DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevanovic et al (US 6310330 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Stevanovic discloses a heating system (heater, see abstract) for a refrigeration system (heater for a heating ventilation and air conditioning HVAC system, see abstract and figs. 1-2), the heating system comprising:
a heater (heater elements 17, 18, 19, see col. 4, lines 53-59 and heating elements 142, 152, 162, see col. 2, lines 15-57);
power terminals (power supply contactors 105-108 and heater terminals 11, 12, 13, 101, 102, see figs. 1-2) configured to receive electrical power from a source (electrical power received from power sources 6, 8, see figs. 1 and col. 2, lines 25-54);
a heater temperature sensor module (thermostats 134, 143, 153, 163 with bi-metal disk switches, see col. 5, lines 1-9) configured to change from a first state to a second state (changing from energized state to tripped stated based on temperature, see col. 6, lines 6-22) when a temperature associated with the heater reaches or exceeds a heater temperature action threshold (when temperatures associated with heaters exceeds temperature thresholds T2, T3, see col. 6, lines 6-26); and
an electrical interlock arrangement (heater switches 141, 151, 161) configured to prevent supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater when the heater temperature sensor module is in the second state (heater switches 141, 151, 161 open and prevent supply of power to the heaters 142-162 when thermostat 134 trip, see col. 6, lines 6-34 and fig. 2).
In regards to claim 2, Stevanovic teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heater temperature sensor module comprises a bimetallic switch (thermostats 134, 143, 153, 163 with bi-metal disk switches, see col. 5, lines 1-9).
In regards to claim 3, Stevanovic teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a supply switch (switches 141, 151, 161, see fig. 2) located between the power terminals and the heater (see switches 141, 151, 161 between heating elements 142, 152, 162 and power contactors 105-108, fig. 2), wherein the electrical interlock arrangement is configured to prevent supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater when the heater temperature sensor module is in the second state by causing the supply switch to be in a non-conducting state (heater switches 141, 151, 161 opened to non-conducting state to prevent supply of power to the heaters 142-162 when thermostat 134 trip, see col. 6, lines 6-34 and fig. 2).
In regards to claim 5, Stevanovic teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a controller (control circuits 120, 130) configured to determine whether the heater temperature sensor module is in the first state or the second state (control circuit 130 determines when thermostat 134 trips to open switches 141-161, see col. 6, lines 13-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Perkovich (US 2022/0026123 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Stevanovic teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a pathway for conveying a refrigerant (air conditioning system, which inherently includes a passage for refrigerant, see col. 2, lines 60-66), and wherein the heater temperature action threshold is at least 100 degree Celsius lower than an autoignition temperature of the refrigerant (threshold temperature T2 is 180 degree Fahrenheit, which is equivalent to 82.2 degree Celsius and it is well known that the autoignition temperature of most refrigerants ranges from 200 degree Celsius to 1400 degree Celsius, which is well above 100 degree Celsius of the heater temperature action threshold).
However, Stevanovic does not explicitly teach the type of refrigerant being used in the HVAC system.
Perkovich discloses a heating and cooling system (see abstract and fig. 2) with a refrigerant passage (refrigerant flow path 100, see fig. 2 and paragraphs 49-50) containing a hydro-fluorocarbon (HFC) refrigerant (HFC refrigerant, see paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration system of Stevanovic by providing a refrigeration flow path system with an HFC refrigerant, wherein autoignition temperature of the HFC refrigerant is about 700 degree Celsius, based on the teachings of Perkovich for the advantages of having a non-toxic, chemically stable and zero ozone depletion potential refrigerant.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gotoh (US 2006/0049163 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Stevanovic teaches the limitations of claim 1 except a semiconductor switch operable to modulate supply of electrical power; and a driver module configured to control the semiconductor switch based on a drive signal.
However, Gotoh discloses a semiconductor switch (semiconductor switch 106) operable to modulate supply of electrical power from power terminal to the heater (semiconductor switch 106 modules power supply from terminal 101F to the heater 2, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 87); and a driver module (control unit 110) configured to control the semiconductor switch (control unit 110 controls semiconductor switches 106, see paragraph 87) based on a drive signal (based on switching signal from control unit 110, see paragraphs 87, 12 and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified power modulation within the heating system of Stevanovic by providing a semiconductor switch operable to modulate supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater; and a driver module configured to control the semiconductor switch based on a drive signal based on the teachings of Gotoh for the advantage of providing ON-OFF control of heaters at closer intervals than mechanical switches and control energization of heaters at high accuracy with respect to heater resistance (see paragraph 12, Gotoh).
