DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The limitation from claim 5, “wherein the pedicle screw comprises at least two additional fenestrations positioned along the cylindrical body”, is not presented in any of the figures of 3/24/2025. Furthermore, the Specification does not appear to provide support for this limitation in combination with other required elements of claim 5 (i.e., “an internal divider fluidly separating a first chamber comprising the first fenestration and a second chamber comprising the second fenestration, wherein the internal divider is configured to ensure bone cement introduced into the first chamber only exits out of the first fenestration and bone cement introduced into the second chamber only exits out of the second fenestration”). This must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites “wherein the pedicle screw comprises at least two additional fenestrations positioned along the cylindrical body”. Support for the embodiment of claim 1 (from which claim 5 is dependent from) is found in paragraph 73 of the Specification figure 14 of the Drawings. A careful review of these sections only appears to only show support for “first” and “second” fenestrations 1408 and 1409. The embodiment described in figure 13 shows additional fenestrations but this figure and accompanying text (paragraphs 69-72) do not provide support for the other required limitations of claim 5 (e.g., “an internal divider fluidly separating a first chamber comprising the first fenestration and a second chamber comprising the second fenestration, wherein the internal divider is configured to ensure bone cement introduced into the first chamber only exits out of the first fenestration and bone cement introduced into the second chamber only exits out of the second fenestration”). Note that the embodiment of figure 15 is similar to that of figure 13 in that, while providing support for more fenestrations, this embodiment also does not contain the internal divider and chambers as required in claim 5. As best understood, claim 5 appears to be a mixed combination of the embodiments depicted in figures 13 and 14 without any corresponding text within the Specification to support this combination.
EXAMINER’S COMMENT
There does not appear to be any overlapping subject matter requiring a Double Patenting rejection with regard to US Patents 11839414 and 12059181 or Application 18/756733 at this time.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 13-15, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12274477 in view of Poulos (US 9326801).
With respect to claim 1, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches a pedicle screw for use in a spine stabilization procedure (see claims 18-24), the pedicle screw comprising: a threaded portion positioned along at least a part of the cylindrical body (see para. 18-24, note that a screw contains threads); a first fenestration positioned along the cylindrical body (see claims 18-24); a second fenestration positioned along the cylindrical body (see claims 18-24); and an internal divider fluidly separating a first chamber comprising the first fenestration and a second chamber comprising the second fenestration (see claims 18-24), wherein the internal divider is configured to ensure bone cement introduced into the first chamber only exits out of the first fenestration and bone cement introduced into the second chamber only exits out of the second fenestration (see claims 18-24).
As for claim 2, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the internal divider includes an internal cannulation that is configured to receive a wire passing through the pedicle screw (see claim 19).
As for claim 3, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the pedicle screw of claim 2, wherein internal cannulation is fluidly separated from the first chamber and the second chamber (see claim 19).
As for claim 13, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the kit for performing a spine stabilization procedure (see claims 19-20), the kit comprising: a balloon-tipped cannula having an expandable balloon enclosed by an expandable metal mesh (see claims 19-20), the balloon-tipped cannula configured to pass through a working sleeve and to expand the expandable balloon and expandable metal mesh within a surgical site (see claims 19-20); and a pedicle screw as in claim 1 to be inserted into the surgical site (see claims 19-20); and an injection system (claims 19-20) configured to supply bone cement to the surgical site through of at least one fenestration or cannulation of the pedicle screw when the pedicle screw is positioned within the injection site (claims 19-20).
As for claim 14, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the kit of claim 13 further comprising: an injection system configured to supply bone cement to the surgical site through at least one of the first fenestration and the second fenestration of the pedicle screw when the pedicle screw is positioned within the injection site (see claims 19-20).
As for claim 15, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the kit of claim 13, wherein the injection system comprises a bone cement cannula configured to be inserted through a cannulated screwdriver (see claim 20).
As for claim 18, Hyman (US Patent 12274477) teaches the kit of claim 13 further comprising an inflation device configured to apply an expansion pressure to the balloon-tipped cannula (see claims 19-20).
Hyman does not appear to teach the pedicle screw comprising a cylindrical body and a drill coupling member positioned at a first end of the cylindrical body (claim 1); wherein the pedicle screw is threaded along the entire length of the cylindrical body (claim 6); wherein the drill coupling comprises a hexalobular socket (claim 7); a source of bone cement (claim 17).
Poulos, also drawn to fillable pedicle screws, teaches pedicle screw (1) comprising a cylindrical body (see fig. 4 below) and a drill coupling member (17) positioned at a first end of the cylindrical body (see fig. 4 below); wherein the pedicle screw is threaded along the entire length of the cylindrical body (see fig. 2); wherein the drill coupling comprises a hexalobular socket (see fig. 4 below); and a source of bone cement (see fig. 25-26) in order to provide a known pedicle screw body configuration that will allow easy and stable receipt of a driving tool and bone cement (see col. 7 lines 54-63 and abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hyman with the pedicle screw comprising a cylindrical body and a drill coupling member positioned at a first end of the cylindrical body, and a source of bone cement, in view of Poulos, in order to provide a known pedicle screw body configuration that will allow easy and stable receipt of a driving tool and bone cement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sawa (US 20100106199).
