DETAILED ACTION
Title Objection
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim(s) 1-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically:
2.1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the magnetosensitive surface” (line 16), and it is unclear to determine whether said limitation refers to which of the “magnetosensitive surfaces of the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements” (line 11-12) of claim-1. In addition, in order to apply prior art in the rejection below, the examiner interprets the aforesaid limitation as being referring to both magnetosensitive surfaces.
2.2. Furthermore, claims 2-12 are also rejected because they further limit and depend on claim 1.
2.3. Claim 2 recites the limitation “the magnetosensitive surface” (line 15), and it is unclear to determine whether said limitation refers to which of the “magnetosensitive surfaces of the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements” (line 11-12) of claim-1.
2.3. Claim 4 recites the limitation “the magnetosensitive surface” (line 15), and it is unclear to determine whether said limitation refers to which of the “magnetosensitive surfaces of the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements” (line 11-12) of claim-1.
Examiner’s Note
3. All the words in the language of the claims of which the specifications do not provide a definition in the form stated in the MPEP, the examiner has interpreted them by their plain meanings, pursuant to the MPEP 2111.01 “Plain Meaning” and MPEP 2173.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuhara (Pub. No.: US 2020/0158760 hereinafter mentioned “Fukuhara”).
As per claim 1, Fukuhara discloses:
A current sensor (See MPEP 2111.02, Effect of Preamble, and II. Preamble Statements Reciting Purpose or Intended Use) comprising:
a busbar through which a measurement current flows (Fig. 1, see the busbar 3. Also see [0029]); and
a magnetic sensor having at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the sensors 7 and 21. Also see [0049]-[0050]) which detect a magnetic field that is generated by a measurement current flowing through the busbar (see abstract),
wherein the busbar has
a first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and a second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]) which are arranged to face each other across the magnetic sensor (Fig. 1, see the sensors 7 and 21. Also see [0049]-[0050]), and extend in a first direction (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the Longitudinal-Direction. Also see [0027]), and
a linkage member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the base plate portion 9. Also see [0042]) which is arranged between the first conductive member and the second conductive member, and links the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) to the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]),
when viewed from sides of magnetosensitive surfaces (Fig. 2, see the surface portion of sensor 7 and the surface portion of sensor 21 located on the circuit substrate 8. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]) of the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements elements (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the sensors 7 and 21. Also see [0049]-[0050]), the magnetic sensor does not overlap the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]), the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]), and the linkage member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the base plate portion 9. Also see [0042]),
a direction that is a direction along a magnetosensitive surface of the magnetosensitive surfaces and that intersects the first direction (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the Longitudinal-Direction. Also see [0027]), is set as a second direction (Figs. 1 and 2B-2C, see any of the Height-Direction and/or Lateral-Direction. Also see [0027]), and
when viewed from the second direction (Figs. 1 and 2B-2C, see any of the Height-Direction and/or Lateral-Direction. Also see [0027]), the magnetosensitive surface (Fig. 2A, see the surface portion of sensor 7 and the surface portion of sensor 21 located on the circuit substrate 8. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]) does not overlap the first conductive member and the second conductive member, and is arranged between at least a part of the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and at least a part of the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]).
As per claim 3, Fukuhara discloses the current sensor according to claim 1 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
wherein when viewed from the second direction, the magnetic sensor does not overlap (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the sensors 7 and 21. Also see [0049]-[0050]) the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]).
As per claim 4, Fukuhara discloses the current sensor according to claim 1 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
wherein when viewed from the second direction, the magnetosensitive surface (Fig. 2A, see the surface portion of sensor 7 and the surface portion of sensor 21 located on the circuit substrate 8. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]) is arranged between the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 5-9 and 11-12 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuhara in view of Rock et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0258693 hereinafter mentioned as “Rock”).
As per claim 5, Fukuhara discloses the current sensor according to claim 1 with the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements as described above but does not explicitly disclose that they are elements of a vertical magnetic field detection type.
However, Rock further discloses:
wherein the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements are elements of a vertical magnetic field detection type (see [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature relative to the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements of Fukuhara being “elements of a vertical magnetic field detection type”, as it is disclosed by Rock, with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the system, methods and measurements by performing any other suitable type of sensing (Rock, Paragraph [0063]), and also improving sensor quality levels, failure rates, and overall functional safety according to its application (Rock, Paragraph [0001]).
Furthermore, Rock states that “it is submitted that the scope of the patent should not be limited to the described embodiments but rather should be limited only by the spirit and scope of the following claims” (Rock, Paragraph [0065]).
As per claim 6, Fukuhara discloses the current sensor according to claim 1 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
the current sensor according to claim 1 (Figs. 1 and 2A-2C, see the current detection device 1. Also see [0026]-[0050]); and
the magnetic sensor is arranged on the substrate (Fig. 2A, see the sensor 7 and sensor 21 located on the circuit substrate 8. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]).
Fukuhara does not explicitly disclose the electronic module which has an output terminal.
