DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This is the first action on the merits.
This communication is in response to the application filed 03/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorenflo (US20180352730) in view of Schygge (US20140150390) further in view of Becke (US20190075724).
Claim 1:
Gorenflo explicitly teaches:
An operation method of a robot lawn mower, the robot lawn mower including a device body, a storage module, a cutting module, a moving module and a control module, the control module being electrically connected to the storage module, the cutting module and the moving module, the cutting module being disposed on a lower portion of the device body and being movable in a vertical direction relative to the device body between a maximum height where the cutting module is closest to the device body and a minimum height where the cutting module is most away from the device body, the storage module storing [a current threshold], data that is related to a planned path along which the robot lawn mower is to move for mowing, and
(Gorenflo) – “A method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot having a cutting tool for mowing a lawn, wherein a cutting height of the cutting tool is adjustable, includes the steps of: receiving a prediction of an environmental condition describing parameter, and automatically adjusting the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the received prediction.” (Abstract)
“The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can be configured to move and/or to act self-actingly, automatically, in a self-determined fashion, in a self-controlled fashion and/or independently of a user on the lawn which is to be treated and which can be predefined and/or limited, and/or in its surroundings, and/or select at least one parameter such as, in particular, a route parameter and/or a reversal point.” (Para 0009)
“The cutting height of the cutting tool can be a vertical and/or perpendicular distance between an underlying surface on which the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can move and the cutting tool, in particular a cutting plane which is defined by the cutting tool. The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can advantageously have running wheels for moving on the underlying surface, and the cutting height can be a vertical distance between the running wheels and the cutting tool. In particular, the cutting height can be in a range between 0 centimetres (cm) to 50 cm, in particular to 15 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 10 cm. The cutting height of the cutting tool can be adjustable in an infinitely adjustable fashion or in relatively small steps, in particular in 0.5 cm steps.” (Para 0011)
“FIGS. 2 to 4 show a lawn mowing system 10 having a receiver unit 20, an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 and a height adjusting device 50. The receiver unit 20 is designed to receive a prediction 31 of an environmental condition describing parameter 30. The lawn mower robot 40 has a cutting tool 41 for mowing a lawn 100 wherein a cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 is adjustable, as can be seen in FIG. 2. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the receiver unit 20 and to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the received prediction 31. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the lawn mower robot 40 comprises the height adjusting device 50.” (Para 0039)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise noted.
a lookup table that records a plurality of reference heights of the cutting module and [a plurality of reference current values corresponding respectively to the reference heights],
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
the operation method being to be implemented by the control module and comprising: [according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table], selecting a working height from among the reference heights in the lookup table;
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
determining whether the working height is greater than a desired height;
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
adjusting a height of the cutting module by one of controlling the cutting module to move to the desired height in response to determining that the working height is not greater than the desired height, and controlling the cutting module to move to the working height in response to determining that the working height is greater than the desired height; and
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
after adjusting the height of the cutting module, controlling the cutting module to operate for mowing and controlling the moving module to drive the robot lawn mower to move along the planned path.
(Gorenflo) – “The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can be configured to move and/or to act self-actingly, automatically, in a self-determined fashion, in a self-controlled fashion and/or independently of a user on the lawn which is to be treated and which can be predefined and/or limited, and/or in its surroundings, and/or select at least one parameter such as, in particular, a route parameter and/or a reversal point.” (Para 0009)
“The cutting height of the cutting tool can be a vertical and/or perpendicular distance between an underlying surface on which the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can move and the cutting tool, in particular a cutting plane which is defined by the cutting tool. The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can advantageously have running wheels for moving on the underlying surface, and the cutting height can be a vertical distance between the running wheels and the cutting tool. In particular, the cutting height can be in a range between 0 centimetres (cm) to 50 cm, in particular to 15 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 10 cm. The cutting height of the cutting tool can be adjustable in an infinitely adjustable fashion or in relatively small steps, in particular in 0.5 cm steps.” (Para 0011)
