Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, pages 7-9, filed on July 30, 2026, with respect to the nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection and the 35 USC 102/103 rejection have been considered. The examiner will provide a response to each of applicants’ arguments.
Point A:
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 stand rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,871,072 in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0040472 (hereinafter "Kim"). Claims 4-10 and 14-20 stand rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,871,072 in view of Kim and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0210220 (hereinafter "Pendergast").
Ast to Point A:
The Terminal Disclaimer filed by the applicant on July 30, 2026, has been approved and made of record. Thus, the Nonstatutory Double Patent rejections are withdrawn.
Point B:
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 Claims 1, 3 and 11-13 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim. Claim 2 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Publication No. 2006/0285821 (hereinafter "Kim-2"). Claims 4-8, 10, 14-18 and 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Pendergast. Claims 9 and 19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Pendergast and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0244639 (hereinafter "Benedetto"). The applicant traverses the rejection.
Kim fails to disclose "detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface." In Kim, the so-called "first area" (the content 1001) never moves or scrolls out of the display interface. Instead, the physical screen itself is extending from the housing. To address the fact that the physical screen is not yet fully extended, Kim's controller proactively scales down the entire image so that the whole content always remains fully visible and completely within the borders of the already-extended portion of the display. There is no "partial out-of-view" event because the image is dynamically resized to fit the available physical screen. The scenario of a component moving beyond a viewport, which is the essence of the present invention, is entirely absent in Kim.
As to Point B:
Claim 1 does not recite in detail or require that the first area to move is done because of scrolling, panning, zooming or any other way in which the first area becomes partially out of view of the display interface. It only requires that at least partially out of the display interface. Kim’s dynamic extension meets this limitation. The claim also doesn’t require the second area to be a substitute editing reference region in the narrow way in which the applicant argues. The claim only states that the first area is configured to display a media component that becomes at least partially out of the display interface, and that in response, a second area configured to display the same media component is presented.
It appears applicant is attempting to add limitations from the specification into the claim, including a particular editing interface context and a specific redisplay mechanism. The claims do not require such a narrow interpretation since it is not in the claims. Furthermore, with regards to applicant’s argument that the second area must be “presented specifically to re-display that same media component that was previously displayed from the first area. Kim teaches that the content is displayed as the display is extended, and that the content may be resized to make sure that the entire content remains seen or visible. Functionally, this is a redisplay of the same media component in response to the changing display state. Again, the claim does not state or require that the partial out of display means that it is unavailable, it only requires that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface and that it is detected based upon that. (See Kim, paras. 0024-0027, 0112-0116, 0137-0140 and 0142-0152).
Comments
It is the Examiner’s position that Applicant has not yet submitted claims drawn to limitations, which define the operation and apparatus of Applicant’s disclosed invention in manner, which distinguishes over the prior art. As it is Applicant’s right to continue to claim as broadly as possible their invention. It is also the Examiner’s right to continue to interpret the claim language as broadly as possible. It is the Examiner’s position that the detailed functionality that allows for Applicant’s invention to overcome the prior art used in the rejection, fails to differentiate in detail how these features are unique (see Applicant’s enabling portions of the specification, paras. 0042-0043, 0046-0054). Thus, the prior art of record has disclosed the claim limitations of the Applicant’s invention. Furthermore, Applicant must submit amendments to the claims to distinguish over the prior art of record used in the rejection that discloses different features of Applicant’s claim invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 2023/0040472 A1)(hereinafter KIM).