However, Rock further discloses:
the current sensor (Figs. 3, see the current sensor 320. Also see [0042]-[0048]);
an electronic module which has an output terminal (Figs. 3, see the sensor package 300 with its output-input-terminal/lead-frame 310 that includes lead-portions 312 and 316, which power and output signals from sensor 320. Also see [0044]); and
a substrate (Figs. 3D-3E, see the substrate 326. Also see [0042] and/or [0046]) which is arranged at a predetermined position on a first surface of the electronic module (Figs. 3D-3E, see the sensor package 300. Also see [0044]), wherein
the busbar is fixed to the output terminal (see [0044]), and
the magnetic sensor is arranged on the substrate (Figs. 3D-3E, see the magnetic field sensing elements 322 and 324 on the substrate 326. Also see [0042] and/or [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature relative to the “electronic module which has an output terminal”, as it is disclosed by Rock into Fukuhara, with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the system, methods and measurements by providing easier installation, fix, seal, protect the chip and enhance the electric thermal performance (https://www.dukepcb.com/electronic-chip-package/ and/or the attached PDF titled Electronic Chip Package and Package Common Sense), while performing any other suitable type of sensing (Rock, Paragraph [0063]), and also improving sensor quality levels, failure rates, and overall functional safety according to its application (Rock, Paragraph [0001]).
As per claim 7, the combination of Fukuhara and Rock discloses the electronic device according to claim 6 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
Wherein the substrate has a protrusion portion which protrudes from an edge portion, and the magnetic sensor is arranged on the protrusion portion (Fig. 2A, see the sensor 7 and sensor 21 located on the circuit substrate 8 with implicit protrusions to hold the sensors. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]).
As per claim 8, the combination of Fukuhara and Rock discloses the electronic device according to claim 7 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
wherein when viewed from sides of magnetosensitive surfaces of the at least two magnetoelectric conversion elements (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the sensors 7 and 21. Also see [0049]-[0050]), the protrusion portion does not overlap (Fig. 2A, see the circuit substrate 8 with an implicit protrusion to hold the sensors. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]) the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Fukuhara and Rock discloses the electronic device according to claim 7 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
wherein the protrusion portion (Fig. 2A, see the circuit substrate 8 with an implicit protrusion to hold the sensors. Also see [0033] and [0049]-[0050]) is arranged between the first conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the one side plate portion 11. Also see [0042]) and the second conductive member (Figs. 1 and 2A, see the other side plate portion 13. Also see [0042]).
As per claim 11, the combination of Fukuhara and Rock discloses the electronic device according to claim 7 as described above.
Rock, with the obvious motivation set forth above in claim-6, further discloses:
wherein the electronic module includes a plurality of output terminals, each of which is identical to the output terminal (Figs. 3, see the sensor package 300 with its output-input-terminal/lead-frame 310 that includes lead-portions 312 and 316 that form leads, which power and output signals from sensor 320. Also see [0044]),
the substrate has a plurality of protrusion portions, each of which is identical to the protrusion portion, and which protrude from the edge portion, and are arranged to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3D-3E, see the substrate 320 with implicit protrusions to hold the sensors 322 and 324. Also see [0042]-[0043]),
the current sensor includes a plurality of busbars, each of which is identical to the busbar (Fig. 1, see the system 100 plurality of bus bars 108. Also see [0034] and [0063]), and
a plurality of magnetic sensors, each of which is identical to the magnetic sensor, and the plurality of magnetic sensors are respectively arranged on the plurality of protrusion portions (Fig. 3D-3E, see the substrate 320 with implicit protrusions to hold the sensors 322 and 324. Also see [0042]-[0043]).
As per claim 12, the combination of Fukuhara and Rock discloses the electronic device according to claim 11 as described above.
Fukuhara further discloses:
wherein the electronic module is a power module (Fig. 1, see the power source 102 with the system 100. Also see [0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim(s) 2 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons why said claim(s) would be allowable:
8. Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein
the first conductive member has a first flow path portion and a second flow path portion which are spaced apart from each other, and extend in the first direction, and through which the measurement current flows, and a first linkage portion and a second linkage portion which are arranged to be spaced apart from each other, and respectively link the first flow path portion to the second flow path portion,
the second conductive member has a third flow path portion and a fourth flow path portion which are spaced apart from each other, and extend in the first direction, and through which the measurement current flows, and
a third linkage portion and a fourth linkage portion which are arranged to be spaced apart from each other, and link the third flow path portion to the fourth flow path portion, and
when viewed from the second direction, the magnetosensitive surface is arranged:
between the first flow path portion and the second flow path portion, between the first linkage
portion and the second linkage portion; and between the third flow path portion and the fourth
flow path portion, between the third linkage portion and the fourth linkage portion.
9. Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein the first conductive member has a first flow path portion and a second flow path portion which are spaced apart from each other, and extend in the first direction, and through which the measurement current flows, and a first linkage portion and a second linkage portion which are arranged to be spaced apart from each other, and link the first flow path portion to the second flow path portion,the second conductive member has a third flow path portion and a fourth flow path portion which are spaced apart from each other, and extend in the first direction, and through which the measurement current flows, and a third linkage portion and a fourth linkage portion which are arranged to be spaced apart from each other, and link the third flow path portion to the fourth flow path portion,the linkage member links the first linkage portion to the third linkage portion,the busbar further has a first terminal connection member which is linked to the first conductive member, and protrudes from the second linkage portion to a fourth linkage portion side, anda second terminal connection member which is linked to the second conductive member, and protrudes from the fourth linkage portion to a second linkage portion side,the first terminal connection member and the second terminal connection member are fixed to the output terminal, and when viewed from a second direction that is along the magnetosensitive surface and that intersects the first direction, the magnetosensitive surface is arranged: between the first flow path portion and the second flow path portion, between the first linkage portion and the second linkage portion; and between the third flow path portion and the fourth flow path portion, between the third linkage portion and the fourth linkage portion.
10. The prior art of record does not anticipate the limitations of the independent claims.
Furthermore, there is not any obvious motivation for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine some and/or all of the features of the prior art of record to achieve the features of the allowable subject matter. In addition, it will further require substantial structural modification of the components that will also require substantial modification of the measurements, and configurations to achieve the features of the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858