the plurality of relay device candidates based on the priority (see at least Fig 5, related text; [0082]-[0084]: Optionally, the operation at S7 includes an operation of calculating a combined pQoS profile out of the profiles for the Uu3 and PC5 (V3, V1) link. FIG. 6D shows a resulting pQoS profile for the combination of Uu3 and PC5 (V3, V1) link).
As to claims 6 and 11, Pfadler discloses wherein the priority for each relay device candidate is set based on a communication distance between the moving body and the remote support terminal via each relay device candidate, with the priority for each relay device candidate to be higher as the communication distance is shorter (see at least Fig 5, related text; [0082]-[0084]: Since transportation vehicle V3 has the greatest distance to the base station 210, the pQoS profile does not fulfill the minimum requirement at the beginning but is good enough for the rest of the time since according to the planned trajectory 15 transportation vehicle V3 approaches the base station 210).
Conclusion
/Thomas Ingram/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668