DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s disclosure in paragraph [0000], p. 1 recites “…U.S. Patent Application No. 18/432,161 filed on February 5, 2024, which is a continuation of…” where it should instead recite “…U.S. Patent Application No. 18/432,161 filed on February 5, 2024, now issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,282,756, which is a continuation of…”
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: According to MPEP 608.01(m), the present Office practice is to insist that each claim must be the object of a sentence starting with “I (or we) claim,” “The invention claimed is” (or the equivalent). Thus, the heading simply stating “CLAIMS:” is not sufficient.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,235,871; claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,101,977; claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 10, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,949,177; claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,907,691; and claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,282,756. Although the claim at issue is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claim are essentially covered by the limitations of the patent claims, as shown in the tables below.
19/088,739
Claim 1
9,235,871
Claims 1, 4-6
10,101,977
Claims 1, 4, 5
10,949,177
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13
11,907,691
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11
12,282,756
Claim 1
19/088,739 (Claim 1)
9,235,871 (Claims 1 and 4-6)
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a second set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
A system…to execute a program, the system comprising: a general purpose central processing unit (CPU) device executing commands in a CPU programming language; a graphic processing unit (GPU) device executing commands in a GPU programming language that is distinct from the CPU programming language; (Claim 1)
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
a command processor accessible to the CPU device and the GPU device, the command processor managing jobs from the program…a data compiler…to convert program data for the commands into a first data format readable by the CPU programming language and a second data format readable by the GPU programming language (Claim 1)
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs,
a graphics transfer memory coupled to the CPU device and the GPU device, the graphics transfer memory storing resources for the commands (Claim 4)
the graphics transfer memory includes frame graphics transfer memory (Claim 5)
wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands,
first sequence of commands…second sequence of commands (Claim 1)
wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
commands…in a state free command format (Claim 1)
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
wherein the command format maps the commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms (Claim 6)
19/088,739 (Claim 1)
10,101,977 (Claims 1, 4, and 5)
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a second set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
A system…to execute a program, the system comprising: a first processing unit device executing commands in a first programming language; a second processing unit device executing commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language; (Claim 1)
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and a second processing unit device, the command processor managing jobs from the program…data compiler…to convert program data for the commands into a first data format…for the first programming language…and a second data format…for the second programming language (Claim 1)
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs,
a transfer memory accessible by the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device, the transfer memory storing resources for the commands (Claim 1)
the transfer memory includes frame graphics transfer memory (Claim 4)
wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands, wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
commands from the jobs in a state free command format…a first sequence of commands…a second sequence of commands… in the command format (Claim 1)
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
wherein the command format maps the commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms (Claim 5)
19/088,739 (Claim 1)
10,949,177 (Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, and 13)
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a second set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
A system…to execute a program, the system comprising: a first processing unit device configured to execute commands in a first programming language; a second processing unit device configured to execute commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language (Claim 1)
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
a command processor configured to generate one or more commands for execute by the first processing unit device or the second processing unit device; a data compiler configured to convert program data for the one or more commands int a first data format usable by the first programming language and a second data format usable by the second programming language; (Claim 1)
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs,
a transfer memory accessible by the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device, the transfer memory being configured to store the program data (Claim 1)
the transfer memory includes (i) frame graphics transfer memory (Claim 10)
wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands,
wherein the one or more commands…include a first sequence of commands for execution by the first processing unit device and a second sequence of commands for execution by the second processing unit device (Claim 6)
wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
wherein the commands are in a state-free command format (Claim 11)
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
wherein the command format maps each of the one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms (Claim 13)
19/088,739 (Claim 1)
11,907,691 (Claims 1, 3, 4, and 11)
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a second set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
A system for executing a program, the system comprising: a first processing unit device configured to execute a first sequence of one or more commands in a first programming language; a second processing unit device configured to execute a second sequence of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language; (Claim 1)
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
convert the program data into (a) a first data format usable by the first programming language and (b) a second data format usable by the second programming language (Claim 1)
the command process is configured to be accessible by both the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device (Claim 3)
the command processor is configured to manage jobs for the program (Claim 4)
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs, wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands,
a transfer memory accessible by the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device, the transfer memory being configured to store program data usable by (i) the first processing unit device to execute the first set of one or more commands, (ii) the second processing unit device to execute the second set of one or more commands (Claim 1)
the transfer memory includes (i) frame graphics transfer memory (Claim 11)
wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
wherein the first sequence of one or more commands, the second sequence of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and (Claim 1)
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
wherein the state-free command format maps each of the at least some of the commands in the first sequence of one or more commands and the second sequence of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms. (Claim 1)
19/088,739 (Claim 1)
12,282,756 (Claim 1)
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a send set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
A system for executing a program by a first processing unit device configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device configured to execute a send set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language, the system comprising:
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit device or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs,
a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit device or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs,
wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands,
wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands,
wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luk (US 20100156888A1), Li (US008711159B2), and Bolz (US 20110242118A1).
