DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (6,595,194).
In re Claim 1, Ito teaches a driver circuit as seen in Figure 1 comprising: a transistor (110) including a ground side electrode, a control electrode, and a power supply side electrode for an inductive load (20) to be connected thereto; a first resistor (R2) connected to the control electrode; a line connected to the first resistor (from 100in to R2); a second resistor (R1) provided between the line and a ground; a first diode (ZD3), including: a cathode connected to the line, and an anode, the first diode being connected in parallel with the second resistor; and a second diode (ZD1) including: a cathode connected to the line (via 150), and an anode for connecting to a capacitor (16), thereby receiving a voltage generated in the capacitor for driving the transistor.
In re Claims 3 and 4, Ito teaches the driver circuit is configured with a semiconductor integrated circuit (100’, col 3 lines 31-34 and col 4 lines 37-52) and that both the diodes ZD1 and ZD3 are Zener diodes (col 3 lines 43-46 and lines 58-60).
In re Claim 6, Ito teaches the inductive load is an ignition coil (col 3 lines 12-15) and the driver circuit is an igniter (col 2 lines 62-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (6,595,194) in view of JP 7-16593 w/ reference made to the translation, hereinafter referred to as “JP ‘593”).
In re Claim 2, Ito describes diode ZD1 as a Zener diode (col 3 lines 58-60), but does not specifically describe its forward voltage.
JP ‘593 describes a Zener diode having a forward voltage of 0.6 V (see highlighted portion of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Zener diode ZD1 of Ito with a forward voltage of 0.6 V since JP ‘593 teaches that 0.6 V is a known forward voltage for a Zener diode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claim 5, Ishii (9,719,479) teaches placing a third diode Ds in parallel with a first resistor R1 as seen in Figure 1 in order for fast turning off of the switch 21 (col 3 lines 49-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the diode Ds as taught by Ishii in parallel with the first resistor R2 of Ito in order to provide a fast turn off.
However, neither Ito nor Ishii teach or suggest that the resistance value of the first resistor R2 being specifically larger than the resistance the second resistor R1 of Ito.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838