DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 14, 15 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (2021/0004561) in view of Abiko (2013/0329967) and Lee et al. (2015/0235098).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by an electronic device (Fig 3; para [0076] The method may be applied to a terminal supporting a fingerprint recognition function.), an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0076] The embodiments of this application provide a fingerprint enrollment method.), and displaying a fingerprint enrollment interface (para [0102] S402. The terminal displays the fingerprint enrollment interface in response to the first input); wherein the fingerprint enrollment interface comprises prompt enrollment guidance (604; Fig 6); detecting, by the electronic device, a continuous touching operation of a finger of a user in a fingerprint collection area (603; Fig 7; para [0115] With reference to FIG. 6, for example, it is assumed that as shown in FIG. 6, the fingerprint enrollment interface displayed by the terminal in response to the first input of the user is shown in 601. In the fingerprint enrollment interface 601, the terminal displays a fingerprint pattern 602, and instructs the user to touch the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. As shown in (a) in FIG. 6, a center of the fingerprint pattern 602 overlaps a center of a fingerprint collection area 603. By touching the fingerprint pattern 602, the user may enroll fingerprint information of a middle position of a finger. It should be noted that, usually, the terminal does not display the fingerprint collection area 603, that is, a square box of the fingerprint collection area 603 shown in (a) in FIG. 6 is not displayed in the fingerprint enrollment interface 601), and collecting a plurality of fingerprints of a plurality of regions of the finger (Fig 6; para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times.); and determining, by the electronic device, a fingerprint template based on the plurality of fingerprints (para [0124] The terminal may further generate a fingerprint template of the finger based on all the enrolled fingerprint information and save the fingerprint template, for subsequent authentication.), and storing the fingerprint template (para [0124]; para [0139] After successfully enrolling the fingerprint of the user, and venerating and storing the fingerprint template, the terminal may perform authentication by using the stored fingerprint template. With reference to FIG. 33, that the mobile phone is unlocked by using the stored fingerprint template is used as an example.).
Xu fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions; sliding operation of a finger; and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation; as claimed.
Abiko teaches a method, comprising: detecting, by the electronic device sliding operation of a finger (para [0037] the user slides a finger on the sensor); and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation (para [0037] The biometric information acquiring unit 4 generates sequentially a partial image every a predetermined time interval (= preset frequency) while the user slides a finger on the sensor. Partial image represents a portion of the fingerprint of the surface of the finger. By connecting a plurality of partial images in the order in which the partial images are generated, a biometric image which represents the entire fingerprint is composed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Xu and Abiko fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions; as claimed.
Lee teaches a method, comprising: an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0062] The controller 201 controls the display of the guide area in the a fingerprint mode, data to induce a touch of a finger in the guide area displayed when a fingerprint is to be registered,); and further comprising prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions (Fig 10A; Fig 10B; Fig 10C; para [0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu and Abiko with teachings of Lee, because this will help/guide user to perform correct steps in order to enroll/register fingerprint; avoiding any repetition and saving time, thus improve user experience.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the electronic device, the plurality of fingerprints meet a preset condition (para [0118] In addition, in terms of a display manner of fingerprint patterns, all fingerprint patterns may be statically displayed in an interface, or all fingerprint patterns may be simultaneously displayed, but each fingerprint pattern is dynamically displayed, to form an input sequence prompt. For example, all the fingerprint patterns are sequentially illuminated in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction. Alternatively, one or more fingerprint patterns may be displayed at a time, and next one or more fingerprint patterns are displayed when a preset condition is met, for example, when a user input meets the preset condition, or when a display time meets the preset condition.).