In regards to claim 8, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Gotoh further discloses a controller (control unit 110) configured to generate the drive signal (switching signal generated from control unit 110, see paragraphs 87, 12 and fig. 1).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic in view Gotoh as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Peterson (US 4947311 A).
In regards to claim 7, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 except varying a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch based on the drive signal.
However, Peterson discloses a semiconductor switch (semiconductor switches S1, S2, see fig. 1A) and a driver module (power circuit 10) configured to vary a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch (see fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 37-48) based on the drive signal (based on input signal and drive pulse 36, see fig. 2; col. 8, lines 45-62; and col. 9, lines 31-48).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the driver module of Stevanovic as modified to vary a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch based on the drive signal based on the teachings of Peterson in order to allow the driver module to differentiate the rectangular input pulse and allow a positive short duration spike without damaging semiconductor switches due to large spikes due to simultaneous conducting by switches.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic in view Gotoh as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Perkovich (US 2022/0026123 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 except a heat exchanger configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough, wherein the heater is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger.
However, Perkovich discloses a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 150, see figs. 2-3) configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough (see fig. 2 and paragraph 50), wherein the heater (heater 212) is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger (heater 212 provides heating via second working fluid to the heat exchanger 150 via valve 230a, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 56-57, 83).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system of Stevanovic as modified by providing a heat exchanger configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough, wherein the heater is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger based on the teachings of Perkovich in order to heat the refrigerant at the evaporator before entering the compressor to prevent liquid refrigerant from entering the compressor.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic et al (US 6310330 B1) and in view of Gotoh (US 2006/0049163 A1) and further in view of Alfano (US 11125457 B1).
In regards to claim 10, Stevanovic discloses a heating system (heater, see abstract) for a refrigeration system (heater for a heating ventilation and air conditioning HVAC system, see abstract and figs. 1-2), the heating system comprising:
a heater (heater elements 17, 18, 19, see col. 4, lines 53-59 and heating elements 142, 152, 162, see col. 2, lines 15-57) disposed within a space (heater within HVAC system, see abstract);
power terminals (power supply contactors 105-108 and heater terminals 11, 12, 13, 101, 102, see figs. 1-2) configured to receive electrical power from a source (electrical power received from power sources 6, 8, see figs. 1 and col. 2, lines 25-54);
a switch (switches 145-165 and 141-161, fig. 2) operable to modulate supply of electrical power (modulate supply of electrical power by connection or disconnection of switches, see fig. 2);
a driver module (thermostat 133) configured to control the switch based on a drive signal (drive signal from thermostat 133, see fig. 2);
an interruption switch (contactors 105-108, 131, 132, and thermostat 134, see fig. 2) configured to prevent the driver module (133) from receiving the drive signal when in a non-conducting state (thermostat 134 and contactors 105-18 prevent thermostat 133 from receiving drive signal when deenergized with a break in the circuit, see col. 5, lines 25-44).
Stevanovic does not explicitly teach a semiconductor switch for supply of electrical power; and the driver module controlling semiconductor switch.
However, Gotoh discloses a semiconductor switch (semiconductor switch 106) operable to modulate supply of electrical power from power terminal to the heater (semiconductor switch 106 modules power supply from terminal 101F to the heater 2, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 87); and a driver module (control unit 110) configured to control the semiconductor switch (control unit 110 controls semiconductor switches 106, see paragraph 87) based on a drive signal (based on switching signal from control unit 110, see paragraphs 87, 12 and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified power modulation within the heating system of Stevanovic by providing a semiconductor switch operable to modulate supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater; and a driver module configured to control the semiconductor switch based on a drive signal based on the teachings of Gotoh for the advantage of providing ON-OFF control of heaters at closer intervals than mechanical switches and control energization of heaters at high accuracy with respect to heater resistance (see paragraph 12, Gotoh).
Stevanovic also does not explicitly teach a concentration sensor module to monitor a concentration of refrigerant in space; and cause the switch to open when concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a threshold.