Re claim 1, KIM discloses a video processing method, comprising: presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (see ¶s 123-124 for presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (i.e. when the controller 170 receives the command to extend the display 180, the controller 170 can display the entire content 1001 (see FIG. 10) on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S20), the content 1001 (see FIG. 10) includes an image displayable on a screen through the display 180 as described in fig. 9 paragraph 125). Also, see paragraphs 126-132); and in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (see ¶s 144-145 for in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (i.e. the control unit 100 may further display a menu 1010 on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S22), the controller 170 can control the display 180 such that the menu 1010 is displayed in an area other than the content 1001, or the menu 1010 is displayed in an overlapping manner on the content 1001 as described in fig. 13 paragraph 146, furthermore, in the example of FIG. 14(A), the controller 170 can display the menu 1010 in an area other than the content 1001 of the first size in the extended display 180 as described in fig. 14 paragraph 150). Also, see paragraphs 147-149, 151-152)
Re claim 3, KIM as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature further comprising: hiding the second area, in response to detecting that the media component is fully visible in the first area in display interface (see ¶ 182 for hiding the second area, in response to detecting that the media component is fully visible in the first area in display interface (i.e. the full screen icon 1014 may mean an icon for receiving a command to display only the currently displayed content 1001 excluding the menu 1010 on the display 180 as described in fig. 20 paragraph 183). Also, see paragraphs 184-185)
Re claim 11, KIM discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement: presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (see ¶s 123-124 for presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (i.e. when the controller 170 receives the command to extend the display 180, the controller 170 can display the entire content 1001 (see FIG. 10) on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S20), the content 1001 (see FIG. 10) includes an image displayable on a screen through the display 180 as described in fig. 9 paragraph 125). Also, see paragraphs 126-132); and in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (see ¶s 144-145 for in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (i.e. the control unit 100 may further display a menu 1010 on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S22), the controller 170 can control the display 180 such that the menu 1010 is displayed in an area other than the content 1001, or the menu 1010 is displayed in an overlapping manner on the content 1001 as described in fig. 13 paragraph 146, furthermore, in the example of FIG. 14(A), the controller 170 can display the menu 1010 in an area other than the content 1001 of the first size in the extended display 180 as described in fig. 14 paragraph 150). Also, see paragraphs 147-149, 151-152)
Re claim 12, KIM discloses a device, comprising: a memory (i.e. storage 140 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 59); a processor (i.e. a controller or processor 170 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 59); and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements (i.e. a controller or processor 170 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 59, furthermore, the storage 140 can store data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170 as described in fig. 1 paragraph 68. Also, see paragraph 58): presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (see ¶s 123-124 for presenting a first area in a display interface, wherein the first area is configured to display at least a media component of a media content (i.e. when the controller 170 receives the command to extend the display 180, the controller 170 can display the entire content 1001 (see FIG. 10) on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S20), the content 1001 (see FIG. 10) includes an image displayable on a screen through the display 180 as described in fig. 9 paragraph 125). Also, see paragraphs 126-132); and in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (see ¶s 144-145 for in response to detecting that the first area is at least partially out of the display interface, presenting a second area configured to display the media component of the media content (i.e. the control unit 100 may further display a menu 1010 on the extended display 180 while the display 180 is being extended (S22), the controller 170 can control the display 180 such that the menu 1010 is displayed in an area other than the content 1001, or the menu 1010 is displayed in an overlapping manner on the content 1001 as described in fig. 13 paragraph 146, furthermore, in the example of FIG. 14(A), the controller 170 can display the menu 1010 in an area other than the content 1001 of the first size in the extended display 180 as described in fig. 14 paragraph 150). Also, see paragraphs 147-149, 151-152).
Re claim 13, KIM as discussed in claims 3 and 12 above, discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2023/0040472 A1)(hereinafter KIM) as applied to claims 1, 3, 11, 12 and 13 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2006/0285821 A1)(hereinafter Kim-2).
Re claim 2, KIM as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second area is a mask layer out of the display interface or attached to an edge of the display interface. However, the reference of Kim-2 explicitly teaches wherein the second area is a mask layer out of the display interface or attached to an edge of the display interface (see ¶s 28, 30 for the second area is a mask layer out of the display interface or attached to an edge of the display interface (i.e. the menu screen 10 also includes a picture-mask layer 16, which includes a black-and-white, or up to four color, background image (not shown), conceptually, the picture-mask layer overlays the display layer 14, and thus, can block out images (not shown) in the display layer that lie below the picture-mask layer, also, it is possible to cycle the picture-mask layer with different background images (not shown) so as present the illusion of animation in the picture-mask layer, the picture-mask layer includes sub-regions (not shown), or sub-pictures (not shown), that can be used to cover or hide portion of the display layer, e.g., simulated thumbnail representations (not shown) that are included in the display layer as described in fig. 1 paragraph 29))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Kim-2 as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (mask layer) into the system of KIM as taught by Kim-2.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of KIM as taught by Kim-2 for the benefit of having a menu screen 10 which also includes a highlight layer 18 that is used to define areas of the menu screen, in the display layer 14 and/or the picture-mask layer 16, that have been selected or activated by the user, or by default, for example, portions of the highlight layer can be used to display an illuminated border (not shown) that surrounds selected images in the display layer and/or the picture-mask layer in order to have a user friendly interaction (see fig. 1 ¶ 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 10, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2023/0040472 A1)(hereinafter KIM) as applied to claims 1, 3, 11, 12 and 13 above, and further in view of Pendergast et al. (US 2012/0210220 A1)(hereinafter Pendergast).