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the preset condition comprises: a quantity of the plurality of fingerprints reaches a preset quantity; a duration of the continuous sliding operation of the finger in the fingerprint collection area reaches preset duration; detecting the finger leaves the fingerprint collection area (para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times. For example, as shown in (b) and (c) in FIG. 6, the user touches a display position of the fingerprint pattern 602 twice with a finger (to be specific, first places the finger, then lifts the finger, and then places the finger) based on the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. Fingerprint information of the user may be enrolled into the terminal in response to each touch of the user.); or an area of an enrolled region reaches a preset value. (Note: claim recites plurality of elements in an alternative form, and prior art teaches at least one, thus reading on claim).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: recording, by the electronic device, a collection sequence of the plurality of fingerprints (para [0104] S403. The terminal displays at least two fingerprint patterns in the fingerprint enrollment interface, instructs the user to touch a displayed fingerprint pattern, and when the user touches a display position of the fingerprint pattern, enrolls fingerprint information of the user, where each of the at least two fingerprint patterns at least partially overlaps a fingerprint collection area (for example, the corresponding position of the fingerprint recognition device) of the touchscreen, and different fingerprint patterns have different overlapping areas with the fingerprint collection area.).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, the finger leaves the fingerprint collection area, and displaying an operation prompt, wherein the operation prompt prompts the user to perform the continuous touching operation on the fingerprint collection area again (Fig 6; para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times. For example, as shown in (b) and (c) in FIG. 6, the user touches a display position of the fingerprint pattern 602 twice with a finger (to be specific, first places the finger, then lifts the finger, and then places the finger) based on the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. Fingerprint information of the user may be enrolled into the terminal in response to each touch of the user.).
Xu fails to teach the sliding operation; as claimed.
Abiko teaches the method wherein the user is performing continuous sliding operation (Fig 2; para [0038] For example, a user approximates the base of the finger 210 including the fingerprint 211 to the sensor surface 201 first, and after that, moves the finger 210 along the direction represented by an arrow 220 such that the tip of the finger 210 gradually approaches the sensor surface 201 along the longer direction of the fingerprint 211…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches the method as explained for claim 1 above.
Xu fails to teach, wherein the continuous sliding operation comprises an operation of sliding the finger in any direction in the fingerprint collection area; as claimed.
Abiko teaches the method, wherein the continuous sliding operation comprises an operation of sliding the finger in any direction in the fingerprint collection area (para [0038] For example, a user approximates the base of the finger 210 including the fingerprint 211 to the sensor surface 201 first, and after that, moves the finger 210 along the direction represented by an arrow 220 such that the tip of the finger 210 gradually approaches the sensor surface 201 along the longer direction of the fingerprint 211. In this case, at the initial time T0, a partial image 221 which represents a portion of the base side of the fingerprint 211 is generated. Regarding partial images 222 to 225 generated at times T1 to TN, the image generated at later time represents a portion of the fingerprint 211 of the finger closer to the tip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the electronic device, fingerprint enrollment is completed (para [0119] For example, as shown in (b) and (c) in FIG. 6, fingerprint lines are filled in the fingerprint enrollment prompt area 604, to prompt the user which part of the fingerprint of the finger is successfully enrolled.).
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the fingerprint collection area is a side fingerprint collection area (para [0115] By touching the fingerprint pattern 602, the user may enroll fingerprint information of a middle position of a finger; Fig 6) or an off-screen fingerprint collection area (107; Fig 1; para [0004]) of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: outputting, by the electronic device, a repeat prompt when a first fingerprint of the plurality of fingerprints is repeated, wherein the repeat prompt prompts a user that the first fingerprint is repeated (Fig 6; para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times. For example, as shown in (b) and (c) in FIG. 6, the user touches a display position of the fingerprint pattern 602 twice with a finger (to be specific, first places the finger, then lifts the finger, and then places the finger) based on the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. Fingerprint information of the user may be enrolled into the terminal in response to each touch of the user.).
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the repeat prompt comprises a text (604; Fig 6), an animation (para [0118]), an image (603; Fig 6), a voice, or vibration (Fig 6). (Note: claim recites plurality of elements in an alternative form, and prior art teaches at least one, thus reading on claim).
