DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (U.S. 11,822,612) and Stolbikov et al. (U.S. 11,374,898).
With respect to claim 1, Jia teaches a method, comprising: by a client computing device: receiving a first request to load a webpage associated with a uniform resource locator (URL) (Jia, Fig. 1, element 30; col. 11, lines 23-25); identifying, by comparing a domain of the URL against (Jia, col. 11, lines 41-44), that there potentially exists a respective at least one webpage supplement for the webpage (Jia, col. 7, lines 51-60; col. 11, lines 41-48; and col. 1, lines 28-44), wherein: a plurality of domains; and respective one or more webpage supplements exist for each domain of the plurality of domains (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39); identifying, by interfacing with a management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists (Jia, col. 7, line 61 – col. 9, line 26); displaying at least one affordance that corresponds to the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 11, lines 32-40); receiving, by way of the at least one affordance, a second request to access the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 7, lines 39-50); and causing at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of a user interface (Jia, col. 11, lines 62-67).
Jia does not explicitly teach a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on.
However, Stolbikov teaches a probabilistic data structure (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30); and the probabilistic data structure is based on (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jia in view of Stolbikov in order to enable the use of a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on. One would be motivated to do so in order to increase privacy and confidentiality (Stolbikov, col. 4, lines 3-4).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Jia and Stolbikov teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: prior to comparing the domain of the URL against the probabilistic data structure: referencing the domain against a group of blocked domains (Jia, col. 8, lines 31-48); and determining that the domain is not included in the group of blocked domains (Jia, col. 8, lines 17-30).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Jia and Stolbikov teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein the respective at least one webpage supplement comprises: a summary of content included in the webpage (Jia, col. 1, lines 28-44); a table of contents of different sections included in the webpage; identifications of a person, a place, a topic, or media content included in the webpage; or some combination thereof.
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Jia and Stolbikov teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein, when the respective at least one webpage supplement includes two or more webpage supplements, the method further comprises: establishing, for each webpage supplement of the two or more webpage supplements, a respective client ranking score based on preferences associated with a user account registered on the client computing device, a respective server ranking score associated with the webpage supplement, or some combination thereof; and identifying, based on the client ranking scores, a most relevant webpage supplement of the two or more webpage supplements, wherein causing the at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of the user interface involves displaying at least a portion of the most relevant webpage supplement (Jia, col. 13, lines 40-64).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 10, Jia teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computing device, the one or more programs include instructions for: receiving a first request to load a webpage associated with a uniform resource locator (URL) (Jia, Fig. 1, element 30; col. 11, lines 23-25); identifying, by comparing a domain of the URL against (Jia, col. 11, lines 41-44), that there potentially exists a respective at least one webpage supplement for the webpage (Jia, col. 7, lines 51-60; col. 11, lines 41-48; and col. 1, lines 28-44), wherein: a plurality of domains; and respective one or more webpage supplements exist for each domain of the plurality of domains (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39); identifying, by interfacing with a management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists (Jia, col. 7, line 61 – col. 9, line 26); displaying at least one affordance that corresponds to the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 11, lines 32-40); receiving, by way of the at least one affordance, a second request to access the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 7, lines 39-50); and causing at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of a user interface (Jia, col. 11, lines 62-67).
Jia does not explicitly teach a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on.
However, Stolbikov teaches a probabilistic data structure (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30); and the probabilistic data structure is based on (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jia in view of Stolbikov in order to enable the use of a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on. One would be motivated to do so in order to increase privacy and confidentiality (Stolbikov, col. 4, lines 3-4).
With respect to claim 11, Jia teaches a computing device, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: receiving a first request to load a webpage associated with a uniform resource locator (URL) (Jia, Fig. 1, element 30; col. 11, lines 23-25); identifying, by comparing a domain of the URL against (Jia, col. 11, lines 41-44), that there potentially exists a respective at least one webpage supplement for the webpage (Jia, col. 7, lines 51-60; col. 11, lines 41-48; and col. 1, lines 28-44), wherein: a plurality of domains, and respective one or more webpage supplements exist for each domain of the plurality of domains (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39); identifying, by interfacing with a management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists (Jia, col. 7, line 61 – col. 9, line 26); displaying at least one affordance that corresponds to the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 11, lines 32-40); receiving, by way of the at least one affordance, a second request to access the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 7, lines 39-50); and causing at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of a user interface (Jia, col. 11, lines 62-67).
Jia does not explicitly teach a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on.
However, Stolbikov teaches a probabilistic data structure (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30); and the probabilistic data structure is based on (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jia in view of Stolbikov in order to enable the use of a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on. One would be motivated to do so in order to increase privacy and confidentiality (Stolbikov, col. 4, lines 3-4).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Stolbikov and further in view of Abbasian et al. (U.S. 11,593,082).
