DETAIL ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S provisional Patent Application No. 63568643, filed on 3/22/2024 and is hereby incorporated by references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. As summarized in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, examiners must perform a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions.
Step 1
In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The instant invention encompasses three sets of claims: a system in claims 1-9 (i.e., a manufacture), a method in claims 10-18 (i.e., a process) and a non-transitory machine-readable medium in claims 19-20 (i.e., a manufacture). All claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories and meet the requirements of step 1.
Step 2A
Prong One
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significant more. The instant invention is broadly directed to “generating a perturbed watermarked text distribution from an output text sequence from a trained large language model”. Claim 1 recites the following (with emphasis added):
Claim 1: A system comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including instructions which when executed by the at least one processor causes operations comprising:
receiving an output text sequence from a trained large language model;
converting the output text sequence into a token representation of the output text sequence;
generating a dense watermarked text distribution over a token vocabulary of the output text sequence, the generating based on the token representation of the output text sequence and on a binary signature sequence;
perturbing the dense watermarked text distribution to yield a perturbed distribution; and
mapping the perturbed distribution to an encoded output text sequence.
The bold portions of claim 1 encompass the abstract idea, which is also encompassed by the dependent claims 2-9, and substantially also encompassed by claims 10-16 and 17-20.
Claims 1, 10, and 12 recite the steps to generate a perturbed watermarked text distribution from an output text sequence from a trained large language model including a natural language processing. These limitations, when given their broadest reasonable interpretation, are directed to certain performing of organizing human activity and mental processes, which is abstract idea.
Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because mere instruction to implement on computers (i.e. storage medium or processors in claim 1) or a computer model (language model here in claim 1), or merely using computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment for field of use is not considered integration into a practical application. Claim 1 recites using trained language model to generate text output data then generating a perturbed watermarked text distribution. Using language model to generate text output data then generating a perturbed watermarked text distribution is a generic feature of natural language process, which does not represent a technological improvement. The using of the computer and natural language process does not add improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology field, which failed to enable the abstract idea to integrate into a practical application. The claims are drafted in a result-oriented fashion, without the requisite specificity needed to provide a nonabstract technological solution. The computing system and natural language process are directed to the components of a system amount to merely field of use type limitations and/or extra solution activity to implement the abstract idea as presented.
Step 2B
Step 2B in the analysis requires us to determine whether the claims do significantly more than simply describe that abstract method. Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297. We must examine the limitations of the claims to determine whether the claims contain an "inventive concept" to "transform" the claimed abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294, 1298). The transformation of an abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter "requires 'more than simply stat[ing] the [abstract idea] while adding the words 'apply it."' Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294) (alterations in original). "A claim that recites an abstract idea must include 'additional features' to ensure 'that the [claim] is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea].'" Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297) (alterations in original). Those "additional features" must be more than "well-understood, routine, conventional activity." Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298.
The present claims include the additional elements other than the abstract idea which include a processor, storage medium, trained large language model (in claim 1). These additional elements are merely conventional computer and computer model. Any potentially technical aspects of the claims are well-known generic computer components performing conventional functions (e.g., a processor performing a mental process). The present claims have been analyzed both individually and in combination and, the instant claims do not provide any improvement of the functioning of the computer or improvement to computer technology or any other technical field. There do not appear to be any meaningful limitations other than those that are well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. Thus, the present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, the claims 1-9 are not patent eligible.
Claims 10-18 and method claim 19-20 recite similar limitations of claims 1-9, thus are abstract idea and not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 116956906 A) in view of Dathathri et al (US 20240320529 A1) and MELLOR et al (US 20250005115 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses a system [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 10; text generation device] comprising: at least one processor [e.g. FIG. 10; page 4; processor]; and at least one memory [e.g. memory] including instructions [e.g. executable instructions] which when executed by the at least one processor causes operations [e.g. FIG. 1-2; text generation operation] comprising: receiving an output text sequence from a trained large language model [e.g. FIG. 1-2; page 8-9; obtain text from LLM]; converting the output text sequence into a token representation of the output text sequence [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 4; obtaining token sequence (word)]; LIU fails to explicitly disclose the detail of the token representation.
However, Dathathri teaches the well-known concept of generating a dense watermarked text distribution over a token vocabulary of the output text sequence [e.g. FIG. 1; watermarked token sequence], the generating based on the token representation of the output text sequence and on a binary signature sequence [e.g. FIG. 5; token sequence with binary values 1, 0, 0, 1]; and mapping the distribution to an encoded output text sequence [e.g. FIG. 1; encoder to encode the input token sequence].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]].
Moreover, MELLOR teaches the well-known concept of perturbing the dense watermarked text distribution to yield a perturbed distribution [e.g. FIG. 18 and 29-31; watermark token with noise]; and mapping the perturbed distribution to an output text sequence [e.g. FIG. 18 and 27; mapping watermark token].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri and the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]] and a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]].
