DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 20130302758 A1) in view of Ohata et al (US 20100250115 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wright discloses A computer-implemented method ([0080] mobile telecommunications device) comprising:
receiving one or more position values of a route of a vehicular trip ([0082] monitor and process sensor data captured by the mobile device, to derive driving information associated with the moving automobile);
visually rendering, on a display device ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.):
a map ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.); and
Ohata discloses receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values ([0081] the pictures which have been shot during travel are reproduced in conjunction with the map. It is possible to experience a sense of speed in a trip journal by executing such map software. It is possible to view a map screen in conjunction with moving images)
each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values ([0067] the path display means incorporated in the present navigation apparatus synchronizes, in accordance with the data regarding the shooting time, the progression of the movement path with the progression of the moving image display)
the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip ([0081] It is possible to experience experiences recorded in the trip journal along a chronological axis.)
Wright and Ohata are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile telecommunications device of Wright to include receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values, each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip as described by Ohata.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an electronic apparatus such as a navigation apparatus and a navigation method capable of path display, map display, and other image displays adapted to changes in movement speed (Ohata, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wright and Ohata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Wright discloses the map includes route data comprising telematics data or risk data ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 3, Wright discloses the two or more images are visually rendered corresponding to a playback of the vehicular trip ([0196] the image represents playback of a pre-recorded data file as can be invoked by highlighting the Map Mode).
Regarding claim 4, Wright discloses transmitting for display on the display device, a timeline configured to play back the vehicular trip during one or more specified time periods of the vehicular trip ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 5, Wright discloses receiving from a user, a waypoint along the route ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.);
receiving an image associated with the waypoint ([0197] , a pin 168 moves along the blue breadcrumb 164 to show the position of the vehicle at the time as specified by the slider); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the image associated with the waypoint ([0197] Tapping the pin 168 displays associated telemetry data 170 at that position and time.).
Regarding claim 6, Wright discloses receiving vehicle status information comprising a position value of a vehicle during the vehicular trip ([0064] data, comprising one or more of mobile device sensor data, derived driving information, and captured image data may be automatically forwarded to one or more of the remotely located devices); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the vehicle status information ([0084] driving information (including image data captured by the mobile device) derived from the sensor data is automatically forwarded to the insurance server 5, via the base station 15 and shared communications network).
Regarding claim 7, Wright discloses wherein the two or more images are taken by one or more users that are different from a user of the display device ([0216] This option invokes functionality to allow the collection of information from or about witnesses to an incident. An image of the Witnesses Detail information summary screen).
Regarding claim 8, Wright discloses A system ([0080] mobile telecommunications device comprising:
one or more processors ([0060] processor for processing sensor data); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computing instructions that,when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations ([0010] the application may be arranged to determine whether a software update exists and if so, control the mobile device to download at least portions of an improved version of the application) comprising:
receiving one or more position values of a route of a vehicular trip ([0082] monitor and process sensor data captured by the mobile device, to derive driving information associated with the moving automobile);
visually rendering, on a display device ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.):
a map ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.); and
Ohata discloses receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values ([0081] the pictures which have been shot during travel are reproduced in conjunction with the map. It is possible to experience a sense of speed in a trip journal by executing such map software. It is possible to view a map screen in conjunction with moving images)
each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values ([0067] the path display means incorporated in the present navigation apparatus synchronizes, in accordance with the data regarding the shooting time, the progression of the movement path with the progression of the moving image display)
the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip ([0081] It is possible to experience experiences recorded in the trip journal along a chronological axis.)
Wright and Ohata are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile telecommunications device of Wright to include receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values, each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip as described by Ohata.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an electronic apparatus such as a navigation apparatus and a navigation method capable of path display, map display, and other image displays adapted to changes in movement speed (Ohata, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wright and Ohata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Wright discloses the map includes route data comprising telematics data or risk data ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 10, Wright discloses the two or more images are visually rendered corresponding to a playback of the vehicular trip ([0196] the image represents playback of a pre-recorded data file as can be invoked by highlighting the Map Mode).