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance further comprises an enrollment operation prompt (604; Fig 6), an enrolled region prompt (604; Fig 6), a missing region prompt, or a completion prompt. (Note: claim recites plurality of elements in an alternative form, and prior art teaches at least one, thus reading on claim)
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches an electronic device (Fig 3), comprising: one or more processors (303; Fig 3); and one or more memories (304; Fig 3), wherein the one or more memories is coupled to the one or more processors (Fig 3), the one or more memories is configured to store computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors executes the computer instructions (para [0031] the memory is configured to store computer program code, the computer program code includes a computer instruction, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instruction, the terminal performs the fingerprint enrollment method according to any one of the first aspect or the possible implementations of the first aspect;), the electronic device is enabled to perform: receiving, an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0076] The embodiments of this application provide a fingerprint enrollment method.), and displaying a fingerprint enrollment interface (para [0102] S402. The terminal displays the fingerprint enrollment interface in response to the first input); wherein the fingerprint enrollment interface comprises prompt enrollment guidance (604; Fig 6); detecting, a continuous touching operation of a finger of a user in a fingerprint collection area (603; Fig 7; para [0115] With reference to FIG. 6, for example, it is assumed that as shown in FIG. 6, the fingerprint enrollment interface displayed by the terminal in response to the first input of the user is shown in 601. In the fingerprint enrollment interface 601, the terminal displays a fingerprint pattern 602, and instructs the user to touch the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. As shown in (a) in FIG. 6, a center of the fingerprint pattern 602 overlaps a center of a fingerprint collection area 603. By touching the fingerprint pattern 602, the user may enroll fingerprint information of a middle position of a finger. It should be noted that, usually, the terminal does not display the fingerprint collection area 603, that is, a square box of the fingerprint collection area 603 shown in (a) in FIG. 6 is not displayed in the fingerprint enrollment interface 601), and collecting a plurality of fingerprints of a plurality of regions of the finger (Fig 6; para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times.); and determining, a fingerprint template based on the plurality of fingerprints (para [0124] The terminal may further generate a fingerprint template of the finger based on all the enrolled fingerprint information and save the fingerprint template, for subsequent authentication.), and storing the fingerprint template (para [0124]; para [0139] After successfully enrolling the fingerprint of the user, and venerating and storing the fingerprint template, the terminal may perform authentication by using the stored fingerprint template. With reference to FIG. 33, that the mobile phone is unlocked by using the stored fingerprint template is used as an example.).
Xu fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions; sliding operation of a finger; and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation; as claimed.
Abiko teaches an electronic device, comprising: detecting sliding operation of a finger (para [0037] the user slides a finger on the sensor); and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation (para [0037] The biometric information acquiring unit 4 generates sequentially a partial image every a predetermined time interval (= preset frequency) while the user slides a finger on the sensor. Partial image represents a portion of the fingerprint of the surface of the finger. By connecting a plurality of partial images in the order in which the partial images are generated, a biometric image which represents the entire fingerprint is composed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Xu and Abiko fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions; as claimed.
Lee teaches an electronic device comprising: an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0062] The controller 201 controls the display of the guide area in the a fingerprint mode, data to induce a touch of a finger in the guide area displayed when a fingerprint is to be registered,); and further comprising prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions (Fig 10A; Fig 10B; Fig 10C; para [0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu and Abiko with teachings of Lee, because this will help/guide user to perform correct steps in order to enroll/register fingerprint; avoiding any repetition and saving time, thus improve user experience.
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches the electronic device of claim 15, when the one or more processors executes the computer instructions, the electronic device is further enabled to perform determining the plurality of fingerprints meets a preset condition (para [0118] In addition, in terms of a display manner of fingerprint patterns, all fingerprint patterns may be statically displayed in an interface, or all fingerprint patterns may be simultaneously displayed, but each fingerprint pattern is dynamically displayed, to form an input sequence prompt. For example, all the fingerprint patterns are sequentially illuminated in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction. Alternatively, one or more fingerprint patterns may be displayed at a time, and next one or more fingerprint patterns are displayed when a preset condition is met, for example, when a user input meets the preset condition, or when a display time meets the preset condition.).
Regarding claim 19, Xu teaches the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the preset condition comprises: a quantity of collected fingerprints reaches a preset quantity; duration of the continuous sliding operation of the finger in the fingerprint collection area reaches preset duration; detecting the finger leaves the fingerprint collection area (para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times. For example, as shown in (b) and (c) in FIG. 6, the user touches a display position of the fingerprint pattern 602 twice with a finger (to be specific, first places the finger, then lifts the finger, and then places the finger) based on the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. Fingerprint information of the user may be enrolled into the terminal in response to each touch of the user.); or an area of an enrolled region reaches a preset value. (Note: claim recites plurality of elements in an alternative form, and prior art teaches at least one, thus reading on claim).
