DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SMART WATCH INCLUDES TWO EARPHONES.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “sthe” in Line 4 should be “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (Hereinafter Cao) CN 218917943 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Cao would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 15, Cao teaches
A smart watch (Figs. 1-4 show an intelligent wearable device) comprising:
a watch body (Figs. 1-4 show a supporting plate 2) comprising a base (Fig. 4 shows a mounting groove 21) and two earphones (Figs. 1 and 3 show two earphones 3) installed on the base (i.e. mounting groove 21) as shown in Fig. 1; and
a flipping cover (Figs. 1-4 show a watch main body 1) rotatably connected to the base (i.e. mounting groove 21) as shown in Fig. 1 and Pg. 1, Lines 4-5; and
wherein sthe flipping cover (i.e. watch main body 1) comprises a third receiving room (Figs. 1 and 4 show a containing groove 13) configured to accommodate the watch body (i.e. supporting plate 2) therein, and the flipping cover (i.e. watch main body 1) rotates relative to the watch body (i.e. supporting plate 2) to close the two earphones (i.e. earphones 3) into the third receiving room (i.e. containing groove 13) as shown in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 16, Cao teaches
The smart watch as claimed in claim 15, wherein one end of the base (i.e. mounting groove 21) is connected to one end of the flipping cover (i.e. watch main body 1) through a rotation shaft (Figs. 1-3 show a rotating piece 4), and the other end of the base (i.e. mounting groove 21) is fastened to the other end of the flipping cover (i.e. watch main body 1) as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, Cao teaches
The smart watch as claimed in claim 15, wherein the flipping cover (i.e. watch main body 1) comprises a bottom wall and a flange surrounding around the bottom wall as shown in Fig. 1, wherein the bottom wall and the flange cooperatively form the third receiving room (i.e. containing groove 13) as shown in Fig. 1, a through-hole (Fig. 3 show a containing groove 12) formed on the bottom wall as shown in Fig. 3, wherein the watch body (i.e. supporting plate 2) further comprises a display screen (Fig. 2 show a display part 11) exposed from the through-hole (i.e. containing groove 12) to the outside as shown in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (Hereinafter Cao ‘8096) CN 219478096 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Cao ‘8096 would be use as cited reference) in view of Li CN 217982147 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Li would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Cao ‘8096 teaches
A smart watch (Fig. 11 shows an intelligent wearing device for watch) comprising:
a watch body (Fig. 11 shows a watch main body 1) comprising a watch dial (Fig. 11 shows a watch dial around the watch main body 1) and two watch straps connected to the watch dial (a watchband connected to the watch dial around the watch main body 1….Pg. 14, Lines 4-5), two installation grooves (Fig. 11 shows two placing grooves 31) arranged on a side of the watch dial (i.e. watch dial around the watch main body 1) as shown in Fig. 11;
two earphones (Fig. 11 shows two earphones 2) respectively inserted into the two installation grooves (i.e. two placing grooves 31) and extending out of the two installation grooves (i.e. two placing grooves 31) as shown in Fig. 11; and
wherein each of the two earphones (i.e. two earphones 2) comprises a magnetic female connector (the earphone 2 is provided with a magnetic attraction member….Pg. 14, Lines 15-16). Cao further teaches a magnetic male connector (fixing member 312 may be a magnetic member….Pg. 8, Lines 40-43) that is connected to the magnetic female connector (i.e. magnetic attraction member….Pg. 14, Lines 15-16) are arranged inside the watch dial 11(i.e. watch dial around the watch main body 1) as shown in Fig. 11 and Pg. 8, Lines 40-43, and the magnetic male connector (fixing member 312 may be a magnetic member….Pg. 8, Lines 40-43) and the magnetic female connector (i.e. magnetic attraction member….Pg. 14, Lines 15-16) are stably connected with each other through a magnetic adsorption way (a magnetic absorbing piece, the magnetic absorbing piece is set in the placing groove, the earphone is magnetically connected with the cover plate through the magnetic absorbing piece…Pg. 4, Lines 2-3).
Cao ‘8096 does not explicitly teach that a controller.
