DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the application No. 19/088398 filed on 3/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konrardy et al. US 2022/0390245 (“Konrardy”).
As to claims 1, 14, and 20, Konrardy discloses a system and a method of operating an autonomous control system within a device, the method comprising:
receiving command and intent data related to a proposed operation of a device (see at least Fig 8, elements 802, 810; [0172]-[0179]: The method 800 may begin by presenting one or more options to automatically route an autonomous vehicle 108 to the user (block 802). Such options may include allowing the user to select or enter locations for operation);
determining an operational context based on sensor data and the proposed operation (see at least Fig 8 ,element 814; [0180]: the on-board computer 114 may monitor travel conditions within the vehicle operating environment during autonomous operation);
performing a comparison based on the operational context and the command and intent data (see at least Fig 8, element 816, 818; [0182]: When an adjustment to the route is determined to be needed at block 816, an updated route may be determined at block 818. Updating the route may include determining an interim target location, where appropriate. For example, a nearby restaurant or rest area may be identified as an interim target location if requested by a passenger. As another example, a gas station along the route may be identified when the on-board computer 114 determines that the vehicle 108 should be refueled. In some embodiments, the passenger or user of the mobile device 110 may be presented with a plurality of options for interim target locations (e.g., nearby restaurants or shops), which may be selected as the interim target location);
generating an output signal based on the comparison (see at least [0182]: Updating the route may include determining an interim target location, where appropriate); and
controlling the proposed operation of the device based on the generated output signal (see at least [0182]: The vehicle 108 may then be controlled by the on-board computer 114 to travel to the interim or substitute target location).
As to claim 3, Konrardy discloses wherein the proposed operation comprises a path planning operation for the device (see at least Fig 8, element 802; related text; present an option to automatically route a vehicle…).
As to claims 4 and 15, Konrardy discloses wherein: the output signal comprises an enable signal; and controlling the proposed operation of the device comprises executing the proposed operation in response to the enable signal (see at least Fig 8, element 816: is a route adjustment needed?; [0041]: Some autonomous operation features may be adapted for use under particular conditions, such as city driving or highway driving. Additionally, the vehicle operator may be able to configure settings relating to the features or may enable or disable the features at will).
As to claims 5 and 16, Konrardy discloses wherein: the output signal comprises a disable signal; and controlling the proposed operation of the device comprises preventing execution of the proposed operation in response to the disable signal (see at least Fig 8, element 816: is a route adjustment needed?; [0041]: Some autonomous operation features may be adapted for use under particular conditions, such as city driving or highway driving. Additionally, the vehicle operator may be able to configure settings relating to the features or may enable or disable the features at will).
As to claim 6, Konrardy discloses wherein receiving the proposed operation comprises receiving the proposed operation from a user input interface or the autonomous control system (see at least Fig 8, elements 802, 810; [0172]-[0179]: The method 800 may begin by presenting one or more options to automatically route an autonomous vehicle 108 to the user (block 802). Such options may include allowing the user to select or enter locations for operation).
As to claim 7, Konrardy discloses wherein the proposed operation comprises one or more of: modifying operational constraints of the autonomous control system, evaluating potential outcomes based on the operational context, or implementing modified operational parameters to achieve an improved overall safety outcome (see at least Fig 8, element 816, 818; [0182]: When an adjustment to the route is determined to be needed at block 816, an updated route may be determined at block 818. Updating the route may include determining an interim target location, where appropriate. For example, a nearby restaurant or rest area may be identified as an interim target location if requested by a passenger. As another example, a gas station along the route may be identified when the on-board computer 114 determines that the vehicle 108 should be refueled. In some embodiments, the passenger or user of the mobile device 110 may be presented with a plurality of options for interim target locations (e.g., nearby restaurants or shops), which may be selected as the interim target location).
As to claim 8, Konrardy discloses recording, in a memory as recorded data, the output signal, the operational context, and the command and intent data; and storing a timestamp and system state data of the autonomous control system associated with the recorded data (see at least [0118]: In response to receiving the indication, the controller 204 may create a timestamp (block 404). The timestamp may include information regarding the date, time, location, vehicle environment, vehicle condition, and autonomous operation feature settings or configuration information. The date and time may be used to identify one vehicle trip or one period of autonomous operation feature use, in addition to indicating risk levels due to traffic or other factors).
As to claim 9, Konrardy discloses wherein determining the operational context comprises: identifying a set of environmental conditions from the sensor data; determining relationships within the set of the environmental conditions; and comparing the relationships to operational requirements specified in the command and intent data (see at least [0121]-[0123]: The sensor data may further include information regarding the location and movement of obstacles or obstructions (e.g., other vehicles, buildings, barriers, pedestrians, animals, trees, or gates), weather conditions (e.g., precipitation, wind, visibility, or temperature), road conditions (e.g., lane markings, potholes, road material, traction, or slope), signs or signals (e.g., traffic signals, construction signs, building signs or numbers, or control gates), or other information relating to the vehicle's environment. In some embodiments, sensors 120 may indicate the number of passengers within the vehicle 108, including an indication of whether the vehicle is entirely empty).
As to claim 17, Konrardy discloses further comprising one or more sensors configured to generate the sensor data, wherein the sensor data is indicative of environmental conditions associated with the device (see at least [0121]: During operation, the sensors 120 may generate sensor data regarding the vehicle 108 and its environment, which may include other vehicles 182 within the operating environment of the vehicle 108).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10-13, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Thomas Ingram/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668