DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the substrate is a surface of the substrate close to the first electrode layer” where it’s unclear what the relative terms “far from” and “close to” in this context means as no scale or reference is given to determine what constitutes a surface that is “far” or “close” in the claim. The terms “far from” and “close to” in claim 6 are thus relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “far from” and “close to” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 7-9 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 6.
Claim 10 recites “a side of the connection structure close to the second insulating wall, the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer far from the substrate, and the second surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer close to the substrate” where it’s unclear what the relative terms “far from” and “close to” in this context means as no scale or reference is given to determine what constitutes a surface that is “far” or “close” in the claim. The terms “far from” and “close to” in claim 10 are thus relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “far from” and “close to” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the first surface of the second electrode layer” and “the first surface of the first electrode layer” but lacks antecedent basis for these recitations as a first surface of the second electrode layer and a first surface of the first electrode layer were never previously defined and it’s unclear which surfaces are being referenced. As such, the scope of claim 12 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 further recites “a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer” and “a surface of the first electrode layer far from the substrate” where it’s unclear what the relative term “far from” in this context means as no scale or reference is given to determine what constitutes a surface that is “far” or “near” in the claim. The term “far from ” in claim 12 is thus a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “far from” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reid et al (US 2017/0005211).
Regarding claim 1 Reid discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising: a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Figs. 11 or 17 see: first and second photoactive regions 133a and 133b), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (first conductive layer 102), a second electrode layer (second conductive layer 104), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 when perovskite comprises multiple functional layers), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure (para [0111], Fig. 11), wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure (insulator material 143 in separation channel 140), a connection structure (electrical connector 135), and a second isolation structure (gap 148); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units, the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other (Fig. 11 see: electrical connector 135 connects second conductive layer 104 of first photoactive region 133a to first conductive layer 102 of second photoactive region 133b); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates first conductive layers 102 and photoactive layers 103 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates second conductive layers 104 of adjacent photoactive regions 133a and 133b), and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 separates photoactive layer 103 of photoactive region 133b from electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 2 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11 see: photoactive layer 103 comprises a perovskite absorber layer 109), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure (Figs. 2 and 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates perovskite 109 in photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135) .
Regarding claim 3 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the cell unit comprises ([0069]-[0071], Figs. 2 and 11) the first electrode layer (102), a first charge transport layer (n-type region 105), a first light absorption layer (photoactive perovskite 109), a second charge transport layer (p-type region 108), and the second electrode layer (104) sequentially arranged on a substrate (101), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the first charge transport layer, the first light absorption layer, and the second charge transport layer (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 separates entire photoactive layer 103 from electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 5 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, wherein the first isolation structure is an insulating structure extending from the second electrode layer to the substrate in the second direction (Figs. 11 or 17 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends from second conductive layer 104 to substrate/base layer 101).
Regarding claim 6 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 5, wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating wall extending from a first surface of the second electrode layer to a first surface of the substrate in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the substrate is a surface of the substrate close to the first electrode layer ([0110]-[0111], [0114]-[0116] Figs. 11 and 17 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends from second conductive layer 104 at interface 149 which is further from layer 102 than surface of layer 104 contacting upper surface 133a1 to surface of substrate/base layer 101 adjacent first conductive layer 102).
Regarding claim 7 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, wherein the second electrode layer protrudes from the first isolation structure in the second direction at a position corresponding to the first isolation structure, to cause the connection structure to be electrically connected to the second electrode layer ([0110]-[0111], [0114]-[0116] Figs. 11 and 17 see: second conductive layer 104 protrudes over insulator material 143 over interface 149 to connect to electrical connector 135).
Regarding claim 8 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, a distance between the connection structure and the first isolation structure is greater than 0 (Figs. 11 and 17 see distance between insulator material 143 and electrical connector 135 is greater than 0); and/or in the first direction, a size of the first isolation structure is 10 μm to 80 μm.
