DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2 – 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4, 7, 10 – 14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,261,640 (hereinafter D’Andrea ’640).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Re claim 2,
Claim 2 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of D’Andrea ’640
A method comprising: receiving, from at least one receiver antenna of a receiving device, a radio signal; deriving a channel impulse response of a propagation channel of the received radio signal or an envelope function indicative of an envelope of the channel impulse response; deriving state information of the receiving device; and deriving, by inputting the channel impulse response or the envelope function into an angle estimator, an angle information probability distribution for the radio signal, wherein the state information is also input into the angle estimator to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution.
A method for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal, the method comprising: receiving, by means of at least one receiver antenna of a receiving device, said ultra-wideband radio signal, deriving a channel impulse response of a propagation channel of said received ultra-wideband radio signal or an envelope function indicative of an envelope of said channel impulse response, acquiring, by means of a sensor, sensor information indicative of a state of said receiving device, and deriving, by inputting said channel impulse response or said envelope function into a neural network, an angle information probability distribution for said ultra-wideband radio signal, wherein the sensor information indicative of the state of the receiving device is also input into the neural network to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claim 1 of D’Andrea ’640 by eliminating the italicized portion of limitation of claim 1.
Furthermore, because omission element(s) in the claim would make the claim in the instant application broader, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the claim in the instant application is merely an obvious variation of the claim in the parent application. It is well settled that omission of an element and it function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1969). In light of the foregoing discussion, the broad claim of the instant application is rejected as obvious double patenting over the narrower copending claim.
Claims 3 – 11 of the instant application is identical/similar with claims 1 – 4, 7 and 10 – 11 of D’Andrea ’640.
Re claim 3,
Claim 3 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein the angle estimator comprises a neural network.
A method for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal, the method comprising:… and deriving, by inputting said channel impulse response or said envelope function into a neural network….
Re claim 4,
Claim 4 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein the state information is derived using sensor information received from a sensor.
A method for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal, the method comprising:…acquiring, by means of a sensor, sensor information indicative of a state of said receiving device, and….
Re claim 5,
Claim 5 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein the radio signal comprises an ultra-wideband radio signal.
A method for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal, the method comprising:…
Re claim 6,
Claim 6 of Instant Application
Claim 2 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, further comprising deriving a path location within the channel impulse response or the envelope function, wherein deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path location.
The method of claim 1, further comprising: deriving a first path location within said derived channel impulse response or said envelope function, wherein said first path location is used for deriving said angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 7,
Claim 7 of Instant Application
Claim 3 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, further comprising deriving a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function, wherein deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path window.
The method of claim 2 wherein: said deriving said first path location further comprises selecting a first path window of said channel impulse response or said envelope function around said first path location; and said selected first path window is used for deriving said angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 8,
Claim 8 of Instant Application
Claim 4 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein the at least one receiver antenna has an angle- dependent transfer function.
The method of claim 1 wherein said receiver antenna has an angle-dependent transfer function.
Re claim 9,
Claim 9 of Instant Application
Claim 7 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, further comprising: deriving timing information from the radio signal; deriving, using the timing information, a time-of-flight estimate of the received radio signal; and inputting the time-of-flight estimate into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution.
The method of claim 6 further comprising: deriving timing information from said received ultra-wideband radio signal, deriving, using said timing information, a time-of-flight estimate of said received ultra-wideband radio signal, and feeding said time-of-flight estimate into said neural network and using said time-of-flight estimate for deriving said angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 10,
Claim 10 of Instant Application
Claim 10 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein the radio signal comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal, the method further comprising: inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution.
The method of claim 5 wherein said ultra-wideband radio signal comprises data indicative of the transfer function of the transmitter antenna of the transmitting device, and wherein said data indicative of said transfer function is used for deriving said angle information probability distribution for said ultra-wideband radio signal.
Re claim 11,
Claim 11 of Instant Application
Claim 11 of D’Andrea ’640
The method of claim 2, wherein: the radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the receiving device; and the method comprises: measuring a phase difference of the radio signal as received by the at least two antennas; and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution.
