DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, instantly amended claim recites that “a frequency of the ultrasound stimulation is configured to match the heart rate frequency”, but no element is positively set forth as setting the frequency/matching the frequency or any equivalent function. The heart rate sensing unit positively recited is configured to detect the signal that corresponds to heart rate frequency, but recitation is lacking as to what controls the stimulation frequency. Claim 2 positively recites such a potential unit, but the recitation is lacking from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fitzgerald (US 2025/0072759).
Regarding claims 1-4, Fitzgerald (‘759) discloses and teaches ultrasound signaling (0056-0061) via a support unit and stimulation unit for providing ultrasound stimulation, and a heart rate sensing unit which is capable of detecting heart rate signals and setting the transmission/stimulation frequency to a specific point in the heart cycle (frequency) as detected by the sensing unit (0056, 0063, 0072-0074, 0076-0078, 0113). Fitzgerald specifically denotes an annular band as the support unit (Fig 11a-b, 0115-0116), includes an array of transducer elements (0060), which includes at least groups of transducers (Fig 8, 9).
Regarding claim 7, Fitzgerald (‘759) discloses and teaches blood vessel monitoring (0001, Claim 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgerald (US 2025/0072759) in view of Miskovic et al (US 2021/0373991, hereafter ‘991).
Fitzgerald discloses what is listed above, and additionally that the head may be a target for interrogation and signaling (Fig 11c, 0118, 0056, 0068), specifically teaching that a “headband” is a contemplated wearable device, but does not specify that the headband is for a cap body/band (for a skull), nor the pairwise control thereof.
Attention is hereby directed to Miskovic et al which expressly discloses a transcranial ultrasound stimulation with heart rate sensing (0064-0065, 0076-0077) for interrogation and stimulation of the skull of a patient (abs). Miskovic et al specifically disclose that heart rate and EEG sensors can be included in the cap of the device, including in various bands of the cap-like device (Fig 1, 3a, 3b). The insert elements which can include transducers and the litany of sensors listed above are capable of being included into the housing device which is tailored to the skull (0156-0161). Specific to claim 6, these sensors are specifically denoted as being controllable separately or in groups (like of 2 or more, 0116, 0040).
This customization enables and provides teaching to adjust the sensor elements to fit the patient (0156-0161). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Miskovic et al for a cap-based wearable element, with the teachings of Fitzgerald for processing and guiding transcranial ultrasonic stimulation with HR feedback control (Abs, Miskovic et al, 0068 Fitzgerald).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798