“FIGS. 2 to 4 show a lawn mowing system 10 having a receiver unit 20, an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 and a height adjusting device 50. The receiver unit 20 is designed to receive a prediction 31 of an environmental condition describing parameter 30. The lawn mower robot 40 has a cutting tool 41 for mowing a lawn 100 wherein a cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 is adjustable, as can be seen in FIG. 2. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the receiver unit 20 and to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the received prediction 31. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the lawn mower robot 40 comprises the height adjusting device 50.” (Para 0039)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Gorenflo does not explicitly teach:
a current threshold… a plurality of reference current values corresponding respectively to the reference heights… according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table
Schygge, in the same field of endeavor of lawn care vehicles, teaches:
a current threshold… a plurality of reference current values… according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table
(Schygge) – “The drive controller 150 may be capable of providing control signals to one or both of the blade motors 110 and the electric drive motor 62 in accordance with control applications anchor instructions defining parametric inputs and corresponding control actions to be taken for certain parametric input signals or combinations thereof. In an example embodiment, the drive controller 150 may be configured to receive indications of total current and provide control signals to the electric drive motor 62 based on the indications received. As such, for example, the drive controller 150 may include parametric tables defining ranges and/or values of total current measurements and corresponding control functions to be taken responsive to detection of total current measurements being sensed by the sensor network within the defined ranges or at the defined values. The ranges and/or values defined in the parametric tables may correspond to conditions for providing optimal or desirable cutting performance and/or conditions for maximizing battery power source 74 life.” (Para 0042)
“The automatic operation mode may include the automatic control of drive speed based on total current. Furthermore, the automatic operation mode may include a static control mode in which the drive controller 150 monitors total current relative to the threshold value and reduces speed responsive to the total current exceeding the threshold value. Alternatively, or additionally, the automatic operation mode may include a dynamic control mode in which the drive controller 150 controls speed dynamically based on total current in order to optimize performance.” (Para 0045)
“Accordingly, some example embodiments of the present invention may provide an efficient drive controller that may be configured to monitor operating conditions of a battery operated riding lawn care vehicle and compare the operating conditions (or parameters) being monitored to operational set points, guidelines, operating ranges, and/or thresholds in order to facilitate control of battery operated riding lawn care vehicle operation to improve cutting efficiency and/or battery life. In some cases, the efficient drive controller may be configured to take automatic control of vehicle drive speed based on total battery current drawn (e.g., by drive motor components and blade motor components) to ensure conformance with predefined operating ranges and/or to ensure that predefined operating limits or thresholds are not exceeded. Alternatively or additionally, the efficient drive controller may provide indications to the operator to inform or guide the operator with respect to operating conditions relative to predefined operating ranges and/or predefined operating limits or thresholds based on total battery current or other operating parameters.” (Para 0050)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot of Gorenflo with the lawn care vehicle of Schygge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications in order “to monitor various operational aspects of the battery powered lawn care vehicle, and vehicle operation may be controlled to improve drive efficiency.” (Schygge Para 0004)
Schygge does not explicitly teach:
corresponding respectively to the reference heights
Becke, in the same field of endeavor of lawn care vehicles, teaches:
corresponding respectively to the reference heights
(Becke) – “In one embodiment, the lawn mower 10 includes a sensor 50, 52, 54 that is configured to measure an attribute of the grass being cut. In one embodiment, the lawn mower 10 includes a blade speed sensor that is configured to measure an attribute of the grass being cut. …In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is a function of the blade motor current. That is, higher blade motor currents are generally associated with more density of the cut grass and more difficult cutting conditions. In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is measured using a blade motor current sensor 50. In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is measured using a blade speed sensor. In one embodiment, the attribute of the grass being cut includes the length of the grass being cut. In one embodiment, the length of the grass being cut is measured using a grass height sensor 54.” (Para 0094)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot of Gorenflo with the lawn mower of Becke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications because “By minimizing the overlap of the mower deck between previous cut grass areas and uncut grass areas, cutting time can also be reduced.” (Becke Para 0006)
Claim 6:
Gorenflo in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Gorenflo further teaches:
wherein selecting a working height from among the reference heights includes:
[selecting one of the reference current values that is less than the current threshold as a target value]; and selecting one of the reference heights that corresponds to the target value as the working height.