The method of claim 1 wherein said ultra-wideband radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the receiving device, and wherein the method further comprises: measuring a phase difference of the ultra-wideband radio signal as received by the at least two antennas, and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 12,
Claim 12 of Instant Application
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640
An apparatus comprising: a transceiver with at least one receiver antenna structured for receiving a radio signal; a control unit structured for: deriving a channel impulse response of a propagation channel of the received radio signal or an envelope function indicative of an envelope of the channel impulse response; deriving state information of the apparatus; and deriving, by inputting the channel impulse response or the envelope function into an angle estimator, an angle information probability distribution for the radio signal, wherein the state information is also input into the angle estimator to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution.
An angle estimator for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal by means of the method of claim 1, the angle estimator comprising: a transceiver with the at least one receiver antenna structured for receiving said ultra-wideband radio signal, at least one sensor structured for providing the sensor information indicative of the state of the angle estimator, a control unit structured for said deriving the channel impulse response of the propagation channel of said received ultra-wideband radio signal or the envelope function indicative of the envelope of said channel impulse response, and said deriving, by inputting said channel impulse response or said envelope function into a neural network, the angle information probability distribution for said ultra-wideband radio signal, and wherein the sensor information indicative of the state of the receiving device is also input into the neural network to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 12 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1 and 12 of D’Andrea ’640 by eliminating the italicized portion of limitation of claim 12.
Furthermore, because omission element(s) in the claim would make the claim in the instant application broader, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the claim in the instant application is merely an obvious variation of the claim in the copending application. It is well settled that omission of an element and it function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1969). In light of the foregoing discussion, the broad claim of the instant application is rejected as obvious double patenting over the narrower copending claim.
Claims 13 – 18 and 20 of the instant application is identical/similar with claims 12 – 14 and 16 of D’Andrea ’640.
Re claim 13,
Claim 13 of Instant Application
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the angle estimator comprises a neural network.
An angle estimator for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal by means of the method of claim 1, the angle estimator comprising:…by inputting said channel impulse response or said envelope function into a neural network.….
Re claim 14,
Claim 14 of Instant Application
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a sensor structured to provide sensor information, wherein the state information is derived using the sensor information.
An angle estimator for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal by means of the method of claim 1, the angle estimator comprising:…at least one sensor structured for providing the sensor information indicative of the state of the angle estimator,….
Re claim 15,
Claim 15 of Instant Application
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the radio signal comprises an ultra-wideband radio signal.
An angle estimator for estimating angle information of an ultra-wideband radio signal by means of the method of claim 1, the angle estimator comprising:…
Re claim 16,
Claim 16 of Instant Application
Claim 13 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the control unit is further structured to derive a path location within the channel impulse response or the envelope function; and deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path location.
The angle estimator of claim 12 wherein: said control unit is further structured for: deriving a first path location within said derived channel impulse response, and selecting a first path window of said channel impulse response or said envelope function around said first path location, and said selected first path window is used for deriving said angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 17,
Claim 17 of Instant Application
Claim 13 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the control unit is further structured to derive a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function; and deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path window.
The angle estimator of claim 12 wherein: said control unit is further structured for: deriving a first path location within said derived channel impulse response, and selecting a first path window of said channel impulse response or said envelope function around said first path location, and said selected first path window is used for deriving said angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 18,
Claim 18 of Instant Application
Claim 14 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one receiver antenna has an angle- dependent transfer function.
The angle estimator of claim 12, wherein said receiver antenna has an angle-dependent transfer function.
Re claim 20,
Claim 20 of Instant Application
Claim 16 of D’Andrea ’640
The apparatus of claim 12, wherein:the radio signal comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal; andthe control unit further structured for inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution.
The angle estimator of claim 12 wherein said ultra-wideband radio signal comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of said ultra-wideband radio signal, and wherein said control unit is structured for using said data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function for deriving said angle information probability distribution for said ultra-wideband radio signal.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,261,640 (hereinafter D’Andrea ’640) in view of Wang et al (“High-Accuracy Localization Using Single-Anchor Ultra-Wide Bandwidth Systems”, 2019 IEEE/CIC International Conference on Communications in China (ICCC), August 12, 2019).
Re claim 19,
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640 recites all the limitations of claim 12 except of wherein the control unit is further structured for: deriving timing information from the radio signal; deriving, using the timing information, a time-of-flight estimate of the received radio signal; and inputting the time-of-flight estimate into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution.
