DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are under consideration as amended in applicant’s response filed 17 June 2026. Claim 11 is cancelled by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the prior indefiniteness grounds of rejection of record, and these ground are thus withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was discovered and new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have raised new issues of indefiniteness recited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the substrate” in the last line but does not previously define a substrate and thus lacks antecedent basis for the recitation of the substrate as it’s not clear what substrate claim 12 is referencing. As such, the scope of claim 12 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seiler et al (US 2014/0014156).
Regarding claim 1 Seiler discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Fig. 11, two adjacent cells 12, 14), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (Fig. 11, back electrode 52), a second electrode layer (Fig. 11, front electrodes 56, 58), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer ([0088], Figs. 7-8, see: semiconductor layer 36 comprising a lower layer 38 and an upper junction layer 40, and an optional lower layer 46), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure ([0103], Fig. 11 see: area 78 with conductive solution 76 and space 82), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure ([0103], Fig. 11 see: area 78 including first trench 70), a connection structure (conductive solution 76), and a second isolation structure (space 82 with second trench 72); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 11 see: conductive solution 76 connecting back electrode 54 and front electrode 56 between cells 12, 14), the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Fig. 11); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure ([0103], Fig. 11 see: first trench 70 isolating back electrodes 52, 54 from each other and layers 38, 40, 46 of cell 12 from conductive solution 76); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit (Fig. 11, see: space 82 with second trench 72 separating front electrodes 56, 58), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11, see: space 82 with second trench 72 separating layers 38, 40, 46 of cell 12 from conductive solution 76);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 11, see: space 82 with second trench 72 extending to back electrode 54), and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove ([0103], Fig. 11 see: conductive solution 76 forming a surface of a wall of second trench 72.
Regarding claim 12 Seiler discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the second isolation structure extends from a first surface of the second electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer distal from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer distal from the substrate (Fig. 11 see: space 82 with second trench 72 extending through front electrodes 56, 58 to surface of back electrode 54 distal from the substrate 32).
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim (US 2014/0261678).
Regarding claim 1 Lim discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Fig. 1 see: cells C1, C2, … arranged in second direction), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (Fig. 3 see: back electrode layer 200), a second electrode layer (Fig. 3, front electrode layer 600), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, light absorbing layer 300, buffer layer 400, high resistance buffer layer 500), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure ([0062], Fig. 3 see: first through hole th1, connection part 800 and second through hole th2), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (Fig. 3, first through hole th1 with insulating part 700), a connection structure (connection part 800), and a second isolation structure (second through hole th2); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units, the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Fig. 3 see: back electrode layer 200 and front electrode layer 600 of adjacent cells connected through connection part 800); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 3 see: first through hole th1 with insulating part 700 isolating adjacent back electrodes 200 of adjacent cells and isolating layers 300, 400, 500 from connection part 800); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit (Fig. 3 see: second through hole th2 isolating adjacent front electrodes 600 of adjacent cells from each other), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure Fig. 3 see: second through hole th2 isolating layers 300, 400, 500 from connection part 800);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 3 see: second through hole th2 extending through front electrodes 600 to back electrode 200) and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove (Fig. 3 see: connection part 800 forms a wall of second through hole th2 forming the separating space).
Regarding claim 12 Lim discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the second isolation structure extends from a first surface of the second electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer distal from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer distal from the substrate (Fig. 3 see: second through hole th2 extends through front electrodes 600 to surface of back electrode 200 distal from substrate 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) and further in view of Park (US 2014/0230891).
Regarding claim 1 Reid discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Figs. 11, 14, or 17 see: first and second photoactive regions 133a and 133b), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (first conductive layer 102), a second electrode layer (second conductive layer 104), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 when perovskite comprises multiple functional layers), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure (para [0111], Figs. 11, 14, 17), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (insulator material 143 in separation channel 140), a connection structure (electrical connector 135), and a second isolation structure (gap 148); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units, the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Fig. 11 see: electrical connector 135 connects second conductive layer 104 of first photoactive region 133a to first conductive layer 102 of second photoactive region 133b); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates first conductive layers 102 and photoactive layers 103 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates second conductive layers 104 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates photoactive layer 103 of photoactive region 133b from electrical connector 135);
wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction (Figs. 11, 14, 17 see: gap 148 extends from second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102).
