DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on March 24, 2025. Claims 1-13 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-13 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ln. 2: “that s configured to” should be changed to –that is configured to --; and
Claim 6, ln. 1: “electorally” is changed to –electrically--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each strand electrode” in line 8, “the strand electrodes” in line 11, and “all the strand electrodes” in claim 12. However, it is unclear whether the claimed limitation is part of “a plurality of strand electrodes” of line 1. Claims 2-13 are rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweizer (U.S. Pat. No. 4,195,626, see IDS), and further in view of Gevins et al. (hereinafter ‘Gevins’, U.S. Pat. No. 5,038,782).
In regards to independent claim 1 and claim 13, Schweizer discloses a brush electrode (filament bundles 54 in Fig. 8a-8c) comprising:
an electrode base (two plastic sheets 51 and 52 and reinforcement jacket 55 forming a housing) that is connectable to an external device that is configured to generate an electrical signal or receive an electrical signal (col. 11, ln. 63-66 & col. 13, ln. 20-31: the two plastic sheets are spaced apart and comprising a felt 53 which is impregnated with an electrolyte liquid that is conductive for transmitting electrical signals); and
a plurality of strand electrodes (filament bundles 54 in Fig. 8a-8; col. 13, ln. 41-60) that extend outward from the electrode base (the filament bundles 54 extends from the bottom surfaces of the felt 53 and the sheet 52), a distal end of each strand electrode configured to contact a skin surface (col. 3, ln. 13-39), said plurality of strand electrodes configured to facilitate conduction of the electrical signal to or from the skin surface (Fig. 8b illustrates that the filament bundles 54 are exposed for contact with a skin);
wherein the strand electrodes are clustered into a plurality of cluster of strand electrodes, neighboring clusters of said plurality of clusters being separated from one another by gaps without any strand electrodes (see four filament bundles 54 separated by a gap in Fig. 8a), and
wherein different clusters comprise strand electrodes of different lengths (the examiner notes that ‘different clusters’ is interpreted to be different from ‘the plurality of cluster of strand electrodes’; as shown in Fig. 8a, within the filaments forming adjacent filament bundles 54 have different lengths as those that are closer to the upper surface have longer length than those that are closes to the lower surface of the device);
However, Schuweizer does not disclose wherein all the strand electrodes extend outward from the electrode base at an oblique angle to the electrode base and are tilted laterally outward.
Gevins discloses a plurality of flexible strand electrodes (multiple flexible metal fingers 17 in Fig. 3A) configured to contact a skin surface, specifically against a head to cause the finger to part hair and make contact with a scalp of the head similar to Schuweizer’s brush electrode (col. 5, ln. 38-44). Specifically, Gevins teaches that each of the strand electrodes extend outwardly at an oblique angle to provide a recess which allows sweat to accumulate in order to decrease the impedance at the scalp interface (col. 5, ln. 38-44: “The redundancy of multiple fingers 17 improves the electrical connection since it is not dependent on the impedance at a single small point. The dimpled tips 18 at the flexible finger 17 free ends, provide a recess which allows sweat to accumulate in order to decrease the impedance at the scalp interface.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify each of the strand electrodes of Schuweizer so that it extends at an oblique angle to the electrode base as taught by Gevins, as doing so provides a recess which allows sweat to accumulate in order to decrease the impedance at the scalp interface (col. 5, ln. 38-44).
In regards to claim 2, Schweizer/Gevins combination discloses wherein the strand electrodes are configured to hold an electrolyte to facilitate ionic conduction (col. 3, ln. 13-39).
In regards to claim 4, Schweizer/Gevins combination further discloses said plurality of clusters are electrically connected to a single external connector for connecting to the external device (lead 59 is electrically coupled to the bundles 54 as shown in Fig. 8a).
In regards to claim 5, Schweizer discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 2/1 and discussed above. Schweizer does not disclose that the plurality of clusters are connected to different external connectors for connecting separately to the external device. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the clusters to different external connectors depending upon the desired need as providing additional leads and configuring electrodes for different use involves routine skilled in the art and a predictable result would ensue.
In regards to claim 6, Schweizer further discloses an isolating barrier for electrically isolating two clusters of said plurality of clusters from one another (sleeve 55 in Fig. 8b provides electrical isolation).
In regards to claim 7, Schweizer further discloses said plurality of strand electrodes are configured to hold the electrolyte by capillary forces (col. 13, ln. 65-67).
In regards to claim 9, Schweizer further discloses a strand electrode of said plurality of strand electrodes that is electrically resistive or ionically conducting (col. 13, ln. 45-57).
In regards to claim 10, in view of the combination in claim 1, Schweizer’s plurality of strand electrodes are configured to be ionically conducting at a distal segment due to the modified oblique nature for retaining the electrolyte in the recess formed by the oblique strand electrodes and the proximal segment of the strand electrode is configured to be electrically conducting due the inherent property of the metal material of the strand electrode (col. 11, ln. 62-64: the bristles are of metal or are metallized to be used as an electrode).
In regards to claim 11, Schweizer further discloses an electrolyte reservoir (reservoir 56 in Fig. 8a).
In regards to claim 12, Schweizer further discloses that the electrode base is curved (the Examiner notes that the thin nature of the plastic sheets allows for the flexible laminar electrode to be curved when positioned on a curved surface).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweizer and Gevins as applied to claim 2/1 above, and further in view of Paul et al. (hereinafter ‘Paul’, U.S. Pat. No. 7,326,204, see IDS).
In regards to claim 3, Schweizer/Gevins combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 2/1 and discussed above.
However, Schweizer is silent as to the way the clusters are held.
Paul teaches providing a staple (loop 58 in Fig. 6) to hold a cluster of electrode strands. (col. 8, ln. 20-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a staple to hold the cluster of electrode strands as taught by Paul, thereby ensuring that the strands are held together in place within the base during use.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 8, Schweizer/Gevins combination discloses that the plurality of strand electrodes are configured to collect electrolyte (Schweizer, col. 3, ln. 13-18: “loose felt [is configured] for absorbing liquid”; Gevins, col. 2, ln. 41-46: “The dimple allows sweat to accumulate, thus decreasing the impedance of the electrical contact at the scalp interface…”).
However, Schweizer and Gevins do not disclose that a strand electrode each have a hollow core that is configured to be filled with the electrolyte or absorb or adsorb the electrolyte. There is no motivation to provide a hollow core to the felt of Schweizer or the metal of Gevins.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,647,937. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Patent ‘937 anticipate the claims of the application. Independent claims 1 and 11 of Patent ‘937 claims a brush electrode (claim 1) comprising an electrode base (claim 1), a plurality of strand electrodes (claim 1), the different clusters comprising different lengths (claim 11) and extending outward from the electrode base at an oblique angle to the electrode base (claim 1). Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Patent ‘937 anticipate the claims of the application. Independent claim 1 of Patent ‘058 claims a brush electrode (claim 1) comprising an electrode base (claim 1), a plurality of strand electrodes (claim 1), the different clusters comprising different lengths (claim 1) and extending outward from the electrode base at an oblique angle to the electrode base (claim 1). Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 10/19/2026