DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 of the remarks, filed July 24, 2026, with respect to claims 5-8 regarding the claim language “38C or lower” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 5-8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the remarks that Sharma fails to disclose the claim 1 feature, “flowing a portion of the flow from the gas well through the flow line and the electric power generation system and, with the turbine wheel, reducing the temperature of the gas, at an inlet to the production pipeline, to at least a specified temperature associated with the production pipeline…Sharma describes adjusting a pressure and temperature for compatibility with the first power generation device 108 using the choke valves 102 and 106. This is different from claim 1, which utilizes the turbine wheel of the electric power generation system to "reduc[e] the temperature of the gas, at an inlet to the production pipeline, to at least a specified temperature associated with the production pipeline." In other words, Sharma teaches adjustment of the gas to meet requirements of the first power generation device 108, whereas claim 1 describes using the electric power generation system to meet characteristics of a pipeline. Thus, the cited portions of Sharma fail to disclose at least these features of independent claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because Sharma teaches the features of claim 1 “flowing a portion of the flow from the gas well through the flow line and the electric power generation system and, with the turbine wheel” in column 5, lines 1-15 disclosing gas from the wellhead (100) is adjusted by valves (102, 106) to make it compatible with the inlet pressure and temperature of the first power generation device (108). The first power generation device may be a standard turbine and is located between the valves (102, 106). Sharma establishes that gas flows through the flow line, electric power generation system, and the turbine wheel. Sharma teaches “reducing the temperature of the gas, at an inlet to the production pipeline, to at least a specified temperature associated with the production pipeline” in column 5, lines 1-15 as mentioned above the valves (102, 106) adjust the pressure and temperature of the gas to make it compatible with the inlet pressure and temperature of the generation device (108). It is well known that a turbine wheel reduces the temperature of the gas flowing thought it.
Since the generation device (108) is disposed within the pipeline, the adjusted temperature corresponds to the temperature of the gas flowing through that pipeline segment. Furthermore, because the generation device (108) is associated with the pipeline, adjusting the temperature for the device (108) is equivalent to adjusting a temperature associated with the pipeline.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-11,and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharma (US 11,781,530).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma discloses a method of conditioning a flow from a gas well (100 of Figure 1) for a production pipeline, comprising:
receiving flow from the gas well at a flow line (see Figure 1), the flow line comprising an electric power generation system (108 of Figure 1) residing on a production site of the well and comprising:
a turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) configured to receive the gas (116 of Figures) and rotate in response to expansion of the gas flowing into an inlet of the turbine wheel and out of an outlet of the turbine wheel (Col. 5:12-15),
a nozzle (Col. 5:8-15, 23-26; nozzles are inherent in standard and many flow based turbines) configured to direct the gas to the inlet of the turbine wheel,
an electric rotor (Col. 5:12-17, rotor shaft; Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) coupled to the turbine wheel and configured to rotate with the turbine wheel, and
a stationary electric stator (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines), the electric rotor and electric stator defining an electric generator configured to generate current upon rotation of the electric rotor within the electric stator (Col. 5:12-17, drive a turbine shaft to produce electricity); and
flowing a portion of the flow from the gas well through the flow line and the electric power generation system and, with the turbine wheel, reducing the temperature of the gas (TWH of Figure 1), at an inlet to the production pipeline, to at least a specified temperature (TWH1 of Figure 1) associated with the production pipeline (Col. 5:1-15).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma discloses comprising receiving flow from the gas well (100 of Figure 1) at a second flow line (see annotated figure 1 below), flowing a portion of the flow from the gas well through the second flow line and a portion of the flow from the gas well through the first mentioned flow line and then combining the portions downstream of the electric power generation system (see annotated figure 1 below).
Sharma Figure 1
Regarding claim 9, Sharma discloses where the electric power generation system (108 of Figure 1) comprises a hermetically sealed housing (inherent for generators installed directly within a flow line) enclosing the turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines), the electric stator (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) and the electric rotor (Col. 5:12-17, rotor shaft; Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) and hermetically sealed to the remainder of the flow line and where flowing the portion of the flow from the gas well (100 of Figure 1) through the flow line and the electric power generation system comprises flowing the flow around the electric stator.
Regarding claim 10, Sharma discloses a system, comprising:
a flow path (see Figure 1) from a well (100 of Figure 1) to a production pipeline comprising a nozzle (Col. 5:8-15, 23-26; nozzles are inherent in standard and many flow based turbines) and a turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) coupled to a generator (108 of Figure 1) residing on a production site of the well; and
the nozzle and the turbine wheel configured to reduce the temperature of gas (TWH of Figure 1) received through the flow path at an inlet to the production pipeline to at least a specified temperature (TWH1 of Figure 1) associated with the pipeline (Col. 5:1-15).