Regarding the claim 1 recitation “and wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove” the electrical connector 135 can be interpreted to include the conductive portion extending to gap 148 and thus forming a surface of a wall of gap 148. In the alternative where it’s not clear that Reid discloses wherein the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove, Park discloses a thin film solar cell interconnections structure where a where a connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of a groove of a second isolation structure (Park, [0014], [0073], Figs. 1-2, 6-7 see: first conductive layer 700 provided on front electrode 600 and in second through hole TH2, a material of which forms a surface of a wall of the third through hole TH3). Park discloses this material improves characteristics such as electrical conductivity and series resistance and reducing the contact resistance of the solar cell (Park, [0041]).
Park and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Park such that the connection structure is a conductive material forming a surface of a wall of the groove as in Park ([0014], [0073], Figs. 1-2, 6-7 see: first conductive layer 700 provided on front electrode 600 and in second through hole TH2, a material of which forms a surface of a wall of the third through hole TH3) as Park discloses this material improves characteristics such as electrical conductivity and series resistance and reducing the contact resistance of the solar cell (Park, [0041]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 comprises a perovskite absorber layer 109), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure (Figs. 2 and 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates perovskite 109 in photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135) .
Regarding claim 3 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the cell unit comprises ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11) the first electrode layer (102), a first charge transport layer (n-type region 105), a first light absorption layer (photoactive perovskite 109), a second charge transport layer (p-type region 108), and the second electrode layer (104) sequentially arranged on a substrate (101), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the first charge transport layer, the first light absorption layer, and the second charge transport layer (Figs. 11, 14 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates entire photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 5 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, and Reid discloses wherein the first isolation structure is an insulating structure extending from the second electrode layer to the substrate in the second direction (Figs. 11, 14, or 17 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends from second conductive layer 104 to substrate/base layer 101).
Regarding claim 6 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 5, and Reid discloses wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating wall extending from a first surface of the second electrode layer to a first surface of the substrate in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer distal from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the substrate is a surface of the substrate proximal to the first electrode layer ([0110]-[0111], [0114]-[0116] Figs. 11, and 17 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends from second conductive layer 104 at interface 149 which is further from layer 102 than surface of layer 104 contacting upper surface 133a1 to surface of substrate/base layer 101 adjacent first conductive layer 102).
Regarding claim 7 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, and Reid discloses wherein the second electrode layer protrudes from the first isolation structure in the second direction at a position corresponding to the first isolation structure, to cause the connection structure to be electrically connected to the second electrode layer ([0110]-[0111], [0114]-[0116] Figs. 11 and 17 see: second conductive layer 104 protrudes over insulator material 143 over interface 149 to connect to electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 8 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, and Reid discloses wherein in the first direction, a distance between the connection structure and the first isolation structure is greater than 0 (Figs. 11 and 17 see distance between insulator material 143 and electrical connector 135 is greater than 0); and/or in the first direction, a size of the first isolation structure is 10 μm to 80 μm.
Regarding claim 10 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 5, wherein the first isolation structure (Fig. 11) comprises a second insulating wall (insulator material 143 in separation channel 140) and a first insulating layer (insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147), wherein the second insulating wall extends from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 2 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends between surface of substrate 101 and lower surface 133b2, this limitation is not interpreted as limiting the extent of the second insulating wall to between only these surfaces), the first insulating layer is attached to a same side of the connection structure as the second insulating wall (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 adjacent electrical connector 135), the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer distal from the substrate, and the second surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer proximal to the substrate.
Regarding claim 12 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and Reid discloses wherein the second isolation structure extends from the first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer distal from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer distal from the substrate (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 extends through second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102 at surface 133b2).
Claims 4, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761) and in further view of Bosman (US 2020/0266317).
Regarding claim 4 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer, a third charge transport layer, a second light absorption layer, and a fourth charge transport layer sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer and the second electrode layer, and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer.
