DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/205 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims discloses “a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code” however, application specification is void of any medium or program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deasy et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0059642) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0102116).
Regarding independent claim 1, Deasy teaches a method comprising: a first environment obtaining at least a user identifier for login to access a corporate network or corporate resource, wherein the first environment is securely isolated from a second environment on an endpoint that hosts both environments and wherein the first environment comprises a secure web browser that is either a standalone browser application or a web browser application with a web browser extension added (Deasy, page 2, paragraph 0024, page 3, paragraph 0028, page 4, paragraph 0036, page 5, paragraph 0038 and page 6, paragraphs 0054-0055 & 0059; mobile device with secure isolated workspace for enterprise application; receive login to authenticate users); and managing, by at least the secure web browser, access to the corporate network or corporate resource according to a security policy (Deasy, page 6, paragraph 0055; allow enterprise application to resume execution based on policy enforcement).
Deasy does not explicitly teach a server verifying the secure web browser based, at least in part, on a secure web browser identifier.
Chen teaches a server verifying the secure web browser based, at least in part, on a secure web browser identifier (Chen, page 6, paragraphs 0070-0071; server verifies integrity element of the request).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy with the teachings of Chen to verify trustworthiness to provide the advantage of ensuring integrity and reducing the amount of time required to perform verification (Chen, page 1, paragraphs 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 6, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the method wherein managing access to the corporate network or corporate resource according to a security policy comprises at least one of: the server or another server enforcing access of the corporate resource with the first environment; a forward proxy solution or a reverse proxy solution integrated with the first environment verifying that access uses the first environment; a reverse proxy solution feature of the first environment verifying that access uses the first environment; an identity provider service integrated with the first environment verifying that access uses the first environment; one or more of an identity access management solution, a mobile device management solution, and an endpoint detection and response solution integrated with the first environment limiting functionality of applications on the endpoint; and authenticating the secure web browser with a centralized proxy using a locally created key and a piece of information of the first environment (Deasy, page 6, paragraph 0055; enterprise gateway).
Regarding claim 8, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the method wherein managing access comprises supporting tunneling from the first environment to the corporate network (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4, paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding claim 9, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the method wherein supporting tunneling comprises interfacing with a networking application programming interface to ensure that connections are tunneled through a corporate gateway (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4 ,paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding claim 10, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the method wherein managing access comprises connecting the first environment to the corporate network with a virtual private network client installed or embedded in the first environment (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4, paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding claim 12, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the method further comprising the first environment automatically reflecting a currently authenticated corporate account corresponding to the user identifier to a network connectivity layer and zero-trust provider (Deasy, page 4, paragraph 0036 and page 6, paragraph 0059).
Regarding independent claim 13, Deasy teaches a stem comprising: an endpoint that obtains at least a user identifier for login to access a corporate network or corporate resource via a secure web browser instantiated in a first environment and that, after verification of a secure web browser, manages with the secure web browser, access to the corporate network or corporate resource according to a security policy, wherein the first environment is securely isolated from a second environment on the endpoint that hosts both environments, wherein the secure web browser is either a standalone browser application or a web browser application with a web browser extension added (Deasy, page 2, paragraph 0024, page 3, paragraph 0028, page 4, paragraph 0036, page 5, paragraph 0038 and page 6, paragraphs 0054-0055 & 0059; mobile device with secure isolated workspace for enterprise application; receive login to authenticate user; allow enterprise application to resume execution based on policy enforcement); and communicates the security policy to the secure web browser (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0031, page 4, paragraph 0034, and page 5, paragraph 0039 server distribute policies).
Deasy does not explicitly teach a server that verifies the secure web browser based, at least in part, on a secure web browser identifier.
Chen teaches a server that verifies the secure web browser based, at least in part, on a secure web browser identifier (Chen, page 6, paragraphs 0070-0071; server verifies integrity element of the request).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy with the teachings of Chen to verify trustworthiness to provide the advantage of ensuring integrity and reducing the amount of time required to perform verification (Chen, page 1, paragraphs 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 17, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the system wherein the endpoint supports tunneling from the first environment to the corporate network (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4, paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding claim 18, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the system wherein supporting tunneling comprises interfacing with a networking application programming interface to ensure that connections are tunneled through a corporate gateway (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4 ,paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding claim 19, Deasy in view of Chen teaches the system wherein managing access comprises connecting the first environment to the corporate network with a virtual private network client installed or embedded in the first environment (Deasy, page 3, paragraph 0029, page 4, paragraphs 0032 & 0035 and page 6, paragraphs 0055 & 0059).
Regarding independent claim 21, Deasy teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising: first instructions to obtain at least a user identifier for login to access a network or resource of an organization via a first environment or a secure web browser in the first environment and to interact with a server, wherein an endpoint hosts the first environment and a second environment; and second instructions for the secure web browser, wherein the second instructions comprise a standalone web browser application or a browser extension, (Deasy, page 2, paragraph 0024, page 3, paragraph 0028, page 4, paragraph 0036, page 5, paragraph 0038 and page 6, paragraphs 0054-0055 & 0059; mobile device with secure isolated workspace for enterprise application; receive login to authenticate users); wherein at least one of the first and second instructions comprise instructions to manage access to the network or resource according to a security policy (Deasy, page 6, paragraph 0055; allow enterprise application to resume execution based on policy enforcement).