Regarding claim 20, Xu teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (304; Fig 2), comprising at least one computer instruction, wherein when the at least one computer instruction runs on an electronic device (para [0031] the memory is configured to store computer program code, the computer program code includes a computer instruction, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instruction, the terminal performs the fingerprint enrollment method according to any one of the first aspect or the possible implementations of the first aspect;), the electronic device is enabled to perform: receiving, an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0076] The embodiments of this application provide a fingerprint enrollment method.), and displaying a fingerprint enrollment interface (para [0102] S402. The terminal displays the fingerprint enrollment interface in response to the first input); wherein the fingerprint enrollment interface comprises prompt enrollment guidance (604; Fig 6); detecting, a continuous touching operation of a finger of a user in a fingerprint collection area (603; Fig 7; para [0115] With reference to FIG. 6, for example, it is assumed that as shown in FIG. 6, the fingerprint enrollment interface displayed by the terminal in response to the first input of the user is shown in 601. In the fingerprint enrollment interface 601, the terminal displays a fingerprint pattern 602, and instructs the user to touch the displayed fingerprint pattern 602. As shown in (a) in FIG. 6, a center of the fingerprint pattern 602 overlaps a center of a fingerprint collection area 603. By touching the fingerprint pattern 602, the user may enroll fingerprint information of a middle position of a finger. It should be noted that, usually, the terminal does not display the fingerprint collection area 603, that is, a square box of the fingerprint collection area 603 shown in (a) in FIG. 6 is not displayed in the fingerprint enrollment interface 601), and collecting a plurality of fingerprints of a plurality of regions of the finger (Fig 6; para [0117] Usually, the fingerprint information of the middle position of the finger of the user may be completed by the user by repeating a lift-place finger action for a plurality of times.); and determining, a fingerprint template based on the plurality of fingerprints (para [0124] The terminal may further generate a fingerprint template of the finger based on all the enrolled fingerprint information and save the fingerprint template, for subsequent authentication.), and storing the fingerprint template (para [0124]; para [0139] After successfully enrolling the fingerprint of the user, and venerating and storing the fingerprint template, the terminal may perform authentication by using the stored fingerprint template. With reference to FIG. 33, that the mobile phone is unlocked by using the stored fingerprint template is used as an example.).
Xu fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions ; sliding operation of a finger; and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation; as claimed.
Abiko teaches an electronic device, comprising: detecting sliding operation of a finger (para [0037] the user slides a finger on the sensor); and collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger at a preset frequency and based on the continuous sliding operation (para [0037] The biometric information acquiring unit 4 generates sequentially a partial image every a predetermined time interval (= preset frequency) while the user slides a finger on the sensor. Partial image represents a portion of the fingerprint of the surface of the finger. By connecting a plurality of partial images in the order in which the partial images are generated, a biometric image which represents the entire fingerprint is composed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Xu and Abiko fails to teach, wherein the prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions; as claimed.
Lee teaches an electronic device, comprising: an operation of enrolling a new fingerprint (para [0062] The controller 201 controls the display of the guide area in the a fingerprint mode, data to induce a touch of a finger in the guide area displayed when a fingerprint is to be registered,); and further comprising prompt enrollment guidance includes a movement direction prompt indicating one or more finger movement directions (Fig 10A; Fig 10B; Fig 10C; para [0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu and Abiko with teachings of Lee, because this will help/guide user to perform correct steps in order to enroll/register fingerprint; avoiding any repetition and saving time, thus improve user experience.
Regarding claim 21, Xu teaches the method of claim 1, after the collecting the plurality of fingerprints, displaying, by the electronic device, a second prompt indicating second one or more finger movement (para [0138] Further, after the user enrolls fingerprint information based on the display positions of the fingerprint patterns shown in FIG. 6 to FIG. 30, the terminal may further determine, based on enrollment quality of all the enrolled fingerprint information, which part of fingerprint information is unsuccessfully enrolled, and determine, based on a position of the successfully enrolled fingerprint information, a display position of a fingerprint pattern that further needs to be displayed, to supplement the fingerprint information. With reference to FIG. 31 and FIG: 32, for example, the terminal determines that two parts of fingerprint information are still unsuccessfully enrolled.); and detecting, by the electronic device, a second continuous operation of the finger of the user in the fingerprint collection area based on the second direction prompt (para [0138] In this case, based on positions of the two parts of fingerprint information, it is determined that display positions of fingerprint patterns that need to be displayed are: a position of the fingerprint pattern 3101 shown in (b) in FIG. 31, and a position of a fingerprint pattern 3201 shown in (a) in FIG. 32), and collecting a second plurality of fingerprints of a second plurality of regions of the finger at the preset frequency and based on the second touching operation (para [0138] In this way, the terminal can supplement the fingerprint information of the corresponding position by displaying the fingerprint pattern 3101 and the fingerprint pattern 3201, and update, h using the supplemented fingerprint information, the fingerprint template generated based on the fingerprint information enrolled at the display positions of the fingerprint patterns shown in FIG. 6 to FIG. 30, to obtain a more accurate fingerprint template.), the determining the fingerprint template comprising: determining, by the electronic device, the fingerprint template based on the plurality of fingerprints and the second plurality of fingerprints (para [0138] and update, h using the supplemented fingerprint information, the fingerprint template generated based on the fingerprint information enrolled at the display positions of the fingerprint patterns shown in FIG. 6 to FIG. 30, to obtain a more accurate fingerprint template).
