DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/24/25, 6/4/25, 10/12/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language, as evident by the independent claims, which recites “receiving request data from a user device, wherein the request data comprises: sensor data acquired using one or more sensors of the user device while the user device is disposed at one or more geographic locations; and data corresponding to a request for one or more coordinate objects relating to the sensor data, wherein the one or more coordinate objects comprise one or more data objects relating to color, color channel, color depth, height, width, longitude, latitude, altitude, sensory feel, sensory smell, sensory touch, sensory electromagnetic waves, time, historical data, time style, time growth, weather, temperature, image scaling, microscopic image scaling, nanoscopic image scaling, chemistry, chemistry state, chemistry feeling, filters, filter color, lens focus, aperture, lens speed, lens type, speed, cross product blend, product type, or combinations thereof; retrieving the one or more coordinate objects from one or more multidimensional object databases based on the request data; and transmitting the one or more coordinate objects to the user device, wherein the user device is configured to generate an interactive environment based on the one or more coordinate objects.” This claim is an omnibus type claim as it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the recited language.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "retrieving the proxy data" in lien 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application substantially recites similar limitations as the patent with one exception. The Patent `456 requires the acquired sensor data to be audio data, which is lacking from the current application. However, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention to modify the current application to allow the acquired data to be audio data to more accurately determine the geographical location of the sensor device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S.___(2014).
Claim 1-20 are directed to a method of acquiring data, and as such, the claims are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice flowchart; and are directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea).
Addressing the claims under Step 2A, the claims are held to be directed to concepts similar to those found to be abstract, either as outlined in the 2014 lEG/July 2015 Update to Subject matter eligibility, or, as compared to certain decisions rendered by the courts. The claims as present describe the method to “receiving request data from a user device, wherein the request data comprises: sensor data acquired using one or more sensors of the user device while the user device is disposed at one or more geographic locations, and data corresponding to a request for one or more coordinate objects relating to the sensor data, wherein the one or more coordinate objects comprise one or more data objects relating to color, color channel, color depth, height, width, longitude, latitude, altitude, sensory feel, sensory smell, sensory touch, sensory electromagnetic waves, time, historical data, time style, time growth, weather, temperature, image scaling, microscopic image scaling, nanoscopic image scaling, chemistry, chemistry state, chemistry feeling, filters, filter color, lens focus, aperture, lens speed, lens type, speed, cross product blend, product type, or combinations thereof; retrieving the one or more coordinate objects from one or more multidimensional object databases based on the request data; and transmitting the one or more coordinate objects to the user device, wherein the user device is configured to generate an interactive environment based on the one or more coordinate objects.”
The addition of the limitations that narrow the idea merely aide in the description of the abstract idea and therefore do not render the claims any less abstract.
This concept is considered a method of organizing human activity by acquiring data from a device being used by a user. Organizing human activity is used to describe concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing transactions between people and sales activities, advertising, marketing, pricing, resource management, and sales activities or behaviors (see July 2015 Update: Section III (B)). Several precedential cases have found concepts relating to advertising, marketing, pricing, and sales activities or behaviors abstract. One such example is the use of advertising as an exchange or currency (Ultramercial v. Hulu 772 F.3d 709, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). Additional precedential courts have found abstract examples of organizing human activity to include structuring a sales force or marketing company (in re Ferguson 558 F.3d 1359, 90 U.S.P.Q.2d 1035 (Fed. Cir. 2009)), automatic optimization of pricing in an ecommerce environment or pricing products in organization groups (OIP Technologies, Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc. 788 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2015) and Versata Development Group v. SAP America, Inc. 793 F.3d. 1306 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and managing tasks and sales force activities and resources (Accenture Global Services, GmbH v. Guidewire Software 728 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2013)).
Finally, the concept of identifying and transmitting information from a device further represents ‘an idea itself’ (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)) inasmuch as it is related to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data. Several precedential cases have found concepts relating to processes of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data to be mere ideas in themselves. One example includes selecting/identifying displayed data, manipulating the data through encoding and decoding processes. (Recognicorp, LLC, v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., Nintendo of America, Inc., No. 2:12-cv-01873-RAJ (2017)). The courts have addressed other computerized processes for of identifying, comparing, processing, and presenting data including data collecting and comparing known information (Classen Immunotherapies Inc. v. Biogen IDEC 659 F.3d 1057(Fed. Cir. 2011)), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (,Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))] extracting, organizing, storing and transmitting data (Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, National Ass'n. 776 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and obtaining and comparing intangible data (Cybersource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc. 654 F.3d 1366, 99 U.S.P.Q.2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011)) (see July 2015 Update: Section III (C)).
Therefore, while it is understood that the claims in the current application are not verbatim recitations of the guidelines or case law, the detailed analysis provided above shows how the current claim limitations at issue closely parallel the concepts provided by the guidelines and the precedential case law, and are therefore considered to be directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Under Step 2B, the examiner acknowledges the additional limitations. These limitations however are used for data gathering and presentation and as such merely represents insignificant pre and post solution activity. Even assuming arguendo that the claims are not insignificant pre and post solution activities or mental activities, each of the functions performed by the machinery are well-understood, routine, and conventional (i.e., receiving and processing data, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data (see July 2015 Update: Section IV)).
Additionally, these limitations are merely generic recitations of computers and networks performing basic functions and the claims amount to nothing more than implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The limitations taken as a whole amount to nothing more than implementing the concept retrieving/acquiring and transmitting information with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. When viewed either as individual limitations or as an ordered combination, the claims as a whole do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of identifying and transmitting auction information to a user.
