DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “hook” (claim 8), the “double sided mounting tape” (claim 10), the “clip or clasp” (claim 15), and the “double-sided wall mounting adhesive located on a rear side of the frame body” (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The word “sustainable” and the phrase “eco-friendly” are vague. It would not be possible to determine with precision when the claim was infringed because it would not be possible to know when a material is considered sustainable and eco-friendly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vallar (2013/0125436).
Vallar discloses a floating picture frame, comprising: a frame body (10, Fig. 2b) having an outer frame (16, Fig. 2b) and an inner mounting plate (14, Fig. 2b), wherein a channel (30, Fig. 2b) is formed between the outer frame and the inner mounting plate; wherein the channel encircles the inner mounting plate and is accessible from a front side of the frame body; wherein the mounting plate comprises a front side (44, Fig. 2a) with a retention mechanism (paragraph 0028) adapted to receive a picture element (20, Fig. 2b) thereon.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, see paragraph 0030.
Regarding claim 9, see Fig. 2b.
Regarding claim 11, the image disclosed by Vallar is a photograph (paragraph 0028). The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the limitation that the photo is formed by metal dye sublimation does not distinguish over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Pirayesh et al. (2015/0132528).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose a support member on the back side of the frame body. Pirayesh teaches providing a support (34, Fig. 4) to support the fame body in an upright position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame body disclosed by Vallar with a support, as taught by Pirayesh, in order to support the frame body in an upright position.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Pirayesh discloses apertures (20, Fig. 4) that enable the frame body to be positioned in either a portrait or landscape configuration.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Pirayesh et al. (2015/0132528), as applied to claim 7, above, and further in view of Wheeler (3,146,981).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose a hook and a frame mounting bracket. Wheeler teaches using a hook (Fig. 5) to mount a picture frame to a wall by a picture frame mounting bracket (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame body disclosed by Vallar with a hook and a picture frame mounting bracket, as taught by Wheeler, in order to mount the frame body to a vertical surface.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Fortunato Honeyman (2017/0273478).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose attaching the picture element to the mounting plate with double sided tape. Fortunato Honeyman teaches attaching a picture element to a mounting plate with double sided tape (paragraph 0029). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the picture element disclosed by Vallar to the mounting plate, as taught by Fortunato Honeyman, in order to secure the picture element to the mounting plate.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Splittgerber (2007/0204500).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose magnets as a retention mechanism. Splittgerber teaches using magnets as a retention mechanism (paragraph 0029). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use magnets as the retention mechanism in the frame disclosed by Vallar, as taught by Splittgerber, in order to make the retention mechanism readily and repeatably releasable.
Regarding claim 13, note elements 14 and 15 disclosed by Splittgerber.
Regarding claim 14, Splittgerber teaches that the magnets can be embedded (paragraph 0037) and Vallar discloses that the picture element is flush with the front face of the mounting plate.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Byfield (2014/0144055).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose using a clip or clasp as a retention mechanism. Byfield teaches using a clip as a retention mechanism (paragraph 0072). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a clasp, as taught by Byfield, for the retention mechanism disclosed by Vallar because it is considered obvious to substitute components that are known to be equivalent for the same purpose, as a matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallar (2013/0125436) in view of Tsai (2018/0311999).
Vallar discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Vallar does not disclose a wall mounting member that comprises double-sided adhesive. Tsai teaches using double-sided adhesive to attach a frame to a wall. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Vallar with a double-sided adhesive on the rear side thereof, as taught by Tsai, in order to mount the frame to a wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631