Xu and Abiko fails to teach; second movement direction prompt and second continuous sliding operation; as claimed.
Lee teaches the method further comprising: after the collecting the plurality of fingerprints, displaying, by the electronic device, a second movement direction prompt indicating second one or more finger movement directions (Fig 13B shows second movement direction prompt when compared to Fig 13A); a second continuous sliding operation of the finger of the user in the fingerprint collection area based on the second movement direction prompt (Fig 13B; para [0143] Further, when the user performs a horizontal finger touch as illustrated in FIG. 13B, the horizontal finger touch is determined based on an orientation value. When it is identified that one section of the finger touch is made based on the determined touch event value, the controller 201 outputs guide information indicating a fingerprint scan in a direction of the fingerprint scan sensor 220 for fingerprint recognition.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu and Abiko with teachings of Lee, because this will help/guide user to perform correct steps in order to enroll/register fingerprint; avoiding any repetition and saving time, thus improve user experience.
Regarding claim 22, Xu teaches the method, wherein the movement direction prompt indicates multiple finger movement directions including a first finger movement direction (Fig 12 and Fig 13 shows first finger movement direction (specifically in vertical direction)) and a second finger movement direction (Fig 14 and Fig 15 shows second finger movement direction (specifically in horizontal direction)), and the second finger movement direction is based on a missing region of the finger after the finger moves in accordance with the first finger movement direction (Fig 12 to Fig 15 reflects how the missing portion of the fingerprint are progressively captured).
Xu fails to teach continuous sliding operation; as claimed.
Abiko teaches the method for collecting plurality of fingerprint of a plurality of regions of the finger based on the continuous sliding operation (para [0037] The biometric information acquiring unit 4 generates sequentially a partial image every a predetermined time interval (= preset frequency) while the user slides a finger on the sensor. Partial image represents a portion of the fingerprint of the surface of the finger. By connecting a plurality of partial images in the order in which the partial images are generated, a biometric image which represents the entire fingerprint is composed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu with teachings of Abiko, because this provides method which can more precisely match the biometric information of a user with the registered biometric information, thereby reducing the false rejection rate (Abiko: para [0128]).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (2021/0004561) in view of Abiko (2013/0329967) and Lee et al. (2015/0235098) as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (2023/0063055).
Regarding claim 3, Xu, Abiko and Lee teaches the method as explained for claim 1 above.
Xu, Abiko and Lee fails to teach, wherein the method further comprises playing, by the electronic device, a fingerprint enrollment guidance animation, wherein the fingerprint enrollment guidance animation prompts the user on how to perform a sliding fingerprint enrollment operation; as claimed.
Cheng teaches a method comprising: playing, by the electronic device, a fingerprint enrollment guidance animation, wherein the fingerprint enrollment guidance animation prompts the user on how to perform a sliding fingerprint enrollment operation (para [0071] In another embodiment, the method 500 may further include a step in which in response to that a single valid swipe action does not meet the preset condition, a prompt message of swipe incomplete may be displayed on the fingerprint enrollment interface to prompt a user to perform more swipe actions so that whether the current progress indicator is displayed in the completed state can be determined according to whether an accumulative result of a plurality of valid swipe actions meets the preset condition. The prompt message described herein may be displayed in the form of text, an image, animation, a video, rendering, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu, Abiko and Lee with teachings of Cheng, because this is beneficial to reducing the total count of swipe actions, and thereby to improving the enrollment efficiency as well as the use experience. (Cheng: para [0079]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu, Abiko and Lee teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 15 above.
Xu, Abiko and Lee fails to teach, the electronic device is further enabled to perform playing a fingerprint enrollment guidance animation, wherein the fingerprint enrollment guidance animation prompts the user on how to perform a sliding fingerprint enrollment operation; as claimed.
