DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 14-15, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 1: “the comb pieces” should read --the plurality of comb pieces--
Claim 8, line 3: “a main band” should read --the main band--
Claim 8, line 4: “the comb pieces” should read --the plurality of comb pieces--
Claim 8, line 5: “the comb pieces” should read --the plurality of comb pieces--
Claim 14, line 1: “a generalized seizure” should read --the generalized seizure--
Claim 15, line 3: “the comb pieces” should read --the plurality of comb pieces--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). A claim cannot recite a living human body, brain lobes, or natural bone structures as functional elements of the claimed apparatus to make it patentable. Specifying that a band spans across biological lobes (frontal, parietal, temporal), or contacts a living mastoid bone or particular locations on a scalp treats the human anatomy as part of the machine rather than defining the structural boundaries of the article of manufacture itself. It is suggested that claim 1 be amended to recite “a main band configured to span across frontal, parietal, and temporal lobes of a brain” and “the grounding electrode configured to contact a mastoid bone”. It is further suggested that claims 4 and 18 be amended to recite “the dry EEG electrodes configured to be positioned at T3, C3, Cz, T4, and C4”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 13-14 and 20 are directed to a system and method for detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data and transmitting an alert upon detection of a generalized seizure, which is an abstract idea. Claims 13-14 and 20 do not include additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application or that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons provided below which are in line with the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 241, p 74618, December 16, 2014), the July 2015 Update on Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 80, No. 146, p. 45429, July 30, 2015), the May 2016 Subject Matter Eligibility Update (Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 88, p. 27381, May 6, 2016), and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, page 50, January 7, 2019).
The analysis of claims 13-14 is as follows:
Step 1: Claims 13-14 are drawn to a process.
Step 2A: Prong One: Claims 13-14 recite an abstract idea. In particular, claim 13 recites “the analyzing comprising detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data” and claim 14 recites “transmitting an alert upon detection of a generalized seizure”.
These elements of claim 13-14 are drawn to an abstract idea since (1) they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations; and/or (2) they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The features surrounding the abstract idea do not add a meaningful limitation. The data collection ("collected EEG data") relies on standard, generic medical data-gathering techniques. The claim does not improve the underlying EEG hardware or solve a technical problem rooted in computer functionality. Instead, it merely uses generic computing or transmission tools as a conduit to execute the abstract analytical step. Gathering data (collecting EEG data) and broadcasting the output (transmitting an alert) are well-established, generic information-processing concepts.
Step 2B: The components and steps of the claim, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, fail to recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
Collecting EEG data utilizes conventional medical instrumentation. "Detecting" the seizure is the abstract mental process itself. "Transmitting an alert" relies on routine, conventional, and generic telecommunication networks (e.g., transmitters, Wi-Fi, cellular, or Bluetooth circuitry). None of these elements, on their own, supply "something more" than what is routine and conventional in the industry.
The ordered combination of these steps amounts to nothing more than: (1) collecting data, (2) analyzing data using an abstract concept, and (3) notifying a user of the result. This sequence represents the most basic, generic deployment of data processing and communication technology. It does not impose any meaningful user or technological constraints, nor does it result in a technical improvement to the machinery itself.
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually.
Thus, claims 13-14 fail to recite patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The analysis of claim 20 is as follows:
Step 1: Claim 20 is drawn to a system.
Step 2A: Prong One: Claim 20 recites an abstract idea. In particular, claim 20 recites “the processor detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data”.
These elements of claim 20 are drawn to an abstract idea since (1) they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations; and/or (2) they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The “processor” limitation does not integrate the exception into a practical application since it is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: The components and steps of the claim, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, fail to recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. Using a standard processor to run a mathematical algorithm on digital EEG streams is considered routine, well-understood, and conventional activity in the art.
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually.
Thus, claim 20 fails to recite patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 15-18 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20130310676) in view of Greco (US 20190150838).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an electroencephalography (EEG) headband (100) (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a main band (210) spanning across frontal, parietal, and temporal lobes of a brain (Fig. 2); a plurality of comb pieces (teeth 220) located along the main band, each comb piece comprising a triangular shape (Fig. 2) and housing a dry EEG electrode (contacts 230) (Paragraph [0026]); and a grounding electrode located on the main band (Paragraph [0031]).
However, Jung does not specifically teach “the grounding electrode contacting a mastoid bone”.
