DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-20 as amended and new claim 21 as set forth in applicant’s response filed 28 August 2026 are under consideration. Claims 6, 10-11 are cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the prior indefiniteness grounds of rejection of record, and these ground are thus withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
New issues of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are identified and recited below.
Applicant’s specification and drawings are also objected to for the reasons stated below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s specification at page 10 paragraph [0058] recites “The connection structure 32 is configured to connect the first electrode layer 51 of a first cell unit 21 and the second electrode layer 52 of a second cell unit 22 among the plurality of cell units 2, the first cell unit 21 and the second cell unit 22 being adjacent to each other. To be specific, the plurality of cell units 2 include adjacent first cell unit 21 and second cell unit 22, and the connection structure 32 is configured to connect the first electrode layer 51 of the first cell unit 21 and the second electrode layer 52 of the second cell unit 22, so as to implement series connection between the first cell unit 21 and the second cell unit 22.” which is not the interconnection structure illustrated in any of Figs. 1-3 and 6-7 which instead illustrate where the connection structure 32 connects the second electrode layer 52 of first cell unit 21 to the first electrode layer 51 of the second cell unit 22.
The same arrangement of “The connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit” is also recited in applicant’s Abstract and paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0030], [0062], and [0124] of the specification which are also objected to for the same reasoning above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 2022 for “second second cell unit”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22” has been used to designate both “second cell unit” and “first second cell unit”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the “the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units” but the structure of the interconnection structure including a first isolation structure, a second isolation structure as claimed appears to be for an arrangement where the connection structure is configured to connect the second electrode layer of a first cell unit and the first electrode layer of a second cell unit, which is the arrangement illustrated in applicant’s Figs. 1-3 and 6-7 where connection structure 32 connects second electrode layer 52 of first cell unit 21 to first electrode layer 51 of second cell unit 22. As such, the scope of claim 1 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 12-21 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “the first insulating wall” but claim 1 from which claim 9 depends lacks antecedent basis for this recitation as no first insulating wall was previously defined and it’s not clear what structure is being referenced. Thus the scope of claim 9 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han (US 2014/0261680).
Regarding claim 1 Han discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units (Fig. 1, C1, C2, C3, C4 …) arranged in a first direction, wherein the cell unit (Fig. 3) comprises a first electrode layer (back electrode layer 200), a second electrode layer (front electrode layer 500), and a plurality of functional layers (buffer layer 400 and light absorbing layer 300) located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 3), arranged in a second direction;
an interconnection structure (Fig. 3, paras [0032]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0063]), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 and second grooves TH2 with side insulating part 610), a connection structure (connecting wire 600), and a second isolation structure (third grooves TH3); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 3 paras [0034]-[0035]), the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Figs. 1 and 3); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit ([0041]-[0042], Fig. 3 see: first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 insulating between back electrode layers 200 of adjacent cells C1, C2), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure ([0036]-[0039], Fig. 3 see: second grooves TH2 with side insulating part 610 isolating buffer layers 400 and light absorbing layers 300 of adjacent cells C1, C2); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure ([0063], Fig. 3 see: third grooves TH3 isolating front electrode layers 500, buffer layers 400 and light absorbing layers 300 of adjacent cells C1, C2);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction ([0063], Fig. 3 see: third groove TH3 extending from front electrode layer 500 to back electrode layer 200);
wherein the first isolation structure comprises a second insulating wall (first side insulating part 210) and a first insulating layer (side insulating part 610), the second insulating wall extending from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3), the first insulating layer being attached to a side of the groove between the functional layers of the first cell unit and the connection structure (Fig. 3 see: side insulating part 610 between layers 300, 400 of C1 and connecting wire 600) such that a distance between the first insulating layer and the second insulating wall being greater than 0 (Fig. 3 see: distance between 210 and 610 greater than 0).
Regarding the claim 1 recitation “and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove” Han at paras [0032]-[0033] recites that the connecting wire 600 is formed integral with the front electrode layer 500 where a material of the connecting wire 600 is the same as a material of the front electrode layer 500. By this recitation, the connection structure of Han can be construed as a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove as an edge of 500 forms a surface of a wall of TH3 in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 2 Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer (light absorbing layer 300), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure (Fig. 3 see: side insulating part 610 isolating light absorbing layer 300 from connecting wire 600).
Regarding claim 9 Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein a material of the first insulating wall comprises at least one of epoxy resin, melamine formaldehyde resin, polycarbonate polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, phenolic plastic, silicon boron, a metal oxide, and an ionic- structured inorganic solid ([0038], [0042] see: first side insulating part 210 and side insulating part 610 formed of a material such as a metal oxide layer or Poly Methyl Methacrylate (PMMA)).
