Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 3, 9 and 11 - 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 3, 6, 8 - 11 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,757. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patented document and the claimed invention both discloses a method of extruding film through an extrusion die. The difference lies in that the patented document is more specific with regards to the method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polk, Jr. (US 2013/0193611).
With regards to claim 1, Polk, Jr. teaches a method comprising extruding a film through an extrusion die to an extrusion output (paragraphs 39 and 41), coordinated with the extrusion (paragraphs 37 – 39), translating a preform stack on the preform assembly platform relative to the extrusion output, such that the film falls onto a preform stack on the preform assembly platform (paragraphs 37 – 39, 43, 45 and 46), the film forming current layer of the preform stack on top of a previous layer of the preform stack, the previous layer also extruded through the extrusion die (paragraphs 54 and 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polk Jr. (US 2013/0193611) in view of Yen et al (US 2014/0339722).
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Polk, Jr. are presented above. Polk, Jr. discloses that the resin is fed to a feeder or hopper of the injection head of the extrusion device (paragraph 41). Polk, Jr. fails to explicitly disclose that the feeding the extrusion die is via multiple extrusion inputs.
Yen discloses a method of forming a multilayer porous membrane by extrusion (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Polk, Jr. where Yen discloses that the feedblock will have multiple inputs prior to exiting a single extrusion die as a single sheet (paragraph 72). While Yen does not explicitly state that 12 inputs are used, Yen states that multiple inputs are used for multiple extrusion lines which can be added for additional layers or regions (paragraph 72), where one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, depending on the needed layers, would require 12 inputs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used multiple extrusion inputs to feed the extrusion die, as suggested by Yen, ion Polk, Jr.’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Ye, the number of inputs depend on the needed layers for the sheet being extruded (paragraph 72).
With regards to claim 3, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that the feeding the extrusion die includes feeding the extrusion die via channels that force material form the multiple extrusion inputs into a single stream for the extrusion output to produce a multi-sublayer film at the extrusion output (paragraph 72).
With regards to claim 4, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that feeding the extrusion die includes feeding a subset of multiple extrusion inputs from a single material feed line to produce multiple same-material sublayers within the film (paragraphs 72 and 73).
With regards to claim 5, the teachings of Polk, Jr and Yen are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that the subset includes odd-film-sublayer extrusion inputs (paragraphs 72 and 73).
With regards to claim 6, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that feeding the extrusion die includes feeding a complement set of extrusion inputs from another single material feed line, the complement set including the complement set of the subset, where the complement set includes even-film-sublayer extrusion inputs (paragraphs 72 and 73).
With regards to claim 7, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that the method further includes applying a roller on top of the current layer to impart vertical pressure on preform stack (Figure 1 item 50).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polk Jr. (US 2013/0193611) in view of Yen et al (US 2014/0339722) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bogucki et al (US 2016/0082641).
With regards to claim 8, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Polk, Jr. states that after forming a layer pressure is applied to form the product (Figure 6 item 612). Polk, Jr. and Yen fail to explicitly disclose that the method comprises cutting the layer after covering the previous layer.
Bogucki discloses a fiber reinforced polymer part fabricated by extrusion (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Polk, Jr., where Bogucki states a method comprising cutting the current layer after covering a previous layer (paragraphs 28 and 41), determining that the previous layer has been covered responsive to the preform assembly platform reaching a layer-end travel point (paragraphs 28 and 41); at the time the translation stage is at the layer-end travel point, causing a cutter to perform the cutting (paragraphs 28 and 41); determining a layer-begin point for the preform assembly platform (paragraphs 28 and 41); and after the cutting, causing the preform assembly platform to move to the layer-begin point (paragraphs 28 and 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cut the current layer after covering the previous layer, as suggested by Bogucki, in Polk Jr and Yen’s method. The rationale being that one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date would appreciate that cutting is a well known process to separate one layer from another layer further defining the desired product.
With regards to claim 9, the teachings of Polk, Jr., Yen and Bogucki are presented above. Additionally, Bogucki teaches that the cutter includes an edge cutter, a laser cutter or a heater (paragraph 28).
Claim(s) 10 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polk Jr. (US 2013/0193611) in view of Yen et al (US 2014/0339722) and Bogucki et al (US 2016/0082641) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Brackman et al (US Patent 6,113,374).
With regards to claim 10, the teachings of Polk, Jr. and Yen are presented above. Polk, Jr. and Yen fail to explicitly disclose to shield the preform stack from dust while on the preform assembly stack.
Brackman discloses an extrusion system (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Polk, Jr. and Yen, where Brackman teaches that the system comprises an enclosure (Figure 1A item 40), which would shield he preform stack from dust while on the preform assembly stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have shielded the preform stack from dust while on the preform assembly stack, as suggested by Brackman, in Polk, Jr. and Yen’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Brackman, it provides a high quality product (column 3 lines 28 – 43).
With regards to claim 11, the teachings of Polk, Jr., Yen and Brackman are presented above. Additionally, Brackman teaches further including closing an enclosure around the preform stack during preform generation, where the enclosure includes a dust resistant or moisture resistant enclosure, and the enclosure includes a vacuum-sealed-enclosure held at least at low vacuum (column 9 lines 1 – 30).
With regards to claim 12, the teachings of Polk, Jr., Yen and Brackman are presented above. Additionally, Brackman teaches heating the preform assembly platform to a layer-adhesion temperature (column 12 lines 8 – 13).
With regards to claims 13 – 15, the teachings of Polk, Jr. Yen and Brackman are presented above. Additionally, Yen teaches that extruding the film includes extruding a film between 10 microns and 1,000 microns thick (paragraph 59), the preform stack includes an optical filter preform stack (paragraph 59) and the extruding film includes extruding polymer material, glass material or both (paragraph 59).
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746