Luk teaches a system for executing a program by a first processing unit device (CPU) configured to execute a first set of one or more commands in a first programming language and a second processing unit device (GPU) configured to execute a second set of one or more commands in a second programming language that is distinct from the first programming language (features of a current threading API for CPU processors (such as, e.g., Threading Building Blocks (TBB)), features of a current threading API for GPUs (such as, e.g., CUDA API), [0017]), the system comprising: a command processor accessible to the first processing unit device and the second processing unit device and configured to manage one or more jobs from the program and translate commands associated with the one or more jobs into a format associated with the first programming language or the second programming language; and wherein the command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms (compiler 205 generates TBB and CUDA source codes from the application code program(s) 140 on the fly and then uses system compilers (such as, e.g., a CPU C compiler and/a GPU C compiler) to generate the final machine codes, [0030], features of a current threading API for CPU processors (such as, e.g., Threading Building Blocks (TBB)), features of a current threading API for GPUs (such as, e.g., CUDA API), [0017]).
However, Luk does not teach a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit device or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs, wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands. However, Li teaches a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit device (110) or the second processing unit device (150), the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs, wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands (when the application 105 executes on the CPU 110, it generates low level graphics commands and transmits them in command buffers 130 to the GPU 150, GPU 150 parses the command buffers, loads the graphics data and then performs the corresponding rendering tasks, col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luk to include a transfer memory communicatively coupled to the command processor and accessible to either the first processing unit device or the second processing unit device, the transfer memory comprising at least one of (i) a frame graphics transfer memory, (ii) a frame command transfer memory, (iii) an owner graphics transfer memory, and (iv) an owner command memory, the transfer memory being configured to store the commands associated with the one or more jobs, wherein the stored commands include the first set of one or more commands or the second set of one or more commands because Li suggests that this is a conventional CPU-GPU arrangement of a computing device, and thus this arrangement is well-known in the art (col. 2, lines 53-56).
However, Luk and Li do not teach wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to the plurality of different hardware platforms. However, Bolz teaches wherein the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format (stateless graphics refers to a new programming model for the GPU 150, where all graphics workloads to be processed by the GPU 150 are self-contained, i.e., include all the state information that is needed to process the graphics workloads, each draw call could include all the state needed for the draw call, in such a model, the state information needed to process a graphics workload does not need to be tracked by GPU driver 118, [0035]). Since Luk teaches wherein the command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms [0030, 0017], this teaching of the state-free command format from Bolz can be implemented into the device of Luk so that the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to a plurality of different hardware platforms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luk and Li so that the first set of one or more commands, the second set of one or more commands, or both, include commands in a state-free command format, and wherein the state-free command format maps each of at least some of the commands in the first set of one or more commands and the second set of one or more commands to the plurality of different hardware platforms because Bolz suggests that this allows the generation and execution of the different graphics workloads to be more independently ordered and parallelizable [0035].
Conclusion
JH
/JONI HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611