However, Alfano teaches a gas concentration sensor module (leak mitigation control module 176 with control module 112, see fig. 5 and col. 1, lines 40-50) configured to: monitor a concentration of refrigerant in the space (via refrigerant concentration leak sensor, see col. 1, lines 40-50; col. 3, lines 50-63); and cause an the interruption switch (power interruption relay switch 450, figs. 7-8) to be in a non-conducting state (to open the relay switch to disconnect power to the temperature control device, see col. 3, line 59 - col. 4, line 9; col. 8, lines 60-67; and step 516, fig. 8) when the monitored concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a concentration action threshold (when the refrigerant concentration exceeds at least 25% of flammable limit LFL, see col. 8, line 60 - col. 9, line 17 and steps 504-516, fig. 8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system of Stevanovic as modified by providing a concentration sensor module to monitor a concentration of refrigerant in space; and cause the interruption switch to be in the non-conducting state when the monitored concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a threshold based on the teachings of Alfano to improve the atmospheric condition within the container and prevent spoilage of products stored within the container.
In regards to claim 11, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses a controller (control circuits 120, 130) configured to determine whether the heater temperature switch is in the first state or the second state (control circuit 130 determines when thermostat 134 trips to open switches 141-161, see col. 6, lines 13-34).
However, Stevanovic also does not explicitly teach determining whether the interruption switch is in the non-conducting state.
Alfano discloses a controller (at least control modules 112, 176, see fig. 5) configured to determine whether the interruption switch is in a non-conducting state (control establishes non-conducting open state of the relay switch and continues to measure refrigerant concentration based on determined open relay switch state, see fig. 8 and col. 14, lines 5-26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Stevanovic as modified to determine whether the interruption switch is in a non-conducting state based on the teachings of Alfano in order to continuously assess concentration of refrigerant within the space to prevent accumulation of toxic and/or flammable refrigerant near a space for occupants.
In regards to claim 13, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Gotoh further discloses a controller (control unit 110) configured to generate the drive signal (switching signal generated from control unit 110, see paragraphs 87, 12 and fig. 1).
In regards to claim 17, Stevanovic discloses a heating system (heater, see abstract) for a refrigeration system (heater for a heating ventilation and air conditioning HVAC system, see abstract and figs. 1-2), the heating system comprising:
a heater (heater elements 17, 18, 19, see col. 4, lines 53-59 and heating elements 142, 152, 162, see col. 2, lines 15-57) disposed within a space (heater within HVAC system, see abstract);
power terminals (heater power terminals 11, 12, 13, 101, 102, see figs. 1-2) configured to receive electrical power from a source (electrical power received from power sources 6, 8, see figs. 1 and col. 2, lines 25-54);
a heater temperature sensor module (thermostats 134, 143, 153, 163 with bi-metal disk switches, see col. 5, lines 1-9) configured to change from a first state to a second state (changing from energized state to tripped stated based on temperature, see col. 6, lines 6-22) when a temperature associated with the heater reaches or exceeds a heater temperature action threshold (when temperatures associated with heaters exceeds temperature thresholds T2, T3, see col. 6, lines 6-26); and
an electrical interlock arrangement (heater switches 141, 151, 161) configured to prevent supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater when the heater temperature sensor module is in the second state (heater switches 141, 151, 161 open and prevent supply of power to the heaters 142-162 when thermostat 134 trip, see col. 6, lines 6-34 and fig. 2).
a switch (switches 145-165 or 141-161, fig. 2) operable to modulate supply of electrical power (modulate supply of electrical power by connection or disconnection of switches, see fig. 2);
a driver module (thermostat 133) configured to control the switch based on a drive signal (drive signal from thermostat 133, see fig. 2);
an interruption switch (contactors 105-108, 131, 132, and thermostat 134, see fig. 2) configured to prevent the driver module (133) from receiving the drive signal when in a non-conducting state (thermostat 134 and contactors 105-18 prevent thermostat 133 from receiving drive signal when deenergized with a break in the circuit, see col. 5, lines 25-44).
Stevanovic does not explicitly teach a semiconductor switch for supply of electrical power; and the driver module controlling semiconductor switch.
However, Gotoh discloses a semiconductor switch (semiconductor switch 106) operable to modulate supply of electrical power from power terminal to the heater (semiconductor switch 106 modules power supply from terminal 101F to the heater 2, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 87); and a driver module (control unit 110) configured to control the semiconductor switch (control unit 110 controls semiconductor switches 106, see paragraph 87) based on a drive signal (based on switching signal from control unit 110, see paragraphs 87, 12 and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified power modulation within the heating system of Stevanovic by providing a semiconductor switch operable to modulate supply of electrical power from the power terminals to the heater; and a driver module configured to control the semiconductor switch based on a drive signal based on the teachings of Gotoh for the advantage of providing ON-OFF control of heaters at closer intervals than mechanical switches and control energization of heaters at high accuracy with respect to heater resistance (see paragraph 12, Gotoh).