With respect to claim 3, Jia teaches the invention described in claim 1, including a method, comprising: by a client computing device: receiving a first request to load a webpage associated with a uniform resource locator (URL) (Jia, Fig. 1, element 30; col. 11, lines 23-25); identifying, by comparing a domain of the URL against (Jia, col. 11, lines 41-44), that there potentially exists a respective at least one webpage supplement for the webpage (Jia, col. 7, lines 51-60; col. 11, lines 41-48; and col. 1, lines 28-44), wherein: a plurality of domains; and respective one or more webpage supplements exist for each domain of the plurality of domains (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39); identifying, by interfacing with a management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists (Jia, col. 7, line 61 – col. 9, line 26); displaying at least one affordance that corresponds to the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 11, lines 32-40); receiving, by way of the at least one affordance, a second request to access the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 7, lines 39-50); and causing at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of a user interface (Jia, col. 11, lines 62-67); and the method wherein identifying that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists (Jia, col. 7, line 61 – col. 9, line 26) comprises: the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15); and from the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15).
Jia does not explicitly teach a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on.
However, Stolbikov teaches a probabilistic data structure (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30); and the probabilistic data structure is based on (Stolbikov, col. 2, lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jia in view of Stolbikov in order to enable the use of a probabilistic data structure; and the probabilistic data structure is based on. One would be motivated to do so in order to increase privacy and confidentiality (Stolbikov, col. 4, lines 3-4).
The combination of Jia and Stolbikov does not explicitly teach identifying that the URL can be matched to a particular URL pattern definition among a plurality of URL pattern definitions; generating an updated URL based on the URL and the particular URL pattern definition; generating a hash value based on the updated URL; truncating suffix information from the hash value to produce a hash prefix value; providing the hash prefix value to; receiving, , a plurality of hash values, wherein each hash value of the plurality of hash values has a respective hash prefix value that matches the hash prefix value; and identifying that the hash value matches one of the hash values included in the plurality of hash values.
However, Abbasian teaches identifying that the URL can be matched to a particular URL pattern definition among a plurality of URL pattern definitions; generating an updated URL based on the URL and the particular URL pattern definition; generating a hash value based on the updated URL; truncating suffix information from the hash value to produce a hash prefix value; providing the hash prefix value to (Abbasian, col. 6, lines 4-12 and 18-50); receiving (Abbasian, col. 6, line 56 – col. 7, line 4), , a plurality of hash values, wherein each hash value of the plurality of hash values has a respective hash prefix value that matches the hash prefix value; and identifying that the hash value matches one of the hash values included in the plurality of hash values (Abbasian, col. 6, line 56 – col. 7, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jia and Stolbikov in view of Abbasian in order to enable identifying that the URL can be matched to a particular URL pattern definition among a plurality of URL pattern definitions; generating an updated URL based on the URL and the particular URL pattern definition; generating a hash value based on the updated URL; truncating suffix information from the hash value to produce a hash prefix value; providing the hash prefix value to; receiving, , a plurality of hash values, wherein each hash value of the plurality of hash values has a respective hash prefix value that matches the hash prefix value; and identifying that the hash value matches one of the hash values included in the plurality of hash values. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide users of electronic devices with rapid access to new device functionality that is tailored to the user (e.g., to the current environment, actions, or location of the user) and that are high quality, secure applications (Abbasian, col. 8, lines 38-44).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Jia, Stolbikov, and Abbasian teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein identifying that the respective at least one webpage supplement in fact exists comprises: identifying that the URL cannot be matched to a particular URL pattern definition among a plurality of URL pattern definitions; removing, from the URL, any query string and fragment identifier information, to produce a filtered URL; providing the filtered URL to a hash function to produce a hash value; and truncating suffix information from the hash value to produce a hash prefix value (Abbasian, col. 6, lines 4-50).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Jia, Stolbikov, and Abbasian teaches the invention described in claim 4, including the method further comprising: providing the hash prefix value to (Abbasian, col. 6, lines 53-56) the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15); receiving, from the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), a plurality of hash values (Abbasian, col. 6, lines 56-65), wherein each hash value of the plurality of hash values: has a respective hash prefix value that matches the hash prefix value; and is associated with a respective plurality of secondary hash values, wherein each secondary hash value of the respective plurality of secondary hash values is based on a respective URL variation of a particular URL to which the hash value corresponds; generating a plurality of URL variations based on the URL; generating, for each URL variation of the plurality of URL variations, a respective hash value; and identifying, among the respective hash values for the plurality of URL variations, a particular respective hash value that matches a particular one of the secondary hash values (Abbasian, col. 19, line 34 – col. 20, line 59).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Jia, Stolbikov, and Abbasian teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising, prior to causing the at least a portion of the respective at least one webpage supplement to be output by way of the user interface: eliminating any path, query string, and fragment identifier information from the URL to produce a filtered URL (Abbasian, col. 6, lines 18-38); issuing, to the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), a third request to obtain (Abbasian, col. 20, lines 17-35) the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39), wherein the third request includes the filtered URL and excludes identifying information associated with the client computing device (Abbasian, col. 20, lines 17-35); and receiving, from the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), the respective at least one webpage supplement (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Jia, Stolbikov, and Abbasian teaches the invention described in claim 6, including the method wherein the third request is issued to (Abbasian, col. 20, lines 17-35) the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), and the respective at least one webpage supplement is received from (Jia, col. 9, lines 27-39) the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15), by way of at least one independent relay server that prevents (Abbasian, col. 7, lines 21-27) the management entity (Jia, col. 10, lines 7-15) from identifying address information associated with the client computing device (Abbasian, col. 7, lines 21-27).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/Alicia Baturay/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
October 13, 2026