Regarding claim 11, Sharma discloses where the turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) and generator (108 of Figure 1) reside in a hermetic housing (inherent for generators installed directly within a flow line) defining a portion of the flow path (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma discloses comprising a second flow path (see annotated figure 1 above) between the well (100 of Figure 1) and the pipeline, where the first mentioned flow path and second flow path converge upstream of the pipeline (see annotated figure 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 11,781,530).
Regarding claim 2, Sharma discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose where the specified temperature is a maximum specified temperature for gas supplied to the production pipeline (Col. 5:1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the specified temperature of Sharma be a maximum specified temperature for gas supplied to the production pipeline to make it compatible with the inlet pressure and temperature of the first power generation device [Sharma: Col. 5:3-8], since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Sharma discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose comprising maintaining a minimum temperature of the gas (116 of Figures) above a hydrate formation temperature of the gas at the outlet of the flow line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the temperature of the received gas of Sharma be reduced to a temperature above a hydrate formation temperature [Sharma: Col. 5:3-8], since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 5, 13, Sharma discloses where flowing a portion of the flow through the first mentioned flow line and a portion of the flow through the second flow line (see annotated figure 1 above) comprises controlling a flow control valve (106 of Figure 1) in the first mentioned flow line and a pressure control valve (104 of Figure 1) in the second flow line to reduce a temperature of the recombined flow (Col. 4:63-Col. 5:39, the pressure and temperature may be controlled by the valves) to 38ᵒ C or lower (claim 5).
Sharma does not explicitly disclose to reduce a temperature of the recombined flow to 38ᵒ C or lower (claim 5);
where the specified temperature is 38ᵒ C (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the temperature of the received gas of Sharma be reduced to a temperature above a hydrate formation temperature [Sharma: Col. 5:3-8], since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Sharma discloses comprising controlling the pressure control valve (104 of Figure 1) in the second flow line to maintain a temperature of the received gas at the inlet to the production pipeline to be above a specified minimum temperature while the well is producing gas above a specified maximum pressure associated with the production pipeline (Col. 5:35-39, regulating the flow rate of fluids using a set of chokes and valves are a method of maintaining or controlling the temperature of the fluids).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma discloses comprising controlling the pressure control valve (104 of Figure 1) in the second flow line to maintain the pressure of the received gas at the inlet to the production pipeline to be above the specified maximum pressure associated with the production pipeline (Col. 5:35-39, regulating the flow rate of fluids using a set of chokes and valves is a primary method of managing and maintaining fluid pressure).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma discloses where the nozzle (Col. 5:8-15, 23-26; nozzles are inherent in standard and many flow based turbines) and the turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) characteristics are selected to maximize the amount of power produced by the electric power generation system (108 of Figure 1) while, in cooperation with the pressure control valve (104 of Figure 1) in the second flow line, maintaining the temperature of the received gas at the inlet to the production pipeline above the specified minimum temperature while the well is producing gas above the specified maximum pressure associated with the production pipeline (Col. 5:35-39, regulating the flow rate of fluids using a set of chokes and valves are a method of maintaining or controlling the temperature of the fluids).
Regarding claim 15, Sharma discloses where the second flow path (see annotated figure 1 above) comprises a pressure control valve (104 of Figure 1), and where the nozzle (Col. 5:8-15, 23-26; nozzles are inherent in standard and many flow based turbines) and the turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) are configured to, in cooperation with the pressure control valve, reduce the pressure of the gas received from the well to below a specified maximum pressure associated with the production pipeline (Col. 5:35-39, regulating the flow rate of fluids using a set of chokes and valves are a method of maintaining or controlling the temperature of the fluids).
Regarding claim 16, Sharma discloses where the specified temperature is a maximum specified temperature associated with the pipeline (Col. 5:1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the specified temperature of Sharma be a maximum specified temperature associated with the production pipeline to make it compatible with the inlet pressure and temperature of the first power generation device [Sharma: Col. 5:3-8], since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, Sharma discloses where the nozzle (Col. 5:8-15, 23-26; nozzles are inherent in standard and many flow based turbines) and the turbine wheel (Col. 5:23-26, implied with standard turbines) are configured to maximize power production by the generator (108 of Figure 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 11,781,530), in view of Hawkins (US 2013/0039740).
Regarding claim 12, Sharma discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose where the generator (108 of Figure 1) comprises a permanent magnet rotor.
Hawkins discloses where the electric rotor comprises a permanent magnet rotor (Para. 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the electric rotor of Sharma comprise a permanent magnet rotor, as taught by Hawkins, for the added benefits in the reduction of windage loss, tooth ripple loss and provides a passage for cooling air in the system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834