Ultimately, the claimed machine(s) function solely as an obvious mechanism to achieve the claimed result, failing to impart a meaningful limit on the claim scope [see SiRF Tech., Inc. v. ITC (Fed. Cir. 2010)]. The claims at issue here do not rise to overriding the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily performed by the computer, nor do they set forth with any specificity the interactions of the machine itself. Conversely, the claims are only specific in how the computer is used to facilitate the abstract idea itself using routine and conventional operations of the generic machinery, and are silent as to any detail or property that would transform the otherwise generic machinery into a specialized or special purpose machine. Even when considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of applicant's method add nothing that is not already present when they are considered individually. Viewed as a whole, the claims simply convey the idea itself facilitated by generic computing components.
Thus, under Step 2B, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-14 & 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhoads et al. (US Patent Pub. 20110098056; referred to hereinafter as Rhoads).
Claims 1, 10 & 17: Rhoads disclose receiving request data from a user device, wherein the request data comprises, sensor data acquired using one or more sensors of the user device while the user device is disposed at one or more geographic locations (abstract & 0332-0335), and data corresponding to a request for one or more coordinate objects relating to the sensor data (0332), wherein the one or more coordinate objects comprise one or more data objects relating to color, color channel, color depth, height, width, longitude, latitude, altitude, sensory feel, sensory smell, sensory touch, sensory electromagnetic waves, time, historical data, time style, time growth, weather, temperature, image scaling, microscopic image scaling, nanoscopic image scaling, chemistry, chemistry state, chemistry feeling, filters, filter color, lens focus, aperture, lens speed, lens type, speed, cross product blend, product type, or combinations thereof (0267, 0331 & 0628-0670, coordinate objects comprising historical data), retrieving the one or more coordinate objects from one or more multidimensional object databases based on the request data and transmitting the one or more coordinate objects to the user device (0628-0685, wherein multidimensional object databases is based on the request data), wherein the user device is configured to generate an interactive environment based on the one or more coordinate objects (0261 & 0303-0304, generating an interactive environment).
Claims 2-3, 11 & 18: Rhoads disclose wherein the interactive environment comprises an augmented reality (AR) environment, a mixed reality (MR) environment, or a virtual reality (VR) environment (0713, AR), and wherein the user device comprises a mobile computing device, a tablet computing device, a laptop computing device, a stationary computing device, an augmented reality (AR) computing device, a mixed reality (MR) computing device, a virtual reality (VR) computing device, an Internet of Things (loT) computing device, or combinations thereof (0061-0065).
Claims 4-5 & 12-13: Rhoads disclose one or more sensors comprise one or more optical sensors, one or more cameras, one or more microphones, one or more satellite navigation system receivers, one or more accelerometers, one or more light sensors, one or more location sensors, one or more barometers, one or more thermometers, or combinations thereof (0061-0065 disclose a mobile device inherently includes audio/optical sensors amongst other sensors).
Claims 6 & 14: Rhoads disclose wherein the one or more multidimensional object databases comprises one or more multidimension map tile databases, one or more proxy dimension databases, or combinations thereof (0164).
Claim 7: Rhoads disclose generate the interactive environment in real-time or near real-time while the user device is disposed at the one or more geographic locations, generate the interactive environment in coordination with one or more virtual rooms, one or more virtual trips, or combinations thereof (0070-0078) communicate with one or more other user devices using the interactive environment; or combinations thereof (0084, presenting the information to the users).
Claim 9 & 16: Rhoads disclose wherein retrieving the proxy data comprises retrieving the proxy data from the one or more proxy dimension databases of the one or more multidimensional object databases based on the request data and the one or more coordinate objects using one or more machine learning algorithms (0495-0500).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 15 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thagadur Shivappa (20180046431) refers to smart phone senses audio, imagery, and/or other stimulus from a user's environment, and acts autonomously to fulfill inferred or anticipated user desires. In one aspect, the detailed technology concerns phone-based cognition of a scene viewed by the phone's camera. The image processing tasks applied to the scene can be selected from among various alternatives by reference to resource costs, resource constraints, other stimulus information (e.g., audio), task substitutability, etc. The phone can apply more or less resources to an image processing task depending on how successfully the task is proceeding, or based on the user's apparent interest in the task. In some arrangements, data may be referred to the cloud for analysis, or for gleaning. Cognition, and identification of appropriate device response(s), can be aided by collateral information, such as context. A great number of other features and arrangements are also detailed.
Abovitz (9,952,042) refers to a smart phone senses audio, imagery, and/or other stimulus from a user's environment, and acts autonomously to fulfill inferred or anticipated user desires. In one aspect, the detailed technology concerns phone-based cognition of a scene viewed by the phone's camera. The image processing tasks applied to the scene can be selected from among various alternatives by reference to resource costs, resource constraints, other stimulus information (e.g., audio), task substitutability, etc. The phone can apply more or less resources to an image processing task depending on how successfully the task is proceeding, or based on the user's apparent interest in the task. In some arrangements, data may be referred to the cloud for analysis, or for gleaning. Cognition, and identification of appropriate device response(s), can be aided by collateral information, such as context. A great number of other features and arrangements are also detailed.
Chokshi (20180313798) refers to a method, comprising receiving, by a computing system, sensor data from a first sensor unit at a first location, converting, by the computing system, the sensor data into a standardized format, receiving, by the computing system, additional data corresponding to a first parameter at the first location and forecast data corresponding to the first parameter at the first location, generating, by the computing system, predicted future sensor data based on a comparison between the additional data, the sensor data, and the forecast data, writing, by the computing system, the sensor data, the additional data, and the predicted future sensor data into a blockchain ledger, and submitting, by the computing system, the ledger to a distributed blockchain database.
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715