Regarding claim 10 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 5, wherein the first isolation structure (Fig. 11) comprises a second insulating wall (insulator material 143 in separation channel 140) and a first insulating layer (insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147), wherein the second insulating wall extends from a second surface of the first electrode layer to a first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 2 see: insulator material 143 in separation channel 140 extends between surface of substrate 101 and lower surface 133b2, this limitation is not interpreted as limiting the extent of the second insulating wall to between only these surfaces), the first insulating layer is attached to a side of the connection structure close to the second insulating wall (Fig. 11 see: insulator material 143 in interconnection channel 147 adjacent electrical connector 135), the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer far from the substrate, and the second surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer close to the substrate.
Regarding claim 11 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 2, wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 extends from second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102).
Regarding claim 12 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 11, wherein the second isolation structure extends from the first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer far from the substrate (Fig. 11 see: gap 148 extends through second conductive layer 104 to first conductive layer 102 at surface 133b2).
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oshima et al (JP2000058886A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Oshima discloses a thin-film solar cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction ([0026], Fig. 1(d) see: power generation units III and IV), wherein the cell unit comprises a first electrode layer (12), a second electrode layer (14), and a plurality of functional layers located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (an amorphous silicon layer 13 comprising stacked p-i-n layers (para [0022])), arranged in a second direction (thickness direction);
an interconnection structure, wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first isolation structure ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20), a connection structure ([0023], [0025], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: second groove 18 with connecting part 22a), and a second isolation structure ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: third groove 19 with insulating part 21); the connection structure is configured to connect the first electrode layer of a first cell unit and the second electrode layer of a second cell unit among the plurality of cell units, the first cell unit and the second cell unit being adjacent to each other ([0023], [0025], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: connecting part 22a connecting first electrode 12 of power generation unit III to second electrode 14 of power generation unit IV); the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the first electrode layer of the first cell unit from the first electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the first cell unit from the connection structure ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20 isolating first electrodes 12 and amorphous silicon layers 13 of power generation units III and IV from each other); and the second isolation structure is configured to isolate the second electrode layer of the first cell unit from the second electrode layer of the second cell unit, and isolate at least one of the functional layers of the second cell unit from the connection structure ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: third groove 19 with insulating part 21 isolating second electrodes 14 and amorphous silicon layers 13 of power generation units III and IV from each other).
Regarding claim 2 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the functional layer comprises a light absorption layer (amorphous silicon layer 13), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the light absorption layer from the connection structure ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20 isolating amorphous silicon layers 13 of power generation units III and IV from each other).
Regarding claim 3 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the cell unit (Fig. 1(d)) comprises the first electrode layer (12), a first charge transport layer, a first light absorption layer, a second charge transport layer ([0005], [0022], Fig. 1(d) see: amorphous silicon layer 13 comprises a p-type semiconductor (first charge transport layer) - an I-type amorphous or semi-amorphous silicon semiconductor (light absorption layer) and a semiconductor having N-type microcrystals (second charge transport layer)), and the second electrode layer (14) sequentially arranged on a substrate (11), and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the first charge transport layer, the first light absorption layer, and the second charge transport layer (Fig. 1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20 isolating amorphous silicon layers 13 of power generation units III and IV from connecting part 22a).
Regarding claim 5 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, wherein the first isolation structure is an insulating structure extending from the second electrode layer to the substrate in the second direction ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20 extending from second electrode 14 to substrate 11).
Regarding claim 6 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 5, wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating wall extending from a first surface of the second electrode layer to a first surface of the substrate in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the substrate is a surface of the substrate close to the first electrode layer ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: first groove 17 with insulating part 20 extending from a surface of second electrode 14 adjacent electrode 22 to surface of substrate 11 adjacent first electrode 12).