Cheng teaches an electronic device, wherein the electronic device is further enabled to perform playing a fingerprint enrollment guidance animation, wherein the fingerprint enrollment guidance animation prompts the user on how to perform a sliding fingerprint enrollment operation (para [0071] In another embodiment, the method 500 may further include a step in which in response to that a single valid swipe action does not meet the preset condition, a prompt message of swipe incomplete may be displayed on the fingerprint enrollment interface to prompt a user to perform more swipe actions so that whether the current progress indicator is displayed in the completed state can be determined according to whether an accumulative result of a plurality of valid swipe actions meets the preset condition. The prompt message described herein may be displayed in the form of text, an image, animation, a video, rendering, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Xu, Abiko and Lee with teachings of Cheng, because this is beneficial to reducing the total count of swipe actions, and thereby to improving the enrollment efficiency as well as the use experience. (Cheng: para [0079]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (2021/0004561) in view of Abiko (2013/0329967) and Lee et al. (2015/0235098) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chien et al. (11,048,954).
Regarding claim 13, Xu, Abiko and Lee teaches the method as explained for claim 11 above.
Xu, Abiko and Lee fails to teach, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the electronic device, whether the first fingerprint is repeated based on whether a similarity value between the first fingerprint and a previously collected fingerprint of the plurality of fingerprints is less than a preset value; as claimed.
Chien teaches a method comprising: determining, by the electronic device, whether the first fingerprint is repeated based on whether a similarity value between the first fingerprint and a previously collected fingerprint of the plurality of fingerprints is less than a preset value (Fig 2B; col 6, lines 18-37: One embodiment of step S211 comprises an operation of subtracting a fingerprint image from its previous fingerprint image. For example, the size of the fingerprint image is 80*80 pixels. The method for determining if the P-th fingerprint image and the previous one thereof (i.e. the P-1th fingerprint image) are different comprises firstly converting the two fingerprint images to values indicating each pixel, such as values 0˜256. Next, the pixel values of the two fingerprint images are respectively subtracted to acquire 6400 (80*80) difference values, and the sum of the 6400 difference values is calculated. The sum of the difference values is used to compare with a sum threshold. When the sum of the difference values is greater than the sum threshold, it is determined that the two fingerprint images are different. In other embodiments, the above sum of difference values may also be divided by 6400 to acquire a difference average, and the difference average is compared with an average threshold. When the difference average is larger than the average threshold, it is determined that the two fingerprint images are different.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Xu, Abiko and Lee with teachings of Chien, because the user can complete the fingerprint enrollment process regardless which one of the spiral enrollment or the press enrollment is used, thereby effectively improving the convenience in use (Chien: col 2, lines 6-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, remarks on page 6-8 regarding claim 1 are directed towards amended claim limitations which were not presented earlier in the manner they are now. Specifically, some portion of the dependent claim 14 were incorporated in claim 1, however claim 14 recited plurality of options thus the incorporated portion was optional. Now amended claim 1 recites the limitation from dependent claim, changes the scope of the claim 1 as whole. This changes the scope of the claim and required further consideration and updated search. Further remarks regarding “movement direction prompt” is very broad in scope to include and display prompt which would guide the user in inputting the fingerprint. It can in the be in the form of showing prompt sequential manner in different directions OR some form of text message. However, upon further consideration and updated search, newly cited prior art in combination with previously relied upon prior art teaches the amended claim limitations as explained in the office action above. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shin et al. (2016/0321494) teaches An electronic device and method are provided. The electronic device includes a fingerprint sensor configured to sense a user's fingerprint; and a processor configured to electrical connect to the fingerprint sensor, identify, when first fingerprint information is obtained through the fingerprint sensor, a first fingerprint area corresponding to the first fingerprint information in a target area for a user authentication, and obtain second fingerprint information that is included in the target area and corresponds to a second fingerprint area adjacent to the first fingerprint area.
Wang et al. (2022/0358197) teaches An authentication device includes a deciding unit (118) that, based on distribution information of the feature points included in a pattern present in some part of the body of the user, decides on the position of that part of the body to be used in authentication of the user; a guiding unit (120) that, based on the decided position, guides the concerned part of the body to the decided position for the purpose of authentication of the user; and an authenticating unit (122) that performs authentication of the user based on feature information of the pattern as obtained due to the guiding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624