Li teaches of a controller installed in the dial plate (Pg. 2, Line 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of Cao ‘8096 to include the controller, as taught by Li. The advantage of such modification will allow the earphones to use the controller to operate.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li do not explicitly teach that each of the two earphones comprises a case, a rubber stopper connected to a side of the case that faces the installation groove, and a gripping block that is convenient to be gripped by users and installed on a side of the case that faces-outside away from the installation groove, wherein the gripping block extends out of the installation groove.
Li teaches each of the two earphones (Figs. 1-6 show two TWS earphones 300) comprises a case (Figs. 4-6 show each of the two earphones 300 has a case), a rubber stopper (Figs. 4-6 show each of the two earphones 300 has a rubber stopper) connected to a side of the case that faces the installation groove (Figs. 4-6 show two TWS earphone grooves 204) as shown in Fig. 3, and a gripping block (Figs. 1-6 show two TWS key 302) that is convenient to be gripped by users and installed on a side of the case that faces-outside away from the installation groove (i.e. two TWS earphone grooves 204), wherein the gripping block (i.e. two TWS key 302) extends out of the installation groove as shown in Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li to include the feature of each of the earphone, as taught by Li. The advantage of such modification will allow the user to convenient and fast operation of the each of the earphone.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Li teaches that the gripping block (i.e. two TWS key 302) is cylindrical as shown in Fig. 6, and a plurality of protrusions is uniformly arranged on an outer circumference of the gripping block (i.e. two TWS key 302) as shown in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Li teaches that the case (Figs. 4-6 show the case of the earphones 300) comprises a first main portion (Figs. 4-6 show a first main portion of the earphones 300) and a second main portion (Figs. 4-6 show a second main portion of the earphones 300) connected to each other as shown in Fig. 4, both the first main portion (i.e. first main portion of the earphones 300) and the second main portion (i.e. second main portion of the earphones 300) extending from an outer circumference of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) to a middle of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) as shown in Fig. 4, wherein a length of the first main portion (i.e. first main portion of the earphones 300) that extends from the outer circumference of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) to the middle of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) is greater than that of the second main portion (i.e. second main portion of the earphones 300) that extends from the outer circumference of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) to the middle of the watch dial (i.e. dial plate 200) as shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above. Li teaches that each of the two installation grooves (Figs. 4-6 show a TWS groove 204) comprises a first cavity (Figs. 4-6 show a first cavity of the TWS groove 204) and a second cavity (Figs. 4-6 show a second cavity of the TWS groove 204) interconnected with each other as shown in Fig. 4, the first cavity configured to receive the first main portion therein (Figs. 1-3 show the first cavity of the TWS groove 204 configured to receive the first main portion of the earphones 300), and the second cavity configured to receive the second main portion therein (Figs. 1-3 show the second cavity of the TWS groove 204 configured to receive the second main portion of the earphones 300).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above. Cao ‘8096 teaches that the magnetic female connector is arranged inside the second main portion and extends out of the second main portion, while the magnetic male connector extends out of the second cavity and abuts against the magnetic female connector (a magnetic absorbing piece, the magnetic absorbing piece is set in the placing groove, the earphone is magnetically connected with the cover plate through the magnetic absorbing piece…Pg. 4, Lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach that the watch dial (i.e. watch dial around the watch main body 1) comprises a front housing (Fig. 11 shows a front housing of the watch dial around the watch main body 1) and a back housing (Fig. 11 shows a back housing of the watch dial around the watch main body 1) assembled to the front housing (i.e. front housing of the watch dial around the watch main body 1).
The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li do not explicitly teach that a first receiving room is formed between the front housing and the back housing and configured to receive the controller therein.