Regarding claim 7 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, wherein the second electrode layer protrudes from the first isolation structure in the second direction at a position corresponding to the first isolation structure ([0023], [0025] Fig. 1(d) see: Al electrode 22 protruding over insulating part 20 considered part of second electrode), to cause the connection structure to be electrically connected to the second electrode layer ([0023], [0025] Fig. 1(d) see: Al electrode 22 connects to connecting part 22a).
Regarding claim 8 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, a distance between the connection structure and the first isolation structure is greater than 0 ([0027], [0031], Figs. 1(c)-1(d) see: width t1 greater than 0 ); and/or in the first direction, a size of the first isolation structure is 10 μm to 80 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 17 width is 20 to 50 μm).
Regarding claim 11 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 2, wherein the second isolation structure is a groove extending from the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer in the second direction ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: third groove 19 extending from second electrode 14 to first electrode 12).
Regarding claim 12 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 11, wherein the second isolation structure extends from the first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer in the second direction, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer far from the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer far from the substrate ([0023], Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: third groove 19 extending from a far surface of second electrode 14 to the surface of first electrode 12 adjacent layer 13).
Regarding claim 13 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 11, wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm).
Regarding claim 14 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein in the first direction, a distance between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure is 200 μm to 300 μm; and/or in the first direction, a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al (JP2000058886A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, and 13-14 above.
Regarding claim 15 Oshima discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 15 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm” Oshima discloses in Fig. 1(b) and para [0027] a range of a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm which entirely encompasses applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claims 4, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 above, and further in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761) and in further view of Bosman (US 2020/0266317).
Regarding claim 4 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer, a third charge transport layer, a second light absorption layer, and a fourth charge transport layer sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer and the second electrode layer, and the first isolation structure is configured to isolate the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer.
However, Bosman teaches it was known to further provide thin-film solar cell photoactive layers with additional subcell layers such as (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise CIGS (Copper indium gallium (di) selenide) or perovskite material or a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites).
Kamino teaches in such tandem subcell arrangements the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode). Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]).
Bosman, Kamino and Reid are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kamino such that the cell unit of Reid further comprises a third electrode layer as in Kamino ([0118], [0130], [0132] Fig. 6c see: intermediate region 230), a third charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: p-type region), a second light absorption layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: narrow band gap perovskite), and a fourth charge transport layer as in Kamino (Fig. 6c see: n-type region) sequentially arranged between the second charge transport layer (n-type layer adjacent layer 230) and the second electrode layer (back electrode) as Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the first isolation structure in Kamino such that it isolates the connection structure from the third electrode layer, the third charge transport layer, the second light absorption layer, and the fourth charge transport layer as Bosman teaches such isolation structures can extend through multiple subcells to provide serial interconnection between adjacent cell units (Bosman, [0050], [0054] Fig. 3B see: photo-voltaic active layer 32 can comprise a combination of a CIGS layer and one or more perovskites which through which isolating ink 36 extends).
Regarding claim 16 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and Kamino further discloses wherein a bandgap of the first light absorption layer is greater than a bandgap of the second light absorption layer ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 17 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and Kamino further discloses wherein both the first light absorption layer and the second light absorption layer are perovskite layers ([0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite).
Regarding claim 19 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 4, and regarding the claim 19 limitations “wherein a thickness of the first charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the first light absorption layer is 100 nm to 400 nm, a thickness of the second charge transport layer is 20 nm to 60 nm, a thickness of the third electrode layer is 1 nm to 3 nm, a thickness of the third charge transport layer is 10 nm to 30 nm, a thickness of the second light absorption layer is 600 nm to 800 nm, a thickness of the fourth charge transport layer is 30 nm to 50 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode layer is 100 nm to 200 nm” Kamino discloses in paras [0145]-[0149] and [0154] thickness ranges of the charge transport layers (n-type layer, p-type layer, scaffold layer), thickness ranges of the perovskite absorption layers, a thickness range of the third electrode (intermediate region), and a thickness range of the second electrode layer (back electrode thickness) that substantially overlap the claimed thickness ranges. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 above, and further in view of Shinohara (US 2007/0193619).