Regarding claim 21 Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the second insulating wall has a same thickness as the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3 see: first side insulating part 210 with same thickness as back electrode layer 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2014/0261680), and further in view of Lim (US 2014/0261678).
Regarding claim 1 Han discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units (Fig. 1, C1, C2, C3, C4 …) arranged in a first direction, wherein the cell unit (Fig. 3) comprises a first electrode layer (back electrode layer 200), a second electrode layer (front electrode layer 500), and a plurality of functional layers (buffer layer 400 and light absorbing layer 300) located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 3), arranged in a second direction;
an interconnection structure (Fig. 3, paras [0032]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0063]), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 and second grooves TH2 with side insulating part 610), a connection structure (connecting wire 600), and a second isolation structure (third grooves TH3); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 3 paras [0034]-[0035]), the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Figs. 1 and 3); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit ([0041]-[0042], Fig. 3 see: first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 insulating between back electrode layers 200 of adjacent cells C1, C2), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure ([0036]-[0039], Fig. 3 see: second grooves TH2 with side insulating part 610 isolating buffer layers 400 and light absorbing layers 300 of adjacent cells C1, C2); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure ([0063], Fig. 3 see: third grooves TH3 isolating front electrode layers 500, buffer layers 400 and light absorbing layers 300 of adjacent cells C1, C2);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction ([0063], Fig. 3 see: third groove TH3 extending from front electrode layer 500 to back electrode layer 200);
wherein the first isolation structure comprises a second insulating wall (first side insulating part 210) and a first insulating layer (side insulating part 610), the second insulating wall extending from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3), the first insulating layer being attached to a side of the groove between the functional layers of the first cell unit and the connection structure (Fig. 3 see: side insulating part 610 between layers 300, 400 of C1 and connecting wire 600) such that a distance between the first insulating layer and the second insulating wall being greater than 0 (Fig. 3 see: distance between 210 and 610 greater than 0).
Regarding the claim 1 recitation “and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove” Han at paras [0032]-[0033] recites that the connecting wire 600 is formed integral with the front electrode layer 500 where a material of the connecting wire 600 is the same as a material of the front electrode layer 500. By this recitation, the connection structure of Han can be construed as a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove as an edge of 500 forms a surface of a wall of TH3 in Fig. 3.
In the alternative, where it’s not clear that Han discloses wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove.
Lim discloses a thin-film solar cell module interconnections structure where the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove of the second isolation structure (Lim, [0061]-[0062] Fig. 3, see: connection part 800 forms a wall of second through hole th2 forming the separating space)) formed by overlapping the second and third through holes thus reducing a dead zone formed by these through holes to increase device short circuit current density (Lim, [0013]).
Lim and Han are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Han in view of Lim such that the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove as in Lim ([0061]-[0062] Fig. 3, see: connection part 800 forms a wall of second through hole th2 forming the separating space)) as Lim teaches by overlapping the second and third through holes in this manner it reduces a dead zone formed by these through holes to increase device short circuit current density (Lim, [0013]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer (light absorbing layer 300), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure (Fig. 3 see: side insulating part 610 isolating light absorbing layer 300 from connecting wire 600).
Regarding claim 8 modified Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 8 recitation “a size of the second insulating wall is 10 μm to 80 μm” Han discloses a width (size) of the first side insulating part 210 (second insulating wall) is approximately 1 μm to 10 μm (para [0043]) which overlaps applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 9 modified Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein a material of the first insulating wall comprises at least one of epoxy resin, melamine formaldehyde resin, polycarbonate polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, phenolic plastic, silicon boron, a metal oxide, and an ionic- structured inorganic solid ([0038], [0042] see: first side insulating part 210 and side insulating part 610 formed of a material such as a metal oxide layer or Poly Methyl Methacrylate (PMMA)).
Regarding claim 13 modified Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 13 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm” Han discloses the width of the third groove TH3 (second isolation structure) is approximately 40 μm to 150 μm in para [0063] which substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 21 modified Han discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the second insulating wall has a same thickness as the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3 see: first side insulating part 210 with same thickness as back electrode layer 200).
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) and further in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) and in further view of Han (US 2014/0261680).