Wang teaches of deriving timing information from said received radio signal (signal propagation time, τk, Page 60), deriving, using the timing information a time-of-flight estimate of said received radio signal (propagation time, ik, Page 60), and inputting the time-of-flight estimate into the angle estimator for deriving said angle information probability distribution (Pages 60 – 61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have derived, using the timing information, a time-of-flight estimate of the received radio signal used for efficiently deriving the angle information probability distribution.
Re claim 21,
Claim 12 of D’Andrea ’640 recites all the limitations of claim 12 except of wherein: the radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the apparatus; and the control unit is further configured for: measuring a phase difference of the radio signal as received by the at least two antennas; and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution.
Wang teaches of wherein: the radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the apparatus (antenna array, Fig.2); and the control unit is further configured for: measuring a phase difference of the radio signal as received by the at least two antennas (phase difference, Page 61, equation 16); and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution (PDOA, Page 59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined a measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution for an efficient PDOA based angle measurement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 4 – 6, 8 – 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (“High-Accuracy Localization Using Single-Anchor Ultra-Wide Bandwidth Systems”, 2019 IEEE/CIC International Conference on Communications in China (ICCC), August 12, 2019).
Re claim 2, Wang teaches of a method comprising: receiving, from at least one receiver antenna of a receiving device, a radio signal (receiving an UWB signal from an antenna array, Fig.1, Pages 59 – 60); deriving a channel impulse response of a propagation channel of the received radio signal or an envelope function indicative of an envelope of the channel impulse response (CIR, Fig.1, equation 1, and Localization Algorithm, Page 61); deriving state information of the receiving device (motion states, Col 1, Page 61 and equations 5 – 7, Page 6); and deriving, by inputting the channel impulse response or the envelope function into an angle estimator, an angle information probability distribution for the radio signal, wherein the state information is also input into the angle estimator to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution (we analyze the CIR to obtain propagation time estimates and phase information. Combining the observation and motion states, a Bayesian filter algorithm with
Maximum posterior probability is designed to estimate the azimuth and elevation angle, Col 1, Page 61).
Re claim 4, Wang teaches of wherein the state information is derived using sensor information received from a sensor (sensor network, Col 1, Page 59 and Page 60).
Re claim 5, Wang teaches of wherein the radio signal comprises an ultra-wideband radio signal (UWB, Pages 59 – 60).
Re claim 6, Wang teaches of further comprising deriving a path location within the channel impulse response or the envelope function, wherein deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path location (A. Received Signal Analysis, Page 61).
Re claim 8, Wang teaches of wherein the at least one receiver antenna has an angle-dependent transfer function (antenna array, Fig.1 and Col 1, Page 60).
Re claim 9, Wang teaches of deriving timing information from said received radio signal (signal propagation time, τk, Page 60), deriving, using the timing information a time-of-flight estimate of said received radio signal (propagation time, ik, Page 60), and inputting the time-of-flight estimate into the angle estimator for deriving said angle information probability distribution (Pages 60 – 61).
Re claim 11, Wang teaches of wherein: the radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the receiving device (antenna array, Fig.2); and the method comprises: measuring a phase difference of the radio signal as received by the at least two antennas (phase difference, Page 61, equation 16); and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution (PDOA, Page 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Bregar et al (“Improving Indoor Localization Using Convolutional Neural Networks on Computationally Restricted Devices”, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia, 21 March 2018, IEEE).
Re claim 3, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 2 except of wherein the angle estimator comprises a neural network.
Bregar teaches of a step of feeding at least one of said channel impulse response (CIR, Page 17430), into a neural network (Fig.5) having an input layer for at least one of said channel impulse response (CIR, Page 17430 and Fig.5) and having an output layer (Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system be a neural network for its learning ability and fault tolerance.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of McLaughlin et al (US 2017/0272119).
Re claim 7, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 2 except of further comprising deriving a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function, wherein deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path window.
McLaughlin teaches of deriving a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function (Paragraphs 0019, 0040, 0043 and 0064, Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have derived a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function to accurately determining the first path location.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of McLaughlin et al (US 2020/0252101) (McLaughlin(2)).
Re claim 10, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 2 except of wherein the radio signal comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal, the method further comprising: inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information.
