DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/24/2025.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Wang US 2026/0081448.
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) an apparatus comprising: a direct current to direct current bus (at 146 and 120); a low voltage battery bus (at 147 and 131); an isolator switch (141) connected with the DCDC bus; a bidirectional switch (142) connected with the low voltage battery bus; and a common bus (at 1410) connected to the isolator switch and the bidirectional switch. (For Example: Par. 101-114)
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) wherein the isolator switch opens (141) when a fault occurs on the DCDC bus (par. 98, 114 and 117-118).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10), wherein the fault is associated with an undervoltage condition or an overcurrent condition on the DCDC bus (par. 98, 114 and 117-118).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10)wherein the bidirectional switch (142) opens when a fault occurs on the low voltage battery bus (par. 98, 114 and 117-118).
Regarding Claims 5 and 17, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10)wherein the fault is associated with an undervoltage condition or an overcurrent condition on the low voltage battery bus (par. 98, 114 and 117-118).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) further comprising one or more vehicle loads (17-18), wherein the one or more vehicle loads receive power from the common bus (at 1410). (For Example: Par. 101-114)
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) wherein the one or more vehicle loads are based on one or more vehicle components. (For Example: Par. 93-98)
Regarding Claims 8 and 13, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) wherein the one or more vehicle components comprise a door latch, a frunk latch, a front radar, a front headlamp, a display, or a hazard lamp. (For Example: Par. 3, 93-94 and 97)
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10)wherein the one or more vehicle components comprise an electric motor (par. 93, if the system is for an EV then said vehicle will have an electric motor).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3, 7 and 9-10) wherein the apparatus comprises an electronic control unit (Fig. 7, 145).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) a method comprising: receiving an indication of a fault (Fault indication) on a direct current to direct current (on 120 and 146) bus associated with an electronic control unit (145, par. 98, 114, 117-118 and 141); based on the indication of the fault on the DCDC bus, opening an isolator switch (141) connected between the DCDC bus and a common bus (at 1410) in response to the fault (par. 98, 114 and 117-118); and transmitting power from a low voltage battery bus (at 147 and 131) through the common bus to one or more loads (at 17-18). (For Example: Par. 101-114)
Regarding Claims 14 and 19, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) further comprising monitoring voltage and current conditions (with 145) on the DCDC bus (at 147) and the low voltage battery bus (131). (For Example: par. 98, 114, 117-118 and 141)
Regarding Claims 15 and 20, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) wherein the electronic control unit (with 145) is located in an electric vehicle. (For Example: Par. 101-114 and 141)
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches (Figures 1-3 and 9-10) a method comprising: receiving an indication of a fault (fault indication) on a low voltage battery bus (at 147) associated with an electronic control unit (with 145); based on the indication of the fault on the low voltage battery bus, opening a bidirectional switch (142) connected between the low voltage battery bus and a common bus in response to the fault (par. 98, 114 and 117-118); and transmitting power from a direct current to direct current (at 120 and 146) bus through the common bus (at 1410) to one or more loads (17-10). (For Example: par. 98, 114 and 117-118)
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838