DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the legal phraseology “comprised” and “comprising” should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0001] should be amended to the final form:
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 18/459,950, filed September 1, 2023, now U.S. Patent No. 12,258,994 issued March 25, 2025, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/695,900, filed March 16, 2022 now U.S. Patent No. 11,746,822 issued September 5, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 16/880,405, filed May 21, 2020 now U.S. Patent No. 11,293,479 issued April 5, 2022, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/850,936, filed May 21, 2019, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/904,329, filed September 23, 2019, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 2 “a combination of the two” should be - - a combination of two - -.
Claim 11, line 1 “the plane” should be - - a plane - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to - - the arcuate surfaces are aligned - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowerman (US Publication No. 2016/0095406).
Regarding claim 1, Bowerman discloses a clipping apparatus comprising:
a base plate with a connection point (see annotated Fig. 9);
a spring connection mechanism with a connection point and a spring locking mechanism (see annotated Fig. 9); and
a plurality of members each comprising a handle with a connection point and an arcuate surface formed therein such that upon cooperation between the plurality of members, the base plate and the spring connection mechanism through at least their respective connection points, the arcuate surfaces form a variable-circumference opening such that upon relative movement between the plurality of handles to overcome a spring bias formed by the spring connection mechanism, a male fitting (306) is accepted into the variable-circumference opening along an axis orthogonal thereto while upon a relaxing movement between the plurality of handles in response to the spring bias; the male fitting (306) is locked to the clipping apparatus through the variable-circumference opening (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Bowerman discloses, wherein the male fitting (306) is a peg (see Fig.10).
Regarding claim 3, Bowerman discloses, wherein the peg (306) defines an accentuated portion (see Fig.10).
Regarding claim 4, Bowerman discloses, wherein the base plate is further comprised of a base slide mechanism (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Bowerman discloses, wherein the base slide mechanism is configured to attach to webbing (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Bowerman discloses, wherein the base plate is disengageable and rotatable (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Bowerman further discloses, comprising a clip locking mechanism (340) (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Bowerman discloses, wherein the spring connection mechanism is disposed between the base plate and the plurality of members (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Bowerman discloses, wherein the base plate is further comprised of a plurality of webbing guides (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Bowerman discloses, wherein the clipping apparatus is comprised of plastic, metal or a combination of the two (see [0043], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 11, Bowerman discloses, wherein the base plate further defines within the plane an opening (342) formed therein (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Bowerman discloses, wherein the opening defined (342) within the base plate extends therethrough along the axis orthogonal (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Bowerman discloses, wherein the opening (342) that is defined within the base plate the variable-circumference opening that is defined by the arcuate surfaces are substantially aligned with one another along the axis orthogonal (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bowerman in view of Guilfoyle discloses, wherein each of the plurality of members comprise a reinforcing arm formed therein (see annotated Fig. 9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,994. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations required of claims 1-14 of the instant application are claimed in claims 1-14, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,994.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677