Regarding claim 1 Reid discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Figs. 11, or 17 see: first and second photoactive regions 133a and 133b), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (first conductive layer 102), a second electrode layer (second conductive layer 104), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 when perovskite comprises multiple functional layers), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure (para [0111], Figs. 11, or 17), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (insulator material 143 in separation channel 140), a connection structure (electrical connector 135), and a second isolation structure (gap 148); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units, the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Fig. 11 see: electrical connector 135 connects second conductive layer 104 of first photoactive region 133a to first conductive layer 102 of second photoactive region 133b); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates first conductive layers 102 and photoactive layers 103 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates second conductive layers 104 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates photoactive layer 103 of photoactive region 133b from electrical connector 135);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction (Figs. 11, 14, 17 see: gap 148 extends from second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102);
wherein the first isolation structure comprises a second insulating wall (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140) and a first insulating layer (Fig. 1 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147), the first insulating layer being attached to a side of the groove between the functional layers of the first cell unit and the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 adjacent electrical connector 135) such that a distance between the first insulating layer and the second insulating wall being greater than 0 (Fig. 11 see: distance between insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 and insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 greater than 0).
Regarding the claim 1 recitation “and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove” the electrical connector 135 can be interpreted to include the conductive portion extending to gap 148 and thus forming a surface of a wall of gap 148. In the alternative where it’s not clear that Reid discloses wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove, Park discloses a thin film solar cell interconnections structure where a where a connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of a groove of a second isolation structure (Park, [0014], [0073], Figs. 1-2, 6-7 see: first conductive layer 700 provided on front electrode 600 and in second through hole TH2, a material of which forms a surface of a wall of the third through hole TH3). Park discloses this material improves characteristics such as electrical conductivity and series resistance and reducing the contact resistance of the solar cell (Park, [0041]).
Park and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Park such that the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove as in Park ([0014], [0073], Figs. 1-2, 6-7 see: first conductive layer 700 provided on front electrode 600 and in second through hole TH2, a material of which forms a surface of a wall of the third through hole TH3) as Park discloses this material improves characteristics such as electrical conductivity and series resistance and reducing the contact resistance of the solar cell (Park, [0041]).
Regarding the claim 1 recitation “the second insulating wall extending from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction” Reid at Fig. 11 illustrates where insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends between surface of substrate 101 and lower surface 133b2 of first conductive layer 102 which meets these limitations where these limitations is not interpreted as limiting the extent of the second insulating wall to between only these surfaces.
Alternatively, where it’s not clear Reid discloses the second insulating wall extending from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, this is taught by the prior art of Han ([0041]-[0042], Fig. 3 see: first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 extending between first and second surfaces of back electrode layer 200) which prevents leakage of currents between first electrode layers of adjacent cell units while allowing a greater volume of the light absorbing layer to improve photoelectric conversion efficiency (paras [0011], [0042]).
Han and modified Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Han such that the second insulating wall extends from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction as in Han ([0041]-[0042], Fig. 3 see: first grooves TH1 with first side insulating part 210 extending between first and second surfaces of back electrode layer 200) as Han teaches this prevents leakage of currents between first electrode layers of adjacent cell units while allowing a greater volume of the light absorbing layer to improve photoelectric conversion efficiency (paras [0011], [0042]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 comprises a perovskite absorber layer 109), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure (Figs. 2 and 11 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 separates perovskite 109 in photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135) .
Regarding claim 3 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the cell unit comprises ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11) the first electrode layer (102), a first charge transport layer (n-type region 105), a first light absorption layer (photoactive perovskite 109), a second charge transport layer (p-type region 108), and the second electrode layer (104) sequentially arranged on a substrate (101), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the first charge transport layer, the first light absorption layer, and the second charge transport layer (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 separates entire photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 5 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, and Reid discloses wherein the first insulating layer extends from the second electrode layer to the substrate in the second direction (Figs. 11, or 17 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 extends from second conductive layer 104 to substrate/base layer 101).
Regarding claim 7 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the second electrode layer protrudes from the first insulating layer in the second direction at a position corresponding to the first insulating layer, to cause the connection structure to be electrically connected to the second electrode layer ([0110]-[0111], [0114]-[0116] Figs. 11 and 17 see: second conductive layer 104 protrudes over insulator material 143 over interface 149 to connect to electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 8 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 8 recitation “a size of the second insulating wall is 10 μm to 80 μm” Han discloses a width (size) of the first side insulating part 210 (second insulating wall) is approximately 1 μm to 10 μm (para [0043]) which overlaps applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 9 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Han discloses wherein a material of the first insulating wall comprises at least one of epoxy resin, melamine formaldehyde resin, polycarbonate polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, phenolic plastic, silicon boron, a metal oxide, and an ionic- structured inorganic solid ([0038], [0042] see: first side insulating part 210 and side insulating part 610 formed of a material such as a metal oxide layer or Poly Methyl Methacrylate (PMMA)).