With respect to claim 1, Sawa discloses a pedicle screw (11) for use in a spine stabilization procedure (see para. 4 and interpretations in annotated fig. 1 and 1A below), the pedicle screw comprising: a cylindrical body (see fig. 1 and 1A below); a threaded portion positioned along at least a part of the cylindrical body (see fig. 1 and 1A below); a drill coupling member (33) positioned at a first end of the cylindrical body (see para. 18 and also fig. 1 and 1A below); a first fenestration (e.g., 14 or 16) positioned along the cylindrical body (see fig. 1 and fig. 1A below); a second fenestration (e.g., 16 or 16, see fig. 1 and 1A below) positioned along the cylindrical body; and an internal divider (e.g., space in head between 18 and 12 or 12, see fig. 1 and 1A below) fluidly separating a first chamber (e.g., 12 or 18, see fig. 1 and 1A below) comprising the first fenestration and a second chamber (e.g., 18 or 18, see fig. 1 and 1A below) comprising the second fenestration, wherein the internal divider is configured to ensure bone cement introduced into the first chamber only exits out of the first fenestration (see fig. 1 and 1A below) and bone cement introduced into the second chamber only exits out of the second fenestration (see fig. 1 and 1A below and note that this device is capable of performing this function if one so desires).
As for claim 2, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the internal divider includes an internal cannulation that is configured to receive a wire passing through the pedicle screw (see para. 20).
As for claim 3, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 2, wherein internal cannulation is fluidly separated from the first chamber and the second chamber (see fig. 1A above).
As for claim 4, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the first fenestration and the second fenestration are positioned at a same axial position on opposite sides of the cylindrical body (see fig. 1A above).
As for claim 5, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the pedicle screw comprises at least two additional fenestrations (e.g., 14 or 16, respectively) positioned along the cylindrical body (see fig. 1 and 1A above).
As for claim 6, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the pedicle screw is threaded along the entire length of the cylindrical body (see fig. 1 and 1A above).
As for claim 7, Sawa further discloses the pedicle screw of claim 1, wherein the drill coupling comprises a hexalobular socket (see para. 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasso (US 20040225292) in view of Teisen (US 20090125028).
With respect to claim 8, Sasso teaches a pedicle screw (10) for use in a spine stabilization procedure (see fig. 5 below), the pedicle screw comprising: a cylindrical body (see fig. 5 below); a threaded portion positioned along at least a part of the cylindrical body (see fig. 5 below); a drill coupling member (44) positioned at a first end of the cylindrical body; a first fenestration (e.g., any of 32) positioned along the cylindrical body (see fig. 5 below, also note para. 25 which states that fenestration openings 32 may be disposed along the entire length of the bone engaging portion 12).
While Saaso teaches the use of bone cement (88) through the fenestrations (32) for the creation of a cement bone anchor (mantle M) about the threaded shank (20) to enhance engagement of the screw to the vertebra (see para. 46 and also fig. 5 above), Sasso does not teach an expandable balloon attached to the cylindrical body and covering the first fenestration, wherein the expandable balloon is configured to expand when bone cement exits the first fenestration.
Teisen, also drawn to pedicle screws anchored with bone cement (see abstract), teaches a hybrid implant incorporating a balloon to any location on the screw (see fig. 1a, 1b, 7a, 7b), specifically, an expandable balloon (e.g., 40) attached to the cylindrical body (see fig. 1b), wherein the expandable balloon is configured to expand when bone cement is inserted therethrough (see para. 30) in order to provide the same function of using bone cement for better anchoring/ fixation of the screw to bone, while providing the additional benefit of increased targeted anchoring with use of the combination of the bone cement and balloon to contain and direct this anchoring (see para. 3 and 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sasso to include an expandable balloon attached to the cylindrical body and covering the first fenestration, wherein the expandable balloon is configured to expand when bone cement exits the first fenestration, in view of Teisen, in order to provide the same function of using bone cement for better anchoring/ fixation of the screw to bone, while providing the additional benefit of increased targeted anchoring with use of the combination of the bone cement and balloon to contain and direct this anchoring.
As for claim 11, Sasso, as modified by Teisen, further teaches the pedicle screw of claim 8, wherein the pedicle screw comprises at least one additional fenestration positioned along the cylindrical body (see fig. 5 above).
As for claim 12, Sasso, as modified by Teisen, further teaches the pedicle screw of claim 8, wherein the drill coupling comprises a hexalobular socket (see para. 28).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasso (US 20040225292) and Teisen (US 20090125028), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Spedden (US 20100125240).