Regarding claim 11, Wright discloses transmitting for display on the display device, a timeline configured to play back the vehicular trip during one or more specified time periods of the vehicular trip ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 12, Wright discloses receiving from a user, a waypoint along the route ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.);
receiving an image associated with the waypoint ([0197] , a pin 168 moves along the blue breadcrumb 164 to show the position of the vehicle at the time as specified by the slider); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the image associated with the waypoint ([0197] Tapping the pin 168 displays associated telemetry data 170 at that position and time.).
Regarding claim 13, Wright discloses receiving vehicle status information comprising a position value of a vehicle during the vehicular trip ([0064] data, comprising one or more of mobile device sensor data, derived driving information, and captured image data may be automatically forwarded to one or more of the remotely located devices); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the vehicle status information ([0084] driving information (including image data captured by the mobile device) derived from the sensor data is automatically forwarded to the insurance server 5, via the base station 15 and shared communications network).
Regarding claim 14, Wright discloses wherein the two or more images are taken by one or more users that are different from a user of the display device ([0216] This option invokes functionality to allow the collection of information from or about witnesses to an incident. An image of the Witnesses Detail information summary screen).
Regarding claim 15, Wright discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computing instructions that, when run on one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations ([0060] processor for processing sensor data, [0010] the application may be arranged to determine whether a software update exists and if so, control the mobile device to download at least portions of an improved version of the application) comprising:
receiving one or more position values of a route of a vehicular trip ([0082] monitor and process sensor data captured by the mobile device, to derive driving information associated with the moving automobile);
visually rendering, on a display device ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.):
a map ([0197] this Map Mode playback shows a map of the area 162 where the recording took place.); and
Ohata discloses receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values ([0081] the pictures which have been shot during travel are reproduced in conjunction with the map. It is possible to experience a sense of speed in a trip journal by executing such map software. It is possible to view a map screen in conjunction with moving images)
each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values ([0067] the path display means incorporated in the present navigation apparatus synchronizes, in accordance with the data regarding the shooting time, the progression of the movement path with the progression of the moving image display)
the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip ([0081] It is possible to experience experiences recorded in the trip journal along a chronological axis.)
Wright and Ohata are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile telecommunications device of Wright to include receiving two or more images depicting what is potentially visible at one or more locations associated with the one or more position values, each of the two or more images is associated with a respective position value of the one or more position values the two or more images in chronological order along the route of the vehicular trip as described by Ohata.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an electronic apparatus such as a navigation apparatus and a navigation method capable of path display, map display, and other image displays adapted to changes in movement speed (Ohata, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wright and Ohata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Wright discloses the map includes route data comprising telematics data or risk data ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 17, Wright discloses the two or more images are visually rendered corresponding to a playback of the vehicular trip ([0196] the image represents playback of a pre-recorded data file as can be invoked by highlighting the Map Mode).
Regarding claim 18, Wright discloses transmitting for display on the display device, a timeline configured to play back the vehicular trip during one or more specified time periods of the vehicular trip ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.)
Regarding claim 19, Wright discloses receiving from a user, a waypoint along the route ([0197] . A blue breadcrumb trail 164 is overlaid on to the map showing the extent of movement of the vehicle during the recorded period.);
receiving an image associated with the waypoint ([0197] , a pin 168 moves along the blue breadcrumb 164 to show the position of the vehicle at the time as specified by the slider); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the image associated with the waypoint ([0197] Tapping the pin 168 displays associated telemetry data 170 at that position and time.).
Regarding claim 20, Wright discloses receiving vehicle status information comprising a position value of a vehicle during the vehicular trip ([0064] data, comprising one or more of mobile device sensor data, derived driving information, and captured image data may be automatically forwarded to one or more of the remotely located devices); and
transmitting for display on the display device, the vehicle status information ([0084] driving information (including image data captured by the mobile device) derived from the sensor data is automatically forwarded to the insurance server 5, via the base station 15 and shared communications network).
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615