DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of figures 7-8 in the reply filed on 06/02/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 20 and 25-28 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0250189, hereafter referred to as ‘Choe ‘189.’ in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0236388, hereafter referred to as ‘De Wind ‘388.
Regarding claim 1, Choe ‘189.’ teaches a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (figures 1-11) and para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising: a mirror head (see mirror head in fig. 1 and figure 2) ) connected to a mounting base (see mounting base in figures 1-2), wherein the mounting base is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32); wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (10, 100) and a video display screen (20, 200); wherein with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (para. #’s 31-32), the video display screen (20, 200) is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver; wherein the video display screen is disposed within the mirror head and behind the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32), and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, video images displayed at the video display screen are viewable by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32); wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (i) is operable in a mirror state where the video display screen is not electrically operated and the mirror reflective element provides the rearward view for the driver (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32) and (ii) is operable in a display state where the video display screen is electrically operated to display video images for viewing by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32); wherein the video display screen comprises a liquid crystal display video display screen (29, 290) and a backlight assembly (see figure 1b, backlight is defined by H4 and see figure 2b, backlight is defined by H1) disposed within the mirror head and behind the video display screen (figures 1-2), and wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the backlight assembly emits light to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images for viewing by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32); and wherein the backlight assembly comprises (i) a reflector 220 that reflects light incident at the backlight assembly and (ii) a light guide (see para. #45, resin 250 is a thinner light guide that functions just like conventional light guide 25 of figure 1 and just replaces the conventional light guide plate) that guides the reflected light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32).
However, Choe ‘189 fails to explicitly teach that the mirror head is adjustable relative to a mounting base and the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver.
De Wind ‘388 teaches a rearview mirror (10, 110) comprising a mirror head (12, 112) which is adjustable (para. #’s 45 and 57) relative to a mounting base (18, 118) and the mirror head is adjustable (para. #’s 45 and 57) by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror head is adjustable relative to a mounting base and the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver as taught by De Wind ‘388 in order to accommodate different driver’s based on height and preferences.
Regarding claim 2, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 as applied in 35 USC 103 rejection above teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 1. However, Choe ‘189 does not explicitly teach wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at a mirror back plate of the mirror head, and wherein the video display screen is disposed behind the mirror reflective element and between the mirror reflective element and the mirror back plate.
De Wind ‘388 teaches wherein a mirror reflective element 14 attached at a mirror back plate (para. # 48) of a mirror head 12, and wherein the video display screen (para. #’ 134) is disposed behind the mirror reflective element and between the mirror reflective element and the mirror back plate (para. #’s 45-48).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror reflective element is attached at a mirror back plate of the mirror head, and wherein the video display screen is disposed behind the mirror reflective element and between the mirror reflective element and the mirror back plate as taught by De Wind ‘388 in order to easily disassemble so as to replace parts.
Regarding claim 3, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 as applied in 35 USC 103 rejection above teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 2. De Wind ‘388 further teaches wherein the mirror back plate is accommodated by a mirror casing of the mirror head (para. # 48).
Regarding claim 4, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 3. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (para. #’s 31-32).
However, Choe ‘189 fails to teach an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate and the mirror casing to electrically connect the LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle.
De Wind ‘388 teaches an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate (para. #’s 134 and 138) and the mirror casing to electrically connect electronics, such as an LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle (para. #’s 134 and 138).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate and the mirror casing to electrically connect the LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle as taught by De Wind ‘388 in order to provide power to the mirror electronics of Choe ‘189.
Regarding claim 6, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 3. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the mirror back plate is snap attached at the mirror casing of the mirror head.
De Wind ‘388 teaches the mirror back plate is snap attached at the mirror casing of the mirror head (para. # 48).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror back plate is snap attached at the mirror casing of the mirror head as taught by De Wind ‘388 in easily assembly or disassemble to mirror head assembly of Choe ‘189.
Regarding claim 7, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 1. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the reflector 220 reflects ambient light incident at the backlight assembly and the light guide 250 guides the reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 43-47).
Regarding claim 8, Choe ‘189 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 7. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the light guide 250 has a front side and a rear side, and wherein the front side is closer to the video display screen 290 than the rear side, and wherein the reflector 220 is disposed at the rear side of the light guide (fig. 2b).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0375833, hereafter referred to as ‘Larson ‘833.’
Regarding claim 12, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 8. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the backlight assembly comprises (i) a diffuser 270 between the front side of the light guide 250 and the LCD video display screen 290 (fig. 2b). However, Choe ‘189 does not explicitly teach (ii) a brightness enhancement film (BEF) between the front side of the light guide and the LCD video display screen and (iii) a polarizer between the front side of the light guide and the LCD video display screen.
Larson ‘833 teaches a mirror assembly comprising a brightness enhancement film (BEF) between the front side of the light guide (para. # 31) and the LCD video display screen and (iii) a polarizer (para. # 31) between the front side of the light guide and the LCD video display screen.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror assembly comprising a brightness enhancement film (BEF) between the front side of the light guide and the LCD video display screen and a polarizer between the front side of the light guide and the LCD video display screen in order to enhance the backlighting of Choe ‘189.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0088055, hereafter referred to as ‘Cammenga ‘055.’
Regarding claim 13, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 1. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element.
Cammenga ‘055 teaches when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element (para. # 21).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element as taught by Cammenga ‘055 in order to provide a larger view of the display for the driver.