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Gorenflo does not explicitly teach:
selecting one of the reference current values that is less than the current threshold as a target value
Schygge, in the same field of endeavor of lawn care vehicles, teaches:
selecting one of the reference current values that is less than the current threshold as a target value
(Schygge) – “The drive controller 150 may be capable of providing control signals to one or both of the blade motors 110 and the electric drive motor 62 in accordance with control applications anchor instructions defining parametric inputs and corresponding control actions to be taken for certain parametric input signals or combinations thereof. In an example embodiment, the drive controller 150 may be configured to receive indications of total current and provide control signals to the electric drive motor 62 based on the indications received. As such, for example, the drive controller 150 may include parametric tables defining ranges and/or values of total current measurements and corresponding control functions to be taken responsive to detection of total current measurements being sensed by the sensor network within the defined ranges or at the defined values. The ranges and/or values defined in the parametric tables may correspond to conditions for providing optimal or desirable cutting performance and/or conditions for maximizing battery power source 74 life.” (Para 0042)
“The automatic operation mode may include the automatic control of drive speed based on total current. Furthermore, the automatic operation mode may include a static control mode in which the drive controller 150 monitors total current relative to the threshold value and reduces speed responsive to the total current exceeding the threshold value. Alternatively, or additionally, the automatic operation mode may include a dynamic control mode in which the drive controller 150 controls speed dynamically based on total current in order to optimize performance.” (Para 0045)
“Accordingly, some example embodiments of the present invention may provide an efficient drive controller that may be configured to monitor operating conditions of a battery operated riding lawn care vehicle and compare the operating conditions (or parameters) being monitored to operational set points, guidelines, operating ranges, and/or thresholds in order to facilitate control of battery operated riding lawn care vehicle operation to improve cutting efficiency and/or battery life. In some cases, the efficient drive controller may be configured to take automatic control of vehicle drive speed based on total battery current drawn (e.g., by drive motor components and blade motor components) to ensure conformance with predefined operating ranges and/or to ensure that predefined operating limits or thresholds are not exceeded. Alternatively or additionally, the efficient drive controller may provide indications to the operator to inform or guide the operator with respect to operating conditions relative to predefined operating ranges and/or predefined operating limits or thresholds based on total battery current or other operating parameters.” (Para 0050)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot of Gorenflo with the lawn care vehicle of Schygge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications in order “to monitor various operational aspects of the battery powered lawn care vehicle, and vehicle operation may be controlled to improve drive efficiency.” (Schygge Para 0004)
Claim 7:
Gorenflo in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Gorenflo further teaches:
obtaining a mowing command that indicates the desired height.
(Gorenflo) – “The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can be configured to move and/or to act self-actingly, automatically, in a self-determined fashion, in a self-controlled fashion and/or independently of a user on the lawn which is to be treated and which can be predefined and/or limited, and/or in its surroundings, and/or select at least one parameter such as, in particular, a route parameter and/or a reversal point.” (Para 0009)
“The cutting height of the cutting tool can be a vertical and/or perpendicular distance between an underlying surface on which the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can move and the cutting tool, in particular a cutting plane which is defined by the cutting tool. The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can advantageously have running wheels for moving on the underlying surface, and the cutting height can be a vertical distance between the running wheels and the cutting tool. In particular, the cutting height can be in a range between 0 centimetres (cm) to 50 cm, in particular to 15 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 10 cm. The cutting height of the cutting tool can be adjustable in an infinitely adjustable fashion or in relatively small steps, in particular in 0.5 cm steps.” (Para 0011)
“FIGS. 2 to 4 show a lawn mowing system 10 having a receiver unit 20, an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 and a height adjusting device 50. The receiver unit 20 is designed to receive a prediction 31 of an environmental condition describing parameter 30. The lawn mower robot 40 has a cutting tool 41 for mowing a lawn 100 wherein a cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 is adjustable, as can be seen in FIG. 2. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the receiver unit 20 and to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the received prediction 31. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the lawn mower robot 40 comprises the height adjusting device 50.” (Para 0039)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Claim 8:
Gorenflo explicitly teaches:
A robot lawn mower, comprising: a device body; a moving module configured to drive said robot lawn mower to move; a cutting module disposed at a lower portion of said device body, and configured to be movable in a vertical direction relative to said device body between a maximum height where said cutting module is closest to said device body and a minimum height where said cutting module is most away from said device body; a storage module configured to store [a current threshold], data that is related to a planned path along which said robot lawn mower is to move for mowing, and
(Gorenflo) – “A method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot having a cutting tool for mowing a lawn, wherein a cutting height of the cutting tool is adjustable, includes the steps of: receiving a prediction of an environmental condition describing parameter, and automatically adjusting the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the received prediction.” (Abstract)
“The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can be configured to move and/or to act self-actingly, automatically, in a self-determined fashion, in a self-controlled fashion and/or independently of a user on the lawn which is to be treated and which can be predefined and/or limited, and/or in its surroundings, and/or select at least one parameter such as, in particular, a route parameter and/or a reversal point.” (Para 0009)
“The cutting height of the cutting tool can be a vertical and/or perpendicular distance between an underlying surface on which the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can move and the cutting tool, in particular a cutting plane which is defined by the cutting tool. The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can advantageously have running wheels for moving on the underlying surface, and the cutting height can be a vertical distance between the running wheels and the cutting tool. In particular, the cutting height can be in a range between 0 centimetres (cm) to 50 cm, in particular to 15 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 10 cm. The cutting height of the cutting tool can be adjustable in an infinitely adjustable fashion or in relatively small steps, in particular in 0.5 cm steps.” (Para 0011)
“FIGS. 2 to 4 show a lawn mowing system 10 having a receiver unit 20, an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 and a height adjusting device 50. The receiver unit 20 is designed to receive a prediction 31 of an environmental condition describing parameter 30. The lawn mower robot 40 has a cutting tool 41 for mowing a lawn 100 wherein a cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 is adjustable, as can be seen in FIG. 2. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the receiver unit 20 and to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the received prediction 31. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the lawn mower robot 40 comprises the height adjusting device 50.” (Para 0039)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection. This notation will be used throughout the rejection unless otherwise noted.
