DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magnetic circuit component forming part of a magnetic bearing of claim 13, the magnetic circuit component forming part of a reactor of claim 14 and the compressor with the magnetic bearing formed partly by the magnetic circuit of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MAGNETIC CIRCUIT COMPONENT WITH A CORE INCLUDING A DYNAMIC DAMPER.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13 “the magnetic circuit component forms part of a magnetic bearing” is unclear.
In the specification the magnetic circuit is disclosed as a stator for an electric motor 30 (fig 3). The specification mentions the magnetic circuit can be a magnetic bearing that generates a levitation force on the rotor (pg 19, [0101]), but does not disclose if this is incorporated with a motor stator or a separate magnetic bearing structure. It is not clear if the claim is claiming a magnetic bearing incorporated with an electric motor stator or a separate stator for a magnetic bearing.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as a magnetic bearing, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component. Claims 17 and 19 are rejected since they depend on claim 13.
In claim 14 “the magnetic circuit component forms part of a reactor” is unclear. In the specification the magnetic circuit is disclosed as a stator for an electric motor 30 (fig 3). The specification mentions the magnetic circuit can be a reactor that smooths the current pulse (pg 19, [0101]), but does not disclose if this is incorporated with a motor stator or a separate reactor structure. It is not clear if the claim is claiming a reactor incorporated with an electric motor stator or a separate reactor structure.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as a reactor, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component.
In claim 17 “A compressor comprising the magnetic circuit component of claim 13” is unclear.
As discussed above for claim 13 it is unclear if the magnetic bearing is incorporated with an electric motor stator or a separate stator for a magnetic bearing. Here it is unclear if the compressor has magnetic bearings formed by the magnetic circuit component as well as an electric motor or if the magnetic bearing is incorporated with the electric motor of the compressor.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as the magnetic bearing in a compressor, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component. Claim 19 is rejected since it depends on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishimaru et al. (JP2011055576, “Ishimaru”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Ishimaru discloses magnetic circuit component forming part of a magnetic circuit, the magnetic circuit component comprising:
a core 8 made of a soft magnetic material (figs 1 & 6-8, [0038] & [0040]), using figs 6-8 for rejection but has same structure as fig 1 except for 41), the core including an annular yoke 40 (figs 1 & 6-8); and a dynamic damper 41 provided on the core (figs 6-8), the dynamic damper being configured to reduce vibration of the core ([0057]), the dynamic damper including
a weight (Figs 6-8, [0057-0059], 41a, 41b & 7a weight) and
a connection that connects the weight with the yoke 40 and that is elastically deformable (Figs 6-8, [0057-0059], connection formed by portions of 41 connecting 41a, 41b & 7a to 40 formed by holes/grooves 45-47; connections elastically deformably do to thinness), and
the dynamic damper being integrated with the core 8 (figs 1 & 7-8, [0040]).
Re claim 2, Ishimaru discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the weight extends along a circumferential direction of the yoke (figs 6-8).
Re claims 3 and 4, Ishimaru discloses claims 1 and 2, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the dynamic damper is provided on an outer periphery or an inside of the yoke 40 (figs 6-8).
Re claims 5, 6 and 7, Ishimaru discloses claims 1, 2 and 3, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the core 8 includes a plurality of electromagnetic steel sheets stacked on each other ([0040]), and the plurality of electromagnetic steel sheets are fastened to each other at the weight ([0043], fastened by weld).
Re claims 8, 9, 10 and 11, Ishimaru discloses claims 1, 2, 3 and 5, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic circuit includes a rotor 9 configured to be rotatable on an axial center of a shaft 6 (figs 1-2), and a stator disposed to face the rotor in a radial direction of the shaft (figs 1-2), the stator has a stator core as the core 8 and a coil 38 wound around the stator core (figs 1-2), and the dynamic damper 41 is arranged opposite to the rotor in the radial direction (figs 1-2 & 6-8).
Re claim 12, Ishimaru discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic circuit component forms part of an electric motor 3 (fig 1, [0033]).
Re claim 13, Ishimaru discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic circuit component forms part of a magnetic bearing (as best understood by examiner the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as a magnetic bearing, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component.).
Re claim 14, Ishimaru discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic circuit component forms part of a reactor (the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as a reactor, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component).
Re claim 16, Ishimaru discloses claim 12 as discussed above and further discloses a compressor 1 comprising the magnetic circuit component of claim 12 (fig 1, [0033]).
Re claim 17, Ishimaru discloses claim 19 as discussed above and further discloses a compressor comprising the magnetic circuit component of claim 13 (the magnetic circuit is capable of being employed as the magnetic bearing in a compressor, since it discloses the claimed magnetic circuit component).
Re claim 18, Ishimaru discloses claim 16 as discussed above and further discloses a refrigeration apparatus including the compressor 1 of claim 16, the refrigeration apparatus further comprising: a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the compressor flows (fig 1, [0032-0035]).
Re claim 19, Ishimaru discloses claim 17 as discussed above and further discloses a refrigeration apparatus including the compressor of claim 17, the refrigeration apparatus further comprising: a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the compressor flows (fig 1, [0032-0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimaru in view of Gilliland et al. (US5734214, “Gilliland”).
Re claim 15, Ishimaru discloses claim 12 as discussed above and further discloses the electric motor 3 including the magnetic circuit component of claim 12 and a compressor 1 configured to be driven by the electric motor 3 (fig 1, [0033]).
Ishimaru is silent with respect to a blower comprising: the electric motor including the magnetic circuit component of claim 12; and a fan configured to be driven by the electric motor.
Gilliland discloses a blower and a fan configured to be driven by an electric motor (figs 1-2, col 1, lns 14-17 & col 3, lns 7-15); and
It is known to employ electric motors to drive a blower with a fan or a compressor (col 1, lns 14-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electric motor of Ishimaru as a blower comprising: the electric motor; and a fan configured to be driven by the electric motor, as disclosed by Gilliland, in order to employ the electric motor in different known applications, as demonstrated by Gilliland.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naka et al. (WO2021065676), Nigo et al. (JP2011019398, fig 7) and Ogawa (JP05191935) from the ids read on at least claim 1.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834