Regarding claim 14, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 1. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the mirror reflective element comprises an electrochromic mirror reflective element (para. #’s 33-41).
Regarding claim 15, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 1. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein an electrically operable light source i230 s accommodated within the mirror head (fig. 2b), and wherein, when the electrically operable light source 230 is electrically operated to emit light, the light guide guides 250 the emitted light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display the video images (para. #’s 44-55).
Regarding claim 16, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 15. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the backlight assembly is adjustable between (i) a reflective display mode where the electrically operable light source is not electrically operated to emit light and the light guide guides reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32) and (ii) a transflective display mode where the electrically operable light source is electrically operated to emit light and the light guide guides the emitted light and the reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32).
Claims 18-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388.
Regarding claim 18, Choe ‘189.’ teaches a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (figures 1-11) and para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising: a mirror head (see mirror head in fig. 1 and figure 2) connected to a mounting base (see mounting base in figures 1-2), wherein the mounting base is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32); wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (10, 100) and a video display screen (20, 200); wherein with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (para. #’s 31-32), the video display screen (20, 200) is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver; wherein the video display screen is disposed within the mirror head and behind the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32), and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, video images displayed at the video display screen are viewable by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 10-11 and 31-32); wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (i) is operable in a mirror state where the video display screen is not electrically operated and the mirror reflective element provides the rearward view for the driver (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32) and (ii) is operable in a display state where the video display screen is electrically operated to display video images for viewing by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32); wherein the video display screen comprises a liquid crystal display video display screen (29, 290) and a backlight assembly (see figure 1b, backlight is defined by H4 and see figure 2b, backlight is defined by H1) disposed within the mirror head and behind the video display screen (figures 1-2), and wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the backlight assembly emits light to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images for viewing by the driver through the mirror reflective element (para. #’s 11-12 and 31-32); and wherein the backlight assembly comprises (i) a reflector 220 that reflects light incident at the backlight assembly and (ii) a light guide (see para. #45, resin 250 is a thinner light guide that functions just like conventional light guide 25 of figure 1 and just replaces the conventional light guide plate) that guides the reflected light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32); wherein an electrically operable light source 230 is accommodated within the mirror head (fig. 2b), and wherein, when the electrically operable light source 230 is electrically operated to emit light, the light guide guides the emitted light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32 and 44-55); wherein the reflector 220 reflects ambient light incident at the backlight assembly and the light guide 250 guides the reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to at least partially backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32 and 44-55; and wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the backlight assembly is adjustable between (i) a reflective display mode where the electrically operable light source is not electrically operated to emit light and the light guide guides reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32) and (ii) a transflective display mode where the electrically operable light source is electrically operated to emit light and the light guide guides the emitted light and the reflected ambient light toward the LCD video display screen to backlight the LCD video display screen and display video images (para. #’s 31-32).
However, Choe ‘189 fails to explicitly teach that the mirror reflective element is attached at a mirror back plate of the mirror head, and wherein the video display screen is disposed behind the mirror reflective element and between the mirror reflective element and the mirror back plate and the mirror head is adjustable relative to a mounting base and the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver.
De Wind ‘388 teaches a rearview mirror (10, 110) comprising a mirror reflective element 14 is attached at a mirror back plate (para. # 48) of the mirror head (12, 112), and wherein the video display screen is disposed behind the mirror reflective element and between the mirror reflective element and the mirror back plate (para. #’s 45-48 and 134). A mirror head (12, 112) is adjustable (para. #’s 45 and 57) relative to a mounting base (18, 118) and the mirror head is adjustable (para. #’s 45 and 57) by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror head includes a back plate in order to provide an easy to assemble/disassemble the mirror head casing.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that the mirror head is adjustable relative to a mounting base and the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver as taught by De Wind ‘388 in order to accommodate different driver’s based on height and preferences.
Regarding claim 19, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 18. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (para. #’s 31-32).
However, Choe ‘189 fails to teach an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate and the mirror casing to electrically connect the LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle.
De Wind ‘388 teaches an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate (para. #’s 134 and 138) and the mirror casing to electrically connect the LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle (para. #’s 134 and 138).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that an electrical connector extends along a peripheral edge region of the mirror back plate between the mirror back plate and the mirror casing to electrically connect the LCD video display screen to a power source of the vehicle as taught by De Wind ‘388 in order to provide power to the mirror electronics of Choe ‘189.
Regarding claim 21, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 18. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the light guide 250 has a front side and a rear side, and wherein the front side is closer to the video display screen 290 than the rear side, and wherein the reflector 220 is disposed at the rear side of the light guide (fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 23, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 18. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein the mirror reflective element 100 comprises an electrochromic mirror reflective element (para. #’s 33-41).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 further in view of Cammenga ‘055.
Regarding claim 22, Choe ‘189 in view of De Wind ‘388 teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly of claim 18. Choe ‘189 further teaches wherein, when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element.
Cammenga ‘055 teaches when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element (para. # 21).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the mirror assembly of Choe ‘189 so that when the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly is operated in the display state, the video are viewable through at least a portion of the mirror reflective element, and wherein the portion spans at least 90 percent of the mirror reflective element as taught by Cammenga ‘055 in order to provide a larger view of the display for the driver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 17 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huizen ‘984 discloses a mirror assembly with backlighting features.
/THOMAS M SEMBER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875