a lookup table that records a plurality of reference heights of said cutting module and [a plurality of reference current values corresponding respectively to the reference heights],
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
a control module electrically connected to said storage module, said cutting module and said moving module, and configured to implement an operation method that includes [according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table], selecting a working height from among the reference heights in the lookup table,
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
determining whether the working height is greater than a desired height;
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
adjusting a height of said cutting module by one of controlling said cutting module to move to the desired height in response to determining that the working height is not greater than the desired height, and controlling said cutting module to move to the working height in response to determining that the working height is greater than the desired height, and
(Gorenflo) – “In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
after adjusting the height of said cutting module, controlling said cutting module to operate for mowing and controlling said moving module to drive said robot lawn mower to move along the planned path.
(Gorenflo) – “The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can be configured to move and/or to act self-actingly, automatically, in a self-determined fashion, in a self-controlled fashion and/or independently of a user on the lawn which is to be treated and which can be predefined and/or limited, and/or in its surroundings, and/or select at least one parameter such as, in particular, a route parameter and/or a reversal point.” (Para 0009)
“The cutting height of the cutting tool can be a vertical and/or perpendicular distance between an underlying surface on which the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can move and the cutting tool, in particular a cutting plane which is defined by the cutting tool. The autonomous mobile lawn mower robot can advantageously have running wheels for moving on the underlying surface, and the cutting height can be a vertical distance between the running wheels and the cutting tool. In particular, the cutting height can be in a range between 0 centimetres (cm) to 50 cm, in particular to 15 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 10 cm. The cutting height of the cutting tool can be adjustable in an infinitely adjustable fashion or in relatively small steps, in particular in 0.5 cm steps.” (Para 0011)
“FIGS. 2 to 4 show a lawn mowing system 10 having a receiver unit 20, an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 and a height adjusting device 50. The receiver unit 20 is designed to receive a prediction 31 of an environmental condition describing parameter 30. The lawn mower robot 40 has a cutting tool 41 for mowing a lawn 100 wherein a cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 is adjustable, as can be seen in FIG. 2. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the receiver unit 20 and to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the received prediction 31. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the lawn mower robot 40 comprises the height adjusting device 50.” (Para 0039)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In one development of the invention, the method comprises a step ab): obtaining, in particular automatically obtaining, a future lawn height of the lawn based on the environmental condition describing parameter using a lawn growth model. Simultaneously and/or chronologically after this, step b) comprises: automatic adjusting of the cutting height of the cutting tool as a function of the obtained future lawn height. The future lawn height can be a lawn height which the lawn can be expected to reach in the coming three or five days. The obtaining process can comprise determining and/or calculating. In particular, the lawn growth model can comprise a table, a mathematical formula, an estimate which is based on imperial values and/or a simulation. The environmental condition describing parameter can be referred to as an input variable of the lawn growth model and/or the future lawn height can be referred to as an output variable of the lawn growth model. Adavantageously the effect of the environmental condition describing parameter on the lawn or its lawn height can be determined relatively precisely by means of the lawn growth model. Precisely obtaining the future lawn height or a gain in lawn height is advantageous for the adjustment of the cutting height.” (Para 0019)
“Furthermore, the lawn mowing system 10 has a computing unit 60. The computing unit 60 is configured to obtain automatically a future lawn height 103 of the lawn 100 based on the environmental condition describing parameter 30 using a lawn growth model. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41 automatically as a function of the obtained future lawn height 103. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60. The receiver unit 20 is configured to interact with the computing unit 60.” (Para 0049)
“In detail, the computing unit 60 is configured to store the obtained future lawn height 103 and to compare it, at the point in time for which a lawn height has been obtained, with the then actual present lawn height 104.” (Para 0054)
“In addition, the lawn mowing system 10 has an input device 80 in the form of a keypad. The input device 80 is configured to process the adjusted cutting height 42 of the cutting tool 41. In addition, the input device 80 is configured to predefine an average lawn height 105 of the lawn 100. The height adjusting device 50 is configured to adjust the cutting height 42 automatically as a function of the processing and of the predefined average lawn height 105. The input device 80 is configured to interact with the height adjusting device 50, the computing unit 60 and the output device 70. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the autonomous mobile lawn mower robot 40 comprises the input device 80.” (Para 0060)