McLaughlin(2) teaches of a received radio signal that comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal (phase of departure, Abstract, Paragraphs 0006 and 0028), the method further comprising: inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution (AoD, Paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have data indicative of the transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information for more efficient localization.
Claims 12, 14 – 16, 18 – 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sasoglu et al (US 2020/0280952).
Re claim 12, Wang teaches of a method comprising: receiving, from at least one receiver antenna of a receiving device, a radio signal (receiving an UWB signal from an antenna array, Fig.1, Pages 59 – 60); deriving a channel impulse response of a propagation channel of the received radio signal or an envelope function indicative of an envelope of the channel impulse response (CIR, Fig.1, equation 1, and Localization Algorithm, Page 61); deriving state information of the receiving device (motion states, Col 1, Page 61 and equations 5 – 7, Page 6); and deriving, by inputting the channel impulse response or the envelope function into an angle estimator, an angle information probability distribution for the radio signal, wherein the state information is also input into the angle estimator to improve the accuracy of the angle information probability distribution (we analyze the CIR to obtain propagation time estimates and phase information. Combining the observation and motion states, a Bayesian filter algorithm with
Maximum posterior probability is designed to estimate the azimuth and elevation angle, Col 1, Page 61). However, Wang does not specifically teach of an angle estimator comprising: a transceiver and a control unit.
Sasoglu teaches of a receiver comprising: a transceiver and a control unit (Figures 3B – 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle estimator comprise a transceiver and a control unit so as to be able to perform the UWB communication.
Re claim 14, Wang teaches of further comprising a sensor structured to provide sensor information, wherein the state information is derived using the sensor information (sensor network, Col 1, Page 59 and Page 60).
Re claim 15, Wang teaches of wherein the radio signal comprises an ultra-wideband radio signal (UWB, Pages 59 – 60).
Re claim 16, Wang teaches of wherein: the control unit is further structured to derive a path location within the channel impulse response or the envelope function; and deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path location (A. Received Signal Analysis, Page 61).
Re claim 18, Wang teaches of wherein the at least one receiver antenna has an angle-dependent transfer function (antenna array, Fig.1 and Col 1, Page 60).
Re claim 19, Wang teaches of deriving timing information from said received radio signal (signal propagation time, τk, Page 60), deriving, using the timing information a time-of-flight estimate of said received radio signal (propagation time, ik, Page 60), and inputting the time-of-flight estimate into the angle estimator for deriving said angle information probability distribution (Pages 60 – 61).
Re claim 21, Wang teaches of wherein: the radio signal is received by at least two antennas of the apparatus (antenna array, Fig.2); and the control unit is further configured for: measuring a phase difference of the radio signal as received by the at least two antennas (phase difference, Page 61, equation 16); and combining the measured phase difference with the derived angle information probability distribution (PDOA, Page 59).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Sasoglu in view of Bregar.
Re claim 13, Wang and Sasoglu teach all the limitations of claim 12 except of wherein the angle estimator comprises a neural network.
Bregar teaches of a step of feeding at least one of said channel impulse response (CIR, Page 17430), into a neural network (Fig.5) having an input layer for at least one of said channel impulse response (CIR, Page 17430 and Fig.5) and having an output layer (Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system be a neural network for its learning ability and fault tolerance.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Sasoglu in view of McLaughlin.
Re claim 17, Wang and Sasoglu teach all the limitations of claim 12 except of wherein: the control unit is further structured to derive a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function; and deriving the angle information probability distribution is based on the path window.
McLaughlin teaches of deriving a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function (Paragraphs 0019, 0040, 0043 and 0064, Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have derived a path window of the channel impulse response or the envelope function to accurately determining the first path location.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang Sasoglu in view of McLaughlin(2).
Re claim 10, Wang and Sasoglu teach all the limitations of claim 12 except of wherein: the radio signal comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal; and the control unit further structured for inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution.
McLaughlin teaches of a received radio signal that comprises data indicative of a transmitter antenna transfer function of a transmitting device of the radio signal (phase of departure, Abstract, Paragraphs 0006 and 0028), the method further comprising: inputting the data indicative of said transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information probability distribution (AoD, Paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have data indicative of the transmitter antenna transfer function into the angle estimator for deriving the angle information for more efficient localization.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633