DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al., U.S. Pat. No. 5,917,643.
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe discloses: An optical module comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a light source configured to output light (the optical component of semiconductor laser 11 which emits light towards lens 12; column 4, lines 33-58 and FIG. 1 of Watanabe);
an isolator configured to have magnetic force and transmit the light (a magnetic field is established within optical isolator 1, wherein the optical isolator transmits light from the semiconductor laser 11 towards the light-output side [optical material 6]; column 4, line 33 – column 5, line 11 and FIG. 1 of Watanabe);
a housing configured to have a plurality of surfaces and accommodate the light source and the isolator (a housing which accommodates the semiconductor laser 11 and optical isolator 1 is formed of two parts [including isolator tube 2] joined by an annular cap 15 through laser welding, and such housing has a plurality of inner surfaces; column 4, line 33 – column 5, line 37 and FIGS. 1-3 of Watanabe); and
a magnetic body configured to be positioned between at least one of the plurality of surfaces of the housing and the isolator (cylindrical hollow magnet 4 is positioned between an inner surface of isolator tube 2 and the Faraday's rotator 5 of isolator 1; FIGS. 1, 3 of Watanabe).
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the magnetic body is at least positioned between a surface having a shortest distance to the isolator among the plurality of surfaces of the housing and the isolator (cylindrical hollow magnet 4 is positioned between an inner surface of isolator tube 2 having the shortest distance to the Faraday's rotator 5 of isolator 1; FIGS. 1, 3 of Watanabe).
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the optical module is a laser unit (semiconductor laser 11 which emits light towards lens 12; column 4, lines 33-58 and FIG. 1 of Watanabe).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Yahagi et al., U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2026/0267178 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the magnetic body is made of a material containing 40% or more of Kovar or iron.
Yahagi is related to Watanabe with respect to optical isolator device.
Yahagi teaches: wherein the magnetic body is made of a material containing 40% or more of Kovar or iron (hollow magnet 7 is preferably made of a neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB)-based magnet [iron content approximately 65%]; paragraphs [0023], [0080] and FIGS. 1, 2 of Yahagi; the Office notes that this claim is interpreted as requiring a material which is 40% or more of kovar, or a material which is 40% or more of iron).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the neodymium-iron-boron [NdFeB] of Yahagi for the magnet of Watanabe because such a strong magnet enables a smaller, more compact size, to be used but still attain a high magnetic flux density, as taught in paragraphs [0024], [0080] of Yahagi.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Zhang et al., U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2005/0025211 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not appear to disclose: wherein the housing is made of a material containing at least Kovar.
Zhang is related to Watanabe with respect to laser and isolator configuration.
Zhang teaches: wherein the housing is made of a material containing at least Kovar (housing 501 made of copper or kovar; paragraph [0029] and FIG. 5 of Zhang; the Office notes that although the term “Kovar” may be a trademark name, it is believed, based on the relevant patent literature, that such term is also a generic term for iron—nickel—cobalt [Fe—Ni—Co] alloys which have a thermal expansion similar to glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the kovar material of Zhang for the device of Watanabe because such material has a good thermal conducting property, which is important for heat dissipation, as evidenced by Abstract and paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0021], [0029], [0030], [0037] of Zhang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would each be allowable if amended to include all of the limitations of their base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 3, although the prior art discloses various optical modules which include a magnet that can be identified as either the claimed “magnetic body” or the claimed “magnet”, and thus disclose Claim 1 as follows:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest two different magnets which would correspond to the claimed “magnetic body” and the claimed “magnet”, respectively, such that the features of Claim 3 would be further disclosed as follows:
With respect to Claims 4-7, these claims each depend from Claim 3 and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons explained above.
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of References
Although various text and figures of the cited references have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of each reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872