DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. Specific attention is invited to the Japanese reference mentioned in paragraph [0139] of the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities: In Figure 5, there are two occurrences of reference numeral “Zu[1]” and it appears that the right-hand occurrence in the center of the Figure should be deleted and replaced with --Zu[2]--. In particular, note that the other values in the center column of Figure 5 all include [2] such as “QS[2],” “WS[2],” “Vin[2]” and “PZ[2].” In Figure 6, there are two occurrences of the reference numeral “VHA2” and it appears that the lower occurrence near the bottom of Figure 6 should be deleted and replaced with --VLA2-- since the lowermost occurrence appears to illustrate the potential VLA2 described in paragraph [0094]. In Figure 9, there are two occurrences of each of the reference numeral “61s” and “62s.” It appears that the left-hand occurrence of 61s and 62s should be deleted and replaced with --61d-- and --62d-- respectively to appropriate label the drain electrode 61d and the drain coupling terminal 62d, as described in paragraph [0109] of the specification. See, for example, how the similar elements have been labeled, for example, in Figure 8.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
the Y2-, X2- and Z2-directions as discussed in paragraphs [0042], [0043], [0102], [0104], [0150], [0153], and [0159] have not been illustrated or labeled in the drawing Figures.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0049], it is suggested that term “power supply line Ld” be deleted and replaced with the term --power supply line LD-- to use the reference character that is consistent with what is shown in the drawings (Fig. 5).
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu (US 2019/0232648 A1) in view of Deng et al. (CN 209710562 U).
With respect to claims 1, 3 and 8, Hiramatsu teaches a liquid dispensing unit 50, 54 including a plurality of driving elements 531 driven by a drive signal (i.e., driving waveform described in paragraph [0051] and for dispensing a liquid (i.e., ink or other fluid as described in paragraph [0094]) in response to driving of the plurality of driving elements, the liquid dispensing unit 50 comprising:
a substrate (i.e., flat support for circuit 56);
a drive signal generation circuit 56 disposed on the substrate and configured to generate the drive signal (i.e., the driving waveforms); and
a heat sink 57 fixed to the substrate, wherein the heat sink includes a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum as described in paragraph [0039]. See, in particular, Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0034]-[0039], [0050]-[0051], and [0067]-[0094].
Hiramatsu fails to specifically teach that the heat sink includes a coating a graphene in a single or multiple layers. However, the provision of a heat sink including a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum and a coating of several layers of graphene for use in a printer is well known in the art, as exemplified by the heat sink of Deng et al. Particular attention is invited to the English language translation of Deng et al. which describes a heat sink construction 1 using a metal coated with a plurality of graphene layers 12 to improve the heat radiating effect of the fin to reduce the surface temperature of the heating object such as an electronic chip. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat sink of Hiramatsu to include a coating of graphene layers as taught by Deng et al. to provide a heat sink with better heat dissipation properties.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, note that these claims are a functional recitation of a desired operation and fail to recite any specific structure necessary to provide that function. Note MPEP § 2114 states: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since Hiramatsu teaches all of the structure as recited and is capable of operating in the manner recited, it thereby meets the claim language. However, the Examiner additionally points out that Hiramatsu teaches wherein a part of the liquid dispensed from the liquid dispensing unit is turned into mist, as described in paragraphs [0053], [0059], and [0073].
With respect to claims 4 and 9, Hiramatsu teaches wherein the main body portion includes
a first plate-shaped portion (i.e., horizontal portion of 57 in Fig. 2) extending on a first plane having a first direction (Z) as a normal direction,
a second plate-shaped portion (i.e., left-hand vertical portion of 57 in Fig. 2) coupled to a first part of the first plate-shaped portion and extending on a second plane having a second direction (Y) intersecting the first direction (Z) as the normal direction, and
a third plate-shaped portion (i.e., right-hand vertical portion of 57 in Fig. 2) coupled to a second part of the first plate-shaped portion which is different from the first part and extending on a third plane having the second direction (Y) as the normal direction. See, in particular, Figure 2 of Hiramatsu.
With respect to claims 5 and 10, Hiramatsu teaches wherein
the liquid dispensing unit 54 is mounted on a carriage 52 that moves over a medium M onto which the liquid is dispensed from the liquid dispensing unit 54, and dispenses the liquid when the carriage is moved by a motor 55 for moving the carriage, as described in paragraphs [0034] and [0036] and shown in Figures 1-2.
With respect to claim 6, HIramatsu teaches a liquid dispensing device 50 comprising:
a liquid dispensing unit 54 including a plurality of driving elements 531 driven by a drive signal (i.e., driving waveform described in paragraph [0051]) and for dispensing a liquid in response to driving of the plurality of driving elements 531; and
a drive signal generation unit configured to generate the drive signal, wherein
the drive signal generation unit includes
a substrate (i.e., the flat support for circuit 56),
a drive signal generation circuit 56 disposed on the substrate and configured to generate the drive signal (i.e., the driving waveform), and
a heat sink 57 fixed to the substrate (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039]),
the heat sink 57 includes a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum as described in paragraph [0039]. See, in particular, Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0034]-[0039], [0050]-[0051], and [0067]-[0094].
