DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, in the reply filed on October 20, 2026, is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The elected claims are directed to the enclosure for restricting movement of an interior device. No power supply or wireless power components/system are being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster (US 8,412,123).
With respect to claim 1, Foster (fig 1a; col. 6-7) discloses a power supply device (intended use, no power components are recited within the body of the claim), comprising:
a housing (1) to accommodate an electronic device to supply power in a non-contact manner to the electronic device (intended use, no power supply components are recited in the claim), the housing comprising
a floor (see fig 1a) on which the electronic device is placed, and
a wall (see fig 1a) to surround the electronic device, wherein the wall is provided with a plurality of wall-side protrusions (32; col. 7, lines 13-16) protruding inward from the wall
The claim is directed to the housing. The power supply and non-contact limitations are interpreted as an intended use.
The embodiment being claimed does not include any power supply components (wired or wireless) to actually provide power to any electronic device placed inside the housing. Also, the claim recite that the housing is “to accommodate”, which indicates a future functionality that occurs outside the scope of the claim. The electronic device is also not being positively claimed.
Foster discloses the entire interior (including the walls) of the housing are lined with padding that can have various geometric shapes, including “cones, or hemispheres”. Either of these listed shapes would have a base on the interior surface of the housing and then extend/protrude into the interior space of the housing. Shapes from the walls would protrude inward, shapes from the floor would protrude upward.
With respect to claim 2, Foster discloses
the floor is provided with a floor-side protrusion protruding upward from the floor (col. 7, lines 13-16),
the floor-side protrusion restricts movement of the electronic device in a first direction (in any one of the two dimensions of the floor, X or Y), and
the plurality of wall-side protrusions include a wall-side protrusion that restricts movement of the electronic device in a second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction (in any one of the two dimensions of the wall, X, Y or Z).
For example, the Foster floor liner would prevent movement in a left-right direction (X) and the left wall would prevent movement in a forward-back direction (Z) or up-down direction (Y). As the floor is orthogonal to any of the four walls, there is restricted movement in “substantially orthogonal” directions.
With respect to claim 4, Foster discloses wherein the plurality of wall-side protrusions (32) include a wall-side protrusion that restricts movement of the electronic device in the first direction and a wall-side protrusion that restricts movement of the electronic device in the second direction orthogonal to the first direction. The Foster cones or hemispheres form a grid and prevent motion in both directions/dimensions of the wall that they are on. The claim only broadly recite that two different protrusions prevent movement in orthogonal dimensions – no actual shapes or orientations are defined. That all of Foster’s wall side protrusions are the same shape is not prohibited by the claim language.
With respect to claim 7, Foster discloses the plurality of wall-side protrusions has a rounded shape (“hemisphere”).
With respect to claim 8, Foster (fig 1a; col. 6-7) discloses a power supply device (intended use), comprising:
a housing (1) to accommodate a pet-type robot (intended use; not distinctly claimed) having a head and a torso,
the housing comprising a floor (see fig 1a) on which the robot is placed, and
a wall (see fig 1a) to surround the robot, wherein the wall includes a protrusion (col. 7, lines 13-16) protruding inward from the wall and arranged to cover the torso such that movement of the torso is suppressed and movement of the head is allowed.
As in claim 1, claim 8 is directed to the housing. That the housing is “to accommodate” a robot does not explicitly require the robot to be present. Defining characteristics of the robot (that it is a “pet-type”) do not further limit the housing (a six-sided enclosure with padding).
With respect to claim 9, Foster discloses the floor is provided with a floor-side protrusion (padding 32 is on all six surfaces) protruding upward from the floor, and the floor-side protrusion is configured to support a portion of the robot between the head and the torso such that the movement of the head is allowed. The Foster housing interior includes an open space that is interpreted as “allowing” movement of a hypothetical pet robot head.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoon (US 2023/0155415) discloses that it is known to supply wireless power to an enclosure, such as Fosters.
/ADI AMRANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836