Regarding claim 2, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose the receiving, the converting, and the generating are caused to be performed by an encoding module [e.g. LIU: FIG 1 and 10, Dathathri: FIG. 1; MELLOR: FIG. ; [0298]], and wherein the perturbing and the mapping are caused to be performed by an optimization beam search module [e.g. LIU: FIG 1 and 10, Dathathri: FIG. 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri and the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]] and a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]].
Regarding claim 3, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose the token representation of the output text sequence comprises a plurality of tokens [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6, Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5]; each of the plurality of tokens representing a corresponding portion of text of the output text sequence [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6; Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5; MELLOR: tokenised data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri and the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]] and a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]].
Regarding claim 4, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose for each of the plurality of tokens, an associated probability indicative of how the corresponding portion of text maps to the encoded output text sequence [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6; sequence of the probability value corresponding to the prediction output text; Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5; The watermarking involves modifying a probability distribution of the token MELLOR: tokenised data; probability of segment].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri and the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]] and a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]].
Regarding claim 5, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose adding noise to the dense watermarked text distribution [e.g. MELLOR: FIG. 18 and 29-31; watermark token with noise].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri and the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]] and a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]].
Regarding claim 10-14, this is a computer-implemented method that includes same limitation as in claim 1-5 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19-20, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1-2 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 116956906 A) in view of Dathathri et al (US 20240320529 A1), MELLOR et al (US 20250005115 A1) and LI et al (US 20210241099 A1).
Regarding claim 6, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose adding noise to the dense watermarked text distribution [e.g. MELLOR: FIG. 18 and 29-31; watermark token with noise], but LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR fail to explicitly disclose the detail of the noise.
However, LI teaches the well-known concept of the noise comprises Gumbel-Softmax noise [e.g. [0042-0044]; introduce Gumbel-Softmax noise].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri, the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR and the well-known concept of modeling the noise as Gumbel distribution technique taught by LI as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]], a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]] and the effect of sampling as introducing noise to the input so that the outputs become continuous and differentiable [See LI; [0042]].
Regarding claim 15, this is a computer-implemented method that includes same limitation as in claim 6 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 116956906 A) in view of Dathathri et al (US 20240320529 A1), MELLOR et al (US 20250005115 A1) and BELLEGARDA (US 20230394248 A1).
Regarding claim 7, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose reparametrizing the dense watermarked text distribution over the token vocabulary of the output text sequence [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6; Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5; MELLOR: FIG. 18 and 30-31; tokenised data], but LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR fails to explicitly disclose the output text sequence to a yield a sparse distribution.
However, 7. BELLEGARDA teaches the well-known concept of reparametrizing the text distribution over the token vocabulary of the output text sequence to a yield a sparse distribution [e.g. FIG. 1 and 8; output token probability distribution may be a sparse output token probability distribution].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri, the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR and the well-known concept of generating token probability distribution technique taught by BELLEGARDA as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]], a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]] and more accurate and useful text prediction for the specific user [See BELLEGARDA ; [0005]].
Regarding claim 8, LIU, Dathathri, MELLOR and BELLEGARDA further disclose 8. The system of claim 7, wherein a reparameterization module causes the reparametrizing [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6; Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5; MELLOR: FIG. 18 and 30-31; BELLEGARDA : FIG. 1 and 8].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri, the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR and the well-known concept of generating token probability distribution technique taught by BELLEGARDA as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]], a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]] and more accurate and useful text prediction for the specific user [See BELLEGARDA ; [0005]].
Regarding claim 16-17, this is a computer-implemented method that includes same limitation as in claim 7-8 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 116956906 A) in view of Dathathri et al (US 20240320529 A1), MELLOR et al (US 20250005115 A1) and Paul (US 20240236076 A1).
Regarding claim 9, LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR further disclose decoding the encoded output text sequence [e.g. LIU: FIG 2-3 and 6; Dathathri: FIG. 1 and 5; MELLOR: FIG. 18 and 30-31; tokenised data], but LIU, Dathathri and MELLOR fails to explicitly disclose enable ownership verification of the output text sequence.
However, Paul teaches the well-known concept of the output text sequence to enable ownership verification of the output text sequence [e.g. FIG. 1 and 7; [0130]; the domain authentication can be visually watermarked into the NFT in the case of images and videos via plain text].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the text generation system disclosed by LIU to exploit the well-known generating watermarked token sequence technique taught by Dathathri, the week-known concept of embedding a digital watermark within tokenised data taught by MELLOR and the well-known concept of generating domain authentication technique taught by Paul as above, in order to provide robust and detectable watermarking to be added to a digital object with relatively low computational overhead (depending on the number of watermarking stages applied) [See Dathathri; [0045]], a solution that uses deterministic tokenization, the process can also achieve lower latency [See MELLOR; [0012]] and more accurate and a secured website and storage [See Paul; [0130-1032]].
Regarding claim 18, this is a computer-implemented method that includes same limitation as in claim 9 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MELLOR et al (US 20260252668 A1).
COLLADO UMANA et al (US 20250272089 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658