DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed on 4/24/26. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Beattie et al., US Pub. No.20210176533 in view of Sathish et al., US Pub.
No.20120303561 and further in view of Sarceda et al., US Pub. No.20220329545.
As to claim 1, Beattie discloses a method, comprising:
maintaining, for each user (user at a device 200 fig.2B) associated with a portable
communication device (PCD), a user profile associated with the PCD and comprising
one or more profile tags indicative of attributes applicable to respective users, wherein one or more profile tags comprises one or more of a user role, a location, a language preference, security permission data, and scheduling data of the respective user (a user at the device utilizing the portable communication device such as an identification of the user, subscriber account information descriptive of services procured by the user and providing secure communications, see abstract, fig.2B, [0025] and [0067]);
receiving user input from a first PCD at an artificial intelligence (AJ) assistant executing on a communication platform server (CPS) in communication with the first PCD, and processing the user input to identify one or more first profile tag values contained in the user input and determining, using a set or one or more processors, an intent derived from the user input ( the device 200 can generate via subscriber account data obtained at step 234 and artificial software operating from the device 200 (or a cloud network) that tracks the user's behavior (e.g., by monitoring media consumption by the user, navigation by the user, etc.) to obtain a psychographic profile of the user, see [0027]);.
identifying one or more second PCDs with a respective user profile having one or more
respective profile tag values matching the one or more first profile tag values contained
in the user input and performing one or more tasks involving the one or more second
PCDs based on the intent (perform communication in a manner that is specifically
tailored for a different user of a different portable communication device. As noted
earlier, the SIM card information can serve as a means to obtain user specific data such
as a user profile, subscriber information, etc., to enable the generation of a specific GUI
with specific selectable media content for a new user, see [0034] to [0035]).
Beatie does not specifically disclose one or more profile tags comprising one or more
user role, a location, a language reference, security permission data and scheduling
data of the respective user, user input value comprising a natural language query
including one or more token corresponding to desired attributes of at least one other
use and one or more the first profile tag value indicative of desired attributes (rules) of
at least one other user associated with a second PCD and wherein the user input comprising a natural language query including one or more token corresponding to the desired attributes of the at least one other user. However, Sathish discloses one
or more profile tags comprising one or more user role, a location, a language
reference, security permission data and scheduling data of the respective user, user
input value comprising a natural language query including one or more token
corresponding to desired attributes of at least one other use and one or more the first
profile tag value indicative of desired attributes (rules) of at least one other user
associated with a second PCD and wherein the user input comprising a natural language query including one or more token corresponding to the desired attributes of the at least one other user (the recommender receives tags from user profile tags
provided by the profile engine, and context tags comprising: location specific tags
provided by location resolver and a recommendation channel may be a more finely
grained category of interest that specifies one or more tokens and/or one or more rules
applying those tokens to generate recommendations and base on natural langue
processing (a matcher module calls the recommender to provide recommendation token for a particular session and user, see [0031]-[0032]and [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Sathish's teachings into the computer system of Beatie to monitor data user location because it would have provided recommendation information that represents accurate predictions with respect to suggesting items of interest to users for a requesting application and/or services/applications (see Sathish's [0048]).
Neither Beattie nor Sathish discloses wherein one or more first profile tag values are indicative attributes of at least one other user associated with e second PCD. However, in a similar network environment, Sarceda discloses one or more first profile tag values are indicative attributes of at least one other user associated with a second PCD (using one or more tags which correspond to attributes categories to be associated with a respective piece of content and match one or more tags associated with the user’s profile and tags of content, see Sarceda’s [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Sarceda’s teachings into the computer system of Beatie to control user information because it would have allowed customization module to retrieve relevant content from database for presentation to the user (see Sarceda’s [0037]).
As to claim 2, Beattie discloses the one or more tasks comprise sending a request to
the one or more second PCDs, wherein the request is a communication desired to a
user of the one or more PCDs and is based on the intent desired from the user input of
the first PCD (processing user profiles, see [0025] to [0029]).
As to claim 3, Beattie discloses the request comprises output data matching the one or
more first profile tag values contained in the user input, wherein the output data is a
notification, page message or call request directed to the user of one or more second
PCD (processing user input including voice calls, see [0027] and [0067]).
As to claim 4, Beattie discloses the one or more tasks comprise establishing a logical
communication channel connecting the first PCD and the one or more second PCDs,
wherein the output data is a notification, page message or call request directed to the
user of one or more second PCD, wherein the logical voice or data channel enabling a direct communication between a user and the first PCD and the user of the one or more second PCD (processing user input including voice calls, see [0027] to [0028], [0037] and [0067]).