Regarding claim 12 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, and Reid discloses wherein the second isolation structure extends from the first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer distal from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer distal from the substrate (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 extends through second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102 at surface 133b2).
Regarding claim 13 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 13 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm” Han discloses the width of the third groove TH3 (second isolation structure) is approximately 40 μm to 150 μm in para [0063] which substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 21 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Han discloses wherein the second insulating wall has a same thickness as the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3 see: first side insulating part 210 with same thickness as back electrode layer 200).
Claims 4, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) in view of Han (US 2014/0261680) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 21 above, and further in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761) and in further view of Bosman (US 2020/0266317).
Regarding claim 4 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer, a third charge transport layer, a second light absorption layer, and a fourth charge transport layer sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer and the second electrode layer, and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer.
However, Bosman teaches it was known to further provide thin-film solar cell photoactive layers with additional subcell layers such as (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise CIGS (Copper indium gallium (di) selenide) or perovskite material or a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites).
Kamino teaches in such tandem subcell arrangements the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode). Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]).
Bosman, Kamino and Reid are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kamino such that the cell unit of Reid further comprises a third electrode layer as in Kamino ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode) as Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the first isolation structure in Kamino such that it isolates the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer as Bosman teaches such isolation structures can extend through multiple subcells to provide serial interconnection between adjacent cell units (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites which through which isolating ink 36 extends).
Regarding claim 16 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and Kamino further discloses wherein a bandgap of the first light absorption layer is greater than a bandgap of the second light absorption layer ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 17 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and Kamino further discloses wherein both the first light absorption layer and the second light absorption layer are perovskite layers ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 19 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and regarding the claim 19 limitations “wherein a thickness of the first charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the first light absorption layer is 100 nm to 400 nm, a thickness of the second charge transport layer is 20 nm to 60 nm, a thickness of the third electrode layer is 1 nm to 3 nm, a thickness of the third charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the second light absorption layer is 600 nm to 800 nm, a thickness of the fourth charge transport layer is 30 nm to 50 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode layer is 100 nm to 200 nm” Kamino discloses in paras [0145]-[0149] and [0154] thickness ranges of the charge transport layers (n-type layer, p-type layer, scaffold layer), thickness ranges of the perovskite absorption layers, a thickness range of the third electrode (intermediate region), and a thickness range of the second electrode layer (back electrode thickness) that substantially overlap the claimed thickness ranges. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) in view of Han (US 2014/0261680) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 21 above, and further in view of Oshima et al (JP2000058886A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claims 13-15 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and alternatively Reid does not explicitly disclose wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a distance between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure is 200 μm to 300 μm; and/or in the first direction, a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm.
However, Oshima teaches a thin-film solar cell with an interconnection region wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]). Oshima teaches such sizes are selected in consideration of making the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element (para [0027]).
Oshima and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Oshima such that wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm as in Oshima (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]) as such a selection of these dimensions allows the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element to be as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element as taught by Oshima (para [0027]).
Furthermore, regarding the claim 15 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm” Oshima discloses in Fig. 1(b) and para [0027] a range of a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm which entirely encompasses applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) in view of Han (US 2014/0261680) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-13, 16-17, 19, and 21 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0059294).
Regarding claim 18 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and although Bosman teaches the light absorption layers can include CIGS and perovskite (para [0054]) and Kamino teaches the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer (Fig. 6c), modified Reid does not explicitly disclose wherein the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer.
However, Wang discloses in such tandem cells, the first light absorption layer can be a copper indium gallium selenium layer ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, So, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used, some embodiments could comprise bottom cell perovskite).
Wang and modified Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Wang such that the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer as in Wang ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, so, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used it can comprise a bottom cell perovskite) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known absorber material for its intended use in a tandem solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing absorption of light at a shorter wavelength spectrum compared to a lower bandgap perovskite bottom cell.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) in view of Han (US 2014/0261680) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 21 above, and further in view of Kurata et al (US 2001/0035205).
Regarding claim 20 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose an electric apparatus, comprising the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the thin-film solar cell is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus.
However, Kurata teaches it is well known to provide such thin-film solar cells as part of an electric apparatus configured to supply power to the electric apparatus (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators).
Kurata and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kurata such that the thin-film solar cell of Reid is part of an electric apparatus and is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus as in Kurata (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators) for the express purpose of functioning as a power supply in such an apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ohmi’208 (US 2011/0253208) and Ohmi’568 (US 2013/0118568) are cited as pertinent to disclosing insulating wall structures as recited in claim 1.
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726