Regarding claim 9 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the first insulating wall comprises at least one of epoxy resin, melamine formaldehyde resin, polycarbonate polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, phenolic plastic, silicon boron, a metal oxide, and an ionic-structured inorganic solid, but Shinohara further teaches such insulating walls are formed from insulating materials including epoxy resin and metal oxide particles (Shinohara, [0045], Fig. 1 see: insulating member 8 consists of epoxy resin containing aluminum oxide (Al2O3)).
Shinohara and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Shinohara such that the material of the first insulating wall of epoxy resin and metal oxide particles as in Shinohara ([0045], Fig. 1 see: insulating member 8 consists of epoxy resin containing aluminum oxide (Al2O3)) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known insulating material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 above, and further in view of Oshima et al (JP2000058886A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claims 13-15 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claims 1 and 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a distance between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure is 200 μm to 300 μm; and/or in the first direction, a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm or wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm.
However, Oshima teaches a thin-film solar cell with an interconnection region wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]). Oshima teaches such sizes are selected in consideration of making the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element (para [0027]).
Oshima and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Oshima such that wherein in the first direction, a size of the second isolation structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 19 width of 50 to 100 μm) and wherein in the first direction a size of the connection structure is 30 μm to 100 μm as in Oshima ([0030] Figs. 1(b)-1(d) see: processing groove 18 width of 50 to 100 μm which is equal to a width of the connecting part 22a in groove 18) and wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm as in Oshima (Oshima, Fig. 1(b) and para [0027]) as such a selection of these dimensions allows the area of the portion of the thin-film solar cell that functions as a photoelectric conversion element to be as large as possible compared to the area of the portion that does not function as a photoelectric conversion element as taught by Oshima (para [0027]).
Furthermore, regarding the claim 15 recitation “wherein in the first direction, a size of the cell unit is 6 mm to 10 mm” Oshima discloses in Fig. 1(b) and para [0027] a range of a size of the cell unit (t3) in the first direction of 4 mm to 10 mm which entirely encompasses applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761) and in view of Bosman (US 2020/0266317) as applied to claims 1-8, 10-12, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0059294).
Regarding claim 18 modified Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 16, and although Bosman teaches the light absorption layers can include CIGS and perovskite (para [0054]) and Kamino teaches the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer (Fig. 6c), modified Reid does not explicitly disclose wherein the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer.
However, Wang discloses in such tandem cells, the first light absorption layer can be a copper indium gallium selenium layer ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, So, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used, some embodiments could comprise bottom cell perovskite).
Wang and modified Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Wang such that the first light absorption layer is a copper indium gallium selenium layer as in Wang ([0086], [0094], Fig. 14 see: top cell can be CIGS) and the second light absorption layer is a perovskite layer ([0077] Fig. 14 see: Perovskite may exhibit a wide range of bandgap (typically varying from about <0.9 eV to >3.5 eV) depending on its composition, so, depending upon bandgap of perovskite materials used it can comprise a bottom cell perovskite) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known absorber material for its intended use in a tandem solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing absorption of light at a shorter wavelength spectrum compared to a lower bandgap perovskite bottom cell.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 2017/0005211) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 above, and further in view of Kurata et al (US 2001/0035205).
Regarding claim 20 Reid discloses the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose an electric apparatus, comprising the thin-film solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the thin-film solar cell is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus.
However, Kurata teaches it is well known to provide such thin-film solar cells as part of an electric apparatus configured to supply power to the electric apparatus (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators).
Kurata and Reid are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Reid in view of Kurata such that the thin-film solar cell of Reid is part of an electric apparatus and is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus as in Kurata (Kurata, [0003]-[0004] see: thin-film solar batteries are formed as a power supply for consumer electronic devices such as calculators) for the express purpose of functioning as a power supply in such an apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shinohara (US 2005/0070107); Han (US 2014/0261680A1); Stein (US 2010/0170558); Lim (US 20140261678A1)
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726