Li teaches in Fig. 6 shows a first receiving room is formed between the front housing of the dial plate 20 and the back housing of the dial plate 20 and configured to receive the controller 200 as shown in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li to include the first receiving room, as taught by Li. The advantage of such modification will allow the first receiving room to hold the controller.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above. Li teach that the watch dial further comprises a knob (Figs. 1-6 shows a watch key 202), and a control switch (a watch control….Pg. 5, Lines 8-9) arranged in the first receiving room and connected to the controller (i.e. controller 208), wherein the knob (i.e. watch key 202) is inserted from the outside of the front housing (i.e. upper shell 205) and connected to the control switch (i.e. watch control….Pg. 5, Lines 8-9) as shown in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li do not explicitly teach that a pair of first protruding ears is spaced apart on opposite sides of the front housing along a circumferential direction of the front housing, and the two watch straps are respectively connected to the pair of first protruding ears through a rotating shaft thereof.
Li teaches that a pair of assembling grooves 203 is spaced apart on opposite sides of an upper shell 205 along a circumferential direction of the upper shell 205, and the two watch belts 100 are respectively connected to the pair of assembling grooves 203 through a pin shaft thereof (Pg. 4, Lines 40-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li to include the pair of assembling grooves, as taught by Li. The advantage of such modification will allow two watch straps of the smart watch to be stably secure.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. Li teaches each of the pair of first protruding ears (i.e. assembling grooves 203) comprises a third cavity as shown in Fig., and the back housing (Fig. 6 shows a lower shell 206) comprises a second protruding ear arranged inside the third cavity as shown in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Cao ‘8096 teaches that the watch dial (i.e. watch dial around the watch main body 1) is square as shown in Fig. 11, and the two earphones (i.e. two earphones 2) are respectively arranged on opposite sides of the watch dial (i.e. watch dial around the watch main body 1) as shown in Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above. Li teaches a strip is provided at a position where the gripping block (i.e. TWS key 302) is connected to the case (i.e. case of the TWS earphone 300,), and configured to insert users' fingertips thereinto as shown in Fig. 6.
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘8096 in view of Li and further in view of Qui et al. (Hereinafter Qui) CN 115220329 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Qui would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li do not explicitly teach that an electrocardiogram detection module is arranged within the watch dial and configured to contact skins of human bodies.
Qui teaches in Fig. 1 shows an electrocardiogram measuring key is arranged within a face ring 18 and configured to contact hand (Pg. 3, Lines 6-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li to include the electrocardiogram detection module, as taught by Qui. The advantage of such modification will allow the smart watch detected heart rhythm abnormalities, previous heart attacks, and other cardiac conditions, enabling early diagnosis and guiding treatment.
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘8096 in view of Li and further in view of Lu et al. (Hereinafter Lu) CN 208689384 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Lu would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li teach all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
The combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li do not explicitly teach that the watch dial further comprises a bottom housing 114, a cover 115, a touch screen 116, a control board 117 and a battery module 118, the bottom housing and the cover engaged with each other to form a second receiving room for accommodating all the touch screen, the control board and the battery module therein, wherein the control board is electrically connected to both the touch screen and the battery module.
Lu teaches of a main housing 11 having bottom housing and the cover engaged with each other to form a receiving room for accommodating a touch screen display 15, a main body processor 19 and the battery, wherein the main body processor 19 is electrically connected to both the touch screen display 15 and the battery (Pg. 2, Lines 33-34 and Pg. 5, Lines 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of the combination of Cao ‘8096 and Li to include the control board is electrically connected to both the touch screen and the battery module, as taught by Qui. The advantage of such modification will allow the smart watch more convenient to use.
12. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Deng US D1,071,926.
Regarding claim 17, Cao teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Cao does not explicitly teach that the base comprises a cover plate and a protruding shell, and two slots formed between the cover plate and the protruding shell and configured to receive the two earphones therein.
Deng teaches in Fig. 17 shows a base comprises a cover plate and a protruding shell, and two slots formed between the cover plate and the protruding shell and configured to receive the two earphones as shown in Fig. 17.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the smart watch of Cao to include two slots formed between the cover plate and the protruding shell and configured to receive the two earphones, as taught by Deng. The advantage of such modification will allow the earphones to be securely placed in the smart watch.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cao and Deng teach all the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above. Deng teaches a periphery of the cover plate protrudes outwardly to form a positioning step thereof as shown in Fig. 17, and the positioning step covers on the third receiving room of the flipping cover as shown in Fig. 1.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivian Chin can be reached at 571-272-7848. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694