DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11807440; claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11247827; and claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12258195. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim a compostable packaging wrap consisting of an organic compostable material formed into a strip of material including at least 50% starch and a polymer softener such that said strip being no more than 2.5 inches in thickness can be rolled into a 1 inch radius.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (US 5830548 A; hereinafter Andersen) in view of Morley (US 5733403 A).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-11, and 15, Andersen teaches articles of manufacture and methods for manufacturing laminate structures including inorganically filled sheets consisting of a strip (see Figures 14-16) provided by a single foamed layer (Col 65 lines 20-25) that is formed of a compostable material that includes at least 85% starch (Col 29 lines 1-20; and Col 100 lines 15-35) and a compostable softener (Examiner notes that polyvinyl alcohol is a softener) such that, the strip is sufficiently flexible that the strip can be rolled. Andersen ‘548 lacks teaching of requisite strip and roll dimensions; and perforations.
Morley teaches a product packaging material that is sufficiently flexible to be wound into a roll (22; see Fig. 2) having a depth of the strip is between 1/8 inches and 2.5 inches; a radius of the rolled strip is between 1 inch and 20 inches; and wherein a density of the strip is within at least one of a first range that is 0.25-4.0 g/cm3, a second range that is 0.6-1.0 g/cm3, a third range that is 0.8-2.0 g/cm3, and a fourth range that is 1.0-3.5 g/cm3 (Morley; Col 5 lines 25-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to produce the web of Andersen ‘548 in a roll around a mandrel, as taught by Morley, as an efficient means to create the packaging material (Morley; Col 3 lines 35-45). Further, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to change various dimensions of the wrap to accommodate various container specifications since such modifications would have involved a mere change in the size and/or shape of a component. A change in size and/or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 5-6, Andersen, as modified above, teaches a wrap wherein the compostable material includes a water-retardant material (Andersen; Col 13 lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 12, Andersen, as modified above, teaches a wrap wherein 10-25 vol% of the strip is pores or voids (Andersen; Col 30 lines 5-20).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen in view of Morley as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andersen et al. (US 5665439 A; hereinafter Andersen ‘439).
Regarding claims 13-14, Andersen, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for perforations extending through the layer. Andersen ‘439 teaches articles of manufacture fashioned from hydraulically settable sheets comprising a plurality of sections, wherein a boundary between two adjacent sections of the plurality of sections is perforated (178; Col 43 lines 11-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to perforate the web at locations meant to be potentially folded, as taught by Andersen ‘439.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734