DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santa Cruz, US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0291852 (hereinafter referred to as Santa Cruz).
Regarding claims 1, 3-10 and 12, Santa Cruz discloses reinforcing filaments or fibers, such as aromatic polyamide (aramid) fibers (as recited in claim 1) (see Abstract) which can be reliably measured and consistently mixed into asphalt cement concrete by:
soaking the fibers in a wetting agent, such as, water, alcohol, or treated with a surfactant to create an emulsion (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 5-7) (see Abstract and Para. [0004] and [0037]-[0039]),
the treated (soaked) fiber stock may be re-spooled (wringing excess liquid as recited in claim 1 and round bar with a predetermined tension as recited in claim 3) (Para. [0023] and see Figure 2),
then severing them to a desired length, such as, 8 to 100 mm (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 8-10) (see Abstract and Para. [0024]),
wherein the stock should be kept in an airtight container to prevent the wetting agent from evaporating (as recited in claim 1) (Para. [0023]) wherein the number of individual filaments in each segment depends on the number of individual filaments in the original yarn, and (optionally) the number of treated yarns combined together into a treated fiber rope. Each segment may have, for example, 250-15,000 filament segments (as recited in claim 4) (Para. [0027]).
Santa Cruz does not explicitly disclose the ratio of fiber to liquid in the continuous aramid fiber bundle being 3:1 as recited in claim 3.
Santa Cruz does, however, disclose in paragraph 0041 that the invention produce significant asphalt performance increases with fairly small quantities (by weight or percentage) of reinforcing fibers. For example, adding one kilo of aramid fibers per metric ton of asphalt mix is an 0.1% ratio. Also, that the wetting agent may double or triple the weight of the bare fibers, so an actual mixture may introduce 2-3 kg of the inventive soaked reinforcing fiber per ton of asphalt (overlaps and encompasses the range recited in claim 1 and reads on claim 12). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would immediately envisage the recitations of claim 1 from the disclosure of Santa Cruz with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Sant Cruz further discloses that aramid fibers are strong, tough and limber, and difficult to cut. The wetting process provides benefits in that respect as well: soaking the fibers in water or a similar liquid stiffens them and makes them easier to chop cleanly into segments of well-controlled length. Thus, dosing systems (a system comprising an orifice as recited in claim 2) that cut segments from a bulk length of soaked fiber just before introduction into the mix may also be used in some manufacturing processes (Para. [0031]).
Regarding claims 11 and 13-20, see discussion above.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
6. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending U.S. Patent No. 11,767,625. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '625 patent discloses the same limitations as the instant claims and therefore would be obvious in light of the disclosure to Santa Cruz discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. These are the same reaction components recited in the instant claims. In re Vogel, 422 F. 2d 438, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970).
Double Patenting II
7. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending U.S. Patent No. 12,270,138. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '138 patent discloses the same limitations as the instant claims and therefore would be obvious in light of the disclosure to Santa Cruz discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. These are the same reaction components recited in the instant claims. In re Vogel, 422 F. 2d 438, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lang et al., US Patent Application No. 2016/0244362 (hereinafter referred to as Lang) – Lang discloses reinforcing fibers, such as aromatic polyamide ("aramid") fibers, are treated by coating with or embedding in a binder such as a Fischer-Tropsch wax. The treated fibers are divided into suitably-sized units, which are added to bitumen, aggregate and other ingredients in an asphalt cement concrete mix. The units shed fibers into the mix during the manufacturing process so that the fibers are distributed fairly evenly throughout the asphalt mixture. The binder may also impart beneficial qualities to the finished asphalt concrete.
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771