As to claim 5, Beattie discloses the one or more profile tag values comprise one or more
of location data, user identification, user role, a device identification, security permission
data, language preference data, message format preference data, scheduling data, and
an indication of one or more logical communication channels (location data, see [0027]
to [0028]).
As to claim 6, Beattie discloses the identifying comprises comparing the one or more
first profile tag values contained in the user input to the one or more profile tag values of
users actively associated with a PCD, wherein the comparing is performed by the AI
assistant in real time in response to the user input from the first PCD, wherein the comparing is performed by the AI assistant in real time in response the user input other than the PCD (notification can include information that identifies the device 200, its geographic location, and a time when the selected media content was requested by using AI and using intelligence software for operating from the device 200 (or a cloud network) that tracks the users’ behavior to obtain a psychographic profile, see [0027]).
As to claim 7, Beattie discloses the user input comprises a plurality of first profile tag
values indicative of desired attribute values included in a user profile of at least one
other user, wherein the plurality of first profile tag values are extracted by the AI assistant using natural language processing of the user input (determining or infer an action that a user desires to be automatically performed using AI, see [0027] and [0084]).
As to claim 8, Beattie discloses the determining an intent comprises matching a token in
the user input with a predetermined intent wherein the token and using AI assistant in the user input and the predetermined intent corresponds to an action involving one or more PCDS (by tracking advertisement content presented at the device, and/or the content service provider supplying selected media content to the device 200, the advertisement system 176 has sufficient knowledge to prevent or reduce a frequency of sale of an advertisement slot to an advertiser offering a same advertisement content that has been previously sold for presentation at the same device using Ai, see [0033] to [0034] and [0067]-[0068]). Beatie does not specifically disclose a natural language query including one or more token corresponding to the predetermined intent corresponding, an action involving one or more PCD. However, Sathish discloses a natural language query including one or more token corresponding to the predetermined intent corresponding an action involving one or more PCD (the
recommender receives tags from user profile tags provided by the profile engine, and
context tags comprising: location specific tags provided by location resolver and a
recommendation channel may be a more finely grained category of interest that
specifies one or more tokens and/or one or more rules applying those tokens to
generate recommendations and based on natural langue processing, see [0031] and
[0061]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Sathish's teachings into the
computer system of Beatie to monitor data user location because it would have
provided recommendation information that represents accurate predictions with respect
to suggesting items of interest to users for a requesting application and/or
services/applications (see Sathish's [0048]).
As to claim 9, Beattie discloses the predetermined intent is determined using the one or
more profile tag values indicative of attributes currently applicable to respective users
using AI assistant, wherein the AI assistant uses active profile tag values in the CPS to disambiguate tokens and determine the predetermined intent from the user input(see [0026] to [0027] and [0067] to [0069]). Beattie does not specifically disclose using currently active profile tag values in the CPS to disambiguate tokens and determine the predetermined intent from the user input. However, Sathish discloses using currently active profile tag values in the CPS to disambiguate tokens and determine the predetermined intent from the user input (the recommender receives tags from user profile tags provided by the profile engine, and context tags comprising: location specific tags provided by location resolver and a recommendation channel may be a more finely grained category of interest that specifies one or more tokens and/or one or more rules applying those tokens to generate recommendations and base on natural langue processing, see [0031] and [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Sathish's teachings into the computer system of Beatie to monitor data user location because it would have provided recommendation information that represents accurate predictions with respect to suggesting items of interest to users for a requesting application and/or services/applications (see Sathish's [0048]).
As to claim 10, Beattie discloses the maintaining comprises updating respective user
profiles responsive to an event associated with a respective PCD, wherein the event
comprising one or more of the respective PCD connecting or disconnecting from the
CPS, a changes in user roles, changes in user location, or a change is user availability
(user profiles processing which including information that identifies the device 200, its
geographic location, and a time when the selected media content was requested, see
[0026] to [0027]).
Claims 11-20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-9 and 1
respectively.
Response to Arguments
/Applicant's arguments, filed 7/10/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, he
rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of
rejection is made in view of Sarceda et al., US Pub. No. 20220329545.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner should be directed to Khanh Dinh whose telephone number is (571) 272-
3936. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.m.
to 5:00 P.m.
supervisor, Umar Cheema can be reached on (571) 270-3037. The fax phone number
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you
have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for patents
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458