Hiramatsu fails to specifically teach that the heat sink includes a coating a graphene in a single or multiple layers. However, the provision of a heat sink including a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum and a coating of several layers of graphene for use in a printer is well known in the art, as exemplified by the heat sink of Deng et al. Particular attention is invited to the English language translation of Deng et al. which describes a heat sink construction 1 using a metal coated with a plurality of graphene layers 12 to improve the heat radiating effect of the fin to reduce the surface temperature of the heating object such as an electronic chip. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat sink of Hiramatsu to include a coating of graphene layers as taught by Deng et al. to provide a heat sink with better heat dissipation properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 of co-pending Application No. 19/089,064 (reference application--hereafter referred to as US ‘064). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the each encompass a liquid dispensing unit comprising a substrate, a drive signal generation circuit, a heat sink comprising a main body of copper or aluminum and a coating a graphene.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With respect to claim 1, note claim 11 of US ‘064 teaches a liquid dispensing unit (line 1) including a driving element driven by a drive signal and for dispensing a liquid in response to driving of the driving element (lines 2-4), the liquid dispensing unit comprising: a substrate (line 15); a drive signal generation circuit disposed on the substrate and configured to generate the drive signal (lines 5-6); and a heat sink fixed to the substrate (lines 18-19). Additionally, claim 17 of US ‘064 teaches wherein the heat sink includes a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum, and the main body portion is coated with graphene (lines 3-5). While claims 11 and 17 do not specifically teach a plurality of the driving elements, note that the provision of a plurality of a known device is an obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, the liquid dispensing unit of claims 11 and 17 render obvious the liquid dispensing unit as recited.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, note that these claims are a functional recitation of a desired operation and fail to recite any specific structure necessary to provide that function. Note MPEP § 2114 states: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 of US ‘064 teach all of the structure as recited and is capable of operating in the manner recited, it thereby meets the claim language.
With respect to claim 3 and 8, claims 7 and 17 of US ‘064 teach the provision of a coating of graphene. While claims 7 and 17 do not particularly recite coating the heat sink multiple layers of graphene, note the provision of a plurality of a known element is an obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, the liquid dispensing unit/device of claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 of US ‘064 render obvious the liquid dispensing unit/device as recited.
With respect to claim 6, note claim 1 of US ‘064 teaches a liquid dispensing device comprising: a liquid dispensing unit including a driving element driven by a drive signal and for dispensing a liquid in response to driving of the driving element (lines 1-4); and a drive signal generation unit configured to generate the drive signal, wherein the drive signal generation unit includes a substrate (line 18), a drive signal generation circuit disposed on the substrate and configured to generate the drive signal (lines 5-9), and a heat sink fixed to the substrate (lines 21-22). Further, claim 7 of US ‘064 teaches the heat sink includes a main body portion formed of copper or aluminum, and the main body portion is coated with graphene (lines 3-5). While claims 1 and 7 do not specifically teach a plurality of the driving elements, note that the provision of a plurality of a known device is an obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, the liquid dispensing device of claims 1 and 7 render obvious the liquid dispensing device as recited.
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 of co-pending Application No. 19/089064 in view of Hiramatsu (US 2019/0232648 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claims 4 and 9, note claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 of US ‘064 teach a liquid dispensing unit/device as recited with the exception of the particular details of the shape of the heat sink as recited. However, Hiramatsu teaches an ink dispensing unit/device having a heat sink including first, second and third plate shaped portions is well known in the art. Specifically, note Hiramatsu teaches wherein the main body portion includes a first plate-shaped portion (i.e., horizontal portion of 57 in Fig. 2) extending on a first plane having a first direction (Z) as a normal direction, a second plate-shaped portion (i.e., left-hand vertical portion of 57 in Fig. 2) coupled to a first part of the first plate-shaped portion and extending on a second plane having a second direction (Y) intersecting the first direction (Z) as the normal direction, and a third plate-shaped portion (i.e., right-hand vertical portion of 57 in Fig. 2) coupled to a second part of the first plate-shaped portion which is different from the first part and extending on a third plane having the second direction (Y) as the normal direction. See, in particular, Figure 2 of Hiramatsu. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the liquid dispensing unit/device of claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 of US ‘064 with a heat sink having the specific shape as taught by Hiramatsu as it would simply require the selection of a heat sink shape to optimize the amount of contact with the drive signal generation circuit so as to better dissipate heat from the unit/device.
With respect to claims 5 and 10, note claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 of US ‘064 teach a liquid dispensing unit/device as recited with the exception of the particular details of the provision of a carriage and carriage motor for moving the liquid dispensing unit. However, Hiramatsu teaches an ink dispensing unit/device having a carriage and carriage motor for moving the liquid dispensing unit over the medium is well known in the art. Specifically, Hiramatsu teaches wherein the liquid dispensing unit 54 is mounted on a carriage 52 that moves over a medium M onto which the liquid is dispensed from the liquid dispensing unit 54, and dispenses the liquid when the carriage is moved by a motor 55 for moving the carriage, as described in paragraphs [0034] and [0036] and shown in Figures 1-2. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the liquid dispensing unit/device of claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 of US ‘064 with a carriage/motor arrangement for moving the liquid dispensing unit to allow for controlled and precise movement/positioning of the dispensing unit relative to the medium.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ito et al. (EP 3 378 648 A1) and Yamamichi et al. (US 2022/0169010 A1) each teach a liquid discharge unit having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent. Additionally, Xu et al. (TW M606128 U) teaches a heat sink arrangement including a structural body of aluminum coated with graphene material is well known in the art.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853