Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species V (Figures 6A-6B), claims 1-6, 9-12,16-18 and 20 in the reply filed on September 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8, 13-15 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 28, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) in claim 2, line 2 (both occurrences) and claim 9, line 1 “releasable couple” should be “releasable coupler”
b) in claim 11, “the body is between 3 and 5 millimeters” should be “the thickness of the body is between 3 and 5 millimeters”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pain (US 2,339,187).
Regarding claim 1, Pain discloses a retention system for releasably holding a first item
within proximity to a second item, the system comprising: a body (fig. 1 - 10) formed of an elastomeric material (rubber); a cutout (fig. 1. - 13,17,18,19,14,15,16) formed within the body for receiving the first item(towel or cloth), which is to be retained, the cutout comprising a plurality of flaps spaced apart from each other(between 17-19, 17-18 and 18-19), wherein the cutout, including each of the plurality of flaps, elastically stretches to receive the first item and thereafter holds the first item at least in part with compression(description pg1, right col. line 40 through pg2, left col. line10); a first tab (20) extending outward from the body, the first tab having a hole(22) formed therein; a second tab (21) extending outward from the body in an opposite direction from the first tab; and a releasable coupler (screws) for coupling the body to the second item (wall – see pg. 1 right col. lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 5, Pain discloses the retention system of Claim 1, wherein the cutout further includes a plurality of channels (17,14; 18,15; 19,16), each of the plurality of channels is formed between adjacent flaps. (See fig. 1)
Regarding claim 6, Pain discloses the retention system of Claim 1, wherein the cutout further includes a plurality of channels (17,14; 18,15; 19,16), wherein each of the plurality of channels is formed between adjacent flaps, and wherein the plurality of channels have a base region (14,15,16 respectively) that is wider than its inlet (adjacent middle hole 13). (See fig. 1)
Claims 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paterson (US 2014/0166610).
Regarding claim 10, Paterson discloses a retention system for releasably holding a first item within proximity to a second item, the system comprising: a body (10) formed of an elastomeric material (pp0022); wherein the body is formed with an inboard cutout (inside or ring) for receiving the first item (bottle), which is to be retained; wherein the cutout elastically stretches to receive the first item and thereafter holds the first item at least in part with compression (pp0022); and a tether (16) having a first end and a second end; wherein the first end (18) of the tether is coupled to the body; and a releasable coupler (20) that is coupled at a second end of the tether, wherein the releasable coupler is for coupling to the second item.
Regarding claim 16, Paterson discloses the retention system of Claim 10 further comprising a first tab (12) extending outward from the body, the first tab having a hole formed therein for coupling to the first end of the tether(see fig. 2); and a second tab (14) extending outward from the body in an opposite direction from the first tab.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-10, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain (US 2,339,187) in view of Paterson (US 2014/0166610).
Regarding claim 2, Pain discloses the retention system of claim 1, but does not disclose the tether. Paterson discloses a similar retention system comprising a body (10) and tether (16) wherein the tether positioned between the releasable coupler (20) and the body (10) for coupling the releasable coupler to the hole formed in the first tab (see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a tether and releasable coupler as taught by Paterson in the retention system of Pain by attaching the tether and releasable coupler of Paterson to the body of Pain to allow the retention system to be attached to other items (instead of only by screws to a wall as taught by Pain).
Regarding claim 9. Pain discloses the retention system of claim 1, but does not disclose the releasable coupler comprises tether with a loop and a spring activated clamp, a snap, a buckle, a hook and loop attachment or a c-ring. Paterson discloses a similar retention system comprising a body (10) and tether (16) with a loop (18) and a spring activated clamp, a snap a buckle a hook and loop attachment or a c-ring(see fig. 2 – pp0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a tether and releasable coupler as taught by Paterson in the retention system of Pain by attaching the tether and releasable coupler of Paterson to the body of Pain to allow the retention system to be attached to other items (instead of only by screws to a wall as taught by Pain).