As for claim 9, Sasso, as modified by Teisen, does teach the use of a variety of balloon materials (see para. 40 of Teisen), including polymers, but does not appear to teach wherein the expandable balloon is dissolvable.
Spedden, also drawn to balloons (i.e., plugs) used with bone screws (see para. 131) teaches a variety balloon materials including material that is dissolvable (see para. 131) in order to provide a known polymer material that is not only biocompatible but also biodegradable in order to provide better integration of the implant to the bone as using a specific material to impart a certain functional result is a well-known practice in the art (see para. 131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sasso, as modified by Teisen, wherein the expandable balloon is dissolvable, in view of Spedden, as a matter of engineering design choice, in order to provide better integration of the implant to the bone as using a specific material to impart a certain functional result is a well-known practice in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasso (US 20040225292) and Teisen (US 20090125028), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Lovoi (US 20090209803).
As for claim 10, Sasso, as modified by Teisen, does not appear to teach the connector between the pedicle screw and balloon, specifically, wherein the expandable balloon is connected to the pedicle screw through one or more O-ring seals.
Lovoi, also drawn to surgical balloons (see abstract), teaches the use of one or more O-ring seals (see para. 32) between two elements in order to provide a conventional sealing mechanical connector that can be used for fluid control between the elements (see para. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sasso, as modified by Teisen, wherein the expandable balloon is connected to the pedicle screw through one or more O-ring seals, in view of Lovoi, in order to provide a conventional sealing mechanical connector that can be used for fluid control between the elements.
Claim(s) 13-15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawa (US 20100106199), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Teisen (US 20090125028).
As for claims 13-15, 17 and 18, Sawa further teaches a kit (see fig. 2) including a pedicle screw as in claim 1 to be inserted into the surgical site (see fig. 1 above); and an injection system (e.g., 19) configured to supply bone cement to the surgical site through of at least one fenestration or cannulation of the pedicle screw when the pedicle screw is positioned within the injection site (see fig. 2); an injection system (e.g., at 21) configured to supply bone cement to the surgical site through at least one of the first fenestration and the second fenestration of the pedicle screw when the pedicle screw is positioned within the injection site (see fig. 2, para. 16-17); wherein the injection system comprises a bone cement cannula (e.g., syringe) configured to be inserted through a cannulated screwdriver (see fig. 2, para. 16-17 and note that this device is capable of performing this function and that the cannulated screwdriver is not positively recited); further comprising a source of bone cement (e.g., at 21 and/or syringe, see para. 16-17).
Sawa does not teach the kit comprising: a balloon-tipped cannula having an expandable balloon enclosed by an expandable metal mesh, the balloon-tipped cannula configured to pass through a working sleeve and to expand the expandable balloon and expandable metal mesh within a surgical site; further comprising an inflation device configured to apply an expansion pressure to the balloon-tipped cannula.
Teisen, also drawn to pedicle screws anchored to bone using bone cement, teaches the use of a balloon-tipped cannula having an expandable balloon (see para. 36) enclosed by an expandable metal mesh (40) (see para. 30, 36), the balloon-tipped cannula configured to pass through a working sleeve and to expand the expandable balloon and expandable metal mesh within a surgical site (see para. 30, 36- note that this device is capable of performing this function if one so desires and the working channel is not positively recited); further comprising an inflation device configured to apply an expansion pressure to the balloon-tipped cannula (see para. 36) in order to provide a known expansion mechanism that will expand a desired cavity or compact the bone into which the screw is affixed (see para. 30, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sawa to include a balloon-tipped cannula having an expandable balloon enclosed by an expandable metal mesh, the balloon-tipped cannula configured to pass through a working sleeve and to expand the expandable balloon and expandable metal mesh within a surgical site; further comprising an inflation device configured to apply an expansion pressure to the balloon-tipped cannula, in view of Teisen, in order to provide a known expansion mechanism that will expand a desired cavity or compact the bone into which the screw is affixed.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawa (US 20100106199) and Teisen (US 20090125028), as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Sweeny (US 20050015060).
As for claim 16, Sawa, as modified by Teisen, does not appear to teach further comprising one or more additional pedicle screws, wherein each pedicle screw has a different axial length.
Sweeny, also drawn to kits for delivering fluids to bone through screws, teaches the kit comprising one or more additional similar elements (e.g., 2300, 2310) of different axial length (see para. 65) in order to provide adaptation for different sized configurations based one the procedure (see para. 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sawa, as modified by Teisen, with the kit further comprising one or more additional pedicle screws, wherein each pedicle screw has a different axial length, in view of Sweeny, as providing similar elements in a variety of sizes in order to provide adaptation for different sized configurations based one the procedure, is a well-known feature of kits in the art.
Conclusion
/TARA ROSE E CARTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773