Greco, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a headworn device comprising a grounding electrode, the grounding electrode contacting a mastoid bone (Paragraph [0039]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Jung to teach “the grounding electrode contacting a mastoid bone” because the mastoid process is a popular, standard anatomical site for head-mounted bio-potential monitoring (such as EEG reference or bone-conduction testing). (Paragraphs [0039], [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches the main band (100, 210) comprising a flexible material. (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches the plurality of comb pieces comprising stability comb pieces (220) located along the main band to hold the main band flush against a scalp. (See Fig. 2, any of the teeth 220 may be considered a stability comb piece that holds the main band flush against a scalp).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches dry EEG electrodes positioned at T3, C3, Cz, T4, and C4 locations according to a standard 10-20 EEG system. (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches electronics and wiring embedded in the main band. (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Jung illustrates (Figs. 1-2) the comb pieces pointing away from a forehead when the main band is worn.
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches a method of using an electroencephalography (EEG) headband, the method comprising: sliding the headband (100) from a forehead to a top of a head (Fig. 1), the headband comprising a main band (210) and a plurality of comb pieces (220) located along a main band; parting hair with tips of the comb pieces as the headband moves backward (Figs. 1-2); and contacting dry EEG electrodes (230) housed in the comb pieces with a scalp. (Figs. 1-2; Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches the main band (100, 210) comprising a flexible material. (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches the plurality of comb pieces comprising stability comb pieces (220) located along the main band to hold the main band flush against a scalp. (See Fig. 2, any of the teeth 220 may be considered a stability comb piece that holds the main band flush against a scalp).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches dry EEG electrodes positioned at T3, C3, Cz, T4, and C4 locations according to a standard 10-20 EEG system. (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches transmitting collected EEG data for analysis. (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches a headband (100) comprising a main band (210) and a plurality of comb pieces (220) located along the main band (Fig. 2); dry EEG electrodes (230) housed in the comb pieces (Paragraph [0026]); a grounding electrode located on the main band (Paragraph [0031]); and wiring embedded in the main band connecting the dry EEG electrodes and the grounding electrode. (Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches the main band (100, 210) comprising a flexible material. (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Jung teaches the plurality of comb pieces comprising stability comb pieces (220) located along the main band to hold the main band flush against a scalp. (See Fig. 2, any of the teeth 220 may be considered a stability comb piece that holds the main band flush against a scalp).
Regarding claim 18, Jung teaches dry EEG electrodes positioned at T3, C3, Cz, T4, and C4 locations according to a standard 10-20 EEG system. (Fig. 7; Paragraph [0030]).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Wartena (US 20120029322).
Regarding claim 7, Jung does not specifically teach the electronics comprising “a processor for analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes.”
Wartena, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a headband (Fig. 6) for processing bio-physiological signals comprising a processor (18) for analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes (12). (Paragraphs [0021] dry electrodes for EEG recording, [0033] sensor may comprise an electrode for contacting the skin, [0067] processing unit 18 is adapted to process the at least one bio-physiological signal captured by the sensors 12 and generate an output signal).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jung to teach the electronics comprising “a processor for analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes”, as taught by Wartena. Doing so enables analysis of collected EEG electrical signals in a standard, predictable manner.
Regarding claim 19, Jung does not specifically teach “a processor embedded in the main band, the processor analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes.”
Wartena, in a related field of endeavor, teaches (Fig. 6) a processor (18) embedded in the main band (58), the processor analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes (12). (Paragraphs [0021] dry electrodes for EEG recording, [0033] sensor may comprise an electrode for contacting the skin, [0067] processing unit 18 is adapted to process the at least one bio-physiological signal captured by the sensors 12 and generate an output signal).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Jung to teach the electronics comprising “a processor embedded in the main band, the processor analyzing EEG data collected by the dry EEG electrodes”, as taught by Wartena. Doing so enables analysis of collected EEG electrical signals in a standard, predictable manner.
Claims 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Luo (US 20120197092).
Regarding claim 13, Jung does not specifically teach “the analyzing comprising detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data.”
Luo, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a seizure detection system (Fig. 4) wherein the analyzing comprising detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data. (Paragraph [0026]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the headband of Jung to be configured to use its collected EEG data to detect generalized seizures, as taught by Luo, as doing so would allow a clinician to monitor seizure activity of the person wearing the headband.
Regarding claim 14, Jung does not specifically teach “transmitting an alert upon detection of a generalized seizure.”
Luo teaches transmitting an alert upon detection of a generalized seizure. (Paragraphs [0024], [0026]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the headband of Jung to teach “transmitting an alert upon detection of a generalized seizure”, as taught by Luo. Doing so provides notification to a caregiver and/or doctor during a seizure. (Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Jung does not specifically teach “the processor detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data.”
Luo teaches the processor (seizure detection unit 401) detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data. (Paragraph [0026]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the headband of Jung to teach “the processor detecting generalized seizures based on the collected EEG data”, as taught by Luo, as doing so would allow a clinician to monitor seizure activity of the person wearing the headband.
Conclusion
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791