DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 20 recite that the additive has a “shelf-life” “at room temperature”. It is unclear from this recitation or applicant’s specification how “shelf-life” is to be determined. It is unclear what standard must be applied to evaluate “shelf-life”. Does “shelf-life” expire when the product has degraded? How much must the product degrade? The claim states “room temperature”, however, depending on the location of the room, the temperature will vary. As such, it is not clear how to determine whether an additive satisfies the limitations of claims 8 and 20. For the purpose of examination, art which reads on claims 1 or 13 respectively will be interpreted to read on claims 8 and 20. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites an edible product that meets “FDA standards for “no sugar added” designation according to 21 CFR 101.60(c)”. Given that FDA standards can change, it is not clear if the edible consumer product must meet the current standard or one that may be implemented in the future. For the purpose of examination, art which reads on claim 13 will be interpreted to read on claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathke USPGPub 20120189739.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 14 and 20, Rathke teaches a composition comprising invert sugar [0039], sucrose [0060], 0.1-7.5 wt% sorbitol [0061] and non-nutritive sweetener [0059]. Rathke teaches that invert sugar is sucrose which has been fully inverted to 50% glucose and 50% fructose. [0021]
Rathke states at [0060] “Any nutritive sweetener is suitable for use; as used herein, a "nutritive" sweetener is one which provides significant caloric content in typical usage amounts, i.e., more than about 1 calorie per serving (8 oz. for beverages). Suitable nutritive sweeteners include, but are not limited to, fructose, sucrose, dextrose, maltose, trehalose, rhamnose, corn syrups and fructo-oligosaccharides. One of ordinary skill in this art will readily appreciate that nutritive sweeteners may be combined in various ratios to form a nutritive sweetener blend suitable for use in the present invention. Precise ratios of nutritive sweeteners depend on the combination of sweeteners used in a given blend and the desired overall sweetness for a given application. Appropriate ratios can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in this art.
Rathke teaches “The amounts of natural sweetener and invert (full or medium) used in the production of the reduced calorie base syrup product produced by the methods described herein will vary depending upon the target product, and the calorie reduction target of that product. In example, the product can have a 33% caloric reduction, a 35% caloric reduction, a 42.5% caloric reduction, a 50% caloric reduction, and a 75% caloric reduction, and caloric reductions within the range of from about 30% caloric reduction to about 80% caloric reduction, inclusive and without limitation, e.g., a caloric reduction of about 45% or 62%.” [0050]
Given these teachings, it is clear Rathke teaches a composition comprising fructose, glucose, sorbitol and sucrose and that the proportions of each of these components can be varied by those of ordinary skill in the art depending on the combination of sweeteners used in a given blend and the desired overall sweetness for a given application. As such, the proportions of individual sweeteners recited in claims 1 and 13 are merely an obvious variant of the prior art. Each of the sweeteners in the embodiment of Rathke comprising fructose, glucose, sorbitol and sucrose has a caloric density of less than 5 Cal/g and therefore in addition to the presence of non-nutritive sweetener, the composition of Rathke necessarily has a caloric density as recited in claim 1.
Rathke teaches powdered soft drinks. [0041] As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide the sweeteners or sweetened beverage compositions in solid powdered form as recited in claims 2, 7 and 13. As such, Rathke renders obvious claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 14 and 20.
Regarding claims 3-6, 15, 17 and 18, Rathke teaches the composition may further comprise apple juice which is obtained from the flesh of an apple. [0065]
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Rathke teaches a composition comprising water that is a liquid wherein the components are dissolved.[0039]
Regarding claim 10, Rathke teaches the same components as claimed and therefore must satisfy the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, Rathke teaches the compositions of the invention are clear. (Table 2)
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 23, Rathke teaches additional low glycemic sweeteners such as stevia[0051], aspartame [0074], erythritol [0061], monk fruit [0054] and other natural or artificial sweeteners.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 31-34 and 46 of copending Application No. 18617463 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application encompass the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 31-34 and 46 of copending Application No. 18820133 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application encompass the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793