Deasy does not explicitly teach a server of the organization to verify the secure web browser.
Chen teaches a server of the organization to verify the secure web browser (Chen, page 6, paragraphs 0070-0071; server verifies integrity element of the request).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy with the teachings of Chen to verify trustworthiness to provide the advantage of ensuring integrity and reducing the amount of time required to perform verification (Chen, page 1, paragraphs 0011-0012).
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 11, 14-6, 20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deasy et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0059642) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0102116), as applied to claims 1, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 17-19 and 21 above, and in further view of Qureshi et al. (US Patent No. 8,869,235).
Regarding claim 2, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the method wherein managing access to the corporate network or the corporate resource comprises the secure web browser determining an environment type of the endpoint, wherein managing the access is based at least in part on the determined environment type.
Qureshi teaches wherein managing access to the corporate network or the corporate resource comprises the secure web browser determining an environment type of the endpoint, wherein managing the access is based at least in part on the determined environment type (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 3, Deasy in view of Chen and in further view of Qureshi teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 2, however Qureshi teaches the method wherein determining the environment type comprises identifying connecting device type of the endpoint, wherein managing access is based, at least in part, on the security policy and the identified device type (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 4, Deasy in view of Chen and in further view of Qureshi teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 2, however Qureshi teaches the method wherein determining the environment type comprises determining whether the endpoint is a personal device or corporate owned device or the endpoint is managed or unmanaged, wherein managing access is based, at least in part, on the security policy and the determination of whether the endpoint is a personal device or corporate owned device or the endpoint is managed or unmanaged (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-62 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 5, Deasy in view of Chen and in further view of Qureshi teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 2, however Qureshi teaches the method wherein determining the environment type comprises determining a group corresponding to the user identifier, wherein managing access is based, at least in part, on the group (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-62 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device and user).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 7, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the method wherein managing access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint.
Qureshi teaches wherein managing access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 11, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the method further comprising the first environment routing network traffic from the first environment through a secure gateway of the corporate network and installing or delivering, by the server or another server of the corporate network, a certificate to the secure web browser allowing traffic inspection.
Qureshi teaches further comprising the first environment routing network traffic from the first environment through a secure gateway of the corporate network and installing or delivering, by the server or another server of the corporate network, a certificate to the secure web browser allowing traffic inspection (Qureshi, column 44, lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 14, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 13.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the system wherein the secure web browser managing access to the corporate network or the corporate resource comprises the secure web browser determining an environment type of the endpoint, wherein managing the access is based at least in part on the determined environment type.
Qureshi teaches wherein managing access to the corporate network or the corporate resource comprises the secure web browser determining an environment type of the endpoint, wherein managing the access is based at least in part on the determined environment type (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 15, Deasy in view of Chen and in further view of Qureshi teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 14, however Qureshi teaches the system wherein environment type comprises at least one of connecting device type of the endpoint, personal device or corporate owned device, managed or unmanaged, and a group corresponding to the user identifier (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-62 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 16, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 13.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the system wherein managing access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint.
Qureshi teaches wherein managing access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 20, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 13.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the system further comprising a secure gateway and the first environment programmed to route network traffic from the first environment through the secure gateway and the server or a second server that installs or delivers a certificate to the secure web browser.
Qureshi teaches a secure gateway and the first environment programmed to route network traffic from the first environment through the secure gateway and the server or a second server that installs or delivers a certificate to the secure web browser (Qureshi, column 44, lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 22, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 21.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to manage access to the network or the resource comprise instructions to determining an environment type of the endpoint and to manage the access based at least in part on the determined environment type.
Qureshi teaches wherein the instructions to manage access to the network or the resource comprise instructions to determining an environment type of the endpoint and to manage the access based at least in part on the determined environment type (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65; access policies and attribute information of device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Regarding claim 24, Deasy in view of Chen teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 21.
Deasy in view of Chen does not explicitly teach the non-transitory machine-readable medium wherein the second instructions to manage access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint.
Qureshi teaches wherein the second instructions to manage access comprises the secure web browser blocking access, allowing access, or partially blocking access based on one or more factors comprising at least one of: whether the endpoint is a corporate device or personal device; location of the user trying to access the corporate network or corporate resource; which corporate resource is being accessed and at least one of the user identifier and a group associated with the user identifier; uniform resource locator being accessed; time of day; whether the corporate resource is a Software-as-a-Service service or an on- premise installed service; authentication type used; type of activity when accessing the corporate resource, wherein the type of activity comprises one of file upload, file download, and copy; whether or not multifactor authentication has been used; whether or not trusted platform module or hardware security module has been used; risk level associated with a user corresponding to the user identifier; type of network connection being used for access and security type which is associated with the network connection; type of the secure web browser; security posture of the secure web browser; whether the endpoint is managed by the organization; applications installed on the endpoint; and utilities installed on the endpoint (Qureshi, column 15, lines 15-34 and column 46, lines 1-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deasy in with of Chen with the teachings of Qureshi to implement policies based on device information to provide the advantage of improving complication with personal mobile devices accessing enterprise resources (Qureshi, column 1, lines 15-42).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425).
Conclusion
/SHAQUEAL D WADE-WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407