Re claim 4, KIM as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the media component of the media content is displayed in the second area in a manner of being synchronized with a timeline in the display interface for displaying the media component in the first area. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein the media component of the media content is displayed in the second area in a manner of being synchronized with a timeline in the display interface for displaying the media component in the first area (see ¶ 328 for the media component of the media content is displayed in the second area in a manner of being synchronized with a timeline in the display interface for displaying the media component in the first area (i.e. the index playhead 4625 is positioned at the top of index area 4620 above any other items (e.g., clip, keyword, and marker in both views), in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, this index playhead 4625 moves synchronously with the timeline playhead 4655 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 329-334)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (timeline) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast for the benefit of having an index playhead 4625 which is positioned at the top of index area 4620 above any other items (e.g., clip, keyword, and marker in both views), wherein in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650, wherein the position of the index playhead 4625 also corresponds to a timeline playhead 4655 in the timeline in order to improve efficiency when the index playhead 4625 moves synchronously with the timeline playhead 4655 (see fig. 46 ¶ 335)
Re claim 5, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 4 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein presenting the second area comprises displaying clips of the media content in the second area based on the timeline. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein presenting the second area comprises displaying clips of the media content in the second area based on the timeline (see ¶ 329 for presenting the second area comprises displaying clips of the media content in the second area based on the timeline (i.e. in the first stage 4605, a timeline 4650 displays one of several different clips that are in a composite presentation as described in fig. 46 paragraph 328). Also, see paragraphs 330-335)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (timeline) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
Per claim 5, KIM and Pendergast are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 4 above.
Re claim 6, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 5 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the displaying the clips of the media content in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, an audio component of the media content in the second area in a preset manner. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein the displaying the clips of the media content in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, an audio component of the media content in the second area in a preset manner (see ¶s 328-330 for the displaying the clips of the media content in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, an audio component of the media content in the second area in a preset manner (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331). Also, see paragraphs 332-335)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (timeline) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
Per claim 6, KIM and Pendergast are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 4 above.
Re claim 7, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 6 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein before displaying the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area, the method further comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content; wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of music type or audio data of sound effect type; and generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, a target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content; wherein the target audio visual line is configured to visualize a playback position of the target audio data in the media content; wherein the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, the target audio visual line in the second area. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein before displaying the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area, the method further comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content (see ¶s 328-330 for before displaying the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area, the method further comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334); wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of music type or audio data of sound effect type (see ¶ 140 for the target audio data comprises audio data of music type or audio data of sound effect type (i.e. the additional media display area 430 displays various types of additional media, such as audio effects as described in fig. 4 paragraph 141)); and generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, a target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content (see ¶s 328-330 for generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, a target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334); wherein the target audio visual line is configured to visualize a playback position of the target audio data in the media content (see ¶s 328-330 for the target audio visual line is configured to visualize a playback position of the target audio data in the media content (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334); wherein the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, the target audio visual line in the second area (see ¶s 328-330 for the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the audio component of the media content in the preset manner in the second area comprises: displaying, based on the timeline, the target audio visual line in the second area (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (timeline) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
Per claim 7, KIM and Pendergast are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 4 above.
Re claim 8, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 7 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the audio component of the media content comprises a first audio component and a second audio component, and the determining the time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the first audio component and a time point where target audio data is located in the second audio component respectively; and combining the time point where the target audio data is located in the first audio component and the time point where the target audio data is located in the second audio component to obtain combined time points; wherein the generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, the target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content comprises: generating, based on the combined time points, the target audio visual line for the media content. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein the audio component of the media content comprises a first audio component and a second audio component, and the determining the time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the first audio component and a time point where target audio data is located in the second audio component respectively (see ¶s 328-330 for the audio component of the media content comprises a first audio component and a second audio component, and the determining the time point where target audio data is located in the audio component of the media content comprises: determining a time point where target audio data is located in the first audio component and a time point where target audio data is located in the second audio component respectively (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334); and combining the time point where the target audio data is located in the first audio component and the time point where the target audio data is located in the second audio component to obtain combined time points (see ¶s 328-330 for combining the time point where the target audio data is located in the first audio component and the time point where the target audio data is located in the second audio component to obtain combined time points (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334); wherein the generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, the target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content comprises: generating, based on the combined time points, the target audio visual line for the media content (see ¶s 328-330 for generating, based on the time point where the target audio data is located, the target audio visual line for the audio component of the media content comprises: generating, based on the combined time points, the target audio visual line for the media content (i.e. the clips are listed in chronological order starting with a first clip in the timeline 4650 and ending with a last clip in the timeline, also, each clip includes (1) a clip icon that indicates the type of clip (e.g., video, audio, title), (2) a clip name, and (3) time duration as described in fig. 46 paragraph 331, furthermore, in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650 as described in fig. 46 paragraph 335). Also, see paragraphs 332-334)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (time point) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast for the benefit of having an index playhead 4625 which is positioned at the top of index area 4620 above any other items (e.g., clip, keyword, and marker in both views), wherein in the clip view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more clips that is displayed in the timeline 4650, for example, in the first stage 4605, the position of the index playhead 4625 indicates that the timeline is displaying a first clip in the composite presentation that the user is creating, similarly, in the keyword view, the position of the index playhead 4625 provides a reference point to one or more items (e.g., keywords, markers) that is associated with a particular clip in the timeline 4650, wherein the position of the index playhead 4625 also corresponds to a timeline playhead 4655 in the timeline in order to improve efficiency when the index playhead 4625 moves synchronously with the timeline playhead 4655 (see fig. 46 ¶ 335)
Re claim 10, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 7 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of sound effect type. However, the reference of Pendergast explicitly teaches wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of sound effect type (see ¶ 140 for the target audio data comprises audio data of sound effect type (i.e. the additional media display area 430 displays various types of additional media, such as audio effects as described in fig. 4 paragraph 141))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM and Pendergast as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (audio effect) into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of KIM as taught by Pendergast for the benefit of having an additional media display area 430 which displays various types of additional media, such as video effects, transitions, still images, titles, audio effects, standard audio clips, etc., wherein the set of effects is represented by a set of selectable UI items, in which each selectable UI item represents a particular effect, wherein each selectable UI item also includes a thumbnail image with the particular effect applied, wherein the display area 430 is currently displaying a set of effects for the user to apply to a clip in order to have a user friendly interaction (see fig. 4 ¶ 141)
Re claim 14, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 4 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 14.
Re claim 15, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 5, and also, claim 12 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 15.
Re claim 16, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 6, and also, claim 12 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 16.
Re claim 17, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 7, and also, claim 12 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 17.
Re claim 18, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 8, and also, claim 12 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 18.
Re claim 20, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 10 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2023/0040472 A1)(hereinafter KIM) as applied to claims 1, 3, 11, 12 and 13 above, and further in view of Pendergast et al. (US 2012/0210220 A1)(hereinafter Pendergast), and further in view of Benedetto (US 2019/0244639 A1)(hereinafter Benedetto).
Re claim 9, the combination of KIM and Pendergast as discussed in claim 7 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of music type; before the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the target audio visual line in the second area, the method further comprises: marking a beat-tracking point on the target audio visual line. However, the reference of Benedetto explicitly teaches wherein the target audio data comprises audio data of music type (see fig. 8 ¶ 106 for the target audio data comprises audio data of music type (i.e. amplitude threshold 606 may be used to identify the beats of a song as described in fig. 6 paragraph 96). Also, see fig. 1 paragraph 59); before the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the target audio visual line in the second area, the method further comprises: marking a beat-tracking point on the target audio visual line (see ¶ 99 for before the displaying, based on the timeline on the display interface, the target audio visual line in the second area, the method further comprises: marking a beat-tracking point on the target audio visual line (i.e. as shown in the waveform data 602, each vertical line superimposed on the waveform represents a marker, for example, marker 608 represents a beat in the track where the amplitude of the waveform exceeds amplitude threshold 606, songs may be identified to have several hundred or more markers as described in fig. 6 paragraph 97). Also, see figs. 8, 14 paragraphs 106, 133)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of KIM, Pendergast and Benedetto as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (beat-tracking) into the system of KIM as taught by Benedetto.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of KIM as taught by Benedetto for the benefit of processing a music track to identify markers that correspond to musical signatures associated with music track, wherein a waveform associated with the music track is processed to identify the markers that correspond to musical signatures, wherein a waveform is format of representing the vibrational energy output caused by pressure waves (e.g., sounds) of a song, wherein the amplitude of the waveform defines the sound pressure output as a function of time, wherein musical signatures appear in the waveform as spikes or peaks, which are then detectable by operation 130, wherein musical signatures are a type of musical property of a track that include beats, pulses, measures, bars, and notes, wherein the markers that are identified by operation 130 include data that refer to the time points at which the musical signatures occur in the course of playing the musical track, for example, a generic pop song with a tempo of 120 beats per minutes (bpm) and lasting for 3 minutes will have about 360 beats in order to improve efficiency when identifying a marker for each of the 360 beats of the song (see fig. 1 ¶s 58-59)
Re claim 19, the combination of KIM, Pendergast and Benedetto as discussed in claim 9, and also, claim 12 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C VAUGHN JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2481