However, Bosman teaches it was known to further provide thin-film solar cell photoactive layers with additional subcell layers such as (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise CIGS (Copper indium gallium (di) selenide) or perovskite material or a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites).
Kamino teaches in such tandem subcell arrangements the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode). Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]).
Bosman, Kamino and Reid are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kamino such that the cell unit of Reid further comprises a third electrode layer as in Kamino ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode) as Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the first isolation structure in Kamino such that it isolates the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer as Bosman teaches such isolation structures can extend through multiple subcells to provide serial interconnection between adjacent cell units (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites which through which isolating ink 36 extends).
Regarding claim 16 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and Kamino further discloses wherein a bandgap of the first light absorption layer is greater than a bandgap of the second light absorption layer ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 17 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and Kamino further discloses wherein both the first light absorption layer and the second light absorption layer are perovskite layers ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 19 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and regarding the claim 19 limitations “wherein a thickness of the first charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the first light absorption layer is 100 nm to 400 nm, a thickness of the second charge transport layer is 20 nm to 60 nm, a thickness of the third electrode layer is 1 nm to 3 nm, a thickness of the third charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the second light absorption layer is 600 nm to 800 nm, a thickness of the fourth charge transport layer is 30 nm to 50 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode layer is 100 nm to 200 nm” Kamino discloses in paras [0145]-[0149] and [0154] thickness ranges of the charge transport layers (n-type layer, p-type layer, scaffold layer), thickness ranges of the perovskite absorption layers, a thickness range of the third electrode (intermediate region), and a thickness range of the second electrode layer (back electrode thickness) that substantially overlap the claimed thickness ranges. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Shinohara (US 2007/0193619).
Regarding claim 9 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the first insulating wall comprises at least one of epoxy resin, melamine formaldehyde resin, polycarbonate polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, phenolic plastic, silicon boron, a metal oxide, and an ionic-structured inorganic solid, but Shinohara further teaches such insulating walls are formed from insulating materials including epoxy resin and metal oxide particles (Shinohara, [0045], Fig. 1 see: insulating member 8 consists of epoxy resin containing aluminum oxide (Al2O3)).
Shinohara and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Shinohara such that the material of the first insulating wall of epoxy resin and metal oxide particles as in Shinohara ([0045], Fig. 1 see: insulating member 8 consists of epoxy resin containing aluminum oxide (Al2O3)) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known insulating material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Oshima et al (JP2000058886A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claims 13-15 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a distance between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure is 200 μm to 300 μm; and/or in the first direction, a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm.
However, Oshima teaches a thin-film solar cell with an interconnection region wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]). Oshima teaches such sizes are selected in consideration of making the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element (para [0027]).
Oshima and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Oshima such that wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm as in Oshima (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]) as such a selection of these dimensions allows the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element to be as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element as taught by Oshima (para [0027]).
Furthermore, regarding the claim 15 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm” Oshima discloses in Fig. 1(b) and para [0027] a range of a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm which entirely encompasses applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761) and in view of Bosman (US 2020/0266317) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, 12, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0059294).
Regarding claim 18 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and although Bosman teaches the light absorption layers can include CIGS and perovskite (para [0054]) and Kamino teaches the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer (Fig. 6c), modified Reid does not explicitly disclose wherein the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer.
However, Wang discloses in such tandem cells, the first light absorption layer can be a copper indium gallium selenium layer ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, So, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used, some embodiments could comprise bottom cell perovskite).
Wang and modified Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Wang such that the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer as in Wang ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, so, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used it can comprise a bottom cell perovskite) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known absorber material for its intended use in a tandem solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing absorption of light at a shorter wavelength spectrum compared to a lower bandgap perovskite bottom cell.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Park (US 2014/0230891) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 above, and further in view of Kurata et al (US 2001/0035205).
Regarding claim 20 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose an electric apparatus, comprising the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the thin-film solar cell is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus.
However, Kurata teaches it is well known to provide such thin-film solar cells as part of an electric apparatus configured to supply power to the electric apparatus (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators).
Kurata and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kurata such that the thin-film solar cell of Reid is part of an electric apparatus and is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus as in Kurata (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators) for the express purpose of functioning as a power supply in such an apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726