Regarding claim 10, Pain discloses a retention system for releasably holding a first item within proximity to a second item, the system comprising: a body (10) formed of an elastomeric material(rubber); wherein the body is formed with an inboard cutout (13,17,18,19,14,15,16) for receiving the first item, which is to be retained; wherein the cutout elastically stretches to receive the first item and thereafter holds the first item at least in part with compression (description pg1, right col. line 40 through pg2, left col. line10), but does not disclose the tether and releasable coupler. Paterson discloses a similar retention system with a body (10) and a tether (16) having a first end (18) and a second end (adjacent 20); wherein the first end of the tether is coupled to the body; and a releasable coupler (20) that is coupled at a second end of the tether, wherein the releasable coupler is for coupling to the second item. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a tether and releasable coupler as taught by Paterson in the retention system of Pain by attaching the tether and releasable coupler of Paterson to the body of Pain to allow the retention system to be attached to other items (instead of only by screws to a wall as taught by Pain).
Regarding claim 12, Pain, as modified by Paterson, discloses the retention system of claim 10, wherein the cutout includes a plurality of flaps (between 19,17; 17,18 and 18/19 respectively) and a plurality of channels (17/14; 18/15; 19/16), each of the plurality of channels formed between adjacent flaps, wherein the plurality of channels have a base region (14,15,16) that is wider than its inlet(17,18,19 adjacent hole 13). (See Pain fig. 1)
Regarding claim 16, Pain, as modified by Paterson, discloses the retention system comprising a first tab(20), the first tab having a hole(22) formed therein for coupling to the first end of the tether(Paterson -18); and a second tab (21) extending outward from the body in an opposite direction from the first tab.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain (US 2,339,187) in view of Rou (US 7,392,548).
Pain discloses the retention system of claim 1, but does not disclose the material of the body being silicone. Rou discloses a similar retention system wherein the body may be formed of silicone (col. 2, lines 19-23; col. 3, lines 26-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the rubber body of the retention system of Pain out of silicone as taught by Rou as mere substation of one material for another known in the art.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain (US 2,339,187) in view of Rifken (US 2,457,274) .
Pain discloses the retention system of claim 1, but does not disclose the boy having a thickness of less than 5 mms. Rifken discloses a similar retention system with a rubber body (1) having a thickness of 1/16 to 1/8 inch (col. 3 lines 9-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the retention system body of Pain having a thickness of less than 5 mms as taught by Rifken as mere change in size/proportion known in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).[AltContent: rect]
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain in view of Paterson as applied to claim10 above, and further in view of Rou and Rifken.
Pain, as modifed by Paterson, discloses the retention system of claim 10, but does not disclose that the elastomeric material is silicone and the body is between 3-5 mms. Rou discloses a similar retention body that is made of silicone (col. 2, lines 19-23; col. 3, lines 26-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the rubber body of the retention system of Pain out of silicone as taught by Rou as mere substation of one material for another known in the art. Rifken discloses a similar retention system with a rubber body (1) having a thickness of 1/16 to 1/8 inch (col. 3 lines 9-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the retention system body of Pain having a thickness of less than 5 mms as taught by Rifken as mere change in size/proportion known in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).[AltContent: rect]
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson in view of Fernandez (US 10,993,885).
Regarding claim 17 and 20, Paterson discloses an assembly for holding a first item proximate to a second item, the assembly comprising: a tether (16) having a first end and a second end; wherein the tether has a longitudinal length greater than 7.5 centimeters (pp0023); a body formed from elastomeric material (pp0022); wherein the body has a width about 4.5 centimeters; wherein the first end of the tether is coupled to the body; a fastening device (20) coupled to the second end of the tether and operable to releasably couple to objects; and wherein the body comprises an elastomer having an inboard opening that stretches to receive the first item and hold the first item in compression(pp0022). Paterson does not disclose the body having a width greater than 5 centimeters. Fernandez discloses a similar assembly comprising a tether(102) and body (110) wherein the body has a diameter of 50 millimeters and can stretch to 100 millimeters and contract back to 50 millimeters. (see col. 4, lines 4-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the body of Paterson as taught by Fernandez to have a diameter of 5cm that is able to stretch to twice this 10cm to allow for a wide variety of objects to be held therein. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).[AltContent: rect]
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson in view of Fernandez as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Arnold (US 5,573,152).
Paterson, as modified above, discloses the assembly of claim 17, but does not disclose that the inboard opening comprises a cutout, the cutout forming a plurality of flaps. Arnold discloses a similar bottle carrying assembly with a cutout forming a plurality of flaps which allow for flexibility to firmly grip the bottle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the body of Paterson with a cutout having a plurality of flaps as taught by Arnold to ensure that the bottle is firmly gripped.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734