Stevanovic also does not explicitly teach a concentration sensor module to monitor a concentration of refrigerant in space; and cause the switch to open when concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a threshold.
However, Alfano teaches a gas concentration sensor module (leak mitigation control module 176 with control module 112, see fig. 5 and col. 1, lines 40-50) configured to: monitor a concentration of refrigerant in the space (via refrigerant concentration leak sensor, see col. 1, lines 40-50; col. 3, lines 50-63); and cause an the interruption switch (power interruption relay switch 450, figs. 7-8) to be in a non-conducting state (to open the relay switch to disconnect power to the temperature control device, see col. 3, line 59 - col. 4, line 9; col. 8, lines 60-67; and step 516, fig. 8) when the monitored concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a concentration action threshold (when the refrigerant concentration exceeds at least 25% of flammable limit LFL, see col. 8, line 60 - col. 9, line 17 and steps 504-516, fig. 8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system of Stevanovic as modified by providing a concentration sensor module to monitor a concentration of refrigerant in space; and cause the interruption switch to be in the non-conducting state when the monitored concentration of refrigerant reaches or exceeds a threshold based on the teachings of Alfano to improve the atmospheric condition within the container and prevent spoilage of products stored within the container.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic in view Gotoh and Alfano as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Peterson (US 4947311 A).
In regards to claim 12, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 except varying a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch based on the drive signal.
However, Peterson discloses a semiconductor switch (semiconductor switches S1, S2, see fig. 1A) and a driver module (power circuit 10) configured to vary a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch (see fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 37-48) based on the drive signal (based on input signal and drive pulse 36, see fig. 2; col. 8, lines 45-62; and col. 9, lines 31-48).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the driver module of Stevanovic as modified to vary a duty cycle of a control signal for the semiconductor switch based on the drive signal based on the teachings of Peterson in order to allow the driver module to differentiate the rectangular input pulse and allow a positive short duration spike without damaging semiconductor switches due to large spikes due to simultaneous conducting by switches.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevanovic in view Gotoh and Alfano as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Perkovich (US 2022/0026123 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 except a heat exchanger configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough, wherein the heater is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger.
However, Perkovich discloses a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 150, see figs. 2-3) configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough (see fig. 2 and paragraph 50), wherein the heater (heater 212) is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger (heater 212 provides heating via second working fluid to the heat exchanger 150 via valve 230a, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 56-57, 83).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating system of Stevanovic as modified by providing a heat exchanger configured to allow a refrigerant to be conveyed therethrough, wherein the heater is configured to provide heat to the heat exchanger based on the teachings of Perkovich in order to heat the refrigerant at the evaporator before entering the compressor to prevent liquid refrigerant from entering the compressor.
In regards to claim 15, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and Perkovich further discloses a controller (controller 140, see figs. 2-3 and paragraph 50) configured to: determine a temperature (temperature obtained via sensors 132, 134 and temperature of second fluid, see paragraphs 50 and 21) associated with the heat exchanger (refrigerant/working fluids associated with evaporator heat exchanger 150, see figs. 2-3 and paragraph 50); and generate the drive signal based on the determined temperature (generate a signal to turn off/on heater based on sensed temperature, see paragraphs 21, 73-74 and 81). In addition, Gotoh teaches a controller (controller 110 and ECU 150) configured to: determine a temperature associated with the heater (saturation temperature or heater, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 22, 24, 26, 29-31); and generate the drive signal based on the determined temperature (pulse width modulation PWM control modes P1, P2 based on determined temperature, see paragraphs 98-99, 102; and fig. 4).
In regards to claim 16, Stevanovic as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Perkovich further discloses that the controller (controller 140, see figs. 2-3 and paragraph 50) is configured to determine a temperature associated with the heat exchanger (temperature of refrigerant/working fluids associated with evaporator heat exchanger 150, see figs. 2-3 and paragraph 50) based on a signal from a heat exchanger temperature sensor module (temperature obtained via sensors 132, 134 and temperature of second fluid, see paragraphs 50 and 21 and temperature values collected by controller 140, see fig. 2) configured to monitor a temperature associated with the heat exchanger (measuring temperature of refrigerant/working fluids associated with evaporator heat exchanger 150, see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 50-51, 21).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763