Gorenflo does not explicitly teach:
a current threshold… a plurality of reference current values corresponding respectively to the reference heights… according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table
Schygge, in the same field of endeavor of lawn care vehicles, teaches:
a current threshold… a plurality of reference current values… according to the current threshold and the reference current values in the lookup table
(Schygge) – “The drive controller 150 may be capable of providing control signals to one or both of the blade motors 110 and the electric drive motor 62 in accordance with control applications anchor instructions defining parametric inputs and corresponding control actions to be taken for certain parametric input signals or combinations thereof. In an example embodiment, the drive controller 150 may be configured to receive indications of total current and provide control signals to the electric drive motor 62 based on the indications received. As such, for example, the drive controller 150 may include parametric tables defining ranges and/or values of total current measurements and corresponding control functions to be taken responsive to detection of total current measurements being sensed by the sensor network within the defined ranges or at the defined values. The ranges and/or values defined in the parametric tables may correspond to conditions for providing optimal or desirable cutting performance and/or conditions for maximizing battery power source 74 life.” (Para 0042)
“The automatic operation mode may include the automatic control of drive speed based on total current. Furthermore, the automatic operation mode may include a static control mode in which the drive controller 150 monitors total current relative to the threshold value and reduces speed responsive to the total current exceeding the threshold value. Alternatively, or additionally, the automatic operation mode may include a dynamic control mode in which the drive controller 150 controls speed dynamically based on total current in order to optimize performance.” (Para 0045)
“Accordingly, some example embodiments of the present invention may provide an efficient drive controller that may be configured to monitor operating conditions of a battery operated riding lawn care vehicle and compare the operating conditions (or parameters) being monitored to operational set points, guidelines, operating ranges, and/or thresholds in order to facilitate control of battery operated riding lawn care vehicle operation to improve cutting efficiency and/or battery life. In some cases, the efficient drive controller may be configured to take automatic control of vehicle drive speed based on total battery current drawn (e.g., by drive motor components and blade motor components) to ensure conformance with predefined operating ranges and/or to ensure that predefined operating limits or thresholds are not exceeded. Alternatively or additionally, the efficient drive controller may provide indications to the operator to inform or guide the operator with respect to operating conditions relative to predefined operating ranges and/or predefined operating limits or thresholds based on total battery current or other operating parameters.” (Para 0050)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot of Gorenflo with the lawn care vehicle of Schygge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications in order “to monitor various operational aspects of the battery powered lawn care vehicle, and vehicle operation may be controlled to improve drive efficiency.” (Schygge Para 0004)
Schygge does not explicitly teach:
corresponding respectively to the reference heights
Becke, in the same field of endeavor of lawn care vehicles, teaches:
corresponding respectively to the reference heights
(Becke) – “In one embodiment, the lawn mower 10 includes a sensor 50, 52, 54 that is configured to measure an attribute of the grass being cut. In one embodiment, the lawn mower 10 includes a blade speed sensor that is configured to measure an attribute of the grass being cut. …In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is a function of the blade motor current. That is, higher blade motor currents are generally associated with more density of the cut grass and more difficult cutting conditions. In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is measured using a blade motor current sensor 50. In one embodiment, the density of the cut grass is measured using a blade speed sensor. In one embodiment, the attribute of the grass being cut includes the length of the grass being cut. In one embodiment, the length of the grass being cut is measured using a grass height sensor 54.” (Para 0094)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for operating an autonomous mobile lawn mower robot of Gorenflo with the lawn mower of Becke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications because “By minimizing the overlap of the mower deck between previous cut grass areas and uncut grass areas, cutting time can also be reduced.” (Becke Para 0006)
Claim 13:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 6
Claim 14:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 7
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-5, 9-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ding (CN112715133) teaches a similar intelligent mower system.
Hahn (US20190216014) teaches a similar autonomous lawn mower.
He (US20180000025) teaches a similar intelligent gardening system.
Schygge (US20140